Toyota Corolla Axio, Fielder facelift launched in Japan

toyota-corolla-fielder-facelift-jdm-8

The facelifted Toyota Corolla has launched in Japan – as before, in Axio sedan and Fielder estate forms. This Corolla is Japan-only, mind you, and is different from the one sold in the US or the rest of the world.

Thanks to slimmer headlamps and a Camry-like ‘Under Priority’ face, the cars make much more of a visual statement now. The rear combi lamps have also been reshaped. Like on our Camry, slatted and diamond-effect grilles are available – the latter on WxB (that’s black and white) and Aerotourer grades. Meanwhile, LED clearance lamps are standard on some variants and optional on others.

Debuting on these cars is the Toyota Safety Sense C package, which is standard on some variants and optional on others. This combines a laser radar unit and camera to give you Pre-Collision System (auto-braking between 10 and 80 km/h), Lane Departure Alert and Automatic High Beam.

Inside, you’ll find genuine leather on the steering wheel and gear knob, reshaped side air-con vents, a new front-cupholder LED spot lamp as well as piano black in the gear lever area on some grades.

The Axio sedan gets 1.3, 1.5 and 1.5 Hybrid (from the Prius c) powertrains, while the Fielder has 1.5, 1.8 and 1.5 Hybrid powertrains. Five-speed manual and CVT ‘boxes, plus front- and all-wheel drive versions, are available for the picking.

There are in fact two types of 1.5 litre engine available – the 2NR-FKE is newly-developed, and you’ll get it if you go for any FWD CVT variant (the old 1NZ-FE still serves all other 1.5 variants).

Mated to standard Stop & Start, this VVT-iE, Atkinson-cycle 13.5:1 high compression motor is capable of 23.4 km per litre on the Axio and 23 km per litre on the Fielder. Additionally, the hybrid models are now more efficient, with a quoted 33.8 km per litre.

New body colours, too – Orange Metallic for the Fielder, Cool Bordeaux Glass Flake (optional for WxB grade only) and Vintage Brown Pearl Crystal Shine (optional for the Axio). WxB is a new grade that’s exclusive to the Fielder – you get a black ceiling and pillars, plus white seats and door trim (optional).

The facelifted Corolla Axio is priced between 1.46 million and 2.21 million yen (RM44k-67k), and its Fielder sister between 1.61 million and 2.47 million yen (RM49k-75k).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• What a nice design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • ProtonGSC on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Selling price even highest spec 67k, Bolehland UMW Hybrid lowest price 150k…

Even with different model, Bolehland cars are OVER double taxes system !!!

Bolehland stupid protection AP SYSTEM !!! DrM says he never make wrong decisions???

• senpai-san on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:18 pm

do you know even the car price itself is cheap, owner must pay also shaken, 8% GST, double insurance, high maintenance cost, parking (u must have prove u have legal parking b4 u buy a car), limited parking space, high fuel price (today the cheapest is 132(more or less because price change every week) yen.

in malaysia if u buy secondhand car, u only pay for a car price but here u also have to pay high shaken cost.

living in japan is not cheap as u think!

• Thanks to Proton, we get this for double the price. If not for Proton, we can have a Corolla with safety system more advanced than Iriz for RM67k!

Is Toyota overpriced in Malaysia?
      Yes!

Why?
      To protect Proton lah. Without protection, Proton cannot survive!

The Result?
      Rakyat pay more for less. Rakyat lose for Proton’s gain. More expensive cars, less safety equipment etc

• Veilside on Apr 06, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Luckily we got the Altis here. The design is nicer than this. The only letdown is safety spec and price.

• DPCraft on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Front is still acceptable, Rear – Ugly

• Toyota die hard fan on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

The most beautiful car ever produced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Zoom Zoom on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Why so ugly? looks like from 1990s…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Bullshit. Go check you eyes. This is the sexiest beast I have ever seen. I am having wet dreams about it every night. Hope they bring it to malaysia.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:35 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • The fielder looks nice and top spec 1.8 only RM75k and can do 23L per km.

The crappy preve or suprima s same price but ugly, poor quality shit junk that does 7km per litre (city) and full of problems and plastic rattling sound and noisy engine.

Proton you shit junk!!!!

• Lol clearly you talk kok, where got 7km/l, only 10km/l.
      And this is HYBRID, not n/a or turbo engine and that’s 23km/l is not real world FC.

You dun read kah?

• Low Budget on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:46 pm

The back of the sedan looks like Hyundai Elantra year 2003 model.

• Perodua please rebadge this car and sell us cheap2.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 4:35 pm

No offence to the 90s, as there were some spectacular designs from 2 decades ago (the BMW E34 & E36, Honda Accord SV4, etc) but this Corolla Fiedler & Axio are so outdated they make the Proton Waja look like it was designed yesterday.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:30 pm

You tak suka u keluar dari blog ini. No one ask u to complain

• FIST (Member) on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:55 pm

It looks like something from the 70s

• Sam Looser on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

It makes the 1984 Proton saga magma look futuristic.

• Gene Miller on Apr 07, 2015 at 1:00 am

Too bad on not bringing this to the states. Toyotoa dropped the Matrix,the North American made joint venture with Pontiac. Now they announced ceasing production of Venza. So they don’t have a good hatch back line up anymore. I’ll be seeing Subaru soon.

• shawal on Apr 07, 2015 at 3:50 pm

that purple fielder hybrid looks kinda groovy, in a subaru-ish kinda way….
    won’t mind having that as a daily driver..

• shafiqul Islam on Apr 13, 2015 at 11:52 pm

In malaysia where i can get axio
    Please please please tell me

• Shafiqul on Jun 18, 2015 at 11:47 pm

I want the axio please contact with me