Mazda CX-3 is America’s most economical B-segment SUV – 8.1 l/100 km city, 6.7 l/100 km highway

all_new_mazda_cx-3_still_5-v2

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has ratified the Mazda CX-3‘s fuel consumption figures, and the net result is that the little newcomer from Hiroshima can now claim to be the most economical B-segment SUV in America, beating out more established rivals (but only just).

In standard front-wheel drive trim with a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected four-cylinder engine and a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, it achieves 29 mpg (8.1 litres per 100 km) in the city and 35 mpg (6.7 litres per 100 km) on the highway.

all_new_mazda_cx-3_action_36-2

By comparison, the CVT-equipped 1.8 litre Honda HR-V is just 1 mpg behind in the city at 28 mpg (8.4 litres per 100 km) and matches the CX-3 on the highway. The Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-T, on the other hand, ties with the HR-V in the city, but trails the leaders on the highway at 34 mpg (6.9 litres per 100 km); strangely, it’s at its most economical with the Nismo‘s six-speed manual, rather than with the standard Xtronic CVT.

Equipped with optional all-wheel drive, the best the CX-3 can do is match the AWD HR-V’s 27 mpg (8.7 litres per 100 km) in the city and 32 mpg (7.4 litres per 100 km) on the highway. Behind them, the Juke again nabs third place (its AWD system is available only with a CVT) with 26 mpg (9.0 litres per 100 km) and 31 mpg (7.6 litres per 100 km) respectively.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Note to Honda: Mazda is doing this with a much bigger engine (2.0) and without resorting to CVT (rejoice!!). But Mazda does have a trick fuel saving system (the SkyActive thingy), whereas Honda has none (not sure if the econ button was activated – but I have feeling it wasn’t).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • donkey J on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Mazda design and drive tech is grow eye on me, following the introduce diesel skyactiv that excite me most, sadly i expect we get regular petrol instead.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:58 pm

You may be addicted to the look, but once you realize you need more space and you plan to buy new car and trade in the CX3. You will show your sour face learning Mazda RV. Mazda no doubt good quality good looking, but RV very low. Sorry but true.

So think twice before you buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
        • People who brought Mazda don’t care on RV.
          Mazda owner who talk about RV to you, means he/she still not up to that standard.
          Mazda not for doggy piggy lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Liar. But sporty looking is useless without turbo. No turbo no buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • jinggo on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Lahabao samlorr.. tak abes abes dgn RV ko tu..

• Kakakaka on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Then if want to about high RV, one thing for sure, better get HR-V compare to Toyota that has nothing! H-RV = Highest Resale Value

• if its the 1.5 diesel skyactive like what Europeans are getting….it will be more significant fuel saving.

Will be interesting if the 3 cars are compared again as per Euro market availability with their diesels alternatives

• putra_rider on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Hope this car not to wait for half year to get.:P

• nomovingcoffin on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Takata airbags inside?

• nosushi on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Best way is dun buy sushi at least for several years. Teach them some lessons to rise up safety quality. Now sushi safety is worse than conti even worse than p1

• Let's Takata You and Find Out on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:10 am

You seem to ask this all the time. Why don’t you do us all a favour and drive it and test out the airbag to see if it is any different to the Takata ones in all the Hondas and Toyota’s?

• mr_em on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:38 pm

is US gallon same as UK gallon?
    hence is the US MPG converted to x liter/100km correct here?… just wondering

• mr_em on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:45 pm

hehe.. quick calculation done. x liter/100km conversion correct..

• the china gwm m4 pawn this with 6l/100km.

• John Doe on Jun 23, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Faster launch la I cannot wait now push to q4 of 2015. Such a long waiting period to even start ordering. Looks like I will have no choice but to go for HR-V. So disappointing la Mazda Malaysia. You are losing potential buyers because of the VERY VERY long launch date of the cx-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • raptor on Jun 23, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Whats the price for base model? Hopefully it’s priced good

• DPCraft on Jun 23, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Stop with the news and launch it, cannot wait already !!

• Expect this CX-3 to come where to projector light bulb instead. What they have done to the Mazda 2 is a serious mistake or else the sales will be up. I’ve seen more CX-5, Mazda 6 or 3 than the 2. Pity.

• 18 inch rims CX3 on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Aggree with John Doe, pls be quick CX3 if you late your portion of market share will be eaten by HRV

• ProminentWife on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:36 pm

my husband selling my hrv to wait for this new mazda, hope second hand value of hrv gonna be decent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • crampy on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm

It is just jacked up mazda2. Crampy

• transformer on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:33 pm

For this type of comparison infos, I wished writer can make a simple excel table on fuel consumption instead an essay.

If in newspaper, editor just either need more spaces for advertisement(lesser text or photo) or more text(when there no ads) but this not suitable for online blogs.

• pak abu on Jun 27, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Regardless about RV, I give one extra star to HRV because of flat floor. Beautiful and gorgeous I give 2 stars to CX~3.