SPAD: 40% public transport modal share achievable

Tiga SCS

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is optimistic that the target of 40% modal share of public transport by 2030 is achievable, Bernama reports.

According to SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, rail ridership – KTM Komuter, LRT, Monorail and ERL included – has increased significantly, which could help a 25% model share be achieved by year-end.

“It looks like we are moving on the right track to achieve the 40% modal share (in 2030) as targeted. Our rail-based ridership has increased tremendously and efforts by Prasarana are ongoing to ensure integration and to run an efficient public transportation system in this country,” he told the national news agency.

The 40% target was set under October 2013’s National Land Public Transport Master Plan, and according to Syed Hamid, everything seems to be working in accordance with the plan. The modal share of public transport in urban areas rose to 20.8% in 2013 from 19.6% the year before.

prasarana-lrt-kj27-glenmarie

“We have done the master plan for the whole country but we need to do the sectorial master plan, on which we are now working with state governments,” said the SPAD chairman. “Any adjustment will not mean a revocation, it’s just a mere addition to the plan.”

“Our youngsters now prefer to travel on public transport, so if it is efficient and affordable, it would be their mode of choice,” he added.

“Now people are more disciplined, they no longer rush, but know how to queue, and the stations are clean.

“Once we introduce an integrated ticketing system, it would become more efficient, and we target seamless travel in two to three years’ time,” Syed Hamid said, noting that the MRT1 will be commissioned by 2017.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Areyousure on May 13, 2015 at 10:14 am

Najib used to be optimistic that 1MDB would generate wealth for the nation. Without doing anything, the 1 million company is now in 42 billions debt.

Najib keeps avoiding the question “where does the money goes”?

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 10:55 am

Yet another “Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok”

You forget about these already?
      1. Wawasan 2020
      2. Transformasi
      3. Abolish AP
      4. 0 import tax for cars
      5. Proton Hybrid launched in 2009
      6. Iriz to export worldwide

• Hor Shen Hau on May 13, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Bro,the number1 and 2 will not happen if Najib still the Prime Minister.For number 4,not because of Proton,but our government.And for number 5,Proton is still doing RnD for it.For number 6,can you wait?Iriz baru launch,tak sampai satu tahun lagi pun.Please lah bro,think first before you say.

• BNaik on May 13, 2015 at 11:02 am

BN = Ministers full support.
      Najib = Rakyat full support.
      GST = Gorgeous lady.
      1MBD = No debts.
      Tabung Haji = No corruption.
      2020 = Rakyat RM10k minimum salary.

• SPAD False or Nonsense on May 13, 2015 at 10:15 am

SPAD is full of nonsense. The people I talk to even in KL find public transport so difficult.

SPAD should just close down. Waste of money. Chairman alone get 6 figures per month, not per year, but per month salary.

Bazir duit

• Hondaman on May 13, 2015 at 10:58 am

Nak bash pun bagi la facts, kan kat parlimen dah dedahkan gaji chairman SPAD, don’t be a lazy malaysian…

• BLUR SOTONG on May 13, 2015 at 11:17 am

Yeah . Our road conditions reflect our nation conditions – full of pot holes. Leaking and flooding aka 1MDB and national debts .

• kzm (Member) on May 14, 2015 at 7:49 am

U know that public road under state govt eg if u stay in selangor so selangor govt will take care of if..under central govt is toll highway n federal road

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2015 at 12:34 pm

“Our youngsters now prefer to travel on public transport, so if it is efficient and affordable, it would be their mode of choice,” he added.

Another shiok sendiri statement with no basis on fact.

No. Our youngers perfer to sit in nice air conditioned cars. They only use your poor delapitated public transport because they have no choice.

40% ? did you include all the foreign workers in it?