VIDEO: See the Audi TT’s virtual cockpit in action!

You’ve no doubt heard a bit about the Audi virtual cockpit – a 12.3-inch TFT LCD behind the steering wheel that debuted on the third-gen Audi TT, and which negates the need for a central display, as well as mechanical analogue instruments.

Looks impressive even in photos, but here come videos from Audi UK and Audi Australia, showing the brilliant graphic, technological feast in action.

The driver can toggle between two viewing modes by pressing the View button on the steering wheel – in Infotainment mode, the rev counter and speedo retreat to the sides, letting a main window that displays navigation, phone and audio data take centre stage.

Classic mode sees a reversal of roles to the more traditional instrument panel layout – big rev counter and speedo, small window between them. Thanks to its built-in quad-core Nvidia Tegra 30 chip, the gauges are capable of refreshing at 60 frames per second, ensuring absolute precision.

Complementing the virtual cockpit is a new, much-simplified Multi-Media Interface (MMI) central control terminal. This comprises a big rotary controller with a touch-sensitive face for handwriting input, a button on either side, plus two toggles that activate navigation, telephone, radio and media menus.

But enough of us talking – watch the above videos to see for yourself how the thing works. Our RM285k Audi TT 2.0 TFSI Coupe has the virtual cockpit as standard, by the way.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• So laggy the cockpit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • lolzer on May 19, 2015 at 6:21 pm

It’s the maps loading, that’s laggy, not the entire cockpit as you can see there are no lags when switching between options and revving.

• Sam Loo(ori1) on May 19, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Low RV. Rich people go for Lexus, just like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
        • lexusbiscuit on May 19, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Lexus = glorified Toyota, nothing special

• Rich people don’t care about RV. Found out I see.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on May 20, 2015 at 10:50 am

If you can make like RM 6K a month like me, you will be able to afford luxury car. Work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • lolzer on May 19, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Not to mention it’s running on QNX platform instead of Linux! Less crashes and more up-to-date info thanks to the core of QNX which is RTOS.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Somehow having the navigation in the speedo area is so distracting considering the image is not square unlike if display in a big 8in screen.

• kenek on May 19, 2015 at 6:54 pm

the handwriting input means that if you write left-handed on a right-hand drive is good. but if u write right-handed, how la? have to cross arms to write?

• kampungEGGpower! on May 20, 2015 at 10:35 am

why u so DUMB one bro kenek, u right-handed u just sit on the left passenger side to write lar, u binish writing then u move ur butt back to driver seat on the right side…bcoz u r not suppose to write anything while u r driving…

• Check engine light!

• Blaster88 on May 19, 2015 at 7:04 pm

I check out the TT over the weekend. The videos above do not do justice…go an experience it yourself. BTW, its a RM9500 upgrade option from the standard MMI to MMI plus. Ouch!

• Gary Chong on May 19, 2015 at 7:29 pm

cockpit looks slightly disappointing~

• forrest the tree on May 19, 2015 at 8:03 pm

One word: lag

• Philip Loh on May 19, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Impressive BUT –

1) lifespan of the LCD display
    2) LCD kaput, no access to MMI or instrument panel (basically all the car functions!)
    3) Distracting driving at night
    4) Navigation Map too large and odd sized
    5) Cost to replace the LCD panel

I prefer separate displays for different functions, losing out on one display won’t jeopardize the rest of the car functions

• Practical comments. But people don’t buy this kind of car if they can only afford to be practical. This is for the young who are either rich or have rich parents or simply rich young-at-hearts. No use talking practicality and cost here.

• kampungEGGpower! on May 20, 2015 at 10:40 am

u two really u DUMB think audi engineers so dumb never thought of the lcd failure?? asked the SA about this the other day, when the LCD failed, the system would boot up MS-DOS interface, u just key in the command prompt thru your smartphone audi TT App to access the functionality.

• Ah Pek on May 19, 2015 at 8:42 pm

damn those nails should be trimmed…

• Macromedia on May 19, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Nope, don’t work for me. Very distracting. Bad idea.

• The video also proof audi is prone to spoil la. Check light on in demo car ah! Bodoh ppl only buy car that spoil non-stop!

• Sam Teh on May 20, 2015 at 6:26 am

Oh my …really want to meet this Sarah girl..I love you finger..

• I prefer to please my passenger where she can explore with the LCD screen, help me navigate through sharing screen and let her choose the song she prefer through the screen. So this design is sort of con for me.

• hazamiey on May 20, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Damn, girls should be melted with you. The way u think of pleasing the ladies is so gentleman. Coupled by driving this car, its a panty-dropper!