Diesel vehicles facing the axe over air pollution woes in UK, France to offer €10k incentive to new EV owners

bmw-320d-infiniti-euro-5

Britain’s Supreme Court has ordered the Department for the Environment to propose new air quality plans by the end of 2015, according to The Telegraph. As the UK faces up to being fined by the European Commission for failing to meet nitrogen dioxide (NO2) emissions, the move could see demand for diesel vehicles diminish greatly, as environmental groups have singled out oil burners due to the high levels of NO2 emissions.

The report adds that research has concluded that the UK isn’t up to satisfying the requirements of article 13 of the EU Air Quality Directive (which demanded that NO2 levels be reduced to 40 micrograms of per cubic metre by 2010), nor will it even past the year 2030 given present projections. A total of 38 out of 43 zones in the region currently report levels of NO2 emissions beyond stipulated levels.

The majority of Britain’s motoring public have opted to go diesel, with numbers of such vehicles climbing to over 11 million from 1.6 million over the past decade. The reason for the rise was attributed to former Prime Minister Gordon Brown’s push for diesel vehicles to reduce carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions. However, NO2 emissions were doubled as a result, with said gas linked to thousands of deaths annually.

With that said, the repercussions from having diesel vehicles phased out throughout the UK would be dramatic, to say the least. Edmund King of the Automobile Association (AA) has stated that the 11 million buyers of diesel vehicles would feel “betrayed.” He added that “the demonising of diesel vehicles… won’t just affect big polluting trucks, but taxi drivers and families with people-carriers as well.”

renault zoe

On the commercial side of things, the phasing out of diesel vehicles will most definitely affect businesses that rely heavily on road transport. “Any movement away from diesel-engined vehicles would have significant supply chain implications. Businesses will be hoping that any plans be offset by incentives that will enable them to switch to greener models,” said Richard Gane of supply chain company, Vendigital.

The French government appears to have echoed Gane’s sentiments as it will now offer incentives of up to €10,000 (RM40,019) to consumers who wish to replace their diesel vehicles with electric units instead. “”We have to eliminate old diesel cars that are more than 13 years old and have no filters,” French energy minister Segolene Royal told Bloomberg.

As of now, about 80% of the French motoring public operate diesel vehicles. However, the proposed incentive could help reduce that statistic in the near future as a Renault Zoe EV would only cost €12,400 (RM49,674) while a Nissan Leaf EV is expected to carry a price tag of €14,390 (RM57,646).

In France, diesel is taxed lower than petrol, leading to more consumers purchasing diesel-engined cars over its petrol counterparts. Aside from providing incentives, the French government will now “gradually” align taxes on diesel and petrol to encourage motorists to make the switch from fossil fuel to electric energy.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Will Proton face the axe in Malaysia for pollution?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Asalkan Bukan Pro-blem on May 05, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Rakyat will ‘axe’ Proton further with low sales until it runs away to Bangladesh.

• Aero (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 2:40 am

Really ? Proton’s CamPro CFE / Turbo and new Iriz engines are Euro IV and Euro V compliant. When the Prevé came out in 2012 with the Campro CFE, it was one of the few C-segment cars on sale with Euro IV compliance. Now more and more cars in Malaysia are being sold with Euro IV engines, but our petrol is still Euro II only. It’s the quality of our Malaysian petrol and diesel that needs to improve. As of late 2014, the EU has adopted the new Euro VI standard already.

If you have an ‘axe’ to grind (no pun intended) with someone, why not grind it against our beloved Petronas instead ? Do you realize how large their profit margins are ? They are selling piss poor quality fuel ABOVE world market prices. How is that fair ? As an oil rich nation, we should have either cheaper or better quality fuel, if not both. Don’t be fooled, Malaysia has quality crude oil beneath our feet, but Petronas is taking forever to build their next generation refinement plants (which are needed to achieve Euro IV and V compliance), which should have been built at least 5 or 7 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • New Iriz is Euro V compliant?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• So what, even IV, still your junk Vios Myvi City still stuck at only III

• P2 macai on May 06, 2015 at 11:54 am

Read more la stupid @sshole. Don’t just bash here bash there with your otak kosong. Time to take a bath with your low class MyVi.

• convec on May 06, 2015 at 1:23 pm

p1 supporters pissed off, butthurt level very high only to unleash stupidity

Hahahahahahaha

• Obviously (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 2:19 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/04/05/proton-preve-our-first-impressions-of-the-iafm-and-cfe/

The CFE/CVT combo can be Euro 5 compliant.

Iriz is Euro 4 compliant.

• Reader on May 06, 2015 at 9:49 pm

There is not a single O&G company in Malaysia that will produce high grade diesel that you mentioned. Why? Because there is no such regulations in place, and thus – no need.

Cheers.

• Euro VI on May 07, 2015 at 12:09 am

Petronas refineries are ready to produce Euro IV grade petrol and diesel.. Only those from Shell and Petron are not ready, and they are not willing to spend RM100M on CAPEX. Those two companies even asked the govt to delay the timeline further.
        Plus, do u think people want to spend more than RM3 a liter for high quality fuel? I doubt..

• Najib on May 05, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Meanwhile in bolehland, we got newly implement hybrid vehicle tax. Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • tax incentive not sure renew or not, not implement new tax. where got such thing. ayo yo macha. u shame us all pr supporter bro. read or google before comment, or don’t comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on May 05, 2015 at 6:53 pm

BN supporter don’t pretend to be pr supporter.

Really please…. stop press thumb up your own comment. Tak malu betul BN supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
        • excuse me? it’s people like u who make us look bad. instead of bickering, we should be showing them that we are better so that they will know what is the right choice.

• Lulz! PR trooper vs PR trooper. How typical!

• fast5 on May 06, 2015 at 10:36 am

Lol BN troopers laughing on pr and BN troopers !!!

• In Europe, if the G wants to cut off something, they just do it. Everyone else just adapts.

• Marieta on May 05, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Damn..so even new Euro VI diesel still doesn’t satisfied those emission regulation over there…imagine what they thought of our low standard Euro II..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Obviously (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Funny how the previous post was for how efficient diesel engines are while here, they are facing policy restrictions for contributing some of the more toxic elements found in vehicular exhaust into the atmosphere…

Electricfied cars are the future, whether in battery, hybrid or fuel cell form.

• seancorr (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Our battery tech has not reached the level whereby the cells are small and light but the hybrid solution is a good way to complement the drawbacks of our current battery tech.

If the recent Topgear ep whereby Mr. Clarkson picked the BMW i8 over the M3 is anything to go by….

• Obviously (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 8:19 am

Agreed, agreed. Hybrids are the more practical solution at the moment. I particularly like the plug-in hybrid electric vehicle type, like the BMW i8 and Mitsu Outlander PHEV, where the electric motors are the dominant force.

Hydrogen fuel cells are another potential power source that shouldn’t be discounted. The problem now, as it did then, lies in lack of infrastructure supporting the use of hydrogen as fuel.

• Hybrid no more tax exemption.
    Nissan leaf now rm 180k.
    we r still in stone age

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Currently in Malaysia, lorries are polluting our country but no action was taken. Where is Kementrian Alam Sekitar, where is JPJ, where is police?

This lorries that are old in age emit lot of dark smokes emission that pollutes our air. I have to switch on aircond all the time due to bad air outside. Only in kampung can open window while driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Contender on May 05, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Grey importers will bring in more of the diesal cars from EU where they want to dispose (junk) but Malaysians are so produk and Easter to buy re-conditioned cars of luxury cars mostly car rentals with tempered mileage. But this is all thanks to Proton, Perodua.

• test puspakom..turn the screw to reduce fuel..no smoke
    after pass puspakom..adjust back.. really no power if no smoke coming out for those NA diesel

• Leafable on May 05, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia we still chasing EURO 5 diesel. Even EURO 5 diesel kill.

• So in another words, the Gov was right to NOT proactively push for diesel-engined passenger cars lah?

• hadi75 on May 06, 2015 at 5:00 am

Now diesel is bad…ev is good..carmakers spend lots of money investing in r&d for ev but the take up is very slow.

• sammy on May 06, 2015 at 8:17 am

You can’t just asking people to buy eV. The whole infrastructure needs to support it… like charging stations being built. Otherwise you will see the north south highway being empty…. not to mention people staying in condo can’t charge their cars

• Leafable on May 06, 2015 at 6:33 am

Nissan Leaf for the price of a Proton Iriz. Now thats call progressive. Meanwhile in Malaysia they selling it for more than 3 folds.

• Toyoita on May 06, 2015 at 8:02 am

Now I realize why government dont want to bring so-called “clean” diesel here. *Bersangka baik*

• sammy on May 06, 2015 at 8:13 am

Can someone go and interview the jpj datuk that want to impose petty things like tinting regulations for donkey years and fail? Ask him what he thinks about diesel and pollution and see what kind of comment we will get. It will most probably qualify for funniest home video. .. see how his small brain try to comprehend and explode….

• So, Petrol or Diesel??? on May 06, 2015 at 8:20 am

Petrol produce more CO2 while diesel produce more NO2. If u love the earth, please drive diesel. If u love yourself, please drive petrol. If u love both, please ride a bicycle. Good for ur health too.

• pontiac on May 06, 2015 at 8:30 am

ive never agreed on diesel engine since beginning of the world. its never a true green engine. its worst.. u still want euro 4 diesel? get a life

• Sam Teh on May 06, 2015 at 8:37 am

I don’t understand…is diesel really that bad in term of emission despite new engine technology and new clean diesel technology on rising…I think there’s an agenda behind this..

• Heng Lee on May 06, 2015 at 11:21 am

Of course there’s an agenda behind this:

France derives about 75% of its electricity from nuclear energy & France is the world’s largest net exporter of electricity due to its very low cost of generation.

No wonder they want to go electric… ;)

• cendol (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 11:22 am

meanwhile 30-year-old school buses still moving around all over Malaysia.
    The reason not to change? Because new bus is expensive.

• just sayin' on May 06, 2015 at 1:06 pm

A fully electric EV 35-seater bus easily RM1.3 million.

• Jong1 on May 06, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Another 10 years from now, EU will give incentives to dispose electric cars back to diesel when they find out disposing/ recycling the batteries do more harm to the environment than diesel.

• 4G63T DSM on May 06, 2015 at 1:50 pm

This unfortunately is thier own undoing.

All the while they are advocating low CO2. But when you lean burn an engine (even petrol ones) you get high NOx.

Nitrogen comes from the air. Not from the fuel.

Really don’t understand where all this is going. Battery recycling will be thier next nightmare.

• the difference is , mining for rare earths , and recycling batteries can be done elsewhere without polluting their own land.