Use of child car seats to be made compulsory by 2017

Child car seats paultan.org 009

An update on when the use of child car seats is set to made mandatory – usage will be made compulsory by 2017. This follows the original date proposed for the move; it was reported in June that the government was looking to propose an amendment to the Road Transport Act 1987 to regulate the use of child seats in cars by 2017.

This was later moved to 2019, deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi saying that the extension was due to the fact that “it may take time to promote this among the road users as it involved more cost for them.”

The latest move to bring it back to the planned 2017 timeframe was announced by Road Safety Council honorary treasurer Ahmed Ismail Amin, according to a Bernama report. He said that the compulsory use of child seats was aimed at ensuring children’ safety when they were in the vehicles.

paultan.org_free_child_seat_rental_ 003

“We already made compulsory the use of helmets (for motorcyclists and pillion riders) and seat belts for the front and rear passengers of cars, but not for children. So, with the compulsory use of child seats, our children’s safety is guaranteed,” he told reporters.

Ahmed Ismail advised consumers to buy child seats which met the required standards, such as ECE R44 and ECE R129-certified types. The former can be found for around RM400.

We’ve long stressed before on the paramount importance of using child seats in cars, and recently adopted a proactive role in the matter – we bought a total of 165 units of ECE R44-compliant child seats (60 non-Isofix and 50 Isofix seats are sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia) and have offered free use of these child car seats to 165 Malaysian families over the Hari Raya month.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm father on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:31 am

I would like to advice Paultan.org to be more careful. Ministry already given guidelines that cannot show in films tight clothing and cannot show shape. This guidelines may apply to the Internet too. In the above first picture, can see the breast shape. This is haram.

Secondly, the teddy bear also not wearing clothes. This is obscene. Somemore the teddy bear kangkang and open its legs. This is vulgar. It may lead to temptation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
    • Fisheries on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:49 am

Up north, if dugong also kena hantam, anything is possible.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 10, 2015 at 6:13 pm

From the video we can see:
        1. Child car seat is REALLY important.
        2. Proton Iswara is in the fact the moving coffin. See the A pillars in video 2!

• thepolygonal on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:51 am

Don’t worry, I will put pampers on my teddy bear next time.

• Leafable on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Yes, IS or Taliban?

• Michael on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Do this child seat had a standard guideline? do it have SIRIM certify? i hardly found this SIRIM certify and i get it one due to budget issue as well. I think it safe but i not sure how to confirm? If make it compulsory then what will be the basic price range for this? some car seat beat is not long enough to backward facing.. then how to deal with this? is a good to make it compulsory but there are still a lot of thing need to do and confirm.

• Alister_88 on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:16 pm

It’s not just child seats, but also buckling up regardless of where you seat and the strict enforcement of such rules.

I see a lot of road users unbelted, some even with children running/ jumping around in the car. Yet, parents/people still wonder why those close to them have gone bye bye.

• Leafable on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:23 pm

So how many children will lost their life between now to 2017? Is not that difficult to enforce a simple law is it? Child not in a proper car seat, slap with a fine. Can pay up? We’ll confiscate your vehicle. How hard is that?

• Then they will complain to the nearest PR politician about Gov being cruel and confiscating their cars. so how now brown cow?

• The use of seat belts for rear passengers has been made compulsory since 2009 yet people still don’t give a crap about it. How is this going to be any different especially when you factor in that rear seat belts doesn’t cost a penny whereas baby seats have to be bought and they’re not cheap too.