“Proton struggling from lack of govt support” – Tun M

In an interview with The Edge, ex-PM and chairman of Proton Holdings, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed, has revealed that the local car manufacturer has been suffering lately due to the lack of government support. Also, Tun M was also quoted as saying that while the marque is still very much a key player, the need to be “popular with consumers” has prompted the government to “open its doors to foreign imports.”

With that said, the countries responsible for producing said imports have, in turn, closed their doors towards Proton and its products. The five minute-long interview also brings the spotlight on to the possibility that perhaps part of Proton’s current predicament is caused by the fact that they brand “is not as good as the Koreans or the Japanese,” as voiced by one of the interviewers.

To which Tun M responded that if “you (the interviewer) wanted to admit that we are not good, then you can admit that-lah.” However, he was quick to point out that said countries along with China were also responsible for protecting their markets at the start. “So, what’s wrong with protecting our market?” he went on to ask.

Proton_Iriz_Review_-003

Despite all the (perceived) negativity surrounding Proton currently, Tun M was quoted as saying that he still sees a bright future ahead for the nation’s first car manufacturer. Additionally, he has stated that the brand can still “turn things around” for the better and that it may have to accept the fact that “Malaysians are campaigning against Proton.”

In the future, Tun M has stated that the brand will be aiming to produce cars that “are as good as imported cars” and while that may result in products that might “cost a little bit more,” it is the direction that the marque has decided to take in the long run. “Malaysians always expect a low-quality, cheaply-built car. That is not Proton anymore. We have a different idea,” reaffirmed Tun M.

On that notion alone, it would appear that Proton may be standing its ground rather firmly as just recently, the upcoming Proton Perdana was captured in a teaser video for a new film entitled Filem Kapsul. Earlier in June this year, the brand had also signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and License Agreement (LA) with Japanese carmaker, Suzuki.

GALLERY: Proton Perdana in Filem Kapsul

GALLERY: Proton Iriz EV

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Technically nothing is stopping proton from attracting customers. If it wants success it has to work hard and innovatively like every car manufacturer out there. Look at hyundai and kia how they fight for international market share and actually making inroads. Does this somehow not apply to proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 2
    • No Proton on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:00 am

If can not compete, then close shop la proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 32
      • Open Letter to Tun M on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:38 am

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
        Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 27
        • How Can Hyundai Succeed Proton? on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:26 am

Proton is just not a focussed company. Proton and Hyundai started about the same time. Hyundai maybe started about 8 years earlier. just see where both companies are.

Hyundai is a global player. They sell about 7 million cars per year globally. They are No 4 in world rankings for car sales. Toyota is No 1.

Proton, which stated about the same time, with MITI 100% protecting them and forcing 30 million rakyat to buy their cars, all Government departments strictly told to buy only Proton every year, PDRM also strictly told to buy Proton every year, Bomba, Telekom Malaysia and all GLC also told to buy Proton every year and yet, it can go into financial difficulty and about to be bankrupt.

Every year also Spanco buys berpuluh puluh Protons to leave to the government.

How can Hyundai and Proton be so different. Both started about the same time. But Korean Government never force GLC and Government department to buy Korean cars and yet, they can do so well Globally.

Something is wrong with Proton. It needs to be shut down. Proton has the same problem. Given so much of help and BOTH also now sucking the Government big time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 12
          • Close Lah on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Are you kidding? The whole Malaysia has been giving support to Proton by paying overpriced cars for 30 years. And you still say we don’t support? What support do you want? If you can’t make cars that people want, then close down pls

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
          • topkek on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Both started about the same time? Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Alson P on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Hyundai Motor Company Founded December 29, 1967, 47 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • sushioverpriced on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Since when every people buy p1? Some go for overpriced sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 3:00 pm

This is Tun M. He and DRB Management had driven Proton in the right way today. New model coming up in 2016, collaboration with Suzuki and new TGDI engine. Malaysian should not loose faith with Proton as this company will grow big and bigger starting next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 42
          • Ah Beng, Proton struggling and you still syok sendiri? Why don’t you show your action to help clear the stocks by buying more Proton? We support you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Aramis on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:50 am

When idiot speaks

• Hyundai really started in 1988. Before that they were kind of rebadging. Read the history of Hyundai. So, in reality, Hyundai started after Proton!

• Disgraceful Proton on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:21 am

So shameful. Suck so much from Malaysians. Mercedes Benz can produce a car for RM32k. Renault can produce a car for RM17k. Tambah aircon and radio, at most RM1000. So, RM18k.

• Disgraceful Proton on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:26 am

Give Proton 50 years also they cannot turn around. Every country in the world have rejected Proton. Jeremy Clarkson rates it the most dangerous car in the world.

• Disgraceful Proton on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:28 am

Already Malaysians gave this company 30 years. Now want another 30 years? Sampai our cucu cicit also suffer with low quality?

• Areyousure on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:31 am

Tun, give 10 billions to Proton also not enough one la. Why wanna waste tax payer’s money? Open up the market, remove the excise duty.

We can pay for higher fuel price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
          • We should come up with a law where every one in Malaysia must give compulsory Rm100 to Proton to support Proton.

I will be glad to even give RM300.

I love Proton and thank you BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 50
          • Malam Jumaat on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:59 am

Proton is in financial hardship is because 90% of their workers are thinking about kahwin 4 and Malam Jumaat.

They cannot concentrate on their daily work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 21
          • proveme on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:16 pm

@Malam jumaat
            Proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
          • Pekerja Proton on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Who cares Proton loses money? As long as there is Malam Jumaat then it’s ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:52 pm

10 billions laa..10 trillions laa..where u get those figures? u can piss the bashers and kiasu but not loyal Malaysians..please talk with facts and figures..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Disgraceful Proton on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:19 am

Tun, Proton is such a disgrace. Please close down this black spot in Malaysian history. It is worse than 1MDB cause it has sucked more than RM42bil from people of Malaysia the past 30 yrs

• Disgraceful Proton on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:23 am

Proton worksers should be ashamed reading all the comments here.

• I am happy for my Government to give Proton more money. Infact, if I had money, I will give Proton millions.

I trust Proton and I thnak the BN Government for giving me Proton. Don’t be like the bodoh 300,000 yellow shirt protesters who have nothing in their heads.

Let us all support our kereta nasional. Tahniah BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 63
        • horray@ on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:52 pm

I totally agree with Open Letter To Tun M. That old fool still think there is hope for Proton. Cars with vintage engine using timing belt cannot sell. Customers are now well verse and smart. Even Vios with their ancient 4 speed conventional auto “enjoy” slow sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • p2macai on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:47 am

Like somebody said here: Let p2 alone selling 3C car : cheap price cheap safety cheap life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Billionaire Sons on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:53 am

Pls tell us how all your sons are billionaires? Better to use the money to bail them out and use it for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
          • Close Down Jamban on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:36 am

Just close Proton down. 30,000 people may lose jobs but we lost few hundred thousand jobs from being the Detroit of Asia. Thailand benefitted from all the jobs we lost.

So which is better? 30,000 jobs vs 500,000 jobs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
          • w3ll3r on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:45 pm

If later they move to other country, how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Gargantia on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:48 am

Tun DrM step son “Proton” already tongkat from Govt over 30 years yet he still need more… Why can’t he use his own billionaier money to support Proton??? DRB-Hicom independent company by LIAR “Ah Beng” now still need tongkat ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:58 am

Lee Chong Wei should also give up and stop playing badminton.. what a disgrace to Malaysia, always failing to win.

Lim Guan Eng should also step down as Penang CM because the state isn’t getting any better after 7 years. Just close shop and quit politics.

Oh, but what’s that? Only Proton and other companies perceived to be linked to the Govt need to close down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 49
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:44 am

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor. Even given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
          It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Gaji Manyak Besar Lor on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:05 am

Mahathir will say all good things about Proton because he is being paid handsomely by Proton.

Can Proton come clean on how much Proton pays Tun M?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • global on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Dun blame other people for your failure in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • Dun ask others to support you for your failure in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • global on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:46 pm

What failure? p1 still on road, why dun go for cheapest Axia? Too shitty ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Cheapest Axia also got 4 stars NCAP. How many stars Saga got? Proton more shitty ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • googliey on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:36 pm

You dun know old car vs new car? Go out from cave

• google on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:28 am

You only know old car vs new car? Stay in cave lah

• Albert on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:15 pm

How much gaji? Use the new Santa from Middle east formula….2.6(now 4.4)x US D,better dont talk too much,it is a crime now…according to our dear Tun.

• MeToo on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:54 am

+1

Why should Govt “help” Proton?!

Havent the Govt “helped” enough by making imported cars in the Malaysia as one of the most expensive in the World?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Gaji Tun RM12mil on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:56 am

Of course Tun will protect Proton. But if Tun is sincere, he will work as Chairman for free. Now, even Proton bleeding with no money, Proton must pay RM12 million per annum, big limo, driver, secretary, support staff, allowance etc. The 12 million per annum is excluding bonus.

Proton got no money also still give Tun a big office.
      Can Proton ask their chairman to give free service to the company? After all, Proton is his baby.
      Paying someone Rm1 million is way too much for a company bleeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:01 am

The Koreans didn’t rise to the top through fair play. Hyundai/Kia and Samsung achieved global dominance only after the South Korean government pumped in billions of dollars over the decades to manipulate prices and keeping the prices of Korean products artificially low.

But in the long run, this strategy of cheating and manipulation paid off and they can now fight on level ground and win. It took at least a couple of decades for them to pull it off, with plenty of South Korean government money being pumped in left and right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:09 am

as Tun M say the Korean protect their market to make sure they become stronger. When their car maker strong they open up market n those car when out to fight internationally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Tidur la Bang on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:48 am

baru bangun bang? Jangan bimbang, boleh tidur balik. Kerajaan tolong nanti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Sleeping Beauty on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:56 pm

After 30 years still not wake up ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Proton basher still dun wake up from stupidity, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
          • Nothing more stupid than Proton supporters support Proton for 30 years but get nothing from your kerajaan. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Hyundai Motor (1967) start to establish them self as world class brand in 1998 or about same age as p1 now…If hyundai can start at 30 why cant p1 rite? nothing is too late..

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Wrong, Hyundai was genuine in making automobiles and hired the best engineers and designers it could find to build itself into what it is today:
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Motor_Company#History

Proton on the other hand, is a political vehicle to fund ketuanan cronies in the guise of wanting to be a global car manufacturer. If you disagree, then please tell me in what way Proton even compares to Hyundai from the day it was created by Tun M until now?

Proton doesn’t even respect Malaysians by giving them the same quality and specs as they do for export markets. Proton will not gain respect from Malaysians as long as they treat us as second class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 29, 2015 at 9:15 am

Korean automotive can success today because they dont have kiasu in their country. They expel any kiasu if intend to be Korean. These kiasus are “bloodsucking” tribe who keep spreading false stories and tried to jeopardize the unity and loyalty of our Malaysian.

• Tapaw on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:43 pm

How much loss or profit Proton make this year so far?

RM 1 billion loss? RM 1 million profit?

• tokmoh. on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Eh, Proton kan dah lagi kuat dari Volvo, bila nak buka market ni?

• kenneth on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:51 pm

After so many years, proton still need govt support it is obvious it is non viable to produce our own cars. The volume is just not there to justify the production. One school of thoughts said a lot of people will be out of a job….its better to do OEM.

• happy on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:39 am

salah kerajaan pula hari tu salahkan rakyat pulak tak patriotik pas tu salahkan perodua sebab keluarkan kereta enjin 1.3 sekarang axia keluar enjin 1.0 cc senyap terus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • MiloGood on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:07 am

but perodua tak produce kereta sendiri bang . semua dari daihatsu . semuanya rebadge . proton pula ada yang produce sendiri dari design sampai engine . harga antara dua jenama tu pula sama . so saya nak cakap macam mana proton nak maju if takda supporter . proton start dari mula . perodua cuma ambik kereta lain and tukar sikit sikit . so its no fair kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
      • Asraf on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:35 am

Maybe that is EXACTLY what we need and capable of for now, commercial wise. Rebadge other people’s car. I think Proton needs to be renamed or to be separated into two groups ie one is for reading cheap and affordable cars, another one to make high quality cars to compete with Japanese and Korean.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:12 am

Actually, from the Perodua case study, Malaysians seem to prefer rebadged cars – regardless of whether those cars have safety features or not. Seems also that safety does not sell here in the lower end of the market. What people at the middle to lower end of the market want is a fancy looking car with a glitzy interior and good fuel economy. So Proton can probably just consider this route instead of taking the trouble of doing their own car and not getting the public’s support. The public will always be skeptical whatever they do anyway. I doubt people will trust Perodua if they left Daihatsu and had to go it alone just like Proton. So, maybe just rebadge those Suzuki will be better for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • safetyno.1 on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Then it’s wrong preference, safety must be first

• safetyfirst on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Where is safety for Saga and Persona?

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Yup, tell that to the many who buy Peroduas. Fact is, at the lower price range, people just don’t care for safety.

• Topkek on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Saga and Persona made by P2 ah? Topkek

• Yasir on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Yep, you are right MiloGood. let me share a few facts about Perodua. Yes, it is a local company producing cars. But the fact is, it is actually a Japanese – based company who actually owns Perodua. It is a fact, but hidden from every one. Why this fact is hidden, that I do not know.

The initial idea was to have another passenger vehicle producer in Malaysia, which focuses on compact cars, as Proton focuses more on hatchbacks and saloon passenger vehicles. As of now, Perodua is still producing compact passenger vehicles but have broken rank with the production of Alza.

Proton on the other hand, is in dire need to improve sales, hence the production of Iriz.

Perodua was, is and still a Japanese – owned company. Ask any of your family members or friends or work colleagues, at the Perodua factory, who is the actual head honcho? How does the Jap execs push, bully and pressure Malaysian execs in the factory, up to a point they just can’t take it anymore, quits, and voila, he is replaced by another Jap.

Perodua sales goes back to it’s actual motherland, Japan, and not 100% back to MY. That’s another hidden fact.

Between these two local companies, I support Proton as Proton models marketed now is produced 100% locally from the ground up, because the current range if I am not mistaken, only one model is rebadged and slightly redesigned, and that is Inspira.

In terms of total quality, if we try to compare one model from each local company, that is Iriz from Proton and MyVi from Perodua, I dare say Iriz is a far superior product.

Why? Just comparing from safety offered from both units, one will see Iriz is a far better vehicle in terms of safety.

Yes, top spec Iriz is Rm4k++ more expensive to a top spec MyVi, but it offers a far better safety. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:14 pm

We don’t car who takes the money in the end or who the fxxk being the helmsman of a car company.

MAJORITY of car buyers in Malaysia want a car which is reasonably priced, reliable and good quality. Which Proton can never produce. And yes, the MAJORITY don’t give a damn how many airbags Proton stuff in its junk. That’s why Proton sales dropping every year and is now struggling, this is a simple fact you can’t deny.

If you’re so passionately defending Proton, pls back up your words by ACTION, go and buy at least 10 Proton junks and park it at your house. Talk is cheap, action is substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • mohsin on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:31 am

senang je!
      segala tax bagai yg imposed kepada Proton tu exempted je kerana Proton pengeluar kereta.
      Perodua, Inokom tax mcm pemasang kereta lain e.g Mazda, Toyota, GWM, BMW dll
      Settle

• Open Letter to Tun M on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:40 am

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm about Gomen not supporting it, but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
      • gyrat on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Super low but got 5 star Australian NCAP safety rating. That’s insane.

• tinmilo on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:43 am

Govt not doing enough for Proton?
    … and Proton hasn’t done enough for our nation too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
    • Proton Workers Vs Japanese Workers on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:48 am

See below and you will know why Proton is a failure. We have given enough support to Proton for 30 years now. Every family has at least bought a Proton in their life.
      We supported the company so much from 1985. Now it is doing badly because their workers are MALAS.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Billionaire Sons on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:55 am

I think Proton has sucked about over RM100 billion since its inception in 1985 until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • “Malaysians always expect a low-quality, cheaply-built car. That is not Proton anymore. We have a different idea”
    1) at least he admit that Proton sell low quality cars
    2) different idea? Yah we know that… Low quality, EXPENSIVELY-built car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • viosfan on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:49 am

Some cars never got VSC even new and after gens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Kenapa Tun Pakai Porsche??? on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:58 am

If Proton car is his passion, he should support Proton and tell his whole family to buy Proton. He himself drives most of the time his Porsche Cayenne. Only to events he will drive an Iriz to show people he is supportive of his Proton product. 99% of the time he uses Porsche Cayenne.

All his children use Porsche. Practically his whole family uses Porsche. Nobody even smells Proton. Even his maids and drivers own cars also NOT Proton.
      Tun, if you support Proton, you should make sure everyone including your wife use Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Nasi padang on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:44 am

DR M, u must be kidding !!!!
    How many years u want the govt to support such crappy car maker. The taxes for foreigner cars maker adi help a lot! Wat else u wan? Put a gun on the table force every household buy one? A

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • pnama on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:01 am

All the billions from the tax used to stuff their pockets instead of actually improving Proton and the country..sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • No Comments on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:47 am

proton should know only saga, wira, iswara, saga blm and persona support proton profit all the car is cheap and midle class car just pay attention to this car…..dont waste like to suprimma……if proton want make sport car like satria neo make sure the price is cheap or midle how many youngster can buy a car

• Muahahaha on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:49 am

Its a wonderful news! Proton, please close down permanently. I dont think u will get sponsor from gomen anymore since jibby alredy pow all the money….after you we want perodua to close down. Thank you for ur patient!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:04 am

If there’s no local car industry, the sales taxes on all imported cars will be higher still to make up for the shortfall of govt revenue. What makes you think cars will be cheaper. Automotive sales taxes are used to protect our national economy, not to protect a single car company. It’s to offset the losses from imports i.e. capital outflow when we import products. If the demand for imports go up, the govt will tax the local population higher to counter the capital outflow, otherwise the local economy will tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Nasi lemak 1.0 on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm

No nid to worry la… If gomen nvr reduce, nasi lemak will protest n no vote for bn. Nasi lemak oni care abt nasi lemak not bak kut teh..

• Free-Tinker #1128 on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:49 am

Govt shud not support Proton, that is not a good enough car company… which making us buying expensive car and paying extra tax to Govt… and the company not producing a very safety car… and why shud the Govt provide ??? any particular reason ??? we need to move forward not backward… this company is dragging all the Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:06 am

Malaysians with zero knowledge of economy theories (such as the idiots that flood the Paultan comment sections with poorly-informed comments about shutting down Proton, removing car taxes, etc) are the ones who think that without Proton, Malaysians can buy cheap cars. So, what have you done for the local economy lately?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:10 am

The moment I reply this, I pay internet bill and your fu*king gst. You think you contribute a lot to local economy? I dare you don’t take BR1M, this is my fuc*king contribution too.

• abdullah on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:51 am

Enough is enough. The government should not waste more money and resources trying to flog a dead horse.

Throwing good money after bad money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • seeabove on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:51 am

As loser saying

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:27 am

But if you put a chinaman as the head of Proton, suddenly all these ultra-kiasu Proton-bashers will sing praises and say that it’s the best car manufacturer in southeast asia and will soon be better than the South Koreans.

You know what, I think Proton should do just that. Get Dr M to be a non-executive director/advisor to Proton, but install a Chinaman as the chairman. I bet the perception will change instantly and 90% of the bashing will stop, thanks to the hypocrites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • Nasi lemak 1.1 on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:06 pm

U r rite… There is a new saying “whenever there is a. nasi lemak management, there is an issue”… Example: our gomen!

• KingKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:57 pm

If you put a chinaman, then all the supporters will turn against Proton saying you don’t have ketuanan. I agree the perception will change instantly and 90% of the support will stop and turn into bashing. Haha. These are real hypocrites.

Why don’t we put donkey as the head of Proton? I’m sure you can do a better job, right? Satisfied?

• tasill on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:41 pm

According to P1 bashers other countries got cheap cars. You go there dun come back.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:15 am

If the chinaman can’t come out good models with decent sales record, he also close up for sure. Tongkat culture don’t exist in our culture.

• true survival on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:52 am

Then prove la proton can be survive w/o compromise rakya rights as what recently you had said in bersih ( i support what u had said )

• Kekasih awal & akhir on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Even diehard fanboy like AhBeng also can no longer accept Proton failure but for sake of defending he got no choice have to keep on kipas-kipas.

• kington on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:52 am

No, Tun. No more. By now, Proton should be independent, standing on its feet by itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:11 am

The American car makers, with a market of 300 million people, with a history of over a century, found it challenging to fully stand on their own two feet.

The Australian auto industry, with a market similar in size to Malaysia’s, has tanked and will be closing shop, resulting in a loss of thousands of jobs.

The Chinese and South Korean companies, despite building cars for at least as long as Proton has, are unable to stand on their own two feet without constant government subsidies.

So, what makes you think that a small car maker like Proton, the only one in southeast Asia with full car-building capabilities, is able to leapfrog all of them?

It takes time, lots of time, and access to much larger markets. The answer is to optimize Proton’s product range and go for larger markets, focus on exports to developing countries. The answer is not to close down Proton, which will not benefit anyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • kongkek on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Ya, Malaysia needs a donkey to teach them about the automotive industry

• gotoh on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:09 am

Malaysia needs a much mature commenter to comment, not like kongkek

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:18 am

Malaysia is a free country, mature or childish comment, we respect your right of free speech. Thus I never ask Ah Beng (apparently he is not Chinese) go back Indon.

• Government already supported 30 years…another 30 years!!! By that time our currency against US will be $8 to RM1…pls close down…Rakyat already suffered 30years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:30 am

So if our manufacturing sector close shop, and we rely on imports but abolish taxation so that locals can get access to cheap imported products, our currency will be stronger against the US dollar?

Thanks for displaying the economic brilliance of Proton-bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Dear donkey, by hanging around replying potong bashers is making AN ASS OUT OF YOU!!! My big Applaud 4 u!

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Which one is the Donkey now?

You do know if people don’t have to be saddled with so much debt to sustain a car, they can actually aford to spend money on other things right?

Since you are such the Economics expert, How much does Proton export and contribute to our balance of trade?

• trolololo on Sep 28, 2015 at 3:53 pm

lol not RM8 per 1USD…..if that statement from you mean we richer than US lol

• kenny on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:56 am

How long does government need to protect Proton? Still cannot survive after 30 years of protection? Hyundai is establish in 80-an also and look at their achievement today. Proton is doing lousy jobs and always need tongkat from government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Leafable on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:57 am

WTF is he talking about? Lack of decade gov support? Matey you need to hire the right people first, not just depend on some gov incentive or protection. Learn from Volvo. You need to get an outsider fund support (if you can get any) not the tax payer money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Albert on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:57 am

Gomen support diverted to where…YAB Tun….you should know better than us.
    Like you said,it is a crime to talk about that matter.
    Next year will even be tougher for all car distributors.
    FMM already forcasted the BAD will spill over to 2016 as WORSE.
    The poor rakyat may have to forgo NEW cars,and take lower h/p loans and opt for preowned ones.
    We wish Proton well,but looking at things….it is not out of the woods yet.It is shrouded in dense Haze and trapped in the EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN maze.
    Like WWE wrestling,it is NO WAY OUT.

• the car on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:59 am

gen 2 overheat saga blm overheat satria neo overheat exora bold also to overheat….like korean KIA car always overheat both car proton and kia spare part expensive…….hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • “Malaysians always expect a low-quality, cheaply-built car. That is not Proton anymore. We have a different idea,” reaffirmed Tun M.

baru bangun???

• applegreen on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:10 am

Government definitely will deny. Or else Government will showing to proton the ‘true support’ by implementing No more proton cars for police, No more exora taxis, No more proton cars for government servant. After that let see if proton can still survive or not

• message2tun on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:21 am

Tun, i do agreed that there is ntg wrong to protect our Malaysia’s brand & Malaysia’s market. But imo it should not take forever. If an imported brand can build a car with such a quality at low price, why local R&D + local build need to be cost a little bit more? it does not make sense we still having this issue where Proton already went through 3 cycles of 10 years.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:14 am

Our local market is too small for them to scale up and be cost-effective. Going into emerging markets with uncomplicated needs such as India, Bangladesh, Indonesia, etc. is a good move. It’s a pity it took them so long to make this move.

While it may seem like 30 years of protectionism is long, let’s not forget that the Chinese and South Korean car makers which are spreading their wings globally are still on government subsidies and assistance after a much longer period than Proton, with cheap manufacturing costs partially due to price manipulations and not just because of process efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Enough of support! The rakyat has been supporting proton for more than 30++ freaking years. And whar did we get? Still subpar quality cars while Hyundai &Kia has overtaken us as global players aiming at Japanese & continental brands although they started later than proton. One of the reason why proton is still selling us because we had no choice as prices of other brands are beyond reach for most of us… Proton will never grow up if protectionism exists

• abdullah on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:25 am

If Dr M is so passionate about Proton, He should use his own money to support it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Henry on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:44 am

The problem with Proton is not the lack of Government support. The real problem is Proton not selling enough cars despite the years of Government support. You have to look at the product and branding. Something must be wrong.

On the point of protection policy of other countries I think TDM is being ingenious. WTO and other FTAs we signed are reciprocal in nature. When we open our market to them they must also open their market to us. Otherwise Malaysia can take those countries to court. Unless someone is dumb enough to sign some lopsided agreements.

So it is back to the product and branding again. Why is it not selling in the kind of volume expected?

• Matchy on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:50 am

I think Proton has been the top 3 car maker in the last 20 years (in Malaysia)? Is this not enough?

And the foreign car maker always depend on gov support? If Tun M/Proton keeps having this mentality, I don’t think Proton can move any further…

• enough with gov support! go on your own and compete proton!

• wiwiwiwiw on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:01 am

But dey thamby, you and your family are seen in any car but Protons. Jaguar XJs, Porsches Cayennes, BMW 7-Series, Vokswagen Phaeton, Bugatti Veyron, Pagani Zonda

• Harga kereta proton mahal lah tun. Gaji rakyat kebanyakkan antara RM1.5K ke RM2.5K. Saga paling murah pun RM30K. terlalu berganda ratio beza tu. aksesori kereta utk negara luar dan dlm negara pun berbeza. paling lawak, pemegang tangan di belakang pun takde. tak faham kenapa dikartunkan kereta untuk rakyat kebanyakkan.

• Each family RM2.4 Million on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:16 am

Each Malaysian family has given the Government (which is Proton) about RM2 million each.

All our cars are overpriced because of Proton. We over pay by over RM100k for a good D segment car. Let us assume, basic car is Honda Accord. Honda Accord is US$22k. After discounts, US sells the Accord for even US18k.

When our exchange rate was about 3.5, that would be about RM70k. But in Malaysia, the Accord 2.5 is RM180k.

That is a good RM100k extra per person. Assuming we change cars every 8 years, each person would have changed about 6 cars in their lifetime. So each person overpays about RM600k to the Government.

Each family got about 4 people. So, each family is overpaying the Government and Proton in turn, RM2.4 million.

Who says Rakyat and Proton do not support Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • miller on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:06 am

Not everybody buys car, not everybody buys p1, not everybody changes car every 8 years.

How you count?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:16 am

Proton patut terus menumpukan perhatian pada kereta-kereta mampu-milik yg lebih mudah dipasarkan di pasaran tempatan dan negara-negara membangun. Proton masih belum cukup matang dan berkebolehan untuk meneroka pasaran premium.

• Daniel Ng on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:36 am

Increase tax from non Malaysian car or borrow a few billion from Tax Payers again.

• Observer on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:48 am

You’re simply not a good leader when you give lots of reasons. Good leader is one that find for right solution!

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:53 am

A company that can’t stand on its own two feet even after 30 years should have closed shop ages ago. Proton is a disease to the country and I’m happy I did not contribute a single cent of my salary to this disease nor has my family did since Its conception.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • seancorfakebeemer on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:01 pm

So what? Other foreign companies been bailed out, even after more than 30 years established. You dun contribute no problem, you always go for kapchai or maybe Saga with fake beemer front is yours, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • pityful on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Now I know you only have C70. Pity you.

• shameful on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:04 am

What a shame. You are not worth to live in bolehland.

• Observer on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Let me remind you again. When Bently, Jaguar, Lambo and Tesla are all joining SUV market, what stopping you Proton? Why keep doing ever dwindling market segments? Perdana? Persona? Saga? Even Porsche is selling more SUV than their tradisional sports car combined these days.

• struggling? as far as I remember proton has always been struggling. they are private company now under drb so drb must cover their expenses not government. this is clear to all. drb executive with their five figure to 6 figure salaries can spare some for their company like what Japanese do. drn own a bank klet them inject funds to proton. why asking government? government sold it to rid itself off the cancer at first place. proton needs to be sold to a proper company to be fixed. all drb managers must be sacked from it and new blood can fix it.

• Then why Jepunis companies got bailed out from their gomen? They also have banks. If you are smart enough you dun rant here about your income.

• Comparing auto protectionism with China, country development with Zimbabwe, mother tongue with the western countries.
    Typical cherry picking Tun M.

• kahkahkah on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm

So what? P1 bashers also ask who will buy p1 in Langkawi. Most bolehland people live in Langkawi kah? Kahkahkah

• Yea? …what? …. to protect? protect what?
        Protect proton from what? …. Protect proton from outside? …
        Maybe? … you think so? …

Proton & red shirt, same category.

• kahkahkah on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:02 am

That’s it you went to political comments, so pathetic. Kahkahkah

• xoxox on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:47 pm

To Dr.M,

Keep spoon-feeding you, wont make you grow. End of story.

Thank you.

• It DOES grow but limited due to samll capital

• moneytree on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Money don’t grow on the tree, ok? It comes from the rakyat’s pocket

• Your comprehension like those things which stay on tree

• Wtf you’re saying? Go back to school to learn English or stay on the tree like a monkey

• policeman on Sep 28, 2015 at 12:56 pm

I hope the government imposes more tax on foreign cars. Let morons pay more for their foreign cars. The same morons that go to pubs every Friday and spend all their money on bottles of flammable liquid.

If they are wise, they would know that foreign goods are much cheaper in other countries. It doesn’t make sense to continue living in a country but purchasing consumables from a foreign country. How dumb can they be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Dear Policeman, by imposing more tax will only cause retaliation (trade war) the loosing rakyat will be more suffer!…RM already loosing international value..next thing u know that rakyat will pay tonnes of money just to buy a bread…Hope we won’t head that way like Russians & Venezuelan

• Nasi lemak 3.0 on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Nasi lemak thinking!

• Inspector on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Stupid policeman serving the corrupted

• Aiyo….. govt need to give more??? Tak kan wan 2.6 b support from govt….. is that the reason he so vocal? In any case, Proton needs to man up and be independent….currently Proton is that 30 child who has salary but still asking for more money for expenses despite staying in his/her parents house, not paying rent, not paying electricity, and still stay home and eat. Yet complaining that parent not giving enough…. sheesh.

• Tun dah lupa ke tujuan asal penubuhan proton. Kununnya supaya rakyat dpt beli kereta dengan harga murah… dan tun berjaya membuat kereta yg murah dgn cara mengenakan cukai yg melampau kepada kereta lain supaya harga proton nampak mcm murah… kalau mcm tu caranya, baik tutup aje proton.

• Karma Is Real on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Proton now crying and suffering? It’s called KARMA and that’s how rakyat felt also for past 30 years.

Proton better sell off its factory to Perodua and cut losses.

Hahahaha. Serve you right, Proton. Justice to the bullied rakyats.

• isuzuki on Sep 28, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Kena menyusu sampai bila???

• tun,,,people compare before purchasing.
    when thing are not up to their satisfactory level, they will choose something which is truly good although they have to dump big money in order to fulfill their need.

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:30 pm

for proton to be able to stand on its own, there are some things they need to look at:-

1. to tackle malaysia market, they cannot depend on price protection anymore. the cars must be cheap, reliable with good after sales service.
    gone were the days when satria 1.3 sport rims sold at rm1,600 (4pc x 13″) as optional pack (but buyer no choice must buy together)
    2. to tackle thailand market (70 mil ppl), proton must have an eco car. one that can do very good FC (perhaps, 20km/L)
    3. to tackle india market, cheap and attractive cars. very economical engines below 1.5. suzuki have a JV there with Maruti so proton can make use of it. like supplying iriz platform to both suzuki and maruti
    4. to enter china as we all know – jv with a local player. remember proton sold about 180,000 units of gen2/persona during their short JV with youngman.
    5. to enter europe – again i must emphasize to proton. europeans want hatchbacks, user friendly with good euro ncap safety & emission level, excellent JD power reliability rating, they want diesel and 6 speed manual gearbox combo.
    they are not so much into fancy looks. look at their ford focus basic and standard spec. fancy specs go to focus RS and ST models.
    6. to enter indonesia – convert exora to become 8 seater mpv first. then bring down the price. the formula worked so well and same success enjoyed by Toyota Kijang, Mitsubishi Kuda, toyota avanza/daihatsu xenia and suzuki APV.
    7. to enter japanese market – never dream abt it
    8. to enter australia – must succeed in europe first
    9. to reduce RnD costs
    a. proton have proven to alter 8th gen accord exterior looks but retaining curent platform. i suggest proton to do the same using waja, persona, satria neo and saga platform. dont waste time/money inventing new platform.
    b. proton have 2 basic engines.. the 1.3 and 1.6 with 2 different displacement. by changing piston size and liner, proton could have easily created a 1.2 litre engine, 1.5 and 1.8.
    the same engine could provide base for a common rail diesel engine. proton could easily have a line up of 12 powertrain.

designs – shall we wait for the outcome of the recent design contest?

last but not least – open up malaysia market and dare to compete in other asian countries like philiphine and vietnam.

• Kekasih awal & akhir on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:49 pm

10. Semua pun fail. Bagus tutup kilang.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Very good points. Except that you failed to address the elephant in the room.

Who runs Proton…and who rides on its gravy train. I will say no further.

• solahuddin on Sep 28, 2015 at 2:49 pm

its not just about selling cars. its about engineering knowledge. Listen carefully what Tun said.

• Subframe on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:14 pm

The problem is most people in Malaysia don’t care about engineering knowledge.

• we think that Proton know how to build cars but don’t know how to do business.. we suggest that Proton put a Malaysian Chinese as the head of business strategy/marketing.. cannot deny that chinese r better in doing business.. 8 top Malaysian billionaires r chinese..

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Of course, just like Eric Chia of Perwaja. Successful business run by a Chinese.

• Flush It on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Put Mat Salleh also no use. The whole company is corrupted. Better flush down the toilet

• why selling over 5,000 units car per month need goverment support?
    Eventually, if RnD does not work well, DRB Hicom can continue as CKD Company.

nothing to loose.

• Proton, just pakai honda’s engine (like Lotus pakai toyota’s) n u build the other parts of the car.. walllaaaa.

• Norshidah on Sep 28, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Reason why proton is struggling is because your products stink and sucks!

I’m a sad sad owner of the latest peeve and made my biggest worst decision by buying a proton product. The engine sucks and noisy and fuel guzzer and refinement is non existent. There are so much problem with this junk and I just pray 2-3 years come sooner and I can at least to perodua who is smart enuf to use Japan technology.

It’s better proton just close shop because you cannot make a good car! All the marketing are BS!! I can’t believe after all these years of making cars you can’t even make a good and quiet engine. The cvt sucks even more! So jerky and not smooth! The suspension is worst! Noisy and not comfortable. Proton really make the worst car in the world today in 2015!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Kekasih awal & akhir on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Drive it to believe it.

• we think that Proton QC is so so so bad.. 1 car is good but another one hv lots of problem.. i owned protons n all r very good.. lucky me.

• Kisah Kereta on Sep 28, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Well said by Proton owner. Proton supporters, are you listening?

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:11 am

But Preve has HPF steel, stronger than Volvo’s boron steel, so cukur la Proton safer than Volvo.

Some more Volvo now made in China, don’t believe ask our God SA Sam Loo, he saw it on its windscreen. So confirm quality worse than Proton. Drive Volvo 3 miles sure break down, RM300k down the drain. Then no RV, have to beg Sam Loo take for RM10k also he don’t want.

Kesimpulannya, sah lah Proton better than Volvo, so about time to open market so Proton can tapau Volvo kawkaw. Hidup Proton, hidup supreme leader bijan!

• anti_mie on Sep 29, 2015 at 7:23 am

Dear Nosrsudah,
      The way you explain the defect , the more we know your are not the PREVE owner.
      You just make a statement base on what you know, but not rise from your experience

• Ollie on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Give up already. As long as any right-minded person still wants to support Proton (and Perodua, to a lesser extent) there’s no point arguing. Reflection on Malaysian education and maturity levels. Enough points raised above, that have been raised for years, that there is no point to Proton’s existence.

• Kekasih awal & akhir on Sep 28, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Final look at the Accordana rear buttock design proved that Proton totally lost it beyond repair already.

Given chance after chance, never listen to change designers, memang hopeless lah even after using nice Accord platform bodyshell. It’s like give them beautiful rose flower but they ruined it become bunga taik ayam.

Better lelong scrap iron it all like Perwaja Steel to China buyers.

• loler on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:49 pm

You must be the one who chose Vios and Almera as best car designs of the world. Lol

• ARM Yusof on Sep 28, 2015 at 5:58 pm

as the leader of the country , Tun M thought malaysia needs to produce experts on its own thus the idea of producing Proton begin… the idea was good, but poor execution.

thats sums up proton after 30 years.

dont close yet, give proton to another mat salleh to turn it around :P

• yusof mudin on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Selepas 2020 malaysia jadi negara pengguna. Kalau kelapa sawit dan minyak dah tak laku. Takkan la nak tekan key smat pon dan makan duit bunga simpanan epf .

• Proton user on Sep 28, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Who the duck say Proton is cheaper? When comes to maintenance, its pucking expensive la… Whenever bring proton for scheduled maintenance, there will be alwiz other issues to repair n all. The maintenance charges are higher japanese cars… So time to close down la proton… Tak payah malu2… Its nasi lemak management n technology… de whole world knows abt ur quality

• somepissedoffdude on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Wow, this man is truly shameless.. After 30yrs he’s still asking government to “support” proton? I bet the CEOs of other car makers don’t get paid high salaries as he does. Other governments don’t senselessly pump money into a car manufacturer that is not willing to produce world class cars at reasonable prices. A true CEO will even forgo his salary and opt to get paid bonus WHEN the company achieves certain goals/targets. This man should just get out.

• Chloe on Sep 28, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Want proton close shop? Forget la. I support proton to the max. It’s conti solid ride, urghhhh, I’m amaze. Keep going proton.

#IluvProton
    #Support Proton
    #Next year Proton A Segment tapau all sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Erwin on Sep 28, 2015 at 10:12 pm

30 years and still asking parents for money. Kesian

• Just Do It on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Just close down lah, wasting Malaysians productivity by commenting on Proton’s news

• paparadzi (Member) on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:12 am

I used to support Proton. I had a Wira, Putra, Satria GTi, Waja. The pricing was relatively affordable. However the quality control was terrible, with issues such as door handle and power window. Most people will not buy a Proton if they can afford something else due to the perception of quality issues.

My immediate family still have 2 Proton Saga FLX in the fleet, and the quality issues has not been resolved.

• Muhammad on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:49 am

Proton is struggling because those who bought a proton including me will never ever buy a proton ever again.

Your product is junk and a nightmare!!

For the sake of all Malaysians just sell your factory to another car maker.

Better wise change your lousy name Proton to something nicer.

Your design are just so ugly and old. Fire the dude who design shit cars in your company resulted to poor sales today.

See how other manufacturers design their cars.

Iriz and preve design is horrible. One look you wanna go Yucks!! Especially Iriz. Looks like a cockroach.

Who wants to own a cockroach in 2015??

Preve design not too bad but quality sucks. It’s noisy, full of problems and not at all comfortable.

Stop your drive it to believe it marketing to cheat the rakyats money!

Proton you struggle because you deserve it.

You don’t make good products and and provide good after sales service you cannot blame Malaysians for not buying your products.
    We have bought your products and we’re disgusted by it.
    So stop asking for help because you do not deserve a 10th chance.

• Proud on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:25 am

I love Proton. My family owned various Proton (1 wira, 3 Personas, 1 Preve) throughout the years and soon will add an Iriz. I wish Proton well. Haters gonna hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • JC Ker on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:16 pm

After so many years, Proton is still expecting help from the government….If Proton wants to be successful, it has to stop expecting the “tongkat”, start working on improving the quality of its product. The only way to do it is to employ the best talent of Malaysians regardless of background. I was a Proton owner (Wira & Waja) & like many other Malaysians, we supported Proton and we suffered

• Dr M, please understand bnow that Proton will never survive on its own. your DRB Hicom Deal was the worst ever happen to Proton. The arrogance of the DRB Top Management has sucked all blood out of Protons genes by firing high potential employees. See were Proton is now. Local Marketshare down from 30+% to around 16%. Volume in Thailand which was once the best performing market for Proton outside Malaysia down from an annual sales of 7000 units p.a. to 100 units+. start going into negotiation with the right collaboration partner, stop hiring the garnish from ex VW Management and start listening to the market. If you say Proton lack of support from the government – that means Proton fails to stand on its own feed suffering from potential internal failure and willingness to succeed. would be good to have a chat one time with you in person… please open our eyes – people around you are failing to succeed – this has nothing to do with lack of government support.

• SHAMBA on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Sorry not because the lack of gov support. BCause of the below…
    Hope Tun’s dream will come true n proton will emerge once again. The problem with proton is of course the quality however the most terrible exp of customer is after sales. The worst attitude n behaviour of the staff espTechinical staffs from proton behave as if like god n customer has to plead them. When we go for service request to schedule the appointment. Put under waiting list. During warranty claim process would become terrible. At the end customer lost the trust with proton n thier staffs cause improper mgmt. No monitoring n governance. Incompetente technical staffs n on top of big mouth staffs. Now the pinch started. Let us wait n see. I m still using my proton for the past 18 years n true loyal customer. Seriously I lost confident with proton. Wishing good luck.