Work on three Penang highways to start in early 2016

penang traffic

Penangites can look forward to three new highways, with construction work starting in the first quarter of next year, The Star reports. The job, worth RM2.8 billion, will be done by Consortium Zenith BUCG (CZBUCG), and is scheduled for completion in 2020/2021.

“The feasibility study for the highways has been done and submitted, while the preliminary environmental impact assessment for the highways will be submitted in September 2015. The detailed environmental impact assessment for the RM3.5 billion undersea tunnel will be ready for submission next year,” said CZBUCG chairman Datuk Zarul Ahmad Mohd Zulkifli.

According to the report, the three highways are part of a RM6.3 billion mega project comprising the three highways plus a 6.5 km undersea tunnel connecting Tanjung Tokong and Bagan Ajam on the mainland. The projects are the Tanjung Bungah and Teluk Bahang road, Air Itam and Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway, and a bypass joining Gurney Drive and the Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway.

The three new highways and undersea tunnel aim to reduce congestion in Penang. Another idea is the tram. Recently, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) made known its intention to introduce a tram service on the island.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rooney on Aug 14, 2015 at 1:01 pm

I think both sides of the political party shouldn’t outdo each other when it comes to who can delivered the biggest mega project.

This whole land reclamation thing is at the expense of the environment, social lives of the people, displacing people who makes a living out of sea.

The public hearing was done, no doubt, it was more of publicity stunt. None of the suggestion put forward has any change to the original plan.

I expect to hear a lot of opposition to my comment, it would generally revolves around – “at least Penang government is so and so than the BN” or the 2.6 billion thing.

The fact for the matter, both sides pay little attention to the grievances on the ground, as far as Penangites are concerned.

The people pressured Koh Tsu Koon administration not to proceed with Penang Outer Ring Road for the very reason that Lim Guan Eng government is involved in – the socio-environment impact that it is going to have on the residents.

Now, what is happening? We are all getting scared of our own government? We have begun to take side while forgetting the side that matter most is our own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
    • In b4 you shuddup, if you are against DAP that means you are with BN, means you are korup, kroni, racist, tongkat, TBH killer, Altantuya killer, MH370 killer, democracy killer, traitor to nation, jailer of dear leader. Your comments will be bashed and disliked 100 times by the same macai.

Sorry about this but deal with it. The current climate is if you’re not with them, then you’re against them and you will be taken down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
    • Random Comment 1 on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Really fed up with these useless comments, basically a useless empty comment, not constructive at all, not offering any kind of alternative solution to the problem. Because the IS a HUGE PROBLEM. Just go and see the que for the ferry during weekends, the jam on the bridge EVERY DAY, see how useless the 2nd bridge is, see the Rapid buses packed like sardines on weekends. Not even beginning to touch on population increases. So we are just going to do nothing? Until? Penangites cannot even have a constructive dialogue on this issue because all are too tidak apa, selfish and polically motivated. Acess MUST be improved from the mainland to the island. Meanwhile, MORONIC USELESS comments like above advocating “NO NEED TO DO ANYTHING NO MEGAPROJECT (BECAUSE I LIVE ON ISLAND)” should be treated like the wastpaper its written on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Island pipu will say if u no live in island, u dun understand. If u live in island and still wanna anti, then u kluar! Balik mainland past border of Seberang Prai!

• Rooney on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:19 am

Suggestion and counter-proposal have been put forward but not considered. I guess you missed out on the points during the townhall meeting OR YOU HAVE NEVER ATTENDED ONE, hence keyboard warrior mentality.

• Random Comment 1 on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:23 am

Another Immensely USELESS and EMPTY comment here. SO AS USUAL NOBODY want to reveal WHAT Suggestion and counter-proposal you support?? As I said before, this is a PERFECT EXAMPLE of TIDAK APA, SELF-centered and LAZY “DO NOTHING” Penang Island mentality. The fact is, there is a huge problem that is affecting the WHOLE OF PENANG, But SOME PEOPLE still consider Penang as ONE ISLAND ONLY.

• Jimmy on Aug 14, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Toll ?

• Penangite on Aug 14, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Penang is a small island, number of cars are keep increasing. Building more highways would not solve the problems. Only improving the public transport would. Do you KL city traffics improving by building more highways?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • BigBalls on Aug 14, 2015 at 2:26 pm

The problem is public transport like LRT or Monorail by large is controlled by the federal government, Penang can’t implement them.

And what the current state government is doing is to alleviate congestion is the coming years as they foresee more cars will be jamming up Penang, while in parallel they are looking at alternatives to implement public transportation that doesn’t require Federal Government’s approval.

I don’t like highways, but its the only solution if your hands are tied up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • If tokong can arbitrary decide to make undersea tunnel, something simpler like LRT are peanuts for them to decide. Just they blinded you to think they cant do it.

The real reason is cuz Gov alredi have LRTs and building MRTs, its no longer ‘new toilet bowl’, so cannot show DAP gov better than BN. But BN not yet have tunnel, so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Rooney on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:22 am

have to agree with you on this. Mr Lim can one-man show decide on tunnel. Tunnel toll collection also need federal approval. that means LRT also he can decide on his own.

• forrest the tree on Aug 14, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Building more road or highway is a big NO, penang government wanna repeat the same mistake like KL? Build More road to invite more vehicle to squeeze in?
    Should use this money to build more tram, like Melbourne. In Melbourne, eventhough the road network/condition is good, with cheaper car price, but most ppl choose to use tram and train.
    Do it now or too late to change in future. Time to educate our driver to use public transport.

• bear bear on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:07 pm

But here the car price is controlled by BN and UMNO cronies. What can Penang government do anything about it?

• bodow on Aug 17, 2015 at 6:19 am

People complain car price is so high, yet the people still buy cars like nobody business, and congest the road….

• Because they have no choice, not because they are happily paying 2x price for it.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Why no rail service to the island?

They should invest in more public transportation infrastructure instead.

• Nee San on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Highway construction is all about money and profit. If Penang are really sincere..they can start doing something now. They should provide multi storey carpark at butterworth ferry terminal and upgrade the ferry facilities. If this is done, no need for me to drive in to Penang everyday.

• You show me a sincere politician still standing and I will show you a politician being kicked out via satay moves.

• The People on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Fyi, there is a study done by the State Govt itself. The study shows its not viable to build tram or monorel in Penang island. Instead, the study done suggests to improve public transport like bus, taxi, etc. Furthermore, u cant hv tram on road where the road is already small. Elevated atructure like monorel in KL? Cannot. Bcoz the construction may harm the Unesco-recognized buildings surrounding it. Thats the State selling points to woo tourists worldwide.

• INSTEAD of fixing the SLOW S POS FERRY they want to make another FCKING BRIDGE?

• diwant on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:42 am

with this rate of over development, the island will lose its appeal and be a artificial city