VIDEO: Touching Toyota Safety Sense commercial goes through life from dad’s and daughter’s eyes

“Love works invisible. Toyota works love.” Things can sound pretty silly in Japlish, but after watching this video, you’ll know exactly what they mean. Father’s Day is coming soon, and this Toyota Safety Sense commercial depicts a father-daughter relationship as they go through life, seen from the perspectives of both Dad and daughter.

As life flashes past, you catch glimpses of flared trousers, tartan seats, kimono, seifuku, tyre chains for winter, and a wedding. Enough to make you think about your own life thus far. All while going through a second-gen Celica XX 2000GT, Estima, second-gen Prius and the new Corolla Fielder. This is as real-life as it gets, and it’s pretty emotive stuff.

The Toyota Safety Sense package unites advanced safety aids such as pre-crash systems, lane departure alert, radar and auto high beam. It debuted on the facelifted JDM Corolla Axio and Fielder in April, before going to the Aygo x-cite in Europe. Happy Father’s Day to all awesome Dads!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• UMW Mampus on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:05 am

Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack in Malaysia, we still don’t have ESP for most basic range models.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:19 am

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. that is why this video show safety.

But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features.

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 160
      • Gargantia on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:58 am

Toyata = safety first !!!

UMW Toyota(Malaysia Dealer) = Greed and making fools of existing/potential customers !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
        • toyotacoffin on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:03 pm

No la, even Toyota got massive recalls all over the world. Latest one is killer takata airbags. No such thing as safety first as they do it ONLY after being sued.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
          • Gargantia on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:12 pm

True but still anyway better then lousy UMW Toyota !!!

Greed first; customers safety last !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
          • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:57 pm

UMW got no sales now in the showroom. Lady salesperson playing with whatsapp and the salesman are all in the toilet sniffing used panties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • karam singh on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:27 pm

But, Even Toyota with VSC and all other safety, still only a little got 5stars Euro NCAP / Good rating IIHS(Top safety pick plus)
            go watch the crash test on youtube, u will notice, there are lots more car out there with better safety especially Volvo,Honda,Merc,Subaru

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Sales of Toyota cars are so bad, some people have caught the UMw salesman in the toilet masturbating. Because bored, nothing to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:16 pm

not all oversea country get all those safety feature….most ASEAN, African n South American country mostly got little safety equipment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • George Abdul on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Still Malaysia taxes aka Bolehland cronies industry a highest amount but Malaysian Rakyat gets the less safety fixtures car!

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:42 pm

woi dungu, you compare us to African country or south american country? That is so dumb.

In 5 yrs time, 2020, we are supposed to be developed country, according to your Prime Minister whom you support fully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:46 pm

I compare what? I dont compare anything. Plz read comment that I replying too..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Stay far far away from T&H showrooms

Visit KIA and Hyundai showrooms and promos instead.

Please bring a cheque book to place your deposit so you will not pull out from this deal.

Need more sales of new kimchis to prime used car market 12 months later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:06 am

Definitely a lot of people will bash of Vios airbags and VSC here. It is Toyota cheapest model, what do you expect? Do you expect Saga/Axia to have 6 airbags and VSC too?

Want more aigbags and VSC, you are always welcome to get our Altis or Camry. Or get a used Prius C lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 81
    • joejambol on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:18 am

you definitely have a 3rd class mentality..thats for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:09 pm

daughter can see the daddy in the coffin after the car terbalik. Tolong la UMw pasang VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:21 am

but Rm150k Camry also got no airbags?

but RM120k Altis also got no Camry?

But RM50k Iriz got VSC. Kia Picanto also got more than 6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Go get the Iriz and Picanto, like I am forcing you to buy Toyota.

Here comes the key question: Why people rather go for our Vios than your Iriz and Picanto? Why???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
        • samelorstpd on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Because they are conned by YOU!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Thanks for over estimating me.

I don’t have BR1M, 1Malaysia or JLow on my hands to con people.

The interesting thing is: even IF i managed to con ppl buy Toyota, they still come back for second/third/forth/fifth Toyota. Why? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
          • samelorstpd on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:18 pm

You conned people many times that’s why they come back. Worse than giving those money coz you milk money and endanger lives.

• Ahmad on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm

For the record, people don’t go for Toyota anymore. Please study your latest sales figures! LOL.. Toyota sales keep dropping dropping droppinggggggggggggggggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Never ever buy sushi new.

Get an Elanta, K5 or Sonata instead

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:55 pm

No, get Elantra, K5 or Sonata

I encourage all kimchi centric sorhai tai lan ngongs to stay away from T&H but “invest” your money in a kicmhi instead

• Hello are you high on something? Please pass your drug to all PT readers ok?

Comparing VIOS to Saga? You OK? Why don’t you compare VIOS to Honda City instead, who got ESP, 6 airbags while your VIOS top spec only got bunch of TRD plastic things.

What for those TRD plastics? Can increase safety ratings ah? Or can save me during emergency?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Don’t be naive!

Only the MOST EXPENSIVE Honda City variant (V spec) has 6 airbags and VSC, and most of the Honda City on the road here are not the V spec. They are just same as Vios!!

Go check out yourself on the road how many Honda City has both chromed door handle and fog lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
        • lorsam on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:45 pm

that is not true. the E spec also got VSC. only S and S+ dont have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • YES, you are right the MOST EXPENSIVE Honda City has 6 airbags and VSC.

What does your MOST EXPENSIVE VIOS got? TRD plastics and stickers everywhere.

Want more hard facts which could hurt you? VIOS TRD selling for about 91k, Honda City TOP SPEC about 87k, still 4k cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Then you can go order the City, why waste your time bashing Vios?

Get a Honda or Toyota, you know the difference. The City manufactured in Proton production line. you know how good they will be. Build quality, maintenance cost, comfort etc… you know why people keep going with Toyota.

You always have a choice. Not buying Toyota? You don’t have pay extra tax for City.

Desperately need 6 airbags and VSC, get our Altis lar. I can give you discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Lol…City is manufacture in malacca..p1 don’t have plant in malacca

• I am an Iriz user. When I read about ur comment, I cant stand ur stupidity. Ur vios vs city, 10 thing u use to beat city, 10 loses u get. Ur vios design is a shame. Likes kim kardasian butt. Is that really a beauty? But ppl in hallucination with media hoo haa agree with that beauty.

• furois on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Why cannot bashing Vios, you can badmouth other brands, so can we. Right?

Riigggghhhhhhtttttt

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I never bash other brand. Everything is fact based.

Sushi cars including Toyota, Honda, Mazda etc are good, but Toyota has best RV. – Fact.

Kimchi cars quality maybe ok but no RV. – Fact

Proton no quality no RV, no one want to buy it now. – also Fact.

You wanna bash Toyota? go ahead. I don’t own your mouth/fingers.

The thing is: A lot of people want to have Toyota quality, but they are concerned of the airbags and VSC, but they can’t afford the better Altis with better safety. Thus they are NOT HAPPY. If our Vios has 6 airbags and VSC… they will flock to our showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Ahmad Sabri on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Berbanding dengan saga sebab anakany guna saga mah.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Vios is B segment sedan, same as Saga. In same segment, Nissan Almera and Mitsubishi Attrage also 2 airbags no VSC. So?

You drive without seat belt, 20 airbags also can not help you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
          • nosushi on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:59 pm

So that means we go wrong with sushi?
            Is that what you want to say?
            LOLOLOLOLOLOL

• UMW Mampus on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Same segment yes, different price range. Then surely you will blame gov for the high price. OK. Fine. But for the same price for your expensive VIOS, we get better features from a City.

Typical salesman… instead of admitting their products fault, they try to justify their shortcomings and simply drag other brands to come.

You get it ka? Your VIOS 90k, NOTHING, EMPTY, ONLY TWO AIRBAGS AND NO ESP!! GOT IT???

OTHER CARS, less than 90K or about the same price, got more safety stuffs, PAHAM??? Your intelligence sound like Ahmad Maslan now. Worse is even he might be smarter than you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • Almera and Attrage same segment but much cheaper than your empty VIOS at 91k. PAHAM KAH BANGGANG??? Compare cars not only from same segment, look at the PRICE TOO OKAY?? PRICE!! Bloody…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Obviously you don’t know why people going for Toyota.

Reliable, comfort, fuel saving, good RV, cheap maintenance. Toyota is still the most popular choice.

Want 6 airbags and VSC? Go get our Altis then. Now you blaming us because you can’t afford the car. Pity your mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
          • taknaktoyota on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Toyota quality:
            -Reliable – 1/5 (has power window problem too, brake, suspension)
            -Comfort – 1/5 (sampan handling)
            -Fuel saving – 1/5 (lagi banyak dari lembu minum air)
            RV – 1/5 (Altis going cheap)
            -Maintenance 1/5

– Safety – 0/5 (moving coffin)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Maslan on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:29 pm

LOL.. you are the most retarded salesman ever.

Picture this when you go to market.

Auntie, ini epal tak manis.
            Auntie cakap, mahu manis punya bayar lebih lah!
            But in reality someone else is selling sweeter apple with cheaper price. Then you scold them because they “can’t afford”.

It’s not about affordability, it’s about value for money.

And people stop going to Toyota, they go elsewhere. They go for Honda, Ford, Hyundai, Kia, etc.

Your head forgot to brief the salesmen of latest sales performance? LOL… I guess it’s one of your managers’ way to keep you guys “motivated”.

Or should I say keep you guys OBLIVION, HALLUCINATED that you think people still go for Toyota and sales is high. SELF IMAGINARY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

These Proton fanboys can bash whatever they like about Toyota. They DON’T BUY the Iriz also. They only feel PROUD of it.

Toyota good or not, sales figure will tell. No need bullshit talkok epal this and that.

You got more value for your money spent in kimchi and Ford? Hahahaha… go ahead, like I will stop you. GO AHEAD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:53 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

Write a will if you still own a KIA

• dugongx on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:12 am

I think it makes more sense to write a will if you are driving a moving coffin toyota. Make it compulsory even.

• carazy on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:17 am

Very good commercial by Toyota Japan, but the real situation here in Malaysia especially by UMW Toyota is real difference, with minimum airbags, no ESP for most Toyota models. I would say the commercial is pure hype (in Malaysia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:25 am

Beautiful advertisement.
    Sadly the Toyotas cars sold here by UMW Toyota and UMW Perodua don’t even have ESP TC and with only two airbags on a large majority of their cars. They think Malaysians life are cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • TRD Sportivo on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:57 am

Malaysians are to be blame too. People who buy 90k plus TRD Vios confirm otak masuk air. The corporates don’t care about their lives, even the buyers also don’t care about their lives.

They prefer those sport kits, anti-snatch hook, push start button rather than ESP, TC, HHA because they think those blings blings can save their lives in case of emergency. When you tell them their otak masuk air, they said it’s okay laaaaaaaaaaa I can drive slower and safer, I am a professional driver yo!

There are better alternatives such as Honda City, Kia Cerato, or even the Proton that everyone looks down offer Preve and Iriz for even better features!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Wiwiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Yes you are absolutely right, I never thought of that. It is their choice. Happy to see less newly registered Vios on our roads now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • kington on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:49 am

UMW must go. Too much profit orientation until safety and lives of Malaysians are sacrificed.

Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • azrai on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:51 am

Where’s Sam Loo’s view?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Sam would encourage Sime Darby and NAZA KIA to make a video encouraging all to buy Elantra, K5 and Sonata so that they will keep the kimchi 12 month old market primed.

They should also discourage all from visiting H & T showrooms

• antaras on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:58 am

feels… such feelsss~ T_T

• The last scene where vehicle close proximity sensor sounded… if it is a Honda Accord sudah mati… langgar baru sound…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:36 pm

That’s not a proximity sensor…that’s a collision warning and auto-brake system. Our Accord doesn’t have it, to my knowledge.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Don’t worry, someone will engage LKW to rectify bad publicity on local Toyoda cars soon. LKW will make sure Toyoda bashers here loose their credibility…

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Who needs LKW when we have SameL0rr here to damage the UMW Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:28 pm

even their small k-car .. like the daihatsu move have automated braking !

• nabill (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:29 pm

waaaay too much irony in this video…thnx to umw generous safety kit

• Nenek Kau on Jun 15, 2015 at 1:49 pm

The last scene where the brake applied automatically when it close to the front car…how wonderful is that!!! This feature should be standard in any car by now!!! Just imagine that auto-brake first applied, then ABS+Traction control, then lastly airbag and seatbelt.

• jarang tengok kes Toyota langgar accident mati le..

• viosfan on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Betul tu, Toyota accident mana boleh mati, sebab tu airbags ada 2 je, VSC ESC TC mak nenek lain tu tak diperlukan di bolehland.

Haha!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:24 pm

But for kimchi owners, I had to install protective fencing along the monsoon drain boundary to prevent suicidal kimchi owners from jumping in.

If not, insurance underwriter will not allow me to renew the comprehensive insurance for my car yard

• dugongx on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:15 am

Ya. Sebab toyota badge boleh lindungi anda. It is 10x better than any electronic gimmick or airbags.

• Am I the only one who shed a or two tear?

• Corrected on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:04 pm

in malaysia they should make a video which is opposite of this video.

• digestl on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Yeah start it with Same Lorrrr sold that moving coffin to the conned poor man

• Ceh! UMW toyota can make a better video than this. It involves the high RV due to the car morph into a coffin for the whole family when accident. So good value, dude!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Kimchis dare not have these videos as none of their so called electronically controlled “safety” features works after 18 months.

That is why I only accept <12 month old kimchis now. Even Sri Lankans and Banglasdeshis know this better that Malaysian kimchi owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • WHERE IS THE VSC ???? VSC NOT FOR SAFETY FOR YOU DAD AND DAUGHTER????

• DPCraft on Jun 15, 2015 at 7:45 pm

In Malaysia this video will end with 2 coffins

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 18, 2015 at 2:14 pm

And it will show a K5 owner jumping into Klang River and a Sonata owner throwing himself onto an on-coming truck

• Blitz on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Sad to see how unsafe we are in Malaysia with UMV Toyota. U greedy bastard!

• Ppl in malaysia buy their car using this rank of consideration:
    1. Brand. Local is a no no.
    2. Price.
    3. Resale value
    4. Design
    10.safety.

P/s: so what did u expect from the dealer? U ask for it.

• kuriboh on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:34 pm

obviously in Malaysia we wont get this features even after 10 years from now. Poor Malaysian got cheated by UMW