Myvi-Pajero Sport fatal incident shocks the nation – why ensuring passenger safety is so important

1610923_963118703732951_4294408694917185179_n

If you’ve been following the news, I don’t think I have to go into detail about what happened over the weekend. A quick recap, if you’re not already aware of it – six Perodua Myvis belonging to a club were allegedly racing on the DUKE highway, and one of them hit a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport. The impact caused the SUV to roll over, and the occupants – a couple and their infant – were killed.

I won’t go into the whole “we should not be driving dangerously or racing on highways” bit. Hopefully most of our readers don’t fall into this category, but instead are sensible motorists who are trying to get from point A to point B safely. That’s the thing with driving on highways. At those speeds, any mishap could prove to be fatal because of the kind of speeds you’re travelling and decelerating from.

Sometimes I don’t understand why many Malaysians are generally so lackadaisical when it comes to motoring safety, when they do all they can to establish gated and guarded communities and grille up every opening there is in their homes. The bogeyman has a driving license, you know.

Here are some steps that we can take to make sure that we have a higher chance of walking away from an accident in the event that we’re unfortunate enough to be involved in one due to someone else’s poor driving or from the actions of an irresponsible road user.

Buckle up – everyone needs to wear their seat belts!

Rear_Seat_belt-003

We can’t stress enough how important seat belts are in a crash. Seat belts keep you safely strapped to your seat, and you won’t be thrown out of your vehicle in a crash.

Did you know that according to the Road Safety Department, there are 20 accident-related deaths recorded each day in Malaysia due to people not using their seat belts? Those 20 lives lost could possibly have been prevented if they had buckled up.

Please watch the video below to see what happens to someone in a rollover crash when that person isn’t wearing a seat belt. And take note there’s only one person in the car – the driver. Well, he started off in the driver’s seat at least, but ends up with his head sticking out of the broken rear passenger window.

You may think that it’s okay, that you drive safely and so, you don’t need to put on a seat belt. But every single person who has gotten into an accident never intended to be involved in one.

Seatbelts are a must for rear passengers too. A study revealed that in an accident involving a vehicle travelling at 50 km/h, the weight of unbuckled rear passengers jumps by 30-60 times their original weight.

Basically, an unrestrained rear passenger becomes the equivalent of a 3.5-tonne projectile hitting the back of the front passenger seat, and the front passenger seat isn’t designed to absorb three and a half tonnes of force. It’s a recipe for a tragic disaster.

Sadly, MIROS statistics show that the compliance rate for the rear seat belt rule was 47% when introduced in February 2009 (enforcement began on January 1, 2009), but this plummeted to 13% by end-2009, 9.7% by 2010 and 9.2% by 2011. It appears that people were only buckling up due to the fear of being fined.

Make sure our children are safely secured in child seats.

Nissan-Elgrand-Review-68

Children should be secured in child seats when travelling in vehicles, and not in the arms of someone. The nation was already shocked by a report in early February this year where a 20-month old toddler was flung out of a car and killed. It is understood that his mother, herself five months pregnant, was holding him on her lap when the incident happened. From what we’ve read in the papers in this most recent incident, the child was flung out of the Pajero Sport too.

Many Malaysian parents hold their children on their laps in cars, which is very dangerous. Let’s not kid ourselves, an adult passenger will not have the required strength to prevent an infant or a child from being thrown forward during a collision, at any speed applied.

Yes, no matter how strong you think you are, your arms are not as good as proper belts. According to AAM, at a crash speed of just 50 km/h an unsecured infant weighing seven kilograms will be thrown forward at a force equivalent to an adult falling from a five-(5) storey building!

Simply putting them in the car’s normal seat – which is meant for adults – won’t work either. A vehicle’s seatbelt is meant to safely hold an adult body in place – it will not work for the small body of an infant, toddler or a small child. A lot of parents actually move their children out of child seats way too early.

Making the use of child car seats mandatory is a good move, but let’s start with buying and using them first. When you buy your child seat, make sure you learn how to install it properly, as an improperly installed child seat won’t do its job when it is needed.

Eliminate projectiles – our luggage may end up killing us!

Some of us like to decorate our cars with all kinds of little decorations such as toy cars and action figures and other what-nots. Some leave a whole bunch of toys in the car for kids to play with – these toys (like toy cars) may have sharp edges. We should refrain from doing this – keep the toys in a bag and only take them out when needed.

Hatchback, SUV and wagon users should take note of this particular topic, because in these body types the boot is essentially in the same space as the passenger area, so you have to make sure that all luggage must be secured at all times. With the advent of cool features like Honda’s Magic Seats – where seats can be folded down and up with multiple flexible configurations – it’s common for us to carry all kinds of things in the area where passengers are usually seated.

In a crash, all of these items can become projectiles that can cause grievous injuries, even kill. Just watch the video above. It’s in German, but the footage should be enough to do the talking.

You need to make sure you get something like a luggage net to separate yourself from your cargo, or secure everything down with luggage straps. Also, be wary of convenience items that you may have added, such as extra mirrors to watch the kids or even iPad holders – some of the cheaper items don’t have the proper engineering in them to be safe in a crash.

Make sure your tyres are in good condition.

Your tyres are the only point of contact between you and the road. Always remember, you are only able to control your car as long as these four points of contact are able to grip the road.

As such, it’s essential that you always make sure your tyres are in usable condition. Your tyres must have a minimum tread depth of 1.6 mm. If you have one of the old silver 20 sen coins lying around, you can slot it into the grooves of the tyre to check tread depth – if you can fully read the word “sen” on it, it’s time to change your tyres.

If your tyre has been punctured before, don’t repair tyres with tread punctures larger than 6.35 mm, or any sidewall puncture (which is usually unrepairable anyway). Also, never repair tyres which are worn below the mentioned 1.6 mm tread depth. It might be painful to the wallet, but you need to replace them.

You also need to make sure that your spare tyre is always ready to do its job, so check its pressure periodically.

Buy a car with ABS and ESC

Safety features such as Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS) and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) can help one regain control of one’s vehicle after it has been hit at high speed.

This personally happened to me – I was driving my old W211 E270 CDI on the Elite highway when the Merc’s rear side was hit by an old 3-Series spinning out of control. The impact sent my car veering almost sideways out of control towards the barrier.

I didn’t hit the barrier, because my car was equipped with stability control. In seconds, stability control did its magic, applied brake force to the necessary individual wheels to stabilise the car. I regained control of the vehicle without much effort, and could have proceeded with my journey if I had to. A potential disaster had been averted, and I got away with just a broken bumper and a tail lamp.

There are so many potential situations where stability control can potentially save your life. Another driver might be merging into your lane without bothering to check his wing mirrors to see if he’d be ploughing straight into you – and at highway speeds, an evasive manoeuvre could see you lose control as the car starts to fishtail.

Use CarBase.my‘s search engine to find cars for sale in Malaysia equipped with both ABS and ESC.

Drive defensively and develop situational awareness

We all need to pay extra attention on the road. You’ll find that some people just randomly switch lanes – these are people who basically do not bother to check their rear-view mirrors before performing such a manoeuvre.

We have to make sure we don’t become the idiot who almost sideswipes someone off the road, and we have to be alert enough to make sure we don’t end up being the person being sideswiped off too. We always need to know what’s happening around us – watch the behaviour pattern of other cars, always be aware of traffic conditions ahead, and make it a habit to look into your rear-view mirror more than occasionally.

Make sure that there are no decorative items like stickers and stuffed toys blocking your mirrors. If you have something large hanging from your rear view mirror that obstructs your windscreen, get rid of it.

Like I said before, the bogeyman is out there and he has a driver’s license. If all else fails, hopefully your seat belts, airbags, and active safety systems will save you. Happy – and safe – motoring.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• priya on May 05, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 328
    • Perodua Moving Coffin on May 05, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Hello Si Botak CEO, where is our VSC? VSC is compulsory in EU and Australia. In Malaysia, Si Botak CEO from Perodua still not giving VSC. No wonder Myvi always lose control.

Cheap lousy car company that think our lives are lousy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 22
      • Big Pajero on May 05, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 230
        • George Abdul on May 05, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Here another example Our Govt treat Rakyat as low life living…

As Rakyat need to stand clear toward Govt we need more safety fixtures on daily life car.

If Govt really car for Rakyat, they will think of us first before just making profit for themself !!!

Again please wake up Rakyat. Don’t be fool by petrol vouchers !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 54
          • jipangmenjerit on May 06, 2015 at 4:51 am

dude, it’s the cheap myvi survive rather than expensive pajero. or you’re confused?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • Ah Beng (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 8:54 am

Myvi owner damn proud driving fast but not knowing their car safeless. That is the reason why the yellow Myvi SE skid and being hit with the Pajero. See..Ah Beng told so many times why PROTON models are better than Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on May 05, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 262
          • Dr Abdul on May 05, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Myvi is truly a low life car. Half the Myvi in town kena tarik balik by bank because the low lives who own it cannot pay the loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 47
          • Ah Beng (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Myvi owner damn proud driving fast but not knowing their car safeless. That is the reason why the yellow Myvi SE skid and being hit with the Pajero. See..Ah Beng told so many times why PROTON models are better than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 24
          • Mat Rempit Story on May 05, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Myvi is the next best upgrade for the Mat Rempits who have to keep his motorbike racer in hibernation. Now,the Rempit has to have a car after he has bonked and got a child.

But the urge to race is still there. The urge to join clubs is still there. Still a kutu. Cannot change his ways.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 8
          • agreeman on May 05, 2015 at 5:48 pm

agreed with you man, these people need to change their mentality/mindset. work hard and look for opportunity not just play safe later blame others esp the govt for gst la, subsidiary la…bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
          • Agree. However blaming others than himself is the easiest thing to do. Blaming the goverment for everything also has bigger political impact..

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Toyota Camry also no VSC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 6
          • VHL LOrrrr on May 05, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Toyota buyers are either ‘sorhai tai lan ngong’ or lazy with no ambition in life. Generally ‘rich-wannabe’ and got no savings because want to show off with their ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota junks while becoming bank slave for 9 years.

My advice to UMW Toyota buyers, work hard in life, you will be then able to afford a better car like Mercedes or Lexus which gives you better safety and RV and throw away your ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota junks.

Stop blaming the Government and others for your poverty. You are poor because you are lazy and don’t want to work hard. Just chill in office and surf the Internet, instead of giving your best by working hard.

This is why ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota buyers get a car with ZERO safety (except Camry Hybrid and Altis 2.0V with safety package). No VSC and just 2 airbags. Kena langgar from any side or once lost control (it’s much more easier to lost control anytime anywhere for those cars without VSC, more so in automatic cars, even if not speeding), all passengers die on the spot cause no crumple zone (that so-called Toyota GOA body in ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota cars nowadays is just their marketing gimmick/ploy).

A salesman that work hard to talk cock, bullshitting customers, badmouthing and looking down others (of course not all UMW salesman like that as i don’t want to make sweeping generalization, some are really nice, but most of them are like that), even if he/she able to afford at least a Camry, it’s a sin with dirty ‘haram’ money anyway that only can be burned inside hell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 21
          • yxlam on May 05, 2015 at 7:06 pm

the safety of toyota is like shit as well.
            rather than the super good reliability, others feathers like shit, especially safety
            a car cost so much money and didnt equip with proper safety features…..u sure is better than myvi?
            either u are spy from other brand, or u are a big lier to ur customer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
          • Yes, Toyata best
            Camry 2.0 also have 2 airbags. Other safety also dun want talk.Before new camry launch, 4AT gear box. Really smart for that buy camry.
            Vios safety equipment same as Myvi. Then what should i buy~Altis?
            That mean Toyata Vios same as Myvi ZERO safety.
            fool SA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • @Same L0rrrr. You wasting your time commenting in every post in this blog. Owning a Camry is not all that impressive. why don’t you leave this blog and started working harder so you’ll get to own better car. get a life, you f@#tard.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 05, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Mat Rempit got taste. Last time race kapchai, now race Myvi. Next gotta be Vios la. Must find me Sam L0rrrr ya. We got “Jimat” version, cheap cheap like your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • shut the f*** up on May 06, 2015 at 3:26 am

You work so hard only afford to buy Camry ah? Go collect money buy grave and die la. People that choose to purchase myvii is because that’s what they can afford, everyone has choices. Don’t go around judging people like a brainless shit. Big mouths land you no where bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • kaja gogo on May 06, 2015 at 8:50 am

reverse psychology huh?
            either that or you are just plain arrogant.

alright then, I am a viva driver, pretty low class huh?

after reading your comment, I kinda had this vision of making it big myself. I am going to work harder and achieve my goal as a top UTC with income only some could imagine.

but then after achieving it big time,I am definitely going to buy me an Audi which is similar to the ones driven by that Stratham fella. not going to buy your shitty camry either. blergh….

• Justice on May 06, 2015 at 3:33 pm

@Same Lorrrr, You are one ignorant and discriminating fool. You have a camry? So what? That makes you the big man?? Better then everyone else?? That is one of the most retarded, idiotic thinking I have ever seen. For your little information, I can afford a BMW, Mercedes, etc, but guess what? I happen to have a myvi as one of my cars I use. The myvi is used to go to KL, since it is small and I don’t have to worry about it getting scratched, broken into and stolen because I can afford to repair it if need be. The myvi has its uses, I’m not bad mouthing those who can only afford perodua cars, if that is what they can afford to buy, then let them buy, it is not your place to judge others on their choices. I can afford cars far better then yours “same lorrrr” but I don’t discriminate others just because they can afford less expensive cars only. Except you of course because you are being an ignorant and discriminating douche.

• ANNON356 on May 07, 2015 at 3:01 pm

What’s a camry to me? nothing that’s what! It’s just a car that people use to apparently show off that their ‘rich’.
            Hey if you have money take it a step up and buy a Merc before talking down on Myvi drivers.
            Honestly yea I feel like this whole accident thing is bad and is bad rep. towards the car club.
            But what can you do? don’t judge people for what they drive. yea there ARE some idiots might be out there driving Myvi’s just cause it’s cheap so they can drive fast like monkies on the road I admit that is true most of you are spot on right about that, but also there are people out there with other brands of cars doing the exact same thing.
            Also there are those people with not enough money not simply because they are ‘lazy’ but because they have not found or are not given the opportunity to earn a better living, and with given curcumstance end up driving Myvis simply because that is the only thing they can pay for to use to get around better than a motorcycle.
            So think before you reply, have a nice day.

• ANNON356 on May 07, 2015 at 3:06 pm

TO THE CAMRY GUY!
            What’s a camry to me? nothing that’s what! It’s just a car that people use to apparently show off that their ‘rich’.
            Hey if you have money take it a step up and buy a Merc before talking down on Myvi drivers.
            Honestly yea I feel like this whole accident thing is bad and is bad rep. towards the car club.
            But what can you do? don’t judge people for what they drive. yea there ARE some idiots might be out there driving Myvi’s just cause it’s cheap so they can drive fast like monkies on the road I admit that is true most of you are spot on right about that, but also there are people out there with other brands of cars doing the exact same thing.
            Also there are those people with not enough money not simply because they are ‘lazy’ but because they have not found or are not given the opportunity to earn a better living, and with given curcumstance end up driving Myvis simply because that is the only thing they can pay for to use to get around better than a motorcycle.
            So think before you reply, have a nice day.

• pajero pun dual airbag je bro,, esp pun takde

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Cuba tgk betul2 dlm gambar tu.. Pajero tu ada curtain airbag. Tapi kalu xpakai tali pinggang still tercampak gak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:05 pm

No seatbelt means it doesn’t matter how many airbags and what not you have. They won’t work. They are deactivated because without the seatbelt they will kill you. The safety systems work together.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
        • meng meng on May 05, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Maybe is the pejaro not wear seat belt… rip..
          seat belt is very important, not matter our car have how many star from ANCAP or want…
          drive safe, wear seat belt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • lousybkig on May 06, 2015 at 2:59 pm

We all know u will bring in this topic to increase your weak blog traffic.

• Bob_B78 on May 05, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Pajero was hit on the side if not mistaken. You dun have engine to absorp the impact but only side impact doors. Myvi on the other hand have engine to absorp the impact. Thus reduce chance of injury to the myvi driver

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Engines don’t absorb the impact, they are solid. Just look for pictures of crashes… the engine typically is almost the same size as before. That is why car makers design the engine mounts in a way that the engine can break away from the car.

The rest of the front of the car is designed to absorb crashes though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Irresponsible Government on May 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

After this accident, if our Government really bothered, they must make VSC compulsory.

But they won’t because ALL car companies owned by GLC and Government. You name it. Toyota, UMW, Honda DRB Hicom, BMW Sime Darby, Hyundai and Ford Sime Darby.

Our BN Government prefer to untung lebih at the expense of our lives. Camry in US got 10 airbags and VSC. Camry by Gomen Linked Company UMW got 2 airbags and no VSC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 10
      • Someone promised 30% car price reduction. With 6 airbags, vsc, esc as compulsory.. price hike 30%. But fraid not, the price hike will not happen, neither wil the 6 airbags, vsc/esc because some group’s muka/ego more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:14 pm

4 additional airbags cost less than RM 4K (check Hyundai Elantra specs and the safety pack for the Toyota Altis). That is the price they charge, so actual cost will be lower. And in 2005 the price for adding ESC to a car that has ABS was 111 USD. Most cars, including the Myvi already are developed with ESC in mind, all the setting up, calibration and testing was already done and paid for.

• Kia KX (RM89k) – 2 airbags, no VSC
            Kia K3 (RM99k) – 6 airbags, VSC

Not 30% but still 10k difference, enough to kill.

Let’s agree on something… VSC/ESC on a turtle produce same result, but maybe this time is a ninja turtle.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:01 pm

There is more of a difference between those models though. There is a 2 airbag Elantra with VSC, and the next spec up which only adds 4 airbags costs 4k more.

Also if Proton can offer ESC on their cheapest Iriz it can’t be expensive. 10 years ago in the US apparently you had to spend roughly $250 to get the optional VSC. And the parts price is only $111 to the manufacturer, by now surely it will be even less.

• VHL LOrrrr on May 05, 2015 at 6:25 pm

VSC to be make compulsary, there’s a chance to implement only if upcoming 3rd gen Iriz based Proton Saga equipped with VSC (Iriz already got VSC across the range).

Anyway, those Honda (except City and Jazz low spec), BMW, Hyundai, Kia (except Cerato KX) and Ford already got stability control equipped. Only bloodsucker UMW Toyota don’t and they won’t equipped their jamban junks with VSC (Altis 1.8E/G and Camry 2.0E don’t even have VSC) because excess profit for them is more important (you mampus also they (UMW) don’t care at all) and got plenty of ‘sorhai tai lan ngong’ that will buy their jamban junk ‘T’ brand (not cars) at luxury car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Why don’t people just buy cars with VSC instead? 40k Iriz already have. Why spend 150k on a car without?

• Whynot on May 06, 2015 at 6:56 pm

The only way to have plenty of safety features in the car must first be affordable. By killing or removing the NEP that benefits on the rich cronies. The majority of poor can then own this necessary safety features and auto manufacturer will then be glad too to save their asxx from complaints!

• Not Sorry on May 05, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Let’s switch. You drive a myvi and I’ll hit you at 180km/h with my Pajero.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 4
    • Lucius Maximus on May 05, 2015 at 4:36 pm

You need to consider the nature of the impact and not simply basing it on what passive safety technology available between these two different cars.

Our version of Pajero Sport is equipped with ABS/EBD but not ESC, with only 2 airbags available. The car share similar DNA with the Triton, more or less a pick up truck with added seats and high centre of gravity.

Having hit twice but high speed Myvi (I suspect the 2nd collision could be a side impact) the higher profile Pajero would definitely rollover. And when this happen no amount of ABS/EBD, airbags or vehicle body strength matter if the car occupants didn’t buckle up and the infant was not strapped to a child car seat.

Both Myvi drivers were fortunate enough that they were involved in frontal impact and based on the photos circulating, the Myvis airbags deployed as it should.

So echoing what Paul Tan has said, all passive safety technology are useless if you didn’t buckle up, and always remember no matter how careful and slow you may drive, remember they are always morons out there on the road, driving Myvi or any other car recklessly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 2
      • I think pajero sport have more than 2 airbags. The picture above clearly show them deployed. Unfortunately it’s not enough to save the family.

• Shamsul Kamal on May 05, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Actually its Physics. It all depends on where the Pajero was hit and at what speed and angle. I am quite certain it was at the rear left corner or right corner. Once this happens the vehicle being hit will lose control and mostly likely roll over.

It is funny how simplistic explanations like this always surfaces ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
      • pitmanu on May 06, 2015 at 7:43 am

this what american police calls as pit maneuver.

myvi hit pajero at the side causing it to spin and roll over at high speed.

wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PIT_maneuver

• Noddy Head on May 06, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Right lane= high speed..before the pajero wants to change to the slow lane surely it was in high speed as well..

• pucuc on May 07, 2015 at 7:32 am

pajero change lane because myvi cucuk at higher speed.

myvi known for two things:
            (1) cucuk/tailgate
            (2) speeding

• Why did you guys against Myvi drivers? that girl fault does not mean Myvi drivers fault ok?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
      • Because if perodua didnt rebadge myvi and being able to fit a YRV turbo engine, no one take it as a racing car. like iriz. people here is not against myvi drivers even they criticize myvi.

• Hurm... on May 05, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Dont forget few years back MIROS did said MYVI/Produa is more safer than VOLVO.
      SO its true; you can see they survived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Myvi killed people

• Myvi - Rempit Official car on May 05, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Myvis are usually driven and owned by Rmepits. These are rempits that have just got married and want to upgrade their lives.

Actually, they are still in their Rempit mode. They still like to naik moto and race. They bought a Myvi because they were forced to get married. Usually after accidently getting the girl pregnant.

So, to show the in laws they sudah bertaubat, these rempit quickly go out and buy a Myvi. But the truth is, they still have their rempit and race attitude in them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 41
    • hamid on May 05, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Well said. I don’t mind these rempit go and kill themselves.it would be better if they kill themselves but to bring innocent lives with them ? Not acceptable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Useless Junk Maiwi on May 05, 2015 at 4:28 pm

FMC Familiar myvi club you also know laa that is rempit club.

Stupid bunch of retard low class think they drive Porsche.
      Malaysians,stop supporting the car that is for Rempits,stupid junk low class vehicle!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 8
      • But u r right thr… im driving an Audi A6 n always maintain 110-120km per hr n never fail a Myvi’s will blast off to overtake, not to mention tailgating!! Tat car is compact n light, it cn perhaps zoom off at par with the Pajero’s or Audi’s or Beemer fr tat matter. N sorry to the other Myvi’s user, majority of the MyVi’s on the road like to speed up racing like nobody business… Y do you ppl hv to do tat????

• Betul Betul Betul on May 05, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Well said. Spot on. Most Myvi drivers are Mat Rempits. Kutus and low lives. No jobs. Hang around in malls and wait for Government help. Most of them get some Mara loan or scholarship to go to US to continue their nonsense in the US or UK. The recent Mara student in the UK with sxxx child pxxx is an example

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 41
      • Allan on May 06, 2015 at 9:33 am

Stereotyping. That is one of the reasons why I don’t read Paul Tan. Most comments from people here are those that think they are better than everyone else.

Just because someone is driving a MyVi does not mean that they have no jobs. Some people drive it for economic reasons. To say that most are low lives with no jobs show the kind of jerk off you are. Go to any office blocks and you will see that most carparks are occupied by MyVi’s. Are they low lives? They are there working hard to earn a living. So your argument there is already invalid.

And MARA students? When you put that in I know for a fact that you are a racist asshole.

So stop pretending like you know much about society. And go screw yourself.

ps – next time you want to post something so derogatory use your real name. So people can find you and punch you in the face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
        • Allan Mohlan on May 06, 2015 at 11:23 am

You must be butt hurt myvi owner. Work harder ya to upgrade to your next god killer car…Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • AZZAHAR on May 11, 2015 at 10:29 am

not to forget, they also got “orang dalam”

• Kelso on May 05, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Paul et al… Thanks for the above. My sentiments exactly on personal safety on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 3:58 pm

When Paul says it, you know it’s time the industry bucks up.

Here’s the thing, Malaysians time and again will rather go for the car with RV and bodykits, install seatbelt warning disablers and drive like hooligans. Be it a Proton or a VW, many still have the same mentality.

Come on Malaysians, for goodness sake, take safety into account. Seriously.

And for those who thing the highway is your grandfather’s road which you can drive like a hooligan or re-enact some scenes from F&F7, get a track. Go on a track day. Just not on a highway where there are other road users.

I still can’t stress enough how better driver education and the introduction of some national safety standards for ALL new cars on sale (no buts) can actually turn this all around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • erwinkarim on May 05, 2015 at 4:01 pm

thank you for the public service announcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Perodua Liable - Maybe No Lights! on May 05, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Most likely, these Myvi were driving without their lights on but their dashboard showed that their lights were on.

Matter was highlighted by the German blogger but Perodua, being an irrensponsible company said the German blogger was malicious and there was no element of danger.

So now, you can see so many Myvi in the night without their lights on but the bangau owners think their lights are switched on.

I was knocked down by a Purple Perodua in the night. No headlights switched on. There were no street lights. The car was dark in colour. Now, I limp everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
    • Useless Junk Maiwi on May 05, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Wonder what is so good about myvi????
      This car is just RUBBISH JUNK LOW CLASS CAR for all BUNCH OF IDIOTS .
      Want a small hatch back??
      Honda Jazz,Ford Fiesta,Peugeot 208,Polo…so many choice mannn!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
  • Volvo.

• Android. on May 05, 2015 at 4:18 pm

What if you trust the sensor so much, one of them failed. Like all electronic items, they are all prone to fail at certain time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Sonyman on May 05, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Its not about sensors only. Sensors assist. But its still the driver with the right attitude I driving saves the day. If you value life go get a volvo or Ford. Hehe saab also no problem. Even 407 fair better compare to the the beloved camry.

• putra_rider on May 05, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Thanks Paul!!

It takes time to change attitudes towards safety.
    The best way is reminding regularly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Bob_B78 on May 05, 2015 at 4:14 pm

The only safest vehicle on the would probably be a tank. Not even a lorry can damage it. Ppl will steer away quickly including those pesky back smoking drivers when you driving this. If the law permits, one can probably shoot those driving recklessly and save other drivers on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Wearing seatbelts, and if possible having 6 airbags would have easily been enough for the passengers to survive. Tanks aren’t safe. If they are stopped at once (which admittedly is hard) you’ll be dead. The tank will be in good condition, it just needs to be cleaned properly. But the passengers will be splattered against the interior.

• Android. on May 05, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Whatever safety aids stuffed in a car, the most important factor is always driver behaviour. I still cannot fathom how such heavy car as Pajero can be easily overturned by that rascal Myvis. God bless the deceased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • George on May 05, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Just drive as per the speed limits and it will avoid fatal accidents.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:08 pm

The Pajero driver probably did drive at the speed limit. So what? Though maybe he was a lane hogger… then I have even less pity. Don’t hog the right lane, it is dangerous.

• Perodua Liable - No Lights and No VSC on May 05, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Perodua cars are moving coffin. No lights and No VSC.

Thanks to Paul Tan’s article 2 years ago, many pariah car brands were forced to put VSC because customers, after seeing Paul Tan’s incredible article, insisted on it.

Car companies should stop cheating Malaysians. Picanto, small kuci car also can give so many airbag and VSC.

Look at Camry. Rm150k also, no VSC and 2 airbag.

Perodua don’t talk la. Moving coffin. Already Government protect Perodua maximum and force rakyat to buy their cars, yet they cheat people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Useless Junk Maiwi on May 05, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Yes support the vehicle with 6 airbags and VSA.
      Even Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • wiwiwiw on May 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

If you have a family and so concerned about safety, there is always a cheaper option by getting yourself a used S40, V50, S60, S80, XC90 rather than the tin milo B-segment sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Running costs. And there are decent B segment offerings already. Old cars are also less likely to be safe, though Volvo is good, other brands may already have caught up. If you go for a 90s Volvo, a modern car will clearly be safer.

• wiwiwiw on May 05, 2015 at 7:04 pm

You can buy a Volvo S80 or S60 for less than Axia automatic. It has six airbags, traction control and a solid body frame. The 2.0 turbo is powerful and frankly economical too. There are many independent Volvo workshops that maintains these cars well at a good price. I trust these cars as they are designed to sustain crashes than b segment cars that is ‘ringan’. It is merely a choice.

• tokmoh. on May 05, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Anytime I have faith in 90s Volvo than Perodua or Toyota.

Your idea of modern car is what u get in Germany, not here. Here pay RM150k Camry, still 2 airbags n no VSC.

And when wiwiwiw said cheaper, he’s talking way, waaay cheaper. He’s talking post-2000 Volvos anyway, so they’re fairly modern enough, all the models he mentioned would have no less than 4 airbags and traction control.

Anyway, if talking about 90s, Volvo 850 eg already have ABS and maybe traction control (not sure if our local specs come with this). Generally, the market rate starts from RM8k.

Running cost is relatively reasonable (don’t compare with kancil’s parts la), gotta network with fellow owners, you’ll know places to maintain them at reasonable cost.

But then again, Volvo here have poor RV, so you already save a lot there. For about the same price as new Axia G, you can get a 2005 S60. Unlike in Europe, I generally read Volvo have good RV cause sensible, familymen Europeans like them.

Reliability is unique to each car depending on how well previous owner serviced them, but generally Volvo are known to be fairly reliable among conti (especially RWD era eg 240/740/940). Some models even use Toyota gearbox (Geartronic) so they’re bullet proof and cheap to service ATF (share use Toyota ATF).

• wiwiwiw on May 05, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Well said =)
          I think I am converting myself to a Volvo person

• tokmoh. on May 06, 2015 at 10:14 am

I thought you’re already one lol.

As with any used car, the rule is to always standby some cash to fix anything not too tip-top. It’d be best if you buy from direct owner with full service history.

If cash is not an option, the S40 facelift with 2.0 L + 6-speed wet twin clutch (so don’t worry, they’re not as notorious as DSG) is pretty good option. You can find year 2010 going for RM 68k+, so they’re quite well priced, can take loan, road tax 2.0L not too bad, good fc, then it’s a Volvo which means they’re very safe, and comfortable.

• Sonyman on May 05, 2015 at 9:19 pm

We talking about volvo again? These Malaysian. Resale value is most important. Can never change till the day the accident happened to them by them Hopefully resale value can save them.

3point seat belt by volvo. SIPS by volvo. City safe. Volvo. Pass the small side step impact. Volvo xc60. Everyday do roll over test. Volvo. Collision emulation by volvo. Able to create a Collision from any angle at any speed. Volvo. Resale value. Toyota camry. No vsc and files with flying colour in iihs crash test.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Ok, sounds good. But did you forget the Iriz and Preve? They offer good safety for a reasonable price tag, and they are new.

• tokmoh. on May 06, 2015 at 10:03 am

The only Iriz auto with 6 airbags costs RM 61k+ and the cheapest Preve auto with Campro IAFM costs RM 60k+ (hmm surprisingly, preve is slightly cheaper), before discounts.

Yea, they’re good but they do cost more. Taking 9 years loan is discouraged, but I guess due to safety features, the Proton can be excused.

Other than Proton, I can only think of Kia Picanto, ok for freshie/single, too small for family, or City with jumps to RM83k+, got ESP but only 2 airbags.

The rest are joke tin milo, anytime a used Volvo is better buy.

• Anonymous on May 05, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Eventhough Myvi dont have ESC its still far better car than Iriz. Proton promise to fix QC but their lie. People still buying Myvi cause its better car in almost everyway. Plus car without ESC will make people drive safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 90
    • blaster88 on May 05, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Huh? Car without ESC would make people drive safer? What utter BS, which part of the article above that you do not understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • VHL LOrrrr on May 05, 2015 at 6:33 pm

“Car without ESC will make people drive safer”.

Try explain this statement to Europeans and also Australians where ESC are compulsary for all brand new cars (and you will get knocked really hard towards your head by them)

• UMW Mampus on May 06, 2015 at 11:48 am

MyVi better than Iriz in almost every way? Brother, what did you smoke? Please pass it on.

Which way better? Hard pressed formed steel? VSC? HHA? TC? BA? ABS?

• Brendan on May 05, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Finally someone speaks up about this. It might have been totally different if they were wearing seat belts. It’s unlikely for them to be thrown out if they were wearing seatbelts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • same lorr on May 05, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Buy toyota better. Have ABS & ESC. Good RV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 44
  • Useless Junk Maiwi on May 05, 2015 at 4:24 pm

From A to Z it is those myvi useless junk’s fault.
    If they don’t berlagak on the road this tragedy will not happen.

Always looking down on myvi bunch of retard loser.
    ABS pun tak ada pun nak berlagak di highway.
    Dangerous driving,tailgating others..who the hell you are useless bunch of loser retard.

Enough,don’t spoil my mood.
    I don’t care who you are,you drive myvi,you are called low class,retard,stupid and looked down by me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 44
    • Myvi Owner on May 05, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Who are you to look down on myvi owners? Not all myvi owners drive like hooligans. Its not the car, its the driver’s attitude. Not everyone is born with a silver spoon in their mouth. So think before you start babbling those lips of yours.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 19
      • Myvi rempit rock on May 05, 2015 at 6:14 pm

That’s why you are forever low class and rempit. So which highway you rempit going to go korner baring this weekend? I will try to bring my lori n push you folks off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Robert on May 05, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Myvi is affordable to young people who just join the work force and need a transport to work. There are usually new drivers with limited experience. To make things worse, most are not well trained and got their license through “kopi-o” means.

• Mentality and Attitude First on May 05, 2015 at 6:21 pm

A person who invests in a well-designed car that is fully-equipped with all the best safety features in the world but drives like a ‘useless junk/retard loser’ on the road will still be a safety hazard to other road users.

We can agree to disagree on all the above Myvi-bashings but I believe Paul’s articles stresses on the importance of drivers’ mentality, and not on the kind of cars they invest in.

What you drive may or may not matter to some people, but HOW you choose to drive on the road will always matter because it can affect anyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Lucius Maximus on May 05, 2015 at 4:38 pm

You need to consider the nature of the impact and not simply basing it on what passive safety technology available between these two different cars.

Our version of Pajero Sport is equipped with ABS/EBD but not ESC, with only 2 airbags available. The car share similar DNA with the Triton, more or less a pick up truck with added seats and high centre of gravity.

Having hit twice but high speed Myvi (I suspect the 2nd collision could be a side impact) the higher profile Pajero would definitely rollover. And when this happen no amount of ABS/EBD, airbags or vehicle body strength matter if the car occupants didn’t buckle up and the infant was not strapped to a child car seat.

Both Myvi drivers were fortunate enough that they were involved in frontal impact and based on the photos circulating, the Myvis airbags deployed as it should.

So echoing what Paul Tan has said, all passive safety technology are useless if you didn’t buckle up, and always remember no matter how careful and slow you may drive, remember they are always morons out there on the road, driving Myvi or any other car recklessly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • nice info, i would like to add for pet.. generally ppl get upset for having to place pet in cage in a car else kena saman.. but here’s the thing.. pet don’t need freedom in car.. they need safety.. just like you do.. and them securely in a attached cage or a dedicated safety belt also means they won’t become a heavy flying object just like the luggage you mentioned.. if you love your pets.. give them the same safety as you do to your baby.. to your children.. to your human passenger… to yourself..

• Ah Beng (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Myvi owner damn proud driving fast but not knowing their car safeless. That is the reason why the yellow Myvi SE skid and being hit with the Pajero. See..Ah Beng told so many times why PROTON models are better than Perodua..

• Dear everyone, Paul is right. Besides, cars with less safety features may survive better than cars with greater features due to the fact that drivers take it for granted. The best safety feature is the human brain.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:35 pm

The only mistake the Pajero passengers made was not wearing seatbelts. ESC might have saved them. 6 airbags may have saved them (if they had worn their seatbelts).

The trick is to have all the safety features, but not to rely on them. Drive if you didn’t have them, and you’ll be glad you have them IF you end up needing it.

• Carnut on May 05, 2015 at 4:58 pm

From the looks of the photo, the shell of the car looks intact and withstood the impact well. The occupants of the pajero would have survived if they buckled up. That’s the problem with some Msians, never buckle and let their kids roam around inside the car.

Having actually known someone who passed away because that person was riding in the back and didn’t put on a seat belt, I make sure everyone in car buckles up. That’s the least you can do to ensure the safety of your passengers. You can say that you drive slowly so its ok, but someone might just ram you from nowhere.

Buckle up and be courteous on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • SUVneveroffroaded on May 05, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Strong shell of vehicle is no help if occupants have been thrown out as it went rolling.

Howabout getting a vehicle which is not easily susceptible to rollover, without a tough image that imbues its driver with a false sense of security that buckling up seemed unnecessary?

• I think we should not neglect on Driver’s attitude as well in Malaysia. There are lot of people driving good car but in dangerous manner..

• seancorr (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 5:09 pm

I need to say this but those 3 lives could have been saved if they had buckled up.

My own younger brother was involved in a terrible accident in his Kelisa which had skidded in the rain (due to no VSC), struck the road divider and rolled over and he came out uninjured. Why? Its simply because he was wearing his safety belt and was kept out of harm’s way when the Kelisa was rolling.

I cannot stress how important it is to buckle up no matter what.

PS: Pls don’t show your stupidity here by saying wow Myvi more tough than a Pajero Sport. I want to see what will happen to you when you’re inside the Myvi and the Pajero is the one who rams into you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
    • when MyVi look though than pajero and then you said stupid..

when pajero look though than MyVi of course you said very good, fantastic and so on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 32
    • Old dog on May 06, 2015 at 8:03 am

Looking at those defend MyVi as tougher than pajero shows what kind of drivers they are, they won’t stop racing and risking others life…

• roxas on May 05, 2015 at 5:39 pm

myvi… fly to the moon ~

• PR troopers will sez “Gov figures cannot believe. Where got so many die on road? We should continue to support P2 and Moving Coffin so that P1 will die faster”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Johny on May 05, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Personally, I don’t really hate myvi drivers..I also only drives viva on my daily basis to work. Only during weekend i’ll take a ride on my bmw with my wife and baby so I don’t even speed while driving because of them in the car. Until today, i still don’t understand why myvi drivers always trying to provoke me with their speeds..

• JibWarEng on May 05, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Aside from practical road safety education above, we should create awareness early in school via road safety societies. Poor driving etiquettes are learnt from family members and friends. This isn’t an issue with a certain brand of cars or specifically involving those who can’t own a sport car to race but the attitude of theae low lives which were inculcated since young.

• the driver on May 05, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Simple solution but not implemented – raise the insurance for those with modified cars. It’s being practised in the UK and other ‘developed’ countries. It was discussed in the government but nothing happened.

• LOllos on May 05, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Lol u guys are so full of crap. Really a mYvI owner is a born again mat Rempit? Seriously how do u guys even stereotype this.

That’s like saying all Chinese in a black BMW is triad or loan shark.

all malay in black BMW is corrupted politicians

And every other Indian in a black BMW is a con man.

So if a single mom goes n buy a myvi she’s a mat Rempit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
  • common sensor on May 05, 2015 at 5:59 pm

I think Perodua must go back to its original establishment intent. Perodua vehicles must be capped at 1000cc. A 1500cc Mivy is lethal when driven by wacko.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Every car can be lethal when driven by a wacko. But yes, maybe the Myvi 1.5 is too powerful considering the bad handling it has.

• bashh on May 05, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Paul, can I mount a forward facing seat on the passenger seat without switching the passenger airbag off? I know it is a no no for rearward facing

• lollos on May 05, 2015 at 6:02 pm

I’m surprised no one said the pilot of the missing mas airline is infact a female pilot because she doesn’t know how to use the GPS.

It’s Ok to hate dangerous drivers on one side but stereotyping is ridiculous.

P’s don’t h8 me for using mas as exampls

• shneider on May 05, 2015 at 6:05 pm

If ESC is really2 important, then:
    Preve is better than Honda City lowest spec, bcos City dun have ESC (lowest spec)

• Marieta on May 05, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Actually, Preve is better than City…is just some of kiasu people or car salesman here denied it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Tower on May 05, 2015 at 6:51 pm

I drive Honda City also,City V 2015.
        I think that Preve is better than my City.
        But FC City wins over Preve.

• Corporal on May 06, 2015 at 10:32 am

Quickly sell your City and buy a Preve!! Preve was out 3 years earlier than the current City so why didn’t you get Preve instead??

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Thank you Paul Tan!

I am sick to death of people talking about fate or defensive driving. Was it the Pajero’s fault? No. Who died? The people in the Pajero. Why? Because they were too stupid to use seatbelts and baby seats. If they had done that, they could be still alive. If the car also has 6 airbags, they would have easily survived that crash.

• Sandiwara (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:18 pm

So where are those “Malaysian top class car enthusiasts and experts” who keep sayings cars with 2 airbags are moving coffin and they need minimum 6 airbags to stay alive
    How come 2 myvis with 2 airbags survived a high speed frontal collision?
    I thought they claimed myvi only 1 star ANCAP rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:25 pm

This accident confirms what I keep saying. The Myvi was hit in the front, so the 2 airbags are enough. It caused the Pajero to lose control, with ESC that may not have happened. Then it rolls. Since the passengers didn’t wear seatbelts they got thrown out of the car, which is deadly. The airbags also couldn’t do their work because of that, if the car even had airbags.

These deaths could have easily been avoided by a safer car and by smarter passengers who wear seatbelts.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:19 pm

a) They didn’t use their seatbelts. Had they, they’d be alive. I thought seatbelts are installed in every car. Without seatbelts, all the airbags in the world won’t save you, in fact they tend to be deactivated when no seatbelt is worn.

b) The Proton Iriz comes with ESC in all specs, and 6 airbags in Premium spec. That’s less than 60k for a car with all the crucial safety features. Don’t tell me safety is too expensive.

• no godcar on May 05, 2015 at 7:13 pm

I beg to differ. Airbags will still deploy even if the person didn’t put on his seatbelt.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Not in all cars. And if it does, the reason is the manufacturer being cheap at the risk of the passengers lives. The airbag depends on you being in a certain position at a certain time… but without seatbelts you’ll be there earlier… when the airbag is inflating. And that is like being hit by a professional boxer. Or worse. While you are moving fast towards his fist.

The seatbelt slows you down at a rate that your body can still survive, and by the time you reach the airbag it had already deployed and is “soft”. It slows you down in a reasonably gentle way. No seatbelt = full speed, and then the airbag punches you in the chest and face with some few hundred km/h (in addition to the 100 km/h you are moving towards it).

• Myvi keranda on May 05, 2015 at 6:20 pm

If you have phd, you wouldn’t be driving myvi. If you have money, you wouldn’t be driving myvi. If you have brain you wouldn’t be driving myvi.

If you have rempit genes and killer instinct, you deserve a myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Sandiwara (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Not a myvi owner but you’ll get used to “car enthusiasts” here

They will tell you cars with 2 airbags are moving coffins, in a collision confirm die. Only cars with 6 airbags confirm safe

They will tell you cars without VSC are moving coffin, you drive one confirm die in a collision or confirm spin out of control during cornering

They will tell you car prices in the US but continue to stay in Malaysia

They will tell you oil prices are cheaper in oil producing countries but continue to stay in Malaysia

So come to think of it, I wonder if the roads are any safer where people with such mentality/logics are on our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • childish on May 05, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Stupid racer,you thought you driving lamborghini?See what had done?took 3 ppl life because your childish act.how fast your stupid car can go?even I own ft86 never ever race at street.stupid street racer.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 6:52 pm

The passengers in the Pajero killed themselves by not wearing seatbelts. Their deaths could have been avoided, but they apparently didn’t want to. What’s so hard about wearing a seatbelt?!

• childish on May 05, 2015 at 7:15 pm

From which point you say pajero didn’t wear seltbelt? I saw the pajero side airbags was deploy also…

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:26 pm

How can you fly out of a car while wearing the seatbelts? That only happens without seatbelts.

• seatbelts on May 06, 2015 at 11:58 am

Bro.. it’s obvious that the occupants did not wear seat belt. Side airbags were deployed, yes. It’s called airBAGS, not airWALLS. They don’t PREVENT people from throwing out from car!

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 7:01 pm

You can’t control what others do. But you can do your best to avoid accidents and to lessen their impact, when they do happen (even if caused by others). The passengers of the Pajero failed to do so, and paid the price.

• Well said…it’s time for car industries to build such good car with all safety features…cost wouldnt be the matter.Only people who work harder to improve their life deserve to own the car..now everyone can easily purchase the car because of the cost very cheap

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 11:27 pm

They already exist. For example the Iriz Premium. Good safety doesn’t have to be expensive. But people need to buy…

• icanteven on May 05, 2015 at 7:29 pm

not wearing seat belts, switching lanes without signaling first and using side and rear mirrors to see if there are oncoming cars, talking and smsing whilst driving without paying attention to the road and other road users, tailgating, not using headlights (just fog lamps) when driving at night or in bad weather conditions, and illegal racing (are you expecting a goddamn trophy at the end of the race?) are some of the annoying habits of idiotic drivers. These are some of the ways to endanger yourself and other road users. please wake up la! Put safety as the utmost priority when driving.

• People should consider the Proton Iriz because the Iriz has more safety features and besides that the price are almost the same as the Myvi.Try spending more money to buy the Iriz and you can save your life.

• if u want buy cheap and safer car choose proton iriz or preve

• Why all comments are about safety equipment but no one really stress that the pajero passenger risking their life at the very first place…bucker up! too many…too many parents holding their infant sitting front..or letting their kids running around in a 7 seaters..if you say they are not educated..probably yes, this applies to my circle of influence too…in this case..is a wake up call for all parents! Buckle up!

• spock1976 (Member) on May 05, 2015 at 8:13 pm

I remember Paul’s article on seatbelt/ child seat a few days ago, right before this happened. Thanks Paul for that article and thanks again now. I also shared your advice during a gathering today, hoping that people will think next time to buckle up for themselves and their loved ones.

• keyboardwarriors on May 05, 2015 at 8:19 pm

It seems like many have lost their logics. Its not the cars fault that they crash against each other. Even a tank would go up in flames if it is hit by a missle with size, speed and explosives. Speeding is the problem here. I really dont give a d*mn if someone speed and died in a crash because you reap what you sow. Thing is if you speed and drive reckless endangering other drivers you’re at fault. Period.

• guys…buy kia sportage lor…full equipment…the best in the town

• volvo user on May 05, 2015 at 8:48 pm

i’m afraid some people here giving very wrong impression about myvi user. yes myvi is a inexpensive car (dont use the word cheap) yet it leaves most of the young graduate enjoy the precious time with loves one and family while having very limited money to opt for better car. i remember my lovely time with then-girl friend (now wife) in our little kelisa. we worked really hard to earn our long dreamt camry few years later and now switch to s80. we didnt harm anyone, we didnt drive recklessly, we didnt run into people, yet it is perodua kelisa. the point is, we should drive responsibly in whatsoever class of vehicle. stop blaming myvi user because most of them are good soul like we were.

• tokmoh. on May 06, 2015 at 10:45 am

It’s still hard to change perception, since plenty of reckless drivers drive Myvi.

Education and enforcement had to be the answer.

Driving schools and JPJ need to put more emphasis on defensive driving, courtesy, etc. It’s far beneficial than hunting for dark tint, plate numbers.

PDRM do better to catch reckless drivers than arresting opposition.

• Sonyman on May 05, 2015 at 9:30 pm

We talk so much. In the end resale value is what is most important in purchasing a car in Malaysia. Is that not right? Is safety even in their minds? Is a children seat important or a hasle? Does the buyer knows what are they buying? I doubt not. All they know when I wanna sell my car how much money can i make.

If safety is in the list. Probably we wont see this news at all. No one will die at all.

• retardhater on May 05, 2015 at 10:11 pm

So majority of the 830,000 myvi owners are rempits? Dnt make ur lack of grey matter look so obvious.

• Randomdude on May 05, 2015 at 10:31 pm

I’m not saying all Myvi drivers are careless racing losers who thinks all roads around Malaysia is their papa’s road, but most are. I’ve estimated the amount of careless drivers that nearly made me crash despite driving safely, and guess what? A majority of them drove Myvis. There was also one incident back in 2012, when I nearly crashed into some slowpoke Myvi driver who was eating an apple ON A DIFFICULT TO DRIVE ROUTE! It happened at the East-West Expressway after Gerik…

So, I think most drivers that want to buy ‘moving coffin’ cars should go to at least 2 seminars about safety on the road before purchasing those cars.

• olio benzina on May 05, 2015 at 10:44 pm

The main attraction of 4×4 pickups and SUVs are that they are tough and have a commanding driving postion,

The flipside is they easily roll over due to higher centre of gravity.
    Its like running while wearing stilts. Physics is going to get you. Stability control cannot help when a running vehicle is tripped.

Please bear this important tradeoff in mind during your next car purchase especially when you don’t live in the sticks.

• lollos on May 05, 2015 at 10:47 pm

i personally don’t think a Rempit would enjoy a car. U can’t exactly Superman a myvi or crouch down and increase speed.

Or ride around like a bunch of morons trying so hard to impress and face first into a wall.

• Preve on May 06, 2015 at 2:11 am

Proton preve (rm72k)
    -6 airbag
    -esc
    -traction control
    -ba(brek assist)
    -abs & ebd

• randomperson on May 06, 2015 at 3:05 am

After skimming through the comments (yes, skimming), do you guys have no sympathy for the dead victims? Seriously.

• Street racing should never have occurred. Regardless of safety tech being available or not, it won’t not have prevented this accident. Those tech may increase the chances of survival but that’s about it.
    Government should enforce stricter rules against street racing.

• Aero (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 3:23 am

Paul and the paultan.org team nailed yet another car and road safety-orientated public service announcement ! Great work Paul, as someone with the power and credibility to make changes in our automotive industry simply with a few minutes at the computer and a cup of coffee, you have never let us down, not once with regards to car and road safety emphasis. The paultan.org team is the reason why more and more Malaysians have started to take car and road safety much more seriously, myself included.

Thank you for continuously speaking on behalf of the small (but growing) minority of Malaysian drivers who genuinely care about car and road safety. Drive safety guys !

• power on May 06, 2015 at 8:16 am

Myvi slogan,

“Lagi power lagi best”

• pitmanu on May 06, 2015 at 8:24 am

some comments here make me concluded it’s ok being hit by myvi as long as i wear seatbelt.

like that i will also want to drive myvi and hit everyone on the road. if they wear seatbelt, they will just smiling at me like nothing happen.

• hyin21 on May 06, 2015 at 8:45 am

blame car quality for the death? blatantly breaking the law by speeding or not wearing seatbelt and when there is accident, it’s the manufacturer’s fault.
    it is like one being raped and blamed for not learning self defence.

• Myvi is a stupid big fat car…not a sport car…

• Myvi is a stupid big fat car…not a sport car..

• Even a RM1 million Maserati will lost control, crashed and burnt as it happened on SPRINT highway yesterday. While driving you never know how is the road condition and obstacles ahead, or sudden things dropping and animal jumping out. I guess we need to drive within our confidence of still maintaining control of the car even during emergency, regardless of the type of car we are driving.

• autodriver (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 9:47 am

I think traffic police should have enforce everyone to wear the seatbelt no matter in what position they sitting inside the vehicle. We all knew the DUKE accident the pajero sport all 3 passengers were thrown outside the vehicle. If they have wore seatbelt they will not be thrown outside definitely. Of course public racing is strictly illegal and should have prohibited, this has to be started with strict traffic rule and “education”.

About more airbags and ESC as standard, the ABS isn’t a standard practice such as low spec model of Persona, Saga, Axia etc. The authority must firm on the standard for ABS is a must, only then proceed to side airbags and subsequently the ESC as standard safety feature. In fact Proton has doing very well on its Iriz with all variants come with ESC, but the sales of Iriz was weak because of its brand name.

• autodriver (Member) on May 06, 2015 at 10:04 am

In fact many people don’t aware that the safety technology of Japanese are different than other foreign automakers. Most of the Japanese automakers are implementing the concept of light-weight vehicle to save fuel. Therefore the use of high strength steel are less, no doubt this kind of steel are strong to withstand higher impact but it was heavy and costly. Hence many Japanese automakers are using less high strength steel composite instead they highly emphasize on “absorb impact concept”.

Conti, Korean or even Proton are using more high strength steel in their product overall. Their cars generally heavier than Japanese cars, but they able to withstand higher impact as well to protect passengers. But it always betray the concept of fuel saving until the conti car start adopting turbo engine with lower displacement.

• its well documented, body on frame design like the pajero is dangerous as it could easily flip, vsc or dsc reduce the chances but dont provide 100% protection. always choose the most safest cars you can afford but ot just by the numbers of airbags. Truck chassis like the pajero are design for 3rd world countries and never intended for highway speed..

• ESC has been found to reduce single-vehicle fatal crash risk by 49 percent. It reduces the risk of fatal single-vehicle rollovers by 75 percent for SUVs and by 72 percent for cars. source iihs.org

• kastard on May 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

I think the rollover propensity among SUVs is also something Malaysians should know about. SUVs are inherently unstable due to the fact they are taller and narrower, (higher centre of gravity). This makes them more susceptible to rollover from sudden swerving, especially on high speeds.

• Bernard on May 06, 2015 at 1:23 pm

I think everyone should stop harping on Malaysian drivers being extremely bad, irresponsible, uncouth, uncivilised, uneducated,beyond stupid, barbaric etc drivers.

Things will not change. It will be like this for the next 100 years at least.

Do you think this is Sweden or its equivalent??

• olio benzina on May 06, 2015 at 2:11 pm

“In 2004, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration released results of a study that indicated that drivers of SUVs were 11% more likely to die in an accident than people in cars.These figures were not driven by vehicle inherent safety alone but indicated perceived increased security on the part of drivers. For example, US SUV drivers were found to be less likely to wear their seatbelts.”

• Sensible One on May 06, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Perodua should provide a free class to their Myvi purchasers of how to drive smartly. Come on be honest, how many times you encounter a Myvi (preferably a yellow one) tailgated you.

• bmx@minimega on May 06, 2015 at 4:11 pm

halo…kalau jalan kaki kat trafic light lampu merah pun kalau tak berhenti kene langgar bole mati jugak…so dont blame the trafic light..blame yourself for not following the law…!!!

• retardhater on May 06, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Of cozla u find most no of careless drivers u have encountered are myvi drivers… The car far outsells any other model ever… If any other make/model r running on our roads at tat number u would say tat make/model drivers are careless… Pikiak dulu bro…

• rachman on May 07, 2015 at 1:19 am

when god created u, he knew when u will die. can u guys accept fate, whatever happened is god’s fate and meant to be such way. u could die young, old, being sick, sudden death, being slashed, fall from the stairs, being hit by someone else, so many causes. chill up guys. even $10million or the most equipped car with safety features, or the most expensive car in the world cant guarantee ur safety should god say…ur time has come. chill out k?

• sergei rachmaninoff on May 08, 2015 at 12:26 pm

That’s deep man.
      But anyway why don’t you go stand in the middle of a busy highway. Don’t worry, if it’s not your time to die, you won’t die. Its all fated.

• Malaysians hate safety. I see parents who hold children in their laps because “he gets fussy in a child seat”. You know kids get fussy everywhere in the world but parents aren’t as lazy or selfish as Malaysians! They would rather protect their kids life than make their own lives a little bit easier.

• rshashib on May 13, 2015 at 10:49 am

Safety features should not be an option. It must be made mandatory!!

• Kamarul on Feb 27, 2018 at 10:47 am

what is the verdict on this case? coming to 3 years and no news or have I missed it totally?