2016 Hyundai Elantra – sixth-gen unveiled in Korea

Elantra 8

After all the official teasers and spyshots, this is it for real. The 2016 Hyundai Elantra has been unveiled for the first time in South Korea. In its home market, it’s called the Avante.

The C-segment sedan rival to the Civic and Corolla is fronted by a bold hexagonal grille and headlights which has been lowered and positioned a little further outwards. Sporting the company’s Fluidic Sculpture design, the rear lights are also less curvaceous than before while the rear bumper has been entirely redesigned.

It might not look significantly smoother than the outgoing Elantra MD, but this new AD’s aerodynamic drag has been reduced; its 0.27 Cd is the best in class, Hyundai says. Contributing to this are the Wheel Air Curtains (minimises air rotation around the wheels) alongside “Bumper Ribs” and an “Undercover”. We presume that the latter means a flat underbody.

2016-Elantra-Rear

The new sedan is 20 mm longer and 25 mm wider than the outgoing car – measuring 4,570 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,440 mm high, with an unchanged wheelbase of 2,700 mm. Boot capacity is 458 litres. Hyundai says that the use of Advanced High Strength Steel has been upped to 53%, or 32% more than before, thereby increasing the car’s stiffness.

Hyundai claims that noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) has been improved significantly thanks to repositioned windscreen wipers, thickened glass windows and a rear-wheel guard which is made from new materials. The Elantra also has an improved Motor Driven Power Steering (MPDS, electric power steering) that is said to provide better response at different speeds.

Inside, highlights include hints of the Genesis and Sonata in design, soft-touch materials, dash buttons grouped according to functions, and a centre stack that tilted 6.9 degrees towards the driver. There are also rear air-con vents, Integrated Memory Seat (IMS), Smart Trunk (pops open the boot automatically when key is near after three seconds) and an available eight-speaker Harman audio system with amplifier.

2016-hyundai-avante-ad-0011

Tech-wise the new Elantra gets active Autonomous Emergency Braking (uses radar and camera, acoustic warning first, followed by a visual display and auto braking), High Beam Assist, Blind Spot Detector with Lane Change Assist and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

Lastly, what’s under the hood. There’s a choice of two petrols – a 1.6 GDi (gasoline direct injection) with 132 PS/164 Nm or a Nu 2.0 MPi with Atkinson cycle, 149 PS and 183 Nm of torque. The sole diesel is a 1.6 VGT with 136 PS and 306 Nm. Buyers can choose from a six-speed manual or a six-speed conventional automatic. The seven-speed dual-clutch automatic is reserved for the diesel variant.

What do you think of the Elantra’s new appearance?

Current Hyundai Elantra FL Sport Edition

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• fast5 on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:01 pm

This model exterior look elegant, current 5th gen look more stylish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
    • jemah on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:21 pm

YA, LOOK LIKE JAGUAR XE…MEHH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • good job hyundai..very elegant look..current gen looks overdone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 142
          • your comment exhibit how narrow sight you are. Open your mind bro. Btw, this is car portal! Make your political view somewhere else!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Your comment exhibit you are narrow sighted. Btw, it’s a CAR PORTAL. Pls make your political comment somewhere else!

• nckeat on Sep 10, 2015 at 3:52 pm

At least they got the money to buy unlike those red shirt pariah with tongkat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Operation Manager on Apr 22, 2016 at 12:48 am

India bad road condition review on refinement solid 2017 Elantra. The last Elantra has been Hyundai’s best selling sedan worldwide in 2015, and the new one will certainly want to generate something similar. Overall though the midsize sedan segment is starting to shrink globally (but not at the fast rate it shrank in India), so that may be tough. But the new Elantra certainly seems to have the credentials. For all its success, the last car had a weak structure and tended to display that on Indian roads often. The suspension was also weak and that didn’t help its less-than-accurate steering. The new Elantra changes all that, and I will explain why further in this review.

• Pampers for Toyota Salesman on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:53 am

Habis lah Toyota Salesman. All crying like baby now. We better buy pampers for Toyota UMW salesman

Now all the Toyota salesman are hiding. This hyundai, so reasonable in price and yet it is packed with safety features and so strong in chasis. Most importantly VSC ada!

And about RV, go and check in mudah, oto and carlies, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Toyota and Honda.

All the rumours in the past about Korean not having good RV is done by disgruntled Toyota salesman having ZERO sales in their office. They come online and try to bad mouth Korean cars.

The truth is, Toyota has got the worst RV ever. 1 year old 2014 Camry 2.5 now selling for RM98k, down from RM180k. Accident free and low mileage.

2013 Altis 1.8 selling for RM65k. Dealer so desperate, he told me even RM60k also he take. Brand new Atis is RM139k. In 1 year 10 months, the Altis can drop to RM60k. More than half price.

I hope we all here can help the Toyota salesman crying like a baby. Let us all buy pampers for them and also some formula milk and donate to all UMW showrooms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Bombshell on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:26 am

Don’t you worry, Hyundai Sime Darby will screwed up, no matter how good the model is.

• Yo Bro, i offer RM130k for your 1 year Camry and RM80k for your 1 year 10 months old Altis. Negotiable. And RM50k for 2 year old Sonata. CASH CASH. dont pray pray!

• Mazlan on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:15 am

At least 10 years ahead of Proton Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • most ppl dont think Kimchi is better than Proton.
        it is just more expensive than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 173
    • Say no to Korea on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:10 pm

or Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
      • Why buy Toyota?? on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:56 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. Nobody wants a Moving Coffin lah UMW. We want cars with safety features like VSC and more airbags.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC on your other cars? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard! Must pay over RM300k for VSC ah?

Our lives not important UMW?

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM98k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM82k.

• Surebor on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Are you sure ? If you have 11 month old Camry 2.5 for 98K use car dealer would line up to buy or else I’ll buy n pay u comm, pls talk with sense. for the past few months Hyundai sales drop to few hundred units, pity the kimchi salesmen

• continental car ,selling RM200k,after 1 or 2 years used 50% value gone…but still alot ppl buying. why?!

for what I think Korean car doing a great job for the pass few years.For design,quality,feature is lot better compare with Japanese car.

Vios? the quality totally cannot compared with with Elantra or Cerato. Vios only win for the Toyota badge,others totally lose few street.

If you so concern with resales value.I think better not to buy car. buy property better,for sure u get a good resales value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 4
      • Can we give free Hyundai Elantra to all the 300,000 bodoh Bersih supporters please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 60
        • YEEZUS on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:19 am

Hey asshole take your political point of view somewhere else, this is a car blog not a blog for you to talk about your low standard politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
          • AnotherUSD14million on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:48 am

but he acknowledged that Bersih has 300 thousands attendants instead of 20 thousands as per the police, ministers and the newspapers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Whatajoke on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Vios? Fortuner? Rush? What a joke.
      Paying 80k to get a small little entry level car which its chassis, engine and 4at transmission stays the same since first generation? And top up to about 90k just for the ugly trd sportivo kits? Now who’s the dai lan ngong here?
      Fortuner’s sales has dropped drastically, rush dont even worth mentioning for its sales figure, better discontinue it. While hyundai/kia is moving upward in the europe and the u.s market, u can hug ur toyota brand and keep on dreaming, reliability isn’t toyota’s forte anymore, especially the new vios with so much build quality issues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
      • Whatmoretosay on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Cut Sam L0rrr some slack, he’s got nowhere else to hide and nothing new to say on UMW Toyota cars (overpriced, technology is ancient, safety seriously lacking, design all over the place).
        For years he’s been harping on (alleged) high RV of Toyotas and (alleged) lack of RV of Korean’s, when a simple lookup into classifieds will prove otherwise.
        Really, who would genuinely recommend Fortuner, Rush, Camry or Altis? And at those kind of prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • piiraaahhh….mabuk. duk cerita pasal toyota kat ruangan hyundai pasal apa. x reti baca ke??

• Bruise on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Say no ro Toyota

• SmallFart on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:15 am

Oh Sam Kimchi, the only tai lan ngongs we see is you.

Nothing comes out from you except for UMW and RV.
      Continue fishing for sales, since kimchis are low in RV people will be rushing to buy them 2nd hands before this baby is launched.

Continue singing your tai lan ngongs song, you know who has the last laugh.

No body gives a jack about RV, its their money. They can spend it on whatever they like.

• keithchua on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:22 am

i see the only tai lan ngong is you lor..

• Toyota? yuckss…..

• FIST (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:05 pm

no turbo petrol option…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Kimchi on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:05 pm

From far away it looks like a Ford. What happened to Korean car industry these days, specifically in design.

Are they going back to the 00s, the era of copying design again? Look at the current Kia Macan, I mean, Kia Sportage. And.. this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • holofanboi on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:38 pm

The ford fiesta sedan was the very first thing that came to mind when i saw the front!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Say no to Korea on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Useless Korean car,better wait for new Honda Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 65
  • Moving Forward on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:08 pm

At first sight it appears to me as a blend version of Honda City on its rear lamp when viewed from its side profile and Mazda 3 when viewed from its side and front profile. Overall looks fluid yet muscular. The design language closely mimics to its bigger Sonata sibling but it’s a better penned version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • DPCraft on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Waiting for 2016 civic to compare with this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:55 pm

a bit of jag, DS, and honda city, all blends into one elegant , confident looking car , job well done ,those tail lamps are classy…

interior looks purposeful and betters the current gen in every way…

spec it well and price it right…

• mixture on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:04 pm

look like mazda3 + city…korean design end of the road already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jezebel on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:22 pm

the front looks like… Dodge Dart?

• Aero (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Many people will think the new Elantra looks too ‘Plain Jane’… but I think it’s a sign of Hyundai maturing even more. Understatement is a trait common among the established car companies. They know that there’s no point in making good looking cars if the car itself is incompetent. (… except Alfa Romeo, cause they’re a special case haha)

The old Elantra is just that… it looks great on the outside, but it’s not a brilliant car… good, yes, but not brilliant. The same goes for the Kia Cerato, and even the Forte before it. But there’s no doubt that the new Elantra will easily be among Hyundai’s best cars when it goes on sale… it will have to be, to stave off the fast developing Chinese car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Agree with you. But Hyundai SD still need to do a lot of work here in Malaysia that they are committed to promote the brand. The impression for me is that they just want to play safe with ordinary sales figure.

• Are you a fortune teller?

• If assembled by Inokom, quality will be shit. I’m Hyundai owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Matchy on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Is that the Honda City’s rim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Hafiz on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Any indication when it’ll arrive in Malaysia? And price? If competitive surely attract many buyers

• George Abdul on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Under sime darby u can expect more expensive price… compare others same segment.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 3:35 am

dont mislead pipu la..

• George Abdul on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:55 am

Dare with me if the actual Malaysia price come out… don’t? or scare? don’t ever comments here in this blog.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:05 pm

18.4 km/l !!!!!

• Look like Hyundai Sonata

• wakao on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Nu 2.0 MPI runnning on atkinson cycle ?
    oh dude really without motor to support ?

• Fahmi on Sep 09, 2015 at 9:51 pm

It looks like a Dodge Dart..

• Audi grille?

• Jobless on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Tis car is for ah beng who cannot afford Altis but want to lcly…nobody bats an eye even if a brand new car passes by..and of course hot chicks pefer to be seen in a REAL MANS car like Toyota rather than tis joke.like our award winning Toyota salesman said, u need to park further away during family reunions coz dont want to be embarassed by yur cousin nephews Altis Vios and Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • SmallFart on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:33 am

Sam Kimchi detected. Get a life man.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 10, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Funny.

When I see a Vios, Altis or even Camry, I have the impression that the driver is;

1) Not the smartest to choose the worst equipped car in its segment and worst value for money.
      2) Don’t care much about safety.
      3) Don’t care much about driving.
      4) Dam kiamsiap fellow to only care about RV (which is isn’t that good to begin with)- you think girls like kiamsiap?
      5) Lemming (Don’t know what is is, go google)

I always get a laugh when I see one of those.

Talk about embarrassment, You show up at a family reunion with such a badly equipped car and paid such a high price for it, you think you dare show your face ah?

• having a job on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:37 am

Altis is for ah kau who cannot afford Mercedes C Class but want to lcly…noboday bats an eye even if a brand new car passes by…and of course hot chicks prefer to be seen in a REAL MANS car like Mercedes rather than this joke.like our award winning Mercedes salesman said, u need to park further away during family reunions cause dont want to be emberessed by your cousin nephews C class E class and S class

• Much much better than current Altis

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Looks like this car la, that car la. Modern normal car semua lebih kurang la nowadays.. How different can one car be to another? Unless u are comparing this Hyundai to a Ferrari 488 GTB.

• old dog on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:40 pm

the Korean are improving in every new release. Thumbs up.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:53 pm

lots of keyboard warriors praising hyundai here….but which of you actually bought one…on a serious note…hyundai is getting boring…first the sonata..now this…a step backwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
  • tucson on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Can’t wait to see Tucson 2016

• Zaniff Bin Zakaria on Sep 10, 2015 at 2:13 am

Seriously Korean cars are currently known for their vast improvement in overall and thanks to K-Wave, I think Korean auto industry is increasingly popular.

• Front grill look like audi

• mr yun on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:31 am

Dashboard is out dated, like one in old Mercedes taxi…

• xavier lert on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:05 am

sadly, perhaps this is the decline phase of C segment car (other than conti). the only one that express the wow factor is Mazda 3. other than that…unless u wanna go for C class the Merc..

• albag on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:23 am

interior design is a damn no no

• atifjeelan on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:31 am

Don`t judge a car by its look only. what most important is the technologies behind it. as for me, the car look smart and mature design. what i like the most is the improvement that Hyundai does in the Elantra. some other reputable company just change the looks but the inside is still the same as the older generation.

• atifjeelan on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:32 am

Dont judge a car by its look only. what most important is the technologies behind it. as for me, the car look smart and mature design. what i like the most is the improvement that hyundai does in the elantra. some other reputable company just change the looks but the inside is still the same as the older generation.

• jobless on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:33 am

current Lantra design bith inside out looks great for one month than quickly became dated and a joke..tis new model takes Honda City rear light and Ford Mondeo front grille and just pasted onto current model..and remeber at family gathering time all the vvip best parking spots reserved for Toyoda Honda only…if u own kimci u need to park far away in secluded spot where nobody can see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • jobless on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:35 am

so wat if got vsc..if u drive like ah beng u still ko

• The back looks like the current Honda City if viewed from the side.

Hmm…

• Shanker on Sep 10, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Korean cars are doing well worldwide,overall they have improved tremendously.Their design,quality and features are value for money.They build great cars.

• Hopefully price below 80k, surely i buy one!

• Can’t wait to see the actual car. I believe it will look and feel better than what it looks in the photo and video.

Definitely targeting a more mature audience.

• DANIEL on Sep 10, 2015 at 6:38 pm

I thought it only happen in Msia!

The car is likeable but Hyundai does not back their cars and will lie, retaliate, and threaten you with arrest if you seek service. This is a horrible auto buying experience. This does not include what happened at the selling dealer. Without availability of warranty service, the car is worthless now and forever in all areas.

– badhyundai, Los Angeles, CA, USA
    http://www.carcomplaints.com/Hyundai/Accent/2010/suspension/vibration_in_passenger_seat_area.shtml

• If you are a single male, and you are buying any Hyunkia, you will end up growing more muscle on your arm, and also buying a lot of tissue papers during Aeon member day sales. The reason is, girls nowadays can recognize car emblem. Hyunkia is a household brand name where the parents buy cheap cheap 2nd 3rd 4th hand for their son & daughter going college, along with saga myvi tiara spectra savvy etc etc.

• Asyhik on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Yawn…zzzz