VIDEO: Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0 Executive walk-around

Next up on our walk-around video series is the Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0, seen here in its range-topping Executive variant. Launched in December last year, the seventh-generation D-segment competitor will go up against the likes of the Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Peugeot 508, Mazda 6, Kia Optima K5, Volkswagen Passat and of course, the venerable Toyota Camry – in short, not exactly the easiest segment to stand out in.

In Malaysia, the CBU Sonata comes in three trim levels. The base-spec Elegance B kicks off the range, which is then followed on by the ‘middle child’ Elegance and finally topping out with the Executive. All three variants are powered by a sole engine choice – the 2.0 litre Nu mill produces 154 PS and 194 Nm of torque and is mated to an in-house six-speed automatic transmission.

Zeroing in on the Executive-spec Sonata, goodies include 18-inch wheels wrapped in 235/45 tyres, bi-xenon HID head lamps, panoramic roof, auto wipers plus many more. For a more detailed rundown of the car, check out Carbase.my – you can also compare it side-by-side against its foes to see which one comes out on top.

Wanna’ know what it’s like to drive? Spare a few minutes to read our review of the car and find out for yourself! So sit back, relax and allow us to walk you through the all-new Hyundai Sonata. If you like what you see, give us a thumbs up and subscribe to our Youtube channel for more videos.

GALLERY: Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0 Executive tested

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• meng meng on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:25 pm

sit inside feel very premium, but interior design just a bit too….. hhhhmmmmmm….. o.l.d….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
    • Same Lorr on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Kimchi? No good.. buy Toyota better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 71
      • berserker on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:05 pm

You never get tired of repeat the same thing do you..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Repeating a fact = Education.

If buy for own use (15 years), it is still worthy. Kimchi is however better than the junk Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 45
          • Low Budget on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:11 pm

You are not tired of repeating, you probably has the brain of a parrot but the readers are very tired of parrot. Just like ASTRO repeat their wayang, nobody want to watch too many repeats..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 22
          • Why is it astros fault?

Blame the networks like Time Warner and HBO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
          • duhhh on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:46 pm

No fact, you only syok sendiri always talk kok here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
        • dugongx on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Only salesman repeat the same old false crap. Hoping to scam people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
          • Same Lorr = Small Brain on Mar 30, 2015 at 10:45 am

That is why people like Same Lorr remains as a car salesman selling Toyota when most of us already excel further than him. We call this no progress in life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Everyone know he just a joker and keep bullshxt since n-years ago.
          Don’t bother him as long as he stay in Toyota showroom and don’t come out to hurt ppl..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
      • meng meng on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:41 pm

by the way i’m driving kia cerato.. evrey enjoy to drive.
        i know have no RV. i know spare part expansive, service not cheap also. im not care, why same lorr so care about that?
        haha!! i know, i know you want be famous right?
        come on kid, don’t waste time on keyboard.
        go study your toyota sales talk.
        talk about OTHER point, point other than RV..
        If Toyota without RV you can eat grass liao.
        really really eat grass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 45
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:17 am

You can’t even have the Celaka traded in.

You must be really fit now having to park 1 km away at family gatherings

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
          • youretard on Mar 29, 2015 at 3:04 pm

You mean retard family?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • I am thinking, Sam Loo must be logging in paultan website quite frequent to check if any updates are related to Korean made cars. And then he would make sure he leave his RV shit below the comment section.

The story doesn’t ended yet. He would also revisit the comment section and make sure he dumps a lot of dislikes for people who talk bad about him.

I can foresee my comment will get a lot of dislikes too, because this little Sam Loo will just revisit this page and make sure I get at least “5 dislikes” from him.

Toyota salesman like sam loo is quite free nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
        • Although u saying u are supporting korea car ..BUT Are u sure no RV? …are you sure spare part expensive and service not cheap?? Servicing and changing parts at Service centre are never cheap, no matter what car brand. Since you are kia car owner, Go get more info pls.. the SAme Lor guy, he sells toyota, of course he needs to promote toyota … but seriously he needs to get a life …I wonder how can one person living everyday saying, “wei, toyota is best siol, RV best!, KImchi rotten, must feel shameful, no RV” sort of things……Life is really tormenting, isnt it?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 30, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I trade used Hyundai.

Furthermore, I encourage all to buy Hyundais new so that I have a steady supply of used units

• so much grey..ohh my eyess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • shinn on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Malaysian yao ming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • George Abdul on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Lol seriously you’re not talking about the car right?!!!
      Hahaha

• Yao Ming on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Yao Ming is basketball player bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • George Abdul on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Bro, to be exact Yao Ming a retired NBA player and current Shanghai Shark owner.

• I guess what he’s trying to say is that Gregory looks like Yao Ming at a glance. Well at least I do.

• fast5 on Mar 28, 2015 at 11:13 am

Kids know days can’t differentiate a joke and sentence, read properly George just making a joke and not that he don’t know who yao ming is… pengsan!!!

• Wanted to say the same but saw your comment. Give you a like :)

• Hyundai Da Junk on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Cheapo Exterior Outdated Interior, typical Junk car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 27, 2015 at 6:07 pm

I still havent seen one on the road. This tells that how “unattractive ” the sonata has become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Having driven the new Sonata, first thing I noticed is how much nicer it is compared to the YF. Yeah sure the interior looks plainer and so does the exterior. But this newfound refined design feels nice and calming – very German. The space is massive. As in really massive. I don’t know how they did it, but it makes things like the Camry and Accord to look absolutely tiny. But again, somehow despite the space, when you drive it and move around in it, it doesn’t feel like you are driving a tank, which is impressive.

But that’s where it ends. First off the engine is hopelessly underpowered. What were they thinking when they decided this was fine as the sole choice. Yes I understand they want the i40 to sit in the 170k range and this one to be the budget option, but I feel that the i40 now feels old and dated compared to the Sonata. At least offer a 2.4 option. The transmission is typical Hyundai, nothing exciting, somewhat smooth and all. In terms of dynamics, it feels alright, but it is no VW Passat or Ford Mondeo. Steering feel is so-so (almost nil), the drive mode didn’t do any much difference in terms of power (expected) and the body control was average. But the biggest ever flaw in the car was the brakes. I usually make sure a car I get has decent brakes, especially in emergency situations. Some manufacturers get it spot on, like the Germans and Volvo. But Hyundai, despite the supposed Euro tuning etc, at 100kmh when you hit the brakes for a panic stop, the car locked up. Yes, it locked before the ABS engaged, which was rather surprising for a modern car. More so it felt not confident under emergency braking, also surprising when others get it right. I’d take the Nurburgring tuned with a kilo of salt, but Hyundai Malaysia really needs to consider a 2.4 variant. And fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

I remember my litle time in the Sonata show car, yes, the impression of size does become appernt when you sit in it, its, there is the sense the car is roughly the dimension of a Rolls Royce Phantom and having sat in a Phantom before(lucky moment), I’d say the Sonata does a slight better job giving you an impression of space.

About the power; considering the competition, does it still feel underpowered compared with an equal capacity 2.0l Camry, Accord or Teana. The 2.0l D-segment makes up the bulk of the sales, as most 2.4l are placed beyond reach(above RM150k). And regarding the brakes, of 2 Hyundai’s I have ever sat in on the move(a Matrix and a old Accent)both cars brakes were beyond horrendous, it like a sponge, there is no confidence in them, thou both cars are now relatively old, I thought Hyundai has sorted them out, its amongst the single major complain I have been receiviing with Korean car so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2015 at 6:30 pm

I don’t know how, but Hyundai have cracked the code, they have actually managed to beat Honda at their game… Just…

Okay, so comparing a Camry 2.0 (the current outgoing one with the dinosaur 4 speed auto), yes the Camry feels more sprightly. Probably the gearing and the nature of Toyota engines which feel powerful low down but not at higher revs, while this one feels linear, but the linearity is too low… As for the Teana and Accord I have not driven a recent one, by judging Honda’s engine nature I would expect the Accord to outdo the Sonata too.

As a company car, the Hyundai makes sense, sub 150k, full safety, lots of space. But as a private buy? Get the 508 or Mazda 6 if you don’t mind lack of space.

Hyundai’s brakes have been usually average. Other Hyundais I have driven have had better braking than this but having said that, they were not outstanding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • I wonder how many units have been sold until now? I havent seen one in Ipoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:19 am

Kimchi fellas syok sendiri, puji sendiri, tembak kapal terbang sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • samlorrrSS on Mar 29, 2015 at 6:31 pm

But…but….but….All this while people see you are the one who syok sendiri here

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Bumper and body diff color?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • alldisc on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:11 pm

in the 90s yes, to buy a hyundai sonata against accord and corona (later camry) was not a good decision.

now the games has changed. with modern technology car manufacturers are able to produce relatively good cars in terms of power, driving dynamics, space and comfort, reliability and features.

however, hyundai name is still lacking because of several criterias.

hyundai used to have 2 separate dealers, one each for CBU and CKD cars. the level of support were not exactly the same though.

because of this matter (technical support, parts availability, high cost of maintenance, low level of reliability) had contributed to poor re-sale value.

not only used car dealers reluctant of accepting used hyundais either sell or part exchange with another used car, even Hyundai’s own salesman has the same fear.

The trend has set in and today, no matter how good hyundai cars are it will always not be in the the same level as Toyota Camry and Honda Accord (which found it extremely difficult to woo buyers due to stiff competition from Nissan, Ford, Kia and VW among others not to mention the smaller BMW, Merc & Audi selling at about the same price (smaller but hey, i am driving a BMW!)

Hyundai Malaysia is struggling at the moment and is a sign of sales not doing well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • Low Budget on Mar 27, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Hyundai is struggling in Malaysia but very salable worldwide, they are one of the biggest manufacturer in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • Albert on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Alldisc,you are right.Hyundai,tho good has setbacks.
      Just walk to any used car dealership.A 2010 Sonata can be driven to your doorstep for just rm 40K.
      At 2010 camry or Accord will fetch easily double in terms of resale value.
      In other words,the trade in value is around rm33K.The dealer needs rm 7k as profit cos of high holding costs.
      If you are trading in your Sonata after year 5,you will have to top up with the bank a lot during full settlement.
      I just bought a 2004 Camry 2.0 for rm40K,but in good condition,needing only to change the battery and tinting.
      Jokes aside,we may not like Same Lorr since he is a UMW salesperson,facts remain facts.An Accord or camry in the 2.0 litre sedan segment has higher resale value.A 10 year old Vios can fetch rm32-35K,that’s approaching a Soanata 2010 resale value,mind you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
      • tokmoh. on Mar 28, 2015 at 6:14 pm

If i have to worry about RV when buying a car, maybe i can’t afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Sorchai Albert on Mar 29, 2015 at 2:45 am

2004 camry? I won’t even pay 1k for that rusted junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
        • Albert on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Mr.Sorchai,if you are bent on harping on Toyota cos you dont like Sam Lorr,go crash yourself into the French Alps.
          Our forum here is about good reliable cars,used or new.
          Maybe you are using KIa or Hyundai or Proton ,that ‘s why you hate Toyota.Nobody who talks sense are sorchai.You are the only sorchai,badmouthing others who differs from your twisted opinions.You should be the passenger who perish in the French Alps,cause you can stoop so low to call people names when opinions differ.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:29 am

That is why I always encourage sorhais and tai lan ngongs to buy Hyundais new.

That way, I can keep a steady supply of used kimchis after 18 months when these buggers are denied promotions, got many funny looks, ditched by their gal and having to park far far away at family gatherings

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • camryrubbish on Mar 29, 2015 at 6:32 pm

How about children throw fireworks to junky Camry? Isn’t that more less like rubbish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:41 pm

This is why I have 2 Hilux in my yard.

Now, with the new 10 feet fence along the monsoon drain, I can now declare my premise suicide proof.

Also, found a defribilator just in case the kimchi owners miss a couple of heartbeats when they get to know the value of their rotten cabbages

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:23 am

Hyundai is losing market share globally because for every market in the world, they have no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Go to the national library and you will find couple thousand titles about Japanese quality, TQM Kanban Poka-Yoke FMEA TQC etc. Now try find me ONE book that mention about Korean quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:26 am

Actually, the only popular topic Korea is associated with is kimchi.

Kimchis are essentially fermented cabbage in a cocktail of spices/beans and some even fish/meat.

To me, its like rotten rojak, and rajak is synnonamous with simple mix, doing things the easy way, cheap and lousy.

That is Korea and all of its products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Strongly encourage all sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy.

Need to keep the pump primed for the hailat syndrome after they are being denied promotions, ditched by thier gal, looked at a funny way by relatives and park far far away at family gatherings.

By the way, contractor finished the 10 feet high fencing to prevent kimchi owners to jump into the monsoon drain.

Looking for a defribilator now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • VHL Lorrr on Mar 28, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Strongly encourage all sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy ‘made in jamban’ UMW Toyota craps.

Need to keep the pump primed for the hailat syndrome after they are being denied promotions or even fired by big boss (due to deemed NOT TRUSTWORTHY as they will throw company’s money into river to buy a Grade F or f*#kingly cheapest quality material with Grade A pricing which is seriously overpriced, same case with UMW Toyota cars which is the lowest spec, who knows the quality might be lowered into junk-car level but selling price is the highest among competitors, no discount can be asked else their salesman will treat you very rude way with a very simple question, you want to order or not?), ditched by their gal, looked at a funny way by relatives and park far far away at family gatherings.

By the way, contractor finished the 10 feet high solid wall to prevent public or civilians to hear jamban car owners yelling ‘Hai Lat Lorrr’ repeatedly like sakit jiwa person.

Looking for a defribilator now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
  • VWfanboi on Mar 28, 2015 at 1:05 am

Smart trunk system? So dumb…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Looks like inspira back with aftermarket rearlights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Ha Gnih on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:14 am

We buy cars because we like it and not because of RV. Kimchiis are stepping up their game and there’s no way one could deny that when you get into a kimchii car and start driving around. Take the Optima K5 (facelift) for example. Been driving this gorgeous baby for about a year now and seriously, I am very happy with it. No doubt there are minor squeaks coming from the dashboard at times but that’s totally normal. I get that in my W221 Mercedes Benz too. So what’s the big deal? At the end of the day, we enjoy what we boght with our own hard earned money and let no one criticize our choice. They did not pay for your car. If really want to sweat over RVs? BUY A FREAKING HOUSE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:48 pm

You buy because of instinctive reasons, and I don’t blame you because that is how kimchi cars suck their victims.

Its a matter of whether you are man enough to admit. Afterall, your career will slide down the drain when younger people gets promo and increments and climbing pass you in the rat race.

You will come look for me and you will definitely be shown the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:23 am

Kimchi Sonata owners now will be offered only RM 45k for 18 month old models.

Those that are between 24-30 months models will only get RM30k, like Toyota Saleman Crying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • No Turbo? on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:59 pm

They should bring the turbo 2.0 motor like they get in Australia, then it will be a better proposition…a bit more power (180kw/245PS) is always good and being a turbo, you can get the power when you need it but save fuel by careful driving…the 2.0 and 2.4 non-turbo motors are lacklustre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Whatever KIA/Naza does, KIA will not be able to be traded in at all