LRT3 to begin construction early next year for 2020 completion, connects Bandar Utama and Klang

lrt-depot

Construction of the Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) project is set to commence in the first quarter of next year for a targeted August 31, 2020 completion date. The line will connect Bandar Utama, Damansara and Johan Setia, Klang by 2025, Bernama reports.

According to Prasarana group MD Azmi Abdul Aziz, the 36 km route alignment is expected to be finalised by the fourth quarter this year.

Ahead of that, public inspections of the proposed route alignment are set to be held at Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam and Klang city councils; Kelana Jaya, Masjid Jamek and Pasar Seni LRT stations; and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) office from May 15 (this Friday) to August 14, The Sun reports.

The public will be able to offer suggestions and comments on the route alignment at these locations during the three-month period.

Azmi revealed some details to The Sun – 25 stations are planned, with proposed sub-two kilometre distances between them. 10 of them are expected to have park-and-ride facilities. Also planned are interchanges with Bandar Utama MRT station, Pelabuhan Klang KTM station and a proposed SIRIM Shah Alam BRT station.

prasarana-lrt-kj27-glenmarie

LRT3 is expected to serve around two million people in the Klang Valley, transporting around 70,000 passengers daily with an end-to-end journey time of 51 minutes.

“As for land acquisition, we have identified the corridor but not the alignment (as) we have to comply with the Land Acquisition Act requirement,” the Prasarana MD told The Star, adding that construction alone will cost RM9 billion, but sufficient allocation has been set aside for land acquisition.

“We will try to minimise land acquisition as we are proposing just a two-kilometre underground track with one underground station in Shah Alam and the rail tracks would mostly be on elevated structure utilising the existing state and road reserve land,” he told The Sun.

So far, seven companies have collected Project Delivery Partner (PDP) application forms, Azmi told The Star. The forms must be submitted in the first week of June, and Prasarana aims to award the project by July. As PDP, the qualified company will receive a 6% fee of LRT3’s total contract value.

“Should the total cost of the project be less than or equal to the targeted cost, the PDP would be entitled to the full fee. However, if the project cost is more than the targeted cost, the fee would be cut in accordance with the agreed formula,” he explained.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Syukurlah ada kerajaan berwawasan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
    • Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Hope tragedy like the concrete falling down to the roads won’t happen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • As a resident in Bandar Utama, I know it will have impacts on the residents in this area ie. Noise, pollution and congestion. The residents in BU are opposing to this project but I guess that the government just bulldozed it through

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 91
    • forrest the tree on May 13, 2015 at 7:46 pm

You are a selfish BU resident.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 10
    • Anti-Pati on May 13, 2015 at 7:48 pm

So the government should inconvenience a majority just to placate the minority? The people of BU who are opposing this are emblematic of selfishness that Malaysians nowadays display.

And before you tell me to live through it to know it, let me tell you that I’ve lived only 2 KM from the runway at Penang Airport, have the NKVE pass behind my house in Shah Alam before, and now live besides MEX & the flightpath of KLIA. Pretty soon my neighbourhood will also be graced by MRT3 construction. I’ve learnt to adapt to the conditions & my life is hardly disrupted.

If it’s for the greater good I steadfastly oppose any attempt to disrupt the implementation of LRT3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 8
    • jinggo on May 13, 2015 at 8:54 pm

U reminds me the Damansara & PJ residents that opposed the DASH & KIDEX project..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • superdriver on May 14, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Really pity the cancelled KIDEX and the people who could really use it, now to think of it for the sake of few people in Damansara Perdana and BU , the rest of the people in KL suffers. Haiz.

Please Malaysia gov dont cancel this as well!!

• tokmoh. on May 14, 2015 at 9:19 am

Lu bising, tapi bila LRT siap, harga properties naik, u syiok syiok diam diam untung.

Poorah, ini cakap tara serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • priya on May 13, 2015 at 6:18 pm

i just go back from jakarta…big city with larga population(10million)

cant tahan with traffic jam…no systematic public transport except BRT…1km take about 30minute…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Albert on May 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Where the hell gomen is getting the funding for these mega projects? From GST,KWSP,KWAP,LTH ?
    Already,no auditor will dare audit the 42 Billion shithole.There is nothing to audit actually.Loss……..and loss….debts….debts.
    By the time the projects are over(like the Greece Olympics),we may be going the direction of Grecian default.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
    • Greece bankrupt funding the olympics, a one time thing that only very few people will use.

Even if the Gov face financial difficulties due to this, it is for the better good. Countless of people will use it and goes a long way to recoup the cost.

Dun be a PR jackass that opposes everything. Im beginning to think that PR supporters are closet Luddites despite the high education

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • I dont think its right to label whoever opposes this as PR supporters. I am a PR supporter but i highly support any effort to improve public transportation..being working in so many countries i know how important it is for a country…cities and the resident that commutes daily. What matters are the execution and transparency in the public fund. As far as we want to have all this…BN government cannot take it for granted and use our hard earn tax money as if its their godfather’s money…period!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Anti-Pati on May 13, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Greek’s debt is 175% of GDP. Malaysia’s 55% debt to GDP ratio is still manageable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Already lose selangor for 2 term straight and yet still give them this mega project. Obviously there are parasites in BN gov who proposed this kind of project. Better off build this LRT at other place in need ie JB where BN is in control. Leave this ungrateful place to PR since Azmin think his babbling alone can magically develop these place up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • lilytan on May 14, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Better build somewhere else. Dont think people in those area are keen on this project either. Just look at how TTDI n BU residents opposing the MRT, and PJ on KIDEX etc. Plus shah alam n klang already have KTM komuter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Latuk Bandar on May 13, 2015 at 11:40 pm

The problem with Malaysia is our foundation was wrong since the begining.

We have 7 different track system in one tiny city. Those that took the MRT in Singapore, Melbourne, Beijing or any other cities will know what a real transit and integration is.

How in the world can 1 city itself have 7 system? This is pure cronyism without any planning.

Now it is too expensive and too late to solve. Instead of further expanding the current system of Putra LRT and Start LRT, they’ve decided to introduce another new MRT system, I understand MRT has higher load but this is simply too many system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • kzm (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 7:35 am

Tokyo has more than 10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Even if our transportation system is wrong in the beginning, its not to late to mitigate it. More public transport options give us more option to go with. So u rather live with our current traffic situation than to improve it? U are so narrow minded..

• normal_user on May 14, 2015 at 12:31 am

The LRT3 was originally supposed to connect Klang & Shah Alam residents via an extension of the existing Kelana Jaya LRT line. That would cut short the journey time to KL especially KLCC area.
    Another thing, why are they still bothering to build LRT systems, compared to MRT which can provide higher capacity. Klang & Shah Alam are now big cities with thousands of KL-bound commuters, you can judge by the huge traffic jam at the Federal Highway at Batu3 & SgRasah stretch during peak hours.

• tokmoh. on May 14, 2015 at 9:22 am

Our Kelana Jaya and Ampang line LRT are actually MRT by international standard, due to high passenger capacity. It’s just a name.

Google Singapore LRT, that’s a proper LRT. Very small, low capacity.

• kadiology on May 15, 2015 at 6:49 am

Klang/Shah Alam should have their own metro which has its own town/city metro coverage and then links back to KTM Komuter. Having 1 line all the way from johan setia to BU is good, but does not maximise its coverage within Klang/shah alam itself. But if they proceed with this plan, at minimum it should have a spur line to provide better coverage in shah alam beyond.