Euro D-segment comparo: Peugeot 508 GT HDi vs Ford Mondeo Ecoboost, diesel vs petrol

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 10

Things are quite surreal at the moment. Let me paint the scene for you. It’s the weekend and I’m driving on an empty road that snakes between hills. Skirting the road is a lush wooded forest that must have took centuries to grow from seeds to tall barks that sprouts leaves reaching the sky. Magnificent.

A song, a quirky French number, begins playing on the radio piped through the JBL 10-speaker sound system. The song is unfamiliar, nor is the singer. But her voice is sultry and it seems to invite contentment. As if the leather-wrapped seats of this car hasn’t already lulled me into bliss. Not sleepy, just relaxed.

The car is also French. A Peugeot 508 GT, which means it gets its engine moving with diesel. Not that you are aware of it; no external noises are invading the inner bubble. The interior is one that is very well appointed and exudes the luxury of cars that are affordable to those in the higher pay scale.

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 9

It is certainly a very nice place to be in. Look around, there are no nook and cranny that does not speak of quality. There’s certain tactility massaged into everything that will be frequently touched – the armrests, the buttons, the gear knob, the steering wheel. It definitely feels much better than the car that’s in my rear view mirror.

That car is American but was never sold there. Instead, the Mondeo made its mark in Europe. Seen here is the 2.0 litre EcoBoost-powered Ford Mondeo. In truth, this car is older compared to the 508 and its age shows in its interior. The first thing that you’ll notice is how bare the interior is. And it’s flat too, especially when the centre stack drops from the dashboard like a sheer cliff.

Really, there’s nothing much to say about the Mondeo. It leans towards simplicity, in operation as well as design. So there isn’t much going on for the Mondeo. But what you can’t take away from the car is quality. It is well-built and feels solid, which lets the Mondeo keep its premium tag.

Peugeot 508 49

But when compared to the 508, the Mondeo lacks the stylistic flair that the French car so easily pulls off. It is as if the Mondeo was designed for practicality rather than style. The 508 is also more comfortable in that you sit in and immediately feel snug. Almost feels like you never left the couch, which is very welcome during long distance driving.

In a sense, it does live up to its Gran Turismo moniker in a way; this car has the engine for the long open road. Recall that under the bonnet is a 2.2 litre diesel engine, which gives the car the endurance of a marathon runner; it does 5.7l/100 km. Power isn’t too shabby either, hatching a healthy 204 hp and 450 Nm of torque, a number typical of oil burners. The mill is mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox that likes to take its time to disengage from one gear and click on to the next.

Although the brochure says it takes 8.4 seconds to get to 100 km/h, I can’t help but to feel that the number might be generously quoted. It has an ECU-limited top speed of 235 km/h. Still, it will get to speed adequately fast, which by then the Mondeo would already be a few car lengths ahead.

Ford Mondeo 35

A petrol-engined car is still the one to get when it comes to outright performance. The Mondeo is armed with Ford’s latest 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine, which blasts 237 hp and 340 Nm of torque into the front wheels. Transmission of choice is the six-speed Powershift dual-clutch gearbox. The Mondeo is always going to be the more sportier of the two but not more economical; it does 7.7l/100 km, which is still respectable.

The American reaches 100 km/h in 7.8 seconds and gets to a top speed of 246 km/h without breaking sweat. Bring the pedal closer to the metal and you’d be surprise how fast this large sedan really is.

The Mondeo runs strong and hard, having much more running space in the revs. There’s much satisfaction when the car shifts gears, builds more speed, gets to a higher ratio and builds even more speed. The 508 GT doesn’t, try as you might. It’s too slow to kick down a gear to catch the car ahead and the power delivery isn’t quick. Also, it eats through the revs very quickly. There is more than one scenario that the 508 will be running at the highest gear and still the Mondeo is able to peel away with so much more left in the engine.

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 6

Frustration escalates at hill climbs. Every time the 508 GT shifts gears, it finds itself dropping the revs too low, losing the precious speed that it had collected earlier; if there was a collection in the first place. It is not until I switch to manual mode that the Peugeot becomes drivable uphill. The engine does need to be whipped and worked hard.

Oh, but you might not want to work the car too hard, especially around the corners. The 508 GT’s suspension isn’t made for that. The chassis is set on becoming a comfort cruiser that it had forgotten about the inevitable B roads or a set of twisted tarmac on a hill that must be encountered. The car has a surprisingly large amount of body roll that it feels like a yacht on rough waters. The engine must be heavy as well because the nose dips under braking and then sniffs the air under hard acceleration. Unless the driver decides to pussyfoot every turn.

Not to say that the Mondeo does the same with its nose, just that the motions are kept under control. Ford has proven that a car can be comfortable to ride without giving up on the handling. In fact, this is what all large sedans should aspire to when it comes to ride and handling. Steering input in here is accurate and quick, meaning the car has the capability to swing from one corner to the next without upsetting its occupants. In fact, its occupant – me – is truly enjoying the Mondeo.

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 8

Then, it is time to head back down the mountain, when things start to go downhill for the Mondeo. It is about an hour after the afternoon showers and the roads that lead close to sea level are still damp; dry in some areas. Now, one would think that such a capable car would have no problem coming down such roads. After all, it had displayed plenty of grip going up. Instead, everything is flipped.

The Mondeo is struggling to find purchase, as if the road is made from ice. The car starts to brake nervously and nearly loses grip at every turn. Traction control and going at the speed of a speeding snail saves the day.

Throughout the Mondeo’s gauntlet, the 508 GT suddenly become the graceful dancer that the Mondeo was a few hours ago. There’s plenty of grip and it handles like a car should. So what happened? Tyres could be the issue but there were plenty of thread left.

Much later, after the shootout, I could not repeat the same wild handling that the Mondeo had on the slippery road. Odd that it should happen so close to the verdict. It is as if the forces that be had pulled a fast one and marred what was to be a brilliant handling record. Still, a conclusion must be reached.

Peugeot 508 70

Which is the overall better Euro D-segment sedan? I like the Mondeo, I still do in spite of the shenanigans coming downhill. The power delivery is so much better and it is a better driver’s car than the Peugeot can ever be. Priced at RM193,888, this is the car that you’ll derive much enjoyment behind the wheel.

Enjoyment, something that the Peugeot lacks. Its chassis is more focused on the comfort of the passengers until it reaches a corner. But the motions are not pronounced if the driver takes those B roads at safer speeds, which is what most will do anyway. And in that sense, the 508 GT is the better car. Yes, it is more expensive, but at RM199,888, you’d be getting a car that’s more luxuriously-appointed with an engine that lets you go further between refuels. For now, value-for-money wins the day.

Peugeot 508 28

Meanwhile, Danny’s pre-test script gets torn up

The pre-shootout armchair critic in me had a winner in mind. The Peugeot 508 GT HDi would have aced the petrol car in economy, flash and equipment, but the Ford’s counterpunches targeting every driving aspect, plus space, would prove too strong for the Pug, ultimately handing Mondeo the victory.

While some of the above turned out to be accurate, driving the cars back-to-back and comparing them side-by-side brought out a few surprises.

The Ford’s 240 PS Ecoboost petrol pulls well, sounds good (better than the 203 PS version, but it could be my patchy memory) and the PowerShift is the snappier and more responsive gearbox in this contest.

Ford Mondeo 58

The ride/handling balance is great, while the surprisingly thin-rimmed steering wheel (not cool, but I like) feels really connected to the road surface. It’s good to drive, all right.

The 508 diesel may be in sporty GT spec here, but it feels dynamically inferior to the Ford. There’s more body roll, and the ride is brittle over less than smooth roads, a sore thumb in what is otherwise a solid cruiser performance.

But we don’t drive to Bukit Tinggi everyday, and it’s in the 95% of the time that the Peugeot’s charms come to play. The 2.2 HDi serves up truly effortless performance – no kick in the back, but a huge wave of smooth momentum to take you from merging traffic to highway speed in a blink. It’s quiet at work, too, and doesn’t despise revs.

Ford Mondeo 19

The six-speed auto isn’t the quickest (can be occasionally hesitant at low speeds) but it doesn’t annoy too much in an easy-going car like this, negated by the amount of twist in hand.

Where’s the surprise, you ask? Coming down from a damp Bukit Tinggi via the trickier of two routes, I was right behind the tail of Chris in the Mondeo.

Not only the Ford couldn’t pull away, it was all over the place, and I saw ESP yanking that bulky body in line more than once. All this happened while I was relatively comfy in the 508. So while the Pug doesn’t feel so good on B roads, its outright ability is not in question.

Ford Mondeo vs Peugeot 508 1

And after 465 km of driving, including pedal-to-metal stints and lots of idling for photography, I returned the diesel Pug with a range to empty figure of 450 km, which is amazing. 1,000 km on one tank should be doable.

The Peugeot’s static appeal is the clincher for me. The Mondeo’s old-school interior is OK in isolation, but drab and bare next to the 508’s feature-rich, classy cockpit. At the back, the Ford has more space, but the Peugeot is more cozy. The French car just feels more special, in and out.

Effortless performance and great economy aside, the Peugeot has so much more presence on the road, and is so much more premium inside. It’s my pick, but with a wheel downsize to 18 inches – and that wasn’t in the script!

Ford Mondeo 2.0L Ecoboost

Engine: 2.0 litre, four-cylinder, turbocharged petrol
Power: 237 hp at 6,000 rpm, 340 Nm at 1,900 to 3,500 rpm
Transmission: Six-speed dual-clutch Powershift automatic
Performance: 0-100 km/h in 7.8s, top speed 246 km/h, 7.7l/100 km
Price: RM193,888 (OTR with insurance)

Peugeot 508 GT 2.2L HDI FAP

Engine: 2.2 litre, four-cylinder, turbocharged diesel
Power: 204 hp at 3,500 rpm, 450 Nm at 2,000 rpm
Transmission: Six-speed torque converter automatic
Performance: 0-100 km/h in 8.4s, top speed 235 km/h, 5.7l/100 km
Price: RM199,888 (OTR with insurance)

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• sudonano on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:31 am

Whatever said and done, both the 508 and Mondeo are probably the best sedans in the D segment out there, besides the Mazda6 that is.

But for me, I’d take the Mondeo over the 508. For me, though I do like diesels, and French cars, I cannot help but to say that the Pug’s transmission feels dim witted sometimes, something these French cars all have. They seem to have this void where the gears take a bit too long to switch.

Having said that, the Mondeo does look dated. But it does still have a commanding presence on the road, just like the 508.

Interior wise, the 508 probably takes the cake. Seats are fabulous. It feels much better than the Japanese/Korean rivals.

Either way, I am sure even if you buy a Mondeo, or if you buy a 508, you will be one happy owner, as both will put a smile on your face. I just would love to see the new Mondeo (which is supposed to be based on the very muscular Fusion) come to MY. Well done, both Ford and Peugeot.

PS: That 2.2HDi is really powerful (in manual). Using the paddles and keeping the turbo spooled, you can really fly, first class. It’s just the gearbox…. I guess it’s more software related than anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 25
    • I only can say that mondeo is more handsome than 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • sudonano on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:32 am

both a beautiful.

but really, you have to see the fusion, and then you will wonder how can Honda and Toyota not respond with something as good as the Fusion or 508. Or even K5/Mazda6 for that matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • turbovios on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:57 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 161
      • Ihatethatvios on Oct 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Why there must be someone mentioning Vios in every thread. Vios is a stupid looking car, underpowered and tooo common.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 5
      • viosshit on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:59 pm

NO MONEY GO BUY VIOS lol..Even kilang workers with 1500 permonth can buy vios..AGAIN,NO MONEY GO BUY VIOS,NO TALKING TALKING HERE LOL.. Hihihi

• you are just repeating paul’s report up there..

• Chris,
      In respond to your statement “the shenanigans coming downhill” scenario on Mondeo (go down hill from Bkt Tinggi), I have some thought to share..

I’ve seen the same Mondeo(WWX7226) from other car review magazine couple of months back, thus I would presume the Mondeo has been driven for at least a year (more or less like mine). Mondeo is wearing 215/50R17 Goodyear EfficientGrip rubber, it performs excellent on the normal condition even up to 220km/h, but it is not the case on wet surface. On top of that, G/year EfficientGrip tires of mine have worn off more than 40% (mileage 17000km), I am not sure what the tires condition of the tested Mondeo; I think it would be quite similar. Hence, the tires play a big role on this.

Whereas Pug508GT has 19″ footwear, it is Michelin if I am not wrong. Certainly, it would out perform Mondeo’s 17″ G/year rubbers which could barely hold its’ big body on grip during down hill (wet condition some more). I think it make sense bcos Mondeo is a rather heavy car. It is sweet and effortless for Ecoboost to pull off the big sedan going up hill but not the same scenario the other way round; a bigger or better tires could easily overcome the issue.

There is another White Mondeo in my town [only 2 White units in town, see, how precious it is !! :)] which is wearing 18″ rubbers. So happen, there was a chance to drive his. Glad to know, the bigger footwear does provide better grip without jeopardizing the overall ride comfort.

Sudonano,
      Absolutely agree with you that both of the breeds are equally good. Personally, I will still stick to Mondeo bcos the smooth and seamless match between Ecoboost & Powershift together with the excellent dynamic handling has been making my every trip smile all the way…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • sudonano on Oct 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm

yep. I will stick to the Mondeo too. I just love the EcoBoost a tad more than the 2.2HDi. And plus, I still think only Ford can give really good handling and comfort at a decent price.

Interestingly, although PowerShift is supposedly not as good as the VW DSG (not so fast shifts), it seems to me that it is more reliable. Not that many horror stories about it, compared to the mechatronic drama.

Yet it i sad, that people actually rather take the Camry over this.

(Side note: I still think the best colour of the Mondeo is the grey color. Looks fantastic. Oh and cannot wait to see the new Mondeo with the Aston grille.

by the way, have you had any issues with the EcoBoost engine in yours? Not that I have heard of any, but just curious…)

• Though Powershift does not shift gear as quickly as DSG but it is not slow either yet operates in a more linear and smoother with a decent manner. Personally, l perfer Powershift rather than DSG as it does job in a more natural way.
          Ecoboost or Powershift failure ? Nope, none from what I have heard of. It’s just awesome from the day1 I drove it.
          Despite the solid build, Mondeo’s interior and outlook has shown its age. The new Mondeo Aston grille is truely sexy even at standstill stance. Looking forward to seeing it in metal.
          As long as Sime Darby could put a more strategic price tag and upscale their service center, I believe M’sian will eventually start recognising and appreciating this long neglected well built sedan…

• sudonano on Oct 13, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Agree. For a DCT, it is funny that the PowerShift is not as fast as DSG or BMW’s DCT used in M cars, but it gives a more smooth and natural feel, like a real auto box. Tried the XC60 before, it uses the exact same engine, transmission and all as the Mondeo and SMax 240ps. I was left wondering if it was a real DCT, cause I did not feel any grinding sound at carpark speeds in the test drive, unlike the STronic in Audi’s Q5… Pretty impressed it shifted smoothly, not much drama. Too bad the XC60’s suspension was a bit bouncy, but not Ford’s fault la.

Neither have I. Just curious, cause I may be looking at an EcoSport or maybe a Focus in a year or two… (heard Ecosport coming, hopefully with the 1.0EcoBoost and Powershift!)

Yes, Mondeo has shown its age. But it is actually a pretty old car, it came out the same time as Casino Royale, in fact it was used as a Bond car!

Mondeo/Euro Fusion looks nice. In the day especially with the DRL on. Wow.

True. SD has to maintain the good spec, and probably put it at about 180k or so, that is the sweet spot la for the 2.0 EcoBoost, and a 1.6 EcoBoost maybe at 150k, it will really compete well… And the service center too. Having had the Focus II for a period of time, even though it was not maintained much, take it on a highway and it feels so alive. Probably SDAC should make a test track with a high speed stretch too, that is when you see the power of Ford cars.

(PS: The Focus was not owned by me. It was a loaner).

• Yes, the Slovenian sourced GoodYear EfficientGrip was not designed for the hot and humid Malaysian climate. I have just yesterday swapped to Michelin Pilot 3SP and I must say the 50-odd kms I have covered so far shows why Ford or Sime Darby MUST change the tyres when they arive.

• I think Ford Fusion is the new Mondeo. If we could get a hand on Fusion and compare with 508 would be great.

• sustagen on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:58 am

perfect head to head comparo p vs d. those torque numbers are insanely delicious. pugs interior wins. good to see review after long term test/ownership review in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Obviously on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:02 am

Interesting outcome there. Totally didn’t expect the Mondeo to semi-flunk the descent after the stellar ascent.

And kudos to the photographer. The first 2 images are breath-taking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • yoolang on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:11 am

after check peugeot malaysia website see 508 got so many type make so confuse already. spec is like same only. maybe can do for a compare the 508 type car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • yoolang on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:14 am

another thing also forget for a mention. last time got say the peugeot one for the gps is now have in a malaysia, but when check the spec writing paper for the website is not say also. actually which one is they have the gps one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Joe Fudge on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:23 am

All got GPS, start middle this year

• Colin Wong on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:48 am

Do note that the GPS is not the touch screen type. So it is highly impractical to use. I gave up using it long time ago. Also, the satellite pick up of signal is not very strong. My tint has made it unstable but no problem with Garmin and my Galaxy Note 2 running Waze or Google Map.

• Raptor on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:33 am

Omg… it’s like a chinese guy with spellcheck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • koozold on Oct 14, 2013 at 1:10 pm

As long we could understand..

• Colin Wong on Oct 14, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Raptor, give the old chap a break. You don’t know how it feels being in a Chinese motor blog and not being able to enter a single comment. At least he is trying and respecting the forum by using English, albeit a bit well, broken?

• Damn, Mondeo can actually challenge with the new BMW 328.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
  • Jesus christ for Mondeo’s back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Moores on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:14 am

It will be interesting if you could have comparison of Mazda 6, Accord, Camry, Sonata, K5, Mondeo, 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • John Tan on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:00 am

Well done, nice article. Feel good to read. Hope this type of comparison is more to come.

• kadajawi on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:35 am

Interesting. Might Ford have gone for performance tyres that grip well in the dry, but not at all in the wet?

I would have liked it if you would have also compared them to their main rivals, i.e. Mazda 6 for the most conti of the Japanese, the Kia K5 for being Koreans answer (or attempt thereof) and of course the Toyota Camry for the most successful D segment car and as a benchmark, as people are more familiar with it. Can the Camry beat the 508 in ride comfort and handling? Both seem aimed in the same direction. Where does the interior fit in? Just how much more space does it offer?

It’s too bad that most reviews here seem to differentiate between Japanese and conti… Either the Japanese are compared amongst each other, or the contis are. But they rarely if ever seem to be compared, even though that would be the most interesting test.

• Comparing camry and these cars…..waste of time i think. Hp, torque, handling, specs, safety? What can a camry beat of all departments? Ah resale value probably thanks all uncles……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:11 am

Ride quality, resale value, after sales service, reliablity, space. Or so they think. It’d be interesting to see how exactly these cars compare. It would also interesting for those (and I suppose there many of them) who have no experience with conti D segmenters but know the Camry. After all the Camry is the best selling D segment car in Malaysia, it is thus the benchmark. The main rival.

• Lets talk “cars”. Anyway resale value, after sales etc are chicken and eggs, matter of scale, the less Malaysians are willing to open our mind the more we will be stuck with certain brands who are complacent. On ride quality camry must be quite comfortable on its poor little small wheels, as some sites put it, it is like placing a sofa on a platform with four wheels, nice on straight road going slow, but good luck on corners and general handling. I dont have to go on on safety features , torgue etc, almost like comparing windows 8 and windows 97 , well maybe windows 97 is a better choice, more proven, no need to go for newer tech?

• Arun 12B on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:43 am

Always 508GT the best in all aspect. mondeo interior so ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Don’t forget to compare to VW passat as well. At this price range and reviews so far, Mazda 6, mondeo, 508 gt and passat should be a superb comparison for Malaysian. Trying to look for comparison of these somewhere else..but their models are slightly diff when compared.

• Arun 12B on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:50 am

Always 508GT the best. mondeo interior sucks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Shame_Loo on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Higher HP n torque compare to F30 320i and 320D but poorer acceleration.

• just like that on Oct 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm

i think this was a waste of time imo as the new mondeo is on the way according to a sa in pj and the mondeo used here is dated compared to the 508.

• don’t get your hopes up. Even the UK haven’t got the new Mondeo..

• Majuperak on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Both are nice cars ….. but very rare on the road, i wonder why ?? Such amazing cars it seems …. .? Well after sales service and resale value I think. Our quality of diesel is really bad, will screw up the Diesel engines in no time. Just take a look at even Mercedes or BMW 2nd hand diesel car prices ….. better stick with petrol variants until Euro 4 or 5 diesel is available.

• Colin Wong on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Majuperak, in the Klang Valley, you can see quite a number of 508’s. 3 months ago, the number of 508s sold already more than 2000 units. Not bad really. Good car, no doubt and I enjoy my car very much. I must say that the psychological barrier of crossing over was high! That’s why it is not moving as fast as it should.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:14 am

Most of the 508 you see on the road are the petrol variants, no the diesel ones.

• Arcee on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:39 am

Bmw 2nd hand diesel prices bad??? U gotta be joking. Why dont u compare a 320i vs 320d from d same manufacture year. See which secondary market price is lower before u make such ridiculous comment here

• My Mondeo 240 Ecoboost entered 18 months this month, and I am very happy that I am still in the exclusive club. There must be less than 50 units of this car in Malaysia.
      Power-wise,the 238HP engine is a dream, although if driven hard, it can be thirsty. I am a very sedate driver, so I can get 600kms on a full tank, in city driving. If I drive on highways say to JB, I am sure I will get unbelieveable numbers.
      Well-built, as expected since it came from EU, very spacious especially at the back, power on tap, an array of gadgets such as voice command for radio, climate and telephone, auto lights and wipers, and topped off with a 3 year free service deal.
      At sub 190k prices, you really can’t get a much better deal. Sam Loo may start speaking RV, but hey, it ain’t his money! LOL.

• energy on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:35 pm

i agree with “just like that”.

this is a complete waste of time since:
    1. ford has slashed more than MYR25k off the Mondeo’s MSRP in april
    2. and ford PJ has already run out of stock for the 2012 mondeo

thanks for the comparison though. its 2 years late.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:17 am

To make things worse, there is no news on when the new Mondeo will be coming. Currently, one SA will tell you a different grandmother story from another on when the new model will be coming.

• energy on Oct 13, 2013 at 9:56 pm

I read earlier this year that ford has already poured money into upgrading the rayong plant so that it could assemble the 2013 fusion (mondeo) there. i can no longer find this on google so either my memory fails me or im not searching correctly.

either way i dont expect the fusion to be available until at least Q3 2014, which is very sad =(

• rakyatkito on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Really enjoyed the article and the writing style. Bravo and keep up the good work.

• shame_Loo on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Compare diesel vs petrol engine? Doesn’t sound right to me. Both cars are having higher HP & Torque if compares to F30 petrol and diesel model, but the acceleration is poorer.

• kluemore on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:36 am

thanks the write-up and the HQ photos of the 508.

ain’t she’s a beauty in motion!

• Arcee on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:44 am

Not all d hp & torque is translated to d wheel

• PauKaya on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:09 am

can’t get over the ‘FAP’ moniker for the engine

• Both are nice cars!

• Tapis D on Oct 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

508 GT Diesel’s FC is awesome for its weight, size and engine displacement. Those who shops is D-segment is spilt for choices! Mazda6 Skyactiv 2.5, 316i, Accord Earth tech something2. Owh, Toyota is still selling the Camry?

• intermilan on Oct 13, 2013 at 10:11 pm

D segment cars aren’t my cup of tea right now. But kudos for this article. Both cars are good in their own way. I do however sided with the article’s verdict.

• Decent cars but the Mondeo is probably due for a facelift or full model change that should make it look a lot more attractive.

• I am thinking about buying the 508 petrol but I read a number of complaints that it veers to the left. Please share your knowledge and advice.

• just like that on Nov 24, 2013 at 9:57 pm

tested the 508 turbo s. not bad indeed. I thought the engine wont cope with the weight and size of the car but I was wrong. not much difference from 408 turbo coz I tested that too. such a shame diesel is overpriced. thinking of getting it for rm 145k.

• mondeokoman on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:05 am

American, but not even sold in america?? WTF..shit all this american.