SPYSHOTS: B9 Audi A4 caught without camouflage!

Spy-Shots of Cars

Yes, we know, the B9 Audi A4 has been captured a million times. This round, however, the upcoming 3 Series-fighter has been photographed with most, if not all, of its camouflage stripped away. As a result, this batch of photos you see here is probably the closest thing you’ll get to the finished article prior to its confirmed Frankfurt debut in September.

While the car looks set to retain its dimensions, sources indicate a slightly wider rear track and a coupe-like roofline for a sleeker silhouette. Look closer and one will notice the subtle chrome line that begins just aft of the headlights and run all the way to the rear and across the boot before coming round the other side.

The headlight design appears to stay true to earlier renderings of the car, with the adoption of downturned, C-shaped assemblies flanking a Singleframe front grille as per Typ 8S Audi TT. At the rear, the edgier-looking taillights, replete with LED, cut deep into the boot assembly. The overall result is a clean, no-frills design that should see the B9 Audi A4 age like fine wine.

Spy-Shots of Cars

While shots of its interior are not included this time round, an earlier shot and rendering points to an uncluttered layout with Audi’s virtual cockpit set to feature. Elsewhere, a large tablet-like display screen sits atop the centre console while lower down, an Audi Q7-inspired gear selector is set to be included.

Under the skin, the B9 Audi A4 will ride on an evolution of the MQB platform, dubbed MQB Evo. Said platform employs a combination of ultra-high strength steel, aluminium and composites to help trim weight – up to 100 kg has been touted. In the near future, MQB Evo will underpin a vast majority of Audi’s models with the all-new Audi Q7 having the honour of being the first to adopt it.

Suspension wise, the B9 Audi A4 is expected to feature a five-link setup for each front wheel while the rear suspension layout will consist of a self-tracking trapezoidal-link system. As for what lies under the bonnet, an all-new 2.0 litre TFSI petrol engine will sit alongside a range of TDI diesel and petrol mills.

Click to enlarge.

Transmission wise, a six-speed manual is expected to feature along with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission – front-wheel drive is standard while quattro all-wheel drive be offered as a cost option and as standard on higher-end models.

Thanks to the flexibility of the MQB Evo platform, a plug-in hybrid variant is expected to feature for the US market while Europeans will receive a CNG (compressed natural gas) or all-electric e-tron version. Avant and Allroad variants are expected to debut not long after the sedan does. No word on a hotter RS variant just yet – keep your fingers crossed that Ingolstadt gives the green light.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• FIST (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Looking at the first pic, I thought it was the new Passat. But the new head lamp is ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Cantona on Jun 05, 2015 at 11:03 pm

It is in fact a glorified VW with a FWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Toyota Althis 2013 RM65k on Jun 06, 2015 at 11:06 am

Why buy the junk Camry at RM180k when you add a bit more and get a true German car for RM230k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • timothy gaga on Jun 06, 2015 at 5:25 pm

In Spore, Camry, Accord Mazda are no longer selling well there. The top sellers there are A4, 3series and C Class. Why? Because the price inclusive COE makes German cars affordable to Sporeans. So Japanese and Korean cars only used as taxi’s now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • OMGof on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:50 pm

OMG is this latest VW Jetta?
            Kimchi design is lightyears advanced. Front face looks like Inspilala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Please help me. Toyota sales are so bad. I beg you readers, pls buy Toyota

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:40 pm

If you really want to buy a bigger car, buy Camry. @014 July registred Camry 2.5, not even 11 months old now RM98k, down from RM180k.

I have to admit, Toyota sales now very bad. I am a real man to admit this

• goetze on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:28 pm

no it’s not jetta. it’s not vw. it’s audi. did u blind? i can’t see which part of this car were look same with koreans car and proton. so how can u comparing this car?

• This brand’s way tOO overrated, what so luxury ’bout ’em anyways?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2015 at 8:12 pm

the c-class and 3 series is not worried by how disappointing it looks…looks like a big a3 sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • Derma Dara on Jun 06, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Dey Samy Value, this car sells better than the C class and 3 series everywhere la. Only in Malaysia, it is not because they don’t have enough cars to meet demand because of quota for Malaysia still small.

Audi is already in Malaysia now, taken over from DRB. I think once they can sort of quota issues, the new “ugly” C class is surely dead. Even now, it is not selling well. The 3 series will be the only threat to this car here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • dr rif on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:13 pm

dont be stupid…C-class is world car of the year and amazing to look at. Soooo bored of AUDI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • Gavin Teoh on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Hello Dr Rif, you must be katak bawah tempurung. In Europe, A4 outsells C class, same in Japan also. What c**k u talking. Go overseas first then talk. Don’t just talk from your kampung!

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 07, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Altis is number 1 in Europe as luxury car. It has best RV.

• labulabi on Jun 07, 2015 at 4:53 pm

World car of the year, doesn’t mean it is good looking. The C Class looks like some silly Myvi banged it from behind. So cacat.

• deadslowgear on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:52 pm

This car is already dead before arrive.
        Dead slow gear – DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 06, 2015 at 9:39 pm

i think the biggget threat to ur auoutofdatedi eh4 is the toyota camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Aaron on Jun 05, 2015 at 8:28 pm

The front looks typical Audi, the back, clean and modern, on the whole, good looking car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • Can’t deny, the whole design is clean, but it’s just playing safe and just isn’t striking enough. Still prefer the C class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • That chrome strip seems like a bold (brave?) move.

• If this is the new car. It’s so disappointing. I expect much more from Audi.

Looks cheap and unrefined.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 06, 2015 at 12:02 am

Totally evolutionary looks for the A4. The shape remains the same and they just redesign the front and rear lights.

The B8 was cramped inside, this B9 should address that issue…or at least I hope they do.

The F30 and W205 will have nth much to worry about if this is the best Audi can do on the looks department. Hopefully the new FWD handling is better than the outgoing B8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • seanxoxk4 on Jun 06, 2015 at 10:24 am

What worry you are talking about? I have been seeing your comment for some times. You are just writing nonsense.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:20 pm

he is saying the car is beautiful but not that beautiful.
        He is also saying the car is ugly but not that ugly.
        He is talking in riddles

• uglyaudi on Jun 06, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Ask him to put number, from 1 till end. Then you will understand what he likes.

To me this design is still UGLY. From Merc BMW Audi, Audi is the ugliest, BMW is uglier and Merc is ugly. Satisfied?

• sandlorry on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:59 pm

If you want space you buy lorry lor

• DrCooper on Jun 06, 2015 at 8:35 am

wth..is the rear lamp still camouflaged ? if not its looks ugly ! like ripped of last gen honda accord !

• The rear has whiffs of Accordana at a glance. The interior better has killer styling and features because the exterior is rather underwhelming, especially since its taken so long to be introduced.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 06, 2015 at 3:37 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• DrMyAs* on Jun 06, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Hello please guys. Accord does not even have LED also. Still using lampu kalimantang inside. How can you even compare a milo tin with this car? It’s like comparing Malaysian Universities with Ivy League ones. Accord not even same league man!

• cendol (Member) on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Malaysian Universities ARE better than UK and Australia ones, according to minister.
      Accord does have LED lights on 2.4L spec.

• cendolkok on Jun 06, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Since when they claimed it. Proof?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 07, 2015 at 11:02 am

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2012/03/31/Muhyiddin-Our-education-system-better-than-advanced-nations/

said by muhyiddin, date 31 march 2012.

google it,

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Those UITM guys are fars advanced than Oxford and Cambridge.

• cendolkok on Jun 07, 2015 at 6:50 pm

He said about quality of education, he didn’t mention universities specifically.

Sigh.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Ha ha ha ha. Orang kampung cannot admit it

• Raed the articleagain, where got that statement inside it?

• poorled on Jun 06, 2015 at 7:05 pm

What use of LED if it annoys other drivers at night?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:20 am

only those after-market cheapo LED chop shop are blinding people
          THese LED standard on cars have been researched extensively before put to use.

• my first glance at the interior i thought it was a BMW without looking at the gear part, anyone has the same thought as me ? give a thumbs up.

• Sam loo suppoter on Jun 07, 2015 at 9:53 am

https://m.facebook.com/SamLooRV support my very rich boss

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 07, 2015 at 12:35 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, start writing a will

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Jun 07, 2015 at 12:51 pm

My son sam hilux saga has best RV and i have 3 lexus at home. Don’t be jeoulous. Work hard.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2015 at 5:03 pm

kimchi cars got better RV becaus emost kimchi cars got VSC. Now even the uneducated people also demand VSC from the used car dealer.

Used car dealers now dont take Toyota. Harder to sell it than a K5!

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Jun 07, 2015 at 1:19 pm

It is beautiful

• Lim T.T. on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:48 am

We have two Audi cars we bought in 2013 bit frankly, Audi Malaysia should reconsider reconsider their service and support strategy which is rudimentary at best. It is clear that Euromobil technical guys struggle to help owners upkeep their cars! Customers are often given a raw deal after sales.

• Lim T.T. on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:49 am

We have two Audi cars we bought in 2013 but frankly, Audi Malaysia should reconsider their service and support strategy which is rudimentary at best. It is clear that Euromobil technical guys struggle to help owners upkeep their cars! Customers are often given a raw deal after sales.

• Lim T.T. on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:49 am

We have two Audi cars we bought in 2013 but frankly, Audi Malaysia should reconsider their service and support strategy which is rudimentary at best. It is clear that Euromobil technical guys struggle to help owners upkeep their cars! Customers are often given a raw deal after sales.