VIDEO: Girls break up with their cheating Volkswagens

There is no doubt about it – the ongoing ‘Dieselgate’ scandal has broken a lot of hearts especially amongst the Volkswagen faithful. While the matter itself is not something to be laughed at entirely, the people at Funny Or Die have decided to shed a more comical light on the issue by releasing a two minute-long feature.

The video follows three (rather dimwitted) girls as they each confront their diesel-powered Volkswagen Jettas after discovering that their respective cars had been cheating on them by emitting more pollutants than advertised – effectively destroying their eco-conscious image along the way. Said individuals then begin to retell (relive?) the memories they had shared with their cars.

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 14

As expected, multiple mentions of the Coachella music festival and pumpkin spice lattes were heard along with numerous recounts of how their fathers had also taken a liking to the diesel Volkswagens. Sadly, a happy ending was not on the cards as all three girls figured that the damage had been done and that a breakup was the only answer to their predicament.

Now, as funny as the entire video feature turned out to be, no one seems to be laughing over at Volkswagen. Amidst the scandal, the German marque lost its CEO, Martin Winterkorn, who has since been replaced by Porsche boss, Matthias Mueller. Also, three high-ranking executives are set to be let go while the firm itself could be looking at a fine of up to US$18 billion (RM79.5 billion).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Once you Lie, Always you will LIE on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:14 am

In Malaysia, in the mamaks and the grapevine, everybody is saying, they are not going to even smell Audi or VW in Malaysia.

I don’t blame them. Cause, although Malaysia has no diesel, we don’t know what else the company has lied to us. There is a saying, once you lie, you will always lie. Also, if there is 1 lie, there are 9 lies buried waiting to emerge.

Overseas, these cars are cheap. So people can forgive very easily. US20k for a Passat is no big deal. If you buy a lemon, then just bin it.

In Malaysia Rm200k is big money. Even to a big Datuk or Tan Sri, RM200k is big money.

I pity VW and Audi in Malaysia. Even the RV of current models also will drop like comet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Laughing Stock of Malaysia on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:30 am

I cannot stop laughing. For years VW owners in Malaysia action. At traffic light, they rev their engine and look at you. Lights turn green, they tekan and smoke you.

Then they say all Japanese and Korean owners are jealous of them and we cannot afford their cars.

Now, they are laughing stock. People laugh at VW owners. The VW owners also rather use a plastic bag over the head in shame.

Moral of the story… don’t look down on other people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
      • VW? It’s just a cheap brand for people who cant afford a benz or lexus just like other T & H owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • At least the girls can break up with VW. In Malaysia, Proton cheated the rakyat for 30 years and the sad thing is Malaysians cannot break up with cheating Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Areyousure on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Is democratic world. People’s choice :)

• Same L0rrr on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Hey, smart as!!! I dnt need you to help me in promoting my lexus and your commission will not over me anyway.

• don’t look down on other people? much like what you are doing now? it’s not like the owners had anything to do with the scandal. if you want to hate, hate on the brand – not the owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:19 pm

You must be having the similar experience. Poor man.

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:18 am

Hitler : ini semua salah Fegelein! Fegelein! Fegelein!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6kMtliW4rc

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:27 am

I have told VGM this before, I offer 20 sen to the dollar for every VW car. This is a very good offer VGM. Pls take it

for current owners, I offer RM30 to RM40k for a 1 year old Passat. Please take this offer because ALL used cars dealers now got strict instruction not to take VW cars in.

Cannot sell anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • If he was still alive, he would say ini semua angkara yahudi di amerika

• VGM Please Close Shop on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:22 am

I think VGM better close shop. Malaysians until today cannot forget the years of lies about DSG. Year after year of denial until VW AG admitted.

Even this Dieselgate, VW was lying for 1 whole year.

Malaysians cannot trust a company that lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Seems like the only reliable car VW produced was the Beetle since the Hitler days and was discontinued some years ago.

• VGM had announced that DSG issue is resolved! For the cheating scandal only happen in US, Malaysia will not affected.

• camtakpro on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:47 am

Relatively, any VW cheats in Malaysia will not have any governmental body against it as it haven’t cross the line of our PM cheat level.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 29, 2015 at 11:56 am

Just when VW Malaysia is trying to fix their image here their HQ screwed up big time. Well maybe it’s time to revert the car prices to its original price? I lost count how many times VW Malaysia increased their prices thinking they can squeeze some quick bucks out of us Malaysians.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 29, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This diesel scandal will unfold like tsunami, waves after waves. Not just Volkswagen group, i believe BMw, Merz, Jaguar Land Rover , Peoguet etc are also subject to certain extend of cheating in the diesel pollution emission rating. I bet they are now doing some damage control behind the scene. But surely and eventually some dirt will leak out. Popcorn’s ready.

• how about VW cars in our country… they are going to be ban oso?

• diesel-gater on Sep 29, 2015 at 3:41 pm

‘rather dimwitted’ is the right word to describe VW owners/drivers. PSLs and coachella walking single celled sub-humans.

• Josh Ling on Sep 29, 2015 at 5:48 pm

the ending part just cracked me up! lol…….

• MentalKAR on Sep 29, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Memang sangat SEDIH dan TERHARU dengan PENIPUAN TERBESAR di alam Kreta ini. Wake Up!

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:13 am

That’s why I always say, you won’t go wrong with sushi car. You don’t believe? Now you kena.