Gov’t still “not ready” to enforce mandatory child seat usage, will only do so in 2019 – report

Child car seats paultan.org 008

It looks like the future of widespread child seat use is still some ways away from becoming a reality, as Bernama reports that the government is still not ready to make compulsory the usage of this vital safety equipment, citing cost, economy and public awareness issues.

According to the national news agency, transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai stated that because parents still held a lackadaisical attitude towards child seat usage, public awareness must be prioritised and improved before any sort of enforcement can commence.

“We must educate them [parents] about the importance of using child seats in cars when travelling with children or infants,” he said. “They must really understand why infants need their own special seats.

“If you have children in the car, we advocate the usage of child seats and seat belts to secure them. The DUKE highway accident – where a child was thrown out of the car and passed away – shows the cost when we don’t belt up our children.”

Liow added that the relatively high prices of child seats have contributed to the government’s decision into the matter, as it wanted to avoid socio-economic repercussions, especially among low-income earners and the “less fortunate.” He also denied reports that the government will begin enforcement by 2017, saying that it still only plans to do so by 2019.

3-Point Seat Belt

Separately, Liow said that a study conducted by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) – which found that only 7-9% of passengers used rear seat belts since the government enforced its usage in 2009 – showed the dire need to improve public awareness regarding the matter.

“We cannot continue to flout the rule as it involves lives,” he said. “The people must remember and realise their responsibility. If they can wear their seat belts when sitting in the front of the car, why not when sitting at the rear seats?

“I have directed JPJ and have gotten the support of the police to help us [the ministry] enforce this ruling. We also implore the public, organisations and corporations to inform, instruct or advise others to buckle up at the rear.”

What do you think, dear readers: should the government begin enforcement of child seat usage as soon as possible, or should the public be given time to prepare? Of course, it doesn’t matter whether it’s enforced or not – you value the lives of your loved ones, so please keep them safe by properly restraining them whenever you’re on the road.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• MeToo on Aug 13, 2015 at 10:40 am

It makes sense to enforce tinting rule instead, cause frankly who cares about children’s safety …. right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Terence on Aug 13, 2015 at 10:52 am

MeToo: You will when you have a child. You don’t now because you don’t.

I think Liow Tiong Lai should resign. It’s a shame to put monkeys on important positions like these because he doesn’t care about the wellbeing of the people.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 13, 2015 at 10:58 am

don’t worry folks,
    Come 2019, we are STILL won’t be ready yet.

• Minimum Car Sales Rule on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:01 am

How about mandatory:
    – Grace period of 1 Month. Car returned if not satisfied or full new car replacement.
    – 10 Years Warranty + Road Assist
    – 10 Years Free Car Service (Parts + Labour)
    – 6 Airbags (Front, Side, Curtains) + 1 Driver’s Knee Airbags
    – Traction control + ESC, ABS Brakes + EBD
    – Minimum 15KM/Liter Fuel Economy + Start Stop

Those cars fail the above are banned from selling in Malaysia.

MITI, MAI, MAA Setuju? Protect car buyers’ right!

• Painter on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:02 am

What the government can do, I think lah, is to use the part of the 4 billion odd BR1M money which government waste every year to subsidize car buyer with the child seat cost.

All the details like first time car buyer, or first child only can be discussed thoroughly.

You help the middle class thru difficult times. Get young family get a head-start in life. They are the engine of growth of this country.

Give BR1M to everyone for what? I know lah the economist theory about the multiplier effect of giving money to the masses, but so far improvement to economy is not felt on the ground. When you do something, must have objective and measurable impact. If no impact, then change the method.

• forrest the tree on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:04 am

How to enforce this if some adults refuse to put on seat belt?

• It’s ok. We understand. It’s a mess in the cabinet. You don’t want to add fuel to them to fight who should get the right to get the child seat AP.

• tokmoh. on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Yes, we wait they introduce program kerusi kanak-kanak 1 Malaysia.

Then following year’s auditor’s general report will find out govt bought each seat for RM260,000.

• domainicus on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:05 am

Ditto AES speed radar camera. Awareness is not needed right when it enrich the few. Just do it. We need to convince our family and friends first so that our and their children buckle up in the baby and child seat. We can do these by introducing the law. Enforcement whether lacking or not is not our problem. Convincing people is more paramount.

• Right, it’s probably cheaper to get another child than to buy a child seat.

• Avery on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:45 am

ur kidding right? child seat cost u about rm200-300 only, when buying fancy rims and tyres that cost thousand its no issue but buying a cheap car seat suddenly eveyrone loses their s**t.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:34 pm

ahhh..you didn’t read into his sarcasm.

But all thruth be told, if you see how lacksidal some parents approach to child rearing (especially in Kampongs), you might think that was true.

• I am being sarcastic..
        The argument that it’s not implemented due to certain groups of people not being able to afford it is lame. We are talking about children’s lives here.

• Like seriously?!

• Barking Up The Wrong Tree on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:10 am

Child safety is not important? When will our govt ever learn? Cannot get the simplest priority straight! And how can some parents assume it is fine? You may drive carefully but some idiots on the road don’t. Willing to risk the life of a child just to save some money or convenience. The ill fated pajero accident with the 2 myvis on DUKE didn’t teach us anything?

• George Abdul on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:26 am

Govt tell Rakyat wait until ministers find ways to make “donations” from this rule !!!

Soon in future alot of private individuals will use this “donations” as excuses away from law !!!

Keep make your BN using power.

• spongewai on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:30 pm

EVERYTHING IS NOT READY, WHAT ELSE YOU’RE READY?!

MONEY MONEY….

ISH, SD LAH!!

• Ready or not ready we as a parents should do it. We don’t need other people to force us or tell us what is safety for our children. JUST DO IT!!!!!

• Yes Man on Aug 14, 2015 at 2:16 am

Can implement GST when the people is not ready yet.

• blackgenius007 on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Because they want to monopolise baby seats business.. wait they build the manufacturing plant first and then everyone must buy from them… it could be branded as “1kerusibayi”