DRIVEN: Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0 Executive tested

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven 724

Ladies and gentlemen, the new Hyundai Sonata. Launched in Malaysia a brisk three-quarters of a year after its world debut in Korea, the seventh-gen LF stands before us today, cutting a sharper and sleeker figure while promising roomier accommodation, more toys, and perhaps more than anything else, a more engaging experience for the driver.

Yup, Hyundai is keen to emphasise the fact that the car has been extensively developed at the Nurburgring, where the Korean carmaker recently set up a new test centre. Enhancements to its body, chassis, steering and suspension in a bid to make the Sonata fitter and more athletic than before are touted, and if you recall how the previous-gen YF drove, you’ll certainly appreciate the need for more involvement at the helm.

But driveability is far from the most important attribute with regards to this segment, at least in our market, and the Sonata is going to have to do a lot more to gain ground amidst the likes of the Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Mazda 6 and Kia Optima. Does it deliver the necessary goods? We take the range-topping Executive on a day trip to Port Dickson and back to find out.

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven 719

The swoopy, daring dress worn by the previous-gen YF was clearly an acute reaction to the snooze-worthy mundanity of the preceding NF (itself a safe retreat from the peanut-eyed EF facelift), but it also made her look a bit pudgy after a while. A pretty short while, in fact.

The LF is hopefully the resolution we’ve been waiting for. The ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0‘ design language, first seen on the second-gen Hyundai Genesis, endows the new Sonata with understated grace and balanced proportions. The parabolic roofline nearly meets the boot edge, affording an almost fastback profile.

There actually aren’t very many stand-out styling elements – the bumper-mounted LED DRLs (which are standard across the range), red-glow LED tail lamps, angular wing mirrors and trapezoidal tailpipe are nice touches, but hardly out of this world.

The Sonata won’t impulsively turn many heads, but for some, that’s the idea – it’s the kind of car you need to take a moment to sit and look at to fully appreciate its aesthetic equilibrium, which it has in spades. Will the LF’s styling last longer than the adventurous YF’s? Only time can tell for sure, but I’m willing to bet that it will.

A unique feature in this segment is the Smart Trunk – stand near the rear bumper with the key about your person for three seconds and the boot automatically unlatches and rises to a set height, so you don’t have to put your heavy shopping down. Once you shut the boot, it won’t open again unless you go away for about 30 seconds and return. Of course, you can disable Smart Trunk if you so wish.

Time to break out the tape measure. Although it may not look it, the new Sonata is 35 mm longer and 30 mm wider than before, while packing a wheelbase that’s 10 mm longer than the YF’s already generous 2,795 mm. The boot now swallows 510 litres – a significant 47 litres up on the YF – and of course, you can fold the 60:40-split back seats down for more.

d-segment-sedan-dimension-comparison-table-1

As you can see from the dimension comparison table above, the Sonata is now the broadest in the class, and although the Mazda 6 and Peugeot 508 sedans have longer wheelbases, neither come close to the kind of back seat space you get in the Hyundai – more on that later.

So far so good, but step aboard and the Sonata takes its first hit. The interior of a D-segment sedan should exude class and perceived quality to some degree, and in this area, I feel the Korean contender plays second fiddle to some of its rivals.

The dashboard will divide opinion – the kinder camp may deem the design safe and contemporarily minimalist, but the other side will point out the monotony of grey, black and silver, as well as a considerable commonality of switchgear with other Hyundai/Kia models, which still have some way to go in terms of tactility.

My beef is with the materials employed – while fit is superb and there’s no doubt they’ll hold up to many years of use and abuse, they could look or feel better to the touch in places. The dashboard top and door pulls are soft-touch, and the door card inlays are leather-lined, which is nice, but the carbon-look dashboard trim on this Executive, non-gloss silver on the centre stack and plain grey around the window switches don’t quite do it for me.

In particular, the plain grey trim only needs the slightest brush of a damp finger to leave unsightly marks – and it has to be located on the door armrests, which are major contact areas. The gear lever, however, is elegantly-styled – featuring a neat leather gaiter, a gloss black top and a chrome ring, it resides within a slim gloss black and chrome-bordered trim piece to match. It, along with the Executive’s panoramic roof, are welcome touches.

Practicality and convenience are strong points – thanks to a foot-operated parking brake, storage spaces on the centre console are aplenty. There’s a deep tray with a swing-up lid ahead of the gear lever where you can place your devices while they’re charging through either of the two 12V sockets, as well as cubbyholes for smaller items. The twin cupholders have a separator that can be detached to give you one deep compartment. All doors have very accessible and usable pockets that contain a bottle holder each.

At the back, you’ll find utility hooks on the B-pillars and stretchy pockets on the backs of both front seats. Under the rear air-con vents is a third 12V socket – we can’t think of anything other than the Volkswagen Passat and Peugeot 508 that packs a rear 12V socket. The rear centre armrest incorporates a unique two-and-a-half cupholder design – it could probably hold two small bottles and one of those Pokka coffee cans.

On the Executive, both front perches are electrically-adjustable, with an extra lumbar function for the driver. Along with rake- and reach-adjustable steering, I quickly attained a comfortable and ideal seating position. Memory seats would’ve been nice though, as on the Kia Optima and Mazda 6.

The Android 4.4.2 KitKat-based AVN touch-screen system has to be the Sonata’s party piece, and a boon for tech buffs. Available on Elegance and Executive variants, it’s quick, easy to use and extensively customisable. Plus, there’s WiFi and the Google Play store, so you can use your phone or mobile internet device as a hotspot to download Android apps, watch YouTube videos, access emails, surf the net – the world’s your oyster. You can even use Waze while driving. See the AVN system in action here.

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven 711

Now for the nitty-gritty. The 178 PS/228 Nm 2.4 litre Theta II unit is no more; only the 2.0 litre Nu MPI engine is available in Malaysia this time, developing 154 PS at 6,200 rpm and 194 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The same engine in the YF facelift made 8 PS more, but at a higher 6,500 rpm, and the same amount of torque at a heady 4,800 rpm. As before, the sole gearbox is an in-house-developed six-speed auto.

Hyundai says the use of more high-tensile steel (51% versus 21% previously) in the Sonata’s construction translates to 41% greater torsional strength and 35% greater bending strength than before. The suspension’s structure and geometry have also been modified to better suit this more rigid chassis.

A flat underbody contributes to a low 0.27 drag coefficient, while the electric power steering boasts a larger data processing unit, an increased logic control cycle, a higher motor control speed and greater steering column rigidity. Also, more soundproofing, additional transmission and suspension damping, and a reinforced bulkhead are claimed to reduce NVH levels.

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven-drive-26

Appearing for the first time in a Sonata is the Drive Mode system – Eco, Normal and Sport modes influence steering effort, gearchange points and throttle response (in the case of Eco, air-con performance as well). You can tell they’re really serious about making this one a better drive. So, has it all paid off?

Well, body control is a notable strength, as a B-road blast proved. There’s little roll to speak of, and more than enough mechanical grip. Sudden camber changes and mid-corner ridges can be quite unsettling, but only briefly, and the Sonata regains its footing and resumes its trajectory with minimal drama. A driving exercise conducted on a makeshift course in the Sepang car park grounds also revealed considerable agility and an eagerness to change direction.

Taut though the chassis may be, it’s controlled through a steering that, despite its enhancements, could still do with more feel and feedback, and the added weight in Sport mode feels more virtual than anything else. Yes, dynamics are not the be-all and end-all in the D-segment, but I had to answer for Hyundai’s claims: where driver engagement is concerned, the Sonata LF is a clear cut above its predecessor, but let’s just say the Mazda 6, Honda Accord and Nissan Teana need not be worried.

hyundai-sonata-lf-driven-drive-3

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, we’ll evaluate the more relevant aspects. Thrust is par for the course – power delivery can best be described as leisurely but linear. Overtaking manoeuvres call for earlier and more urgent pedal application, or Sport mode, but otherwise, the puff is enough for most everyday situations.

Gearchanges are just as leisurely, but very smooth, and allied to high levels of engine and rolling refinement, you have a great long-distance cruiser, although wind noise could be better suppressed. For the record, the motor does 2,250 rpm at the national speed limit.

Ride comfort is above average – more sophisticated ride characteristics exist elsewhere in the segment, it has to be said. Although surface imperfections are adequately isolated from the cabin, they do not go unnoticed. Whatever they do, those Amplitude Selective Dampers could certainly do more. Not as unyielding as the Mazda 6, but not quite Nissan Teana either. However, things appear to be more supple in the back…

… where it acquits itself very well indeed. The Sonata may lack boss-friendly features such as side and rear window blinds, but he will delight in the sheer abundance of space. With the front passenger seat mirroring my own driving seat position, 175 cm-tall me had copious amounts of leg- and shoulder-room, while leaning back in my seat yielded enough headroom to clear my hair. More thigh support wouldn’t go amiss, though.

All things considered, despite the relatively short one-day jaunt, a number of things were clear about the Hyundai Sonata LF – it’s reasonably well equipped (see full prices and specs on CarBase.my), considerably more athletic than before, and that rear seat space is simply class-leading – you can easily imagine three average-sized adults sitting abreast in comfort.

Shame about that interior, but if you want to blend in (under quietly handsome styling) and stand out (amongst the sea of Japanese metal) at the same time – as contradictory as that sounds – your search may just end at the new Sonata.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Urzu3 on Jan 09, 2015 at 7:56 pm

maniac with RV things will pop-up soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 34
    • Hyun Die Fake H on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:38 pm

this fake H car is rubbish and no RV.

And drive like hell.
      drive reckless without signal,nearly bang the car.

hyun die tuscan Pkm 8891,in butterworth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 87
      • Hyun Die Fake H on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Rubbish no RV fake H car.

hyundai i never interested.
        This sonata??
        no need to say,rubbish,design terrible.

Honda Accord is the best.
        even Camry and Teana better than this ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 91
        • im sorry but i have to agree with this guy.
          look at the interior..so much grey..
          is it 1990’s again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Yea, its designed for western… mature, old timer…

• sofof on Jan 11, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Hyun Die Fake H = Same L0rrrr

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:47 pm

I always comment based on facts and figures. No need to insult ppl one.

Unless you wanna own the Sonata for 10++ years, else better don’t touch. You will be damn regret when you are trading in korean cars.

Second hand Sonata? People just pointing on it and laugh~~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • TNB Tipu on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:05 pm

How to buy this car ? Money used to pay excessive TNB BILL !!

I want to bring attention to TNB…

HELLO CEO TENAGA NASIONAL … petrol price down 60%… why TARIFF DIDNT ADJUST ?

CEO TNB you buat Bodoh ? Rakyat dont protest so you make dunno …. You think the Rakyat is STUPID like you ???

GE 14 is coming !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 47
          • Nga kok kok on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Mana itu nga kor ming..balak sudah potong..wang sudah masuk poket, tapi kelantan banjir itu olang diam pusing cerita..
            keTAMAKan menguasai diri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 22
          • TheDean on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:02 am

Apa kena mengena TNB dengan GE14? So kalau burger ramlee tak sedap, salah kerajaan juga ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 25
          • You think TNB can revised the tariff at their own whims and fancies…increase or decrease is as approved and authorised by government…

You’re barking at a wrong tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • jolly idiot2 on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:34 pm

This car make a quiet toyota showroom even quiter. Sam loo and maserati will change.their job to be proton sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 25
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 3:53 pm

It is good to be quiet a bit. We are really busy with the sales. Look at the recently release sales figure, Vios sales 42k units in 2014 beat Persona, Exora, City, Jazz but only lose to 3 models:
        1. Myvi: They are good quality and best for its value, everyone knows it.
        2. Alza: Reliable and best value MPV.
        3. Saga: Cheapest Sedan. Anything other than cheap?

Kimchi cars will ever threaten our car sales? I just sit then laugh non stop… HAHAHAHAHA……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:37 am

Strongly encourage you to buy a brand new Hyundai.
      Remorse will set in right after you pay the deposit. When you collect the car, the hailat feeling sinks in immediately.
      1 day after you bring the rotten cabbage home, friends and neighbours give you a funny look. What they are saying is that “why this fella so tai lan ngong one, buy a korean?”
      3 months on, your bosses deny your promotions coz you are not deemed trustworthy, your friends start to stay away from you. You park far far away at family gatherings.
      6 months on, you start to scout around used car yard & online ads for the value of your kimchi. You will realise that the value is now around 1/2 of the purchase price.
      12 months on, you don’t feel like renewing your insurance & road tax on the car. Die die also must renew coz no way to sell.
      15 months on, you will find that my car yard will offer you the best Hyundai trade in. U come in, I show you the Hilux, you scream Hailat and I write a cheque for you.
      You head down to a UMW Showroom and order yourself a real car and a few weeks later will be the happiest man alive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 220 Thumb down 81
      • regenate3 on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:43 am

i have to totally agree with you on this one

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 15
      • jolly idiot3 on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Confirmed toyota showroom is empty. Sam uncle and maserati spent times thumb up his own comment. Bravo to toyota sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 92
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Of course showroom empty because all stocks cleared.

42k vios sold in 2014, you think play play?

42k Vios divided by 525600 minutes in a year, we generally sell out 1 Vios EVERY 12.5 minutes!!!

Showroom not empty also very hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Sam Loo Win on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:44 pm

you comment is so hailat, it’s good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng hailat on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:53 pm

I just bought the Camry 2.0 GX and now my RV already hailat after 6 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 39
        • paulnut on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:23 pm

I saw Sam at toyota showroom xo nothing but thumb up on comment. Why sales is so bad? Better join jolly idiot to be proton sales man. Iriz sales is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
          • SamNut on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Confirmed the uncle sales man Sam thumbs up his own comment, pls thumb up to 200, u will get your mama to kiss you, your mama still love you although at yr age, u are still a junior sales man. Kasihan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:17 am

Strongly encourage you to buy a brand new Toyota.
        Remorse will set in right after you pay the deposit. When you collect the car, the hailat feeling sinks in immediately.
        1 day after you bring the rotten cabbage home, friends and neighbours will look down and spit on you. What they are saying is that “why this fella so tai lan ngong one, buy a camry?”
        2 months on, your bosses demote you from manager to toilet cleaner coz you are not deemed to have any brain, your friends stay away from you like you are a desease. You leave your junk camry at home and walk to family gatherings.
        6 months on, you start to scout around used car yard & online ads for the value of your camry. You will realise that the value is now around 1/2 of the purchase price.
        12 months on, you don’t feel like renewing your insurance & road tax on the car. Die die also must renew coz no way to sell.
        15 months on, you schem to either crash your car and claim insurance or beg the syndicate to “steal” your car and export overseas. You to go Balai Polis and scream “Hailat”. The polis throw u in lockup for 2 nights for being vulgar. You come out and you head down to a proton Showroom and order yourself a real car and a few weeks later will be the happiest man alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 41
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:03 pm

I smell nothing but copycat with nonsense story.

If you change the car model to Proton (any model will do), everything starts to make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:05 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 28
    • OMG.i still prefer the previous model of sonata,it look more stylish. This new 1 look like shit…I can get 3 years old Sonata now by 70k++ which can save half of it….LOL.

• O-Man on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Very interesting indeed. Whilst toyota now started to show extroversion in its car designs it seems Hyundai is now playing it safe and its cars now looks fairly conservative. Having said that the dash design looks very 80s to me, very “plain jane”. That it self may polarise some potential buyers into cashing into the LF bandwagon IMHO. That is me but others may have a different opinions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • tishaban on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:27 pm

To summarize the drive isn’t that great, dashboard isn’t that great, engine isn’t that great, space is plentiful and pricing is nothing special.

I guess I’ll check it out one day but I’m not putting my hopes up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • I think its a great car, i would take one over the camry any day of the week.
    I would even take it over the accord as well, but i wouldn’t take it over the teana. The teana just looks amazing and the interior is so delicious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 41
    • Hyun Die Fake H on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:32 pm

stupid kimchi fake H!!!
      no rv rubbish car.

saw one in SP kedah few days ago,really ugly and rubbish.

you want big size car go for Honda Accord the real H.
      anytime better than this fake H junk!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 57
      • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Fake? Do you have mental problem? Do you need doctor? One is Hyundai which mean Modern in korean word, another is Honda – a family name of japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 7:00 am

Please head to the showroom and book one.

See you within 18 months at my yard.

Can’t wait to show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 33
      • regenate3 on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:44 am

respect Sam! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
        • paulnut on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Haha. Your comment is so hailat. 2 toyota sales men are boring. Go apply job at hyundai, may be you can afford to buy proton after working for another 6 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Keep the hilux with you. I gonna buy the sonata in your yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
        • Hey ! Don’t forget to get the Fiat & Alpha Romeo together in rock bottom price tooo!!!! BTW, pls let us know your address to pile up the rest of “French Junk” Citroen-Peugeot-Renault!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Oh yeah. Totally forgot about it. And maybe if he have cadillac or Hennessy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Export profit margin much more than selling them locally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:14 pm

you don’t have it or you want to export it? Why foreign country wants to buy your shitty malaysia CKD hyundai but not the CBU from korea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • das auto on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:07 am

This Sam feller bluffing la. Export konon. People here willing to pay him 20k above his trade in price also he diam. You think got logic or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:09 am

Don’t be stupid. Bolehland is 2nd highest car prcei in Asia.Export to where? To Mars? Hahahahaaaa. What an idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Everyone have their own choice to buy which cars they like. Anywhere there is no cars will get a high second hand value even your hailat brand. You are a salesman. Not a superman. Please stop promoting your hailat brand and try to brain washing people. I bet everyone here buying cars is based on their affordability, the safety offers by the cars and also the modern design of the cars but not THE SECOND HAND VALUE as the priority. If i’m your boss, i will be proud that i have such energetic salesman like you that have such lot of free time to surfing web and commenting but not using the time wisely to find more customers and persuading them to buy your hailat products.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:45 pm

u get this to stand out basically , n that gains my respect…!
    it looks very elegant….but unlike the mazda 6 , u get the feeling this is made for the older demographic in mind…
    i dont know abt this one , bt the previos gen YF ,i rode in one which was around 3 yrs old , clocked around the 50k km mark , it wasnt as solid as it should be , with plenty of rattles everywhere , so long term longevity is a question mark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • zamer on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:49 pm

i think the outlook doesnt match the interior.
    nice exterior but interior looks cheap comparing accord,teana, mazda 6

a self developed HU is more professional rather attaching a phone-like HU. example MZD connect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Hahaha on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:12 pm

This car is awesome.. I jux cnt understand why people says korean cars are bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 36
    • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Because those people didn’t update their software for their brain and they didn’t connect their brain to the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:51 am

Because kimchis will never have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
      • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 10, 2015 at 3:22 pm

What if they have? You want to eat the car? Or you want to drink petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Low Budget on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Perception of some farting Malaysians. They should ask the question why Hyundai is one of the top sellers in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • upper middle class on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:27 pm

People buy Hyundai because they are cheap and more affordable by lower-middle class in the US. To be honest with you, they are not proud driving Hyundai. If they have a mean, they will opt for a Japanese at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • upper middle class on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:27 pm

People buy Hyundai because they are cheap and more affordable by lower-middle class in the US. To be honest with you, they are not proud driving Hyundai. If they have a mean, they will opt for a Japanese at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Went to check it out recently, not driven it yet so can’t comment on the experience…

But for a start, A for the design on the outside. For once it doesn’t look over styled, Fluidic Sculpture 2 is amazing, compared to Fluidic Sculpture 1. It is so much better in terms of proportion. Compared to the swoops and curves in the old one, this one is just a nice car, like a well tailored business suit.

Interior quality is a notch up from the old one. The old one while nice to look at when it came out, it did not age well at all. More so the shiny fiddly plastics were just a joke at the price point. The interior design is not the most exciting unlike the Peugeot 508, but for some reason it has the German design philosophy, smart but simple, just like on the Passat.

However while design and fit and finish is good, the materials used were subpar. The dash material felt a bit cheapo Korean, and so was the switch gear. The satnav system, HSDM needs to stop putting in their local ones, they don’t look as well done or work as nicely as the factory ones… Or at least that was what happened in the old one. The leather was not very convincing, compared to the Santa Fe which by far brings leather in a normal car to a new level- really high quality. But the space, I don’t know how they did it but the rear seats are huge. As in really huge. Perfect for the long trips with kids. Boot seems decent, could be a bit larger but not too bad.

I’m a bit concerned about the 2.0 though. I know the 2.0 in the Optima is hopelessly underpowered, and I would expect the same. The least they could do was to bring in a 2.4 but that most likely will not happen cause the Genesis will be coming soon.

Overall a decent effort from Hyundai I must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 25
    • bm234 on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:06 am

How do u know the Optima is ‘hopelessly’ underpowered? Ever driven it on a long distance in mixed urban setting?

• myviT on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Even myvi can smoke Optima in start stop traffic jam dash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • samloopuke on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:54 pm

If it can’t beat Prius C in century sprint then according to Same Lorrrr it’s “hopelessly” underpowered. Why? Because he compared it with 2.0l engined cars ady.

LOL

• Yours Faithfully (Member) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:48 pm

In my eyes, the YF looks better both in and out. 2.4 is better than the new 2.0 . These cars are meant for cruising and not meant to create speed records, the YF is sufficient. So… In my opinion, the YF wins hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • who still want kimchi new Sonata LF or K5, when u have sushi brand car ie:Accord,Camry,Teana,Mazda6 to choose from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 8:26 am

There will always be sorhais & tai lan ngongs that go for kimchis. I would encourage them to buy new.

Within 18 months, they will finally meet my Hilux and I will cut them a cheque at 40% of original purchase price.

Such is the life of an uninformed instinctive buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 23
      • Rr0l Emas on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Ppl bought Toyota always be sorhai & tai lan ngongs in this century.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:45 am

Love this launch. I need to have the supply of 18 month old Sonatas flowing.

Strongly encourage all to buy this model.

It is by far the most profitable model to trade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 25
    • jolly idiot4 on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Still an uncle sales man. Dont thumbs up your own comment pakcik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
      • hanjin on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Of course thumbing up own comment, if not noone does!
        Hahahahahahahahahaahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • This Car seriously looks good in metal, unbelievable legroom and you get this solid feeling when you sit in it.
    Test drove it last week, impressive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
  • kumar on Jan 10, 2015 at 10:44 am

Hyundai is still trying to keep up.so we get others for the moment.

• Low Budget on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Hello, still trying? Only in Boleh Land lah. They are popular in Europe, China, India, US, Latin America, isn’t that enough?

• Rr0l Emas on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:17 pm

New kimchi sure have RV than sushi because a lot of ppls loving it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 4:09 pm

The better news nowadays is that 3 out of 4 Hyundai owners will dispose of their cabbages within 18 months.

Just 2 years ago, the stats is 1 out of 2

As such, even with declining new kimchi sales, the trade in volume is pretty consistent for rotten cabbages that are less than 18 months old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
    • bm234 on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:57 am

Sam is so busy Thumbing up his own comments coz Toyota is not making any sales. Try ask UMW dealers, how much rebate offered for the Camry? Some up to RM15K, went to few showrooms already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • chillax on Jan 11, 2015 at 12:03 am

Honestly, I’ve never seen Sam loo so active about a car rv issue etc.

Seems to me he’s got something to be scared off.

I’ve been driving a Honda Civic for past few years, and all I can say is that the jap RV vs Korean RV issue is overhyped.

I’ve been checking regularly what the fuss is al about. Ckd jap cars don’t hold their value like before.

CBUs hold their values much much better than CKDs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:51 am

You must be just born in paultan.org this month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • veare on Jan 11, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Sam Loo scared off his T cars turn into cabbage
        Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Chillax on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:54 pm

So I wanted to check in to see whether this Sam fellow will reply my comment, and true enough, a classic response.

Fella you have too much fear in you. You fear the current gen Korean cars. I don’t blame you. I regret getting the Civic. For the sane price I could have gone for the base Optima.

Amazing car for the price in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • YF2.4 2011 Owner on Jan 11, 2015 at 1:07 am

Where’s the memory seat ? Electronic parking brake ? Auto leveling headlamp ? GDI ? Infinity sound system ?

I was expecting Hyundai Malaysia could learn something from the past, but they didn’t. So again, after 2 years, facelift with some thing, first batch put yourself like a princess, and when the next generation is coming out, put down yourself like what ? 15k discount, 30k discount.

So LF, I don’t see anything can catch the attention. The interior is designed for 90’s? The 18′ rim is ugly. The exhaust pipe just single output ? Maybe 3 months later come out “LF Premium” + 10K at the price tag and add on what are missing from first batch ?

Seriously, I’m planning to get another D segment for myself, but not the kimchi Malaysia anymore. This is not the problem of Hyundai, this is because of the importer.

Good luck Hyundai. Good luck sime Darby.
    I will stay away from Hyundai until Sime Darby can understand their customers.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 11, 2015 at 8:52 am

Kimchis can have all the gizmos that Beemers and Benz offers, but the more these accesories are added, the lower their RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • matserabut on Jan 11, 2015 at 3:29 pm

I drive kia kimchi because i want to change my mindset from old to modern accordingly to style and technology.From japanese old car maker to korea new comer in auto player

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:04 am

If you are a smarter sorhai, you would have bought a Hyundai.

If its a KIA or Ssangyong, try the scrapyard or total it for insurance claim.

Forget about filing a false report that your cabbage is stolen, coz no underwriter will ever believe you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • Chillax on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:49 am

Meanwhile, over the weekend, Kia’s showroom was packed to the brim with rakyat. No one was at Nissan.

ouch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Cadbury on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:42 am

Don’t care so much on RV as long we satisfied.

Once you drive continental car, you will never look back for asian car. F10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Wei Seng on Jan 12, 2015 at 1:05 pm

I feel that the passenger’s back seat is more spacious and comfy for Passat because of the greater head and leg room, suitable for long distance driving with passengers.

• Sylvester9118 on Feb 07, 2015 at 2:54 am

the rear design is obviously copied from Kia Optima K5…

• Sazali on Mar 08, 2015 at 12:34 am

http://paultan.org/2015/01/19/hyundai-sonata-lf-facelifted-slow-sales

• Therealmaserati on Mar 08, 2015 at 10:02 am

shit car with rubbish handling and poor steering. And u guys can say Koreans are catching up with Japs.

Tolong la, koreans got decades to fo to be on par with Japs.

So far, all the Korean cars are shit. Cerato, elantra, sonata, k5 all display the same crappiness every Korean car has. Vague steering feel and cheapo interior.

Pls Korea, take ur junk back to Korea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • tvfats on Mar 26, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Hey, quit the bitchin’…The Sonata Sport is a good ride for the price…I am an OLD FART and like mine…Try to do better with your greenbacks and you will find it hard to do…Hyundai has a winner here…So quit the nitpickin’ and start drivin’…

• henry on Apr 24, 2016 at 8:22 am

Sonata is good car . But many car’s plastic parts are too fragile ( broken within 4.5 years ) if compare to my old proton car .