KL MRT Line 2: Sg Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya route detailed with 36 stations, 84 minutes end-to-end

KL-MRT-1

Supplementary information regarding the KL MRT Line 2, known as the Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya (SSP) line, have surfaced, including an overview plan of the entire line along with the total number of stations that, as of now, remain unnamed.

Construction of the line is due to begin in June 2016, with a targeted operational date of currently earmarked for the fourth quarter of 2022. Interested members of the public can view additional details on the line at the offices of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) and MRT Corp as well as the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), Selayang Municipal Council (MPS) and Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ).

MRT Line 2 SSP Map

Click to enlarge.

When completed, the SSP Line will link Sungai Buloh and Putrajaya via Serdang. All in all, the 52.2 km-long route will include a total of 36 stations – the average travel time between each stop is expected to take between two to three minutes. End to end, the entire journey would take an estimated 84 minutes.

Of the total 52.2 km distance, a 13.5-km portion of the line will run underground while the remaining 38.7 km of track will be elevated. Also to note that of the 36 stations proposed, 11 will run underground while the other 25 stations are elevated. Additionally, the network will be augmented by a total of Park and Ride facilities.

mrt-ssp-line-chart

Click to enlarge.

Interchange stations along the line will include the Sungai Buloh terminus that connects the Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line, links to Kepong Sentral, Kampung Batu and Sungai Buloh KTM stations, the Titiwangsa, Chan Sow Lin and Sungai Besi (Ampang/Petaling Jaya) LRT stations, the Ampang Park Kelana Jaya LRT station, the Tun Razak Exchange MRT station and finally, Putrajaya Sentral for the KLIA Express and Transit Line.

Additionally, the Sungai Besi station will serve as an interchange point for the upcoming KL-Singapore High Speed Rail project – terminus for said line will be situated in Bandar Malaysia in Sungai Besi. When it begins operations, the KL MRT SSP Line is expected to serve a catchment population of roughly 2,000,000, with an estimated daily average passenger count of 529,000.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• kapchai on May 15, 2015 at 6:48 pm

When all the sophisticated public transport system is ready and running, will the authorities force the people not to drive into the city by imposing charges for entering the city (like Singapore’s ERP)? When the time come, will you park your Camry/Merc/Perodua at the station, and take the train to office? How many of us will do that, or are we just hoping that the others will and we continue to drive to work?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
  • kapchai on May 15, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 119
    • tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 10:13 pm

I think people like u is why DBKL should seriously increase parking rate to RM 40/hour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 6
    • frossonice on May 16, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Impose heavier tax on company car plying Klang Valley. See if the company still want to give cars to their staff so easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • 4 wheelers on May 15, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Unless you are staying next to lrt station and work near the lrt station, people will still drive. The issue here is security when you park you car at the lrt station. You have to endure the possibility of getting mugged, rob, rape, car got stolen, car windows broken (Yes, my own car kena vandalized twice at kelana lrt parking…blardy drug addicts steal some coins but my window costs a few hundred).

At the end, I drove instead. Save the hassle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 43
  • There’s no plan for Sg Besi station to be a HSR station. The MRT interchange there with the Ampang line. HSR with MRT interchange is at Bandar Malaysia and Putrajaya.

• Lpost on May 15, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Not completed yet but some people still have negative thinking.. hopefully all plan & progress stay on track, the most important aspect are availability of carpark & feeder bus & also reasonable fare..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • paanjang16 on May 15, 2015 at 9:33 pm

I don’t think anyone will want to impose ERP / congestion charge as it would be a very unpopular move and no politician will would risk his/her career proposing it. However the terrible traffic inside KL itself together with limited parking and high parking rates will deter most people from driving into the city unless it is absolutely necessary.

I work near Masjid Jamek and taking the LRT is much much better than driving into the city. It also does not help that my office shares the same road with the St. John and Bukit Nanas schools which makes the area extremely congested in the morning, afternoon and evening.

I do agree with the issue of parking at LRT stations as such facilities are extremely limited at the moment. I’m fortunate that my car remained intact when I come home from work in the many years parking at Kelana Jaya. Maybe because I’m driving a 20 year old car with no money nor Smart-tag visible through the windows. I’m disappointed that the parking charges keep increasing but the service rendered is still the same (although the station side has a perimeter fence, lights and CCTV). Back in 2006 the parking rate was RM 2, behind under the transmission lines only RM 1.50.

Now both the station parking and the parking under the transmission line has increased to RM 4 from RM 3 recently :( Didn’t know parking got GST too. Wish RapidKL will nego with TNB to use the land under the transmission lines for parking.

Why in KL need to pay for parking I wonder. I know a parking area in KL along the Ampang line where the parking is free because the land is DBKL land.

• Areyousure on May 15, 2015 at 10:11 pm

I would have fired by my boss by the time I reach Putrajaya from Sg Buloh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • kadiology on May 15, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Those who wants to continue to drive go ahead. Those who wants to take the train can also do so. Those who wants to commute half by car then half by train can do it as well. At least we have options. Less carbon emission, less road congestion, less road bullies due to stress, less stress on the road, better efficiency, better time management, etc. So its win win. I would definitely take the train to work and take the car to pasar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • EddyWong on May 30, 2015 at 7:10 pm

You are right but should have more parking and reasonable charges

• anakmalaysia on May 16, 2015 at 12:02 am

I’m really happy with the new train system. This definitely benefit the lower income people and tourist that wants to get around. Bravo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Peter on May 16, 2015 at 12:45 am

When no train- we complaint
    When not enough park n ride- we complaint
    When build MRT- we complaint
    When raining- we complaint
    When hot- we complaint

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 0
  • It’s funny that people continued to berate over weather and time & distances. I suggest these people to come over to Singapore, where all of their needs are already met.

Of course these complaint kiasu Kings will forever berate over everything. The only reason why they still live in Malaysia is that they can still do illegal things and get away with it.

Apalah, they can go suck their dicks. I for one am extremely happy with the direction this public transport projects have shaped up. Naysayers should just go to Singapore and work, live and play there. We’re going to build this project regardless of these bloody armchair critics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • sianglee on May 16, 2015 at 10:33 am

Well I travel daily with my wife and a kid to school in one car.cost me only rm 5 to 8 petrol perday. By lrt each person cost already rm 5 to 7 ,means nearly rm35! What convenience and cost saving does lrt provide?Almost none.i believe the politicians shall be more practical in these public transport. Make it truely affordable and with sufficient parking. Otherwise these crazy overprice project would be really a waste of our resources and making us suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
  • keybodworrior on May 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

its a good project, but i think for 30 minutes is quite long, more our ktm komuter is also slow.

its better upgrade our komuter to reduce the time,
    putra lrt and star is quite ok, but also still need to improve.

nowdays locomotive industry is quite dependable.
    give you example of japan trains, from osaka to kyoto is 57km.

using normal train 45min
    using bullet train 5min.

also interchange lane is also quite better.
    our government is wasting money for these past 10 years or so. not thinking ahead 10 years further is also a cost for people.

im not against modernisation but more on solving actual peoples problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • kingsley on May 16, 2015 at 5:45 pm

i really like the video

• Rooney on May 16, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Looks like the MRT2 alignment does not make sense. It should start from Gombak. Maybe the design it to go thru ministers’ and cronies’ houses.

It seems they are the ones going to benefit handsomely while the rakyat suffer.

Just wait until Anwar is out, let him teach these people some real good lesson on good governance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Probably because Gombak already served by Komuter @ Batu Caves.

• Annoynimouse on May 17, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Aaah… bringing the Tube here to Malaysia. Even the map looks like the London tube map. I welcome this move. I agree with some comments that the safety and security of users and their car at the car parks must be held as top priority. To ensure success of the project, they will have to make so efficient that people will have to reason to drive to work any more.

• Tiger on May 17, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Aiyo…such a big sopihisticated project but the MRT webpage so amaturish and lousy…cannot save the map, zoom function oso cannot read.. cannot read and see due to small text and low resolution…can save in Paultan but still cannot read everything so blur due to low resolution…pls lah Paultan tell Mrt hire better web page designers

• TiGer on May 17, 2015 at 7:08 pm

No station at bdr manjalara major disppintment…many condos and aprtments over there…sri damansara many terrace houses and middle to high income earners with many cars..and they oso protested so why not serve bdr manjalara

• glamboro on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Applaud the move. Please do not forget a station at the government hospitals such as Hospital Selayang, Sg Buloh, HUKM, HKL and Serdang Hospital.

Finding a car park at these hospitals is really like hell! Please consider. If they don’t do it now, they will never do it.