SPYSHOTS: 2016 Hyundai Elantra shows its interior

Hyundai Elantra

The next generation Hyundai Elantra has been sighted again and this time our spy photographers managed to snag a photo of its interior. If this is the final product, it looks like the new Elantra will take cues from both the new Sonata (upper half of the dash) and the new Tucson (air cond panel area).

Given that the current generation Elantra was first unveiled in 2010 and received a facelift in 2013, we should see the next generation car unveiled earliest by the end of this year and in showrooms in 2016.

Powertrain options should include an option for the 175 PS 1.6 litre, turbocharged four-cylinder engine from the third-generation Hyundai Tucson crossover, mated to a seven-speed dual clutch gearbox.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Har, at least this is good news for me today. The new Camry Hybrid killed Sonata sales, so I am in trouble 12 months later with no D Segment rotten cabbages coming in.

At least with this Elantra news, I can push 12 month old Elantra trade in prices to RM36k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 46
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 136
    • paulnut on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:32 am

Your son saga still best RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:16 am

Poor paulnut can’t even afford a saga for his wife and keep on eyeing free one from me.

As I said, if I have any junk, i would give it out for free. Only pests (cockroach, paulnut, steven si) loves junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • sam proton on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Apa nak malu kalau guna proton? Ramai yang beli camry dengan 90% loan 9 tahun, macam you pakcik sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Then you should ask yourself:
            Why those people rather go for 90% loan 9 years for Camry, but not a 30% loan 3 years for Proton????!!!!

Clearly this is the difference between VALUABLE and JUNK.

Junk definition in dictionary: Give out free also no one interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Thomas Abdullah on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:22 pm

So you are on 9 years loan for 90% ! I thought you are rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • poor sam on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:49 am

Poor Sam start thumb down others comment. Feel Sorry for the poor uncle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:26 am

It has been more than 15 years since I pay cash in full buying my Lexus/Toyota.

Thanks to Toyota good quality and good sales.

Yes I have a lot of customer get 90% loan pay 9 years for Camry. They knew the money is worthy paid.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Iam the one that changed my toyota 2006 camry to lexus logo. one more month to finish all my loan.

• JB_KIA on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:37 am

OMFG, I thought that was a truck interior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • kimchi sushi on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:55 pm

just back from the 80s, yet the people that generations says they are young to drive car of such design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:30 am

The very unique thing about kimchis is that their RV will continue to dive irregardless of how bad the new model designs are.

For Sushis, ACV40 being the nicest Camry ever (quote by Greg Sze himself, plus he keeps on mentioning my name – now how to bill him for royalties …), the RV of ACV40 still holds strong, partially because of lasting design and Thailand built (which is a lot better in terms of workmanship and component quality)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • When minister saying the poton on a par with BMW and safety same as Volvo class, the poton should feel shame but they feel siok sendiri.

When the car reviewer make joke on the stubborn joker, this shame loo should feel shame but he feel siok sendiri.

lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • finally facelift is coming.
    Hyundai Elantra here is already very outdated..
    the engine got no oomph and the gearbox is not refined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 28, 2015 at 12:43 am

It’s not a facelift. It’s a new model, with a new platform. It should look more matured, with an “executive” look, instead of being brash and adventurous like the Fluidic Sculpture 1.0 design language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • HyundaiKIAJunk on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:12 am

Korean Junk Fludic design – Waa Future design, very modern..bla bla bla

Korean Junk Uncle design – Waa mature design, executive look… bla bla bla

So this is contriducting isn’t it ? Junk Car Junk Fan match in heaven.

Thats why i said when one become korean car fan their IQ & EQ instant drop 75%…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • DonkeyKong on Apr 28, 2015 at 4:25 pm

I don’t own any Korean cars and you are obviously a school dropout based on your lousy command of language. Please go and tend to your vegetable stand in the market and stop surfing the ‘Net trolling others’ posts with your low IQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Kimchis are fluidic alright, especially for the owners that shed fluidic tears when their 12 month old cabbage depreciated by RM100k+

• Matchy on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:13 pm

I think we’ll get it in 2020.

• applegreen on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:56 am

yeah hope so. But its nice to see this new gen has 1.6 turbo with 175PS. By year 2020 i can imagine new altis still using current 1.8 and 2.0 engine.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:33 pm

The next generation Elantra will blow everyone away, just like the current one did when it was launched in 2011. As it stands, the current gen Elantra is already among the Top 10 best selling cars in the world, and things will only get better for Hyundai… at least until the Chinese catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:32 am

It will definitely blow away many sorhais that owns the current generation & one would need industrial grade ear muffs to prevent hearing damage when they yell hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2015 at 12:32 am

Malaysia is full of ah beng sohai katak bawah tempurung who don’t know what’s going on in other parts of the world. Hence, the continuous worship of Honda and Toyota and mindless bashing of every other car maker.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:04 am

yawnnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Had Me/Lost Me - N.TX on Apr 28, 2015 at 5:10 am

Ugh! is about all I can say for Hyundai’s new “design language”. IMO, it’s a huge step in the wrong direction. Five or six years ago the “fluidic sculpture” language was cutting edge; it was new and innovative. And it was remarkably well rec’d by the marketplace, and led directly to robust sales increases, bringing in buyers who wouldn’t have otherwise given the brand a 2nd look. I’m one of them.

Now, having reversed field completely, these new designs are dull and stodgy instead of “conservative”; dull and boring instead of “exciting”; and brings to mind what an attempt to mate an old Volvo sedan with a Freightliner might look like. Regardless of the goal, the outcome is better ignored than endured, at least for me.

As a delighted owner of a 2012 Genesis that’s economically provided us with over 60K miles of near flawless reliability, I’d been planning for over 12 mos. to replace our other car with a 2016 Elantra Limited later this year. I’d chosen the colors, packages, and individual options, knew the MSRP and what I could reasonably expect to pay, and even picked the dealership I’d buy from. Those plans, however, are officially zero now as the result of this product line-wide re-design, which is a real shame. I was a completely satisfied buyer of one Hyundai product, with plans to buy a second. Then they lost me just as completely by replacing a line of sporty, fun-looking cars with a fleet of S40 wannabes. If cutting edge is what Hyundai was striving for, then they’ve missed the mark completely, winding up with something that makes me wonder if this is what crossbreeding an old Volvo with a 1987 Dodge Aries “K-car” would produce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Josh Ling on Apr 28, 2015 at 6:18 am

it’s hard not to notice how bad the sales of the new sonata in where i live. until now, months after the official launch, i can see zero new sonata driving down the road. zero. which wasn’t the case when the last gen of sonata with all the flamboyant and shouty, flowy look was launched. i still can remember it only takes like 2 to 3 months time to see at least a few of them runnning on the street already.

this gen, however, and sadly, is a different story. even a hyundai dealer is still trying to push its only unit of executive variant of sonata which was the one used for the official launch here months ago.

so, with that kind of interior design, and the possible more matured exterior look, i can’t help but concern about the sales of the next gen elantra…..

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 28, 2015 at 6:43 am

I think the Korean trying too hard to imitate continental style in their interior. I don’t think its necessary though, please Hyundai..just stick to your own design philosophy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • no point waiting this car to come here as sime darby as always might screw up the pricing of hyundai cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • mr jem on Apr 28, 2015 at 7:21 am

It looks more like a minivan or a lorry dasboard for me! Odd shaped air con vents,cheap plastic looks. the old one is much much better!

• Erm, unfortunately Hyundai’s recent dashboard design has been a huge disappointment for me. Not to say ugly, but nowhere near “good-looking”.

So, it’s a no for me.

• The Fluidic Sculpture 2.0 interior design is really ugly. The exterior still acceptable for me.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:51 am

Hmm.. from Sonata to this.. Exterior is okay, but the interior ummm..???

• roxas on Apr 29, 2015 at 7:33 am

the current elantra MD does not have the rear 3rd quarter window which makes it looks so good.. now wat happen to this new one with tat interior @@” swt, you won ppl’s heart from your design, now u decided tat ppl like a hyundai w conventional design?

• the exterior ( so called fluidic ) doesn’t match the interior ( very uncle’s look ) at all….:(