Mazda MX-5 – first look at the Malaysian-spec roadster

Mazda MX-5 Malaysia 01

Here’s our first look at the Malaysian-spec Mazda MX-5, as revealed by a Mazda dealer on Facebook. It just confirms what we already know, of course, as we’ve already seen the complete pricelist/specsheet of the two-seat roadster earlier today. In case you need a reminder, it costs RM220k, without insurance.

That’s a big sum for a small car, but it’s at least very well specified. Included with your new MX-5 are 17-inch wheels, i-ELOOP (brake energy regeneration), lane departure warning, auto adaptive headlamps with high beam control and ABS/EBD/BA/DSC. Also in are keyless entry and push start, MZD Connect with seven-inch screen, auto air-con, cruise control, and a nine-speaker Bose system with seat headrest-mounted speakers.

Mazda-MX-5-Malaysia-Price

Again, do remember that the MX-5 will only be available here with a six-speed automatic transmission, with no manual option. Not even as indent orders. The engine, at least, is the more powerful of the two offered internationally – a 2.0 litre SkyActiv petrol motor with 155 hp and 200 Nm of torque.

The ND Mazda MX-5 will be officially launched in Malaysia soon. What do you guys think of the looks, price and specs?

International-market ND Mazda MX-5

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• MazdaMalaysiaSOHAI on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:08 pm

no manual option nice
    hope u sold more than 20 this year
    brainless mazda malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 36
    • Most Malaysians prefer auto. Not a brainless move at all. They don’t cater their orders based on you. You are no one to them, and portably can’t afford the car anyway. Just another keyboard warrior who goes and rants about everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 37
      • @here is Najib's Promise? on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:58 am

Where is Najib’s promise to lower car prices by 30%? Already sapu Rm2.6 billion. The least he should do is give us cheap cars as promised.

This car globally so cheap but RM200k for most Malaysians is a lot of money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • JB_KIA on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:21 am

auto for pasar/sch-going cars like Altis OK laa…this is a SPORT car my dear!

• udamn on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:21 pm

So,you think that all Lamborghini,Aston martin etc shouldn’t use DCT and replace all of it with old man manual? Come on dude
          Even F1 or GP racecars todays do not use manual anymore

• The one who so called prefer manual have no money like you.
      The actual people who has the money to buy it, prefer auto so life will be easier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • A.A.F on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:36 am

So the countless rich sports car enthusiasts all over the world are just very cheap when they opted for the manual option?

And Pagani is wasting their time in including clutch pedal and sequential gear lever shifter? Guess what, even Pagani believed real enthusiasts liked the feel of operating a foot clutch and gear lever, which is why he included them in every Huayra and engineered them for maximum tactile feedback.

• mizdiz on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:10 am

mazda in malaysia is only for show, not for driving pleasure. even mazda2 dont have manual option, what more can i say.

• Prefer the Toyota 86 over this.

The Mazda may boast a pure driving experience with a folding soft top but in the real world the HachiRoku is much more practical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • Practicality is probably the last word one should equate with such cars…they are weekend toys..

with that being said..such is the nature of our tax system that a 220k has basically the same interior as a 90 k one… gotta love this country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • True. Target market may like it. But would they like it at RM220k?

Even if they sell at RM120k, I still choose the HachiRoku.

I don’t know, this small car doesn’t look like it was designed for a typical man having a midlife crisis. Can you imagine a 40yr old professional buying one to drive on weekends?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • crash on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:16 pm

rubbish price, u can get a more powerful, better built quality with the same price tag, gonna follow the 86 footsteps into the grave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Hikaru on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Nice but very hard to justify the price in Malaysia. Should offer the lesser version with manual transmission. Around 170k please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • GforceMalaysian2bRich on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:39 pm

seriously, in Malaysia who go for this roadster they don’t actually care that 50-60k different.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Price is out of the window even with the high spec list. This baby should have been priced just under RM200k to entice customers. One will be very lucky to spot one on the road later lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Crazy for the same car, merely RM90K in Australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Pontiac on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:04 pm

I don’t give a shit to that ieloop tech. All I want is a reasonable price, bermaz. The car is already fuel efficienct with the light weight. Make it rm150k. Remember mazda 6 and mazda 3 is using the same engine, the same zoom zoom spirits, the same mazda superb handling and the same ko do design. Make it affordable!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • maybe they should give an option for a hardtop convertible or coupe

• very nice looking car. the 2 liter skyactive engine provides with enough power to make the car enjoyable. I will definitely consider buying this if I have the money (who am I kidding, I dont have the money) 200k is really a lot of money for such a small car…

Anyway, I still think the mazda 6 (the saloon is good, but the touring is just bellasimo). Koodo design is really quite a something

• Gaviny on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:52 pm

The soft top and slush box doesn’t entice

• Blaster88 on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:53 pm

hmmm…..220K. Once you cross 200K, you are entering a different segment and comptitive level. Power, quality, luxury, handling, branding come into play. It is certainly a nice car but at 220K….naw…plenty of options.

• First thing first, no manual transmission.
    2nd,no 1.5L skyactive which punches out 125 bhp.
    3rd, ultimately crazy price.
    Good Luck Bermaz.

• I was hoping u bring in the 1.5 manual, and make the price really affordable for all. We want simplicity, less spec, just pure driving pleasure. That’s what mx-5 is all about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • sepul on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm

I wish I was living in Australia right now.

• olio benzina on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Bermaz is only targetting hairdresser market, not enthusiasts.

For 219k there is another rear wheel drive sporty car with a more coveted badge.

Its the LCI BMW 120i M-Sport. It comes with a better automatic transmission and bigger rims with run flat tyres.
    Most of all its a BMW.
    No need another name like Jinba Ittai or Kirara Basso.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • policeman on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Extra 77K tak mampu? Nak juga 150K?

Kalau tak mampu, buatlah cara orang miskin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • brianxyz on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Why all the comments on the high price? This car is supposed to be a weekend ‘fun’ car. Target buyers are people with lots of money but don’t know where to spend. For those who complained about the price, please stick to your Camrys or Accords OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • brazbuz on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:35 pm

This is a niche product with almost no direct competitor. What do you expect? ‘If u asking the price,then u definetly cannot afford it’- anonymous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • bukapintubayartol on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Maybe some gray importer will bring in the JDM Spec. 1.5L with the 6speed manual…

• Steve Kok on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Affordable sports car in other countries.
    Rich man’s weekend toy here.
    All thanks to Proton lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
  • Amei (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:49 pm

surely manual purist or even car enthusiast didn’t come into mind of those Bermaz execs. Sad lah because an MX-5 Miata is a drivers car and what’s the point of driving a fun roadster if it’s an automatic. look at Renault or Peugeot, their fun enthusiast cars are strictly manual and people actually bought them. atleast they should make it a order by request like those who wants th manual Impreza WRX.

• kinokuniyah on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:58 pm

hehehe….Can Bermaz bring in MX5 (super low spec, total-kosong safety feature) so Malaysian can afford this car at the end??

Proton has been “successful” with such business scheme….selling tin-milo cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Proton? Tin-milo? I guess you made a typo. You are referring to Perodua and Toyota ya?

• xiper (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:08 pm

too overpriced for a Mazda, if Audi TT can price at 285k with turbo engine and tons of features, this car should be well below 200k

• DPCraft on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Too expensive for it’s segment.

• brianxyz on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:38 pm

It’s ok if you can’t afford it. And don’t reply me you owned a BMW and could afford it but you just don’t want to.

• lost the plot on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:20 pm

this car was suppose to be an inexpensive entry roadster for ppl to buy in general. just crazy pricing in malaysia. shouldnt bother if they gonna sell 20 cars a year. with the same price, we can buy a bmw.

• chee cheong fan on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Malaysia logic = RM 200k and above for any sportscar

• neutral on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Dear Paultan.org,

Any of you care to find out what happened to Skoda? Has Bermaz left it for dead?

• Joshua Lee on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:22 am

No manual tranny ? And it’s not Power Retractable Hard Top (PRHT) ? I’m keeping my NC till they (or recond seller) import the better option.

Thanks, but no thanks.

• nighttrain on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:08 am

It’s just there to make the Mazda showrooms look prettier.. They have already narrowed down the target market. 18-28 female, rich dad. If the target market is weekend track day enthusiasts, it’ll be a different price and specs, innit?

• Roque on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:10 am

soft top or not, pay a little more, get the rs265.

• John Doe on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:28 am

Guys, the main question is where the hell is the CX-3 ?!?!?! Nobody really cares about the mc-5 cause its shitty plus relatively WAYYY overpriced. At least Mazda should use some common sense and bring the CX-3 quick ???? Why mx-5 first ? Max booking also 10 bookings for this my-5. Cx-3 min I feel would be like 500 bookings.

• hazamiey on Aug 19, 2015 at 11:39 am

Whats wrong with all these people? Don’t you realized that the previous model also selling for more than RM 200k? That was couple of years ago. And for 2015 they can still maintain the same price bracket consider good already. Unlike Toyota and Honda who keep increasing the price of their “common” passenger cars every year.

• just wait until they give huge discounts when they cannot sell..
    another thing.. soft top is not practical in our humid and hot climate.. it wont last long.. should have hard top instead.. unless that softop is inexpensive to replace.

• Ququbert on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:05 pm

The import duty for 2-door cars is unforgiving in Malaysia. That being said this car has no business being in that high up of a pricing bracket. Somewhere around the Mazda 6 mark would’ve been acceptable. Within reach, but still rather exclusive. Once you masuk German territory susah already.

• NA king on Aug 19, 2015 at 6:22 pm

S2000 or this?

• peanuts on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Too bad S2000 has already stopped production long long time ago.

I would be interested to see whether Honda Malaysia is bringing in the Civic Type R to fight this MX-5. Type-R is manual only.

• IAMPONDAN on Aug 20, 2015 at 11:45 am

Nice. This will be the ultimate hairdresser pondan car of the year. Any buyer of this car, please join my facebook “I_AM_PONDAN”