Volkswagen Jetta TSI drops DSG for 6-spd auto in US

2015_Volkswagen_Jetta_facelift_02

Now this is interesting. The Volkswagen Jetta will now come with a new 150 hp EA211 1.4 litre TSI engine in the US – replacing the current naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre and 1.8T motors – paired to either a five-speed manual or a “six-speed automatic transmission.”

Seeing that the brand has never failed to mention its DSG transmissions in press releases where applicable, it sure looks like the TSI engine will be matched to a conventional torque converter auto this time round. While yet unconfirmed, online chatter points to an Aisin six-speed automatic being utilised in the new US-market Jetta – the same unit already in use in our Polo 1.6 MPI.

For the uninitiated, the usual pairing for the 1.4 litre TSI engine is either a six-speed wet clutch or seven-speed dry clutch DSG transmission. The former serves the Golf GTI, Golf R, Beetle 2.0 TSI, Scirocco R, Eos, Tiguan 1.4 TSI and Sharan, while latter is used on the Polo 1.2 TSI, Polo GTI, Jetta, Golf 1.4 TSI, Beetle 1.2/1.4 TSI, Passat, CC and Cross Touran models.

Volkswagen fans, what do you think of this move?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• camtakpro on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:48 pm

In the country full of lawsuits, once and for all, VW finally 6-speed DSG issue solved… by replacing it with 6-speed auto from Aisin.

Meanwhile in the country full of donations… 6-speed DSG issue is solved by mentioning VW had sent N expert(s). Period.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 5
    • Choong Chong Yew on Aug 06, 2015 at 8:12 pm

6-speed DSG no problems. Only 7-speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • camtakpro on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:50 am

Yes. The 7-speed is well-known everywhere, I don’t need to say it – only fangays think it was solved.

I’m just trolling 6-speed DSG… but then you never know 6-speed DSG might just have the same issue, just take longer time to surface. lol

• Allroadquattro on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:08 pm

6-speed DSG will never E-E-E-EVER have DSG problem! (Chris Jericho’s voice)

• VW_rocks on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Hmm… late for the party.

Dual-clutch applied in many high-end performance cars like BMW’s M-series, Merz’s SLS, Audi’s S-tronic, Lambo Huracan, Evo X, Nissan GTR etc.

Dual-clutch requires maintenance as the clutches are engaged all the time. The more you travel, the faster it wore out.

To me. Replacing the dual-clutch with normal 6 speeds simply means replacing excitement.

• kennyjay on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:55 pm

suddenly VW fanboys so quiet today…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Wolfsburg on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Without DSG i don’t consider it as a VW pedigree and genes. Better go buy a kimchi or sushi car with pared down tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • thepolygonal on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Sadly true… the DSG was the selling point last time with it’s smooth gear shifting and all… but it eventually became it’s un-selling point once too many problems arises from it… now the only reason is the turbo but seems like the japs and koreans are turbo…ing their upcoming models too.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Spoken like a true car-buyer who buys based on impulse & impressions and not based on facts, practicality and logic

• daniel on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:12 pm

To me a Volkswagen without DSG is like Oreo without cream, or Big Mac without patties. It is the DSG gearbox and that turbocharged engine that makes Volkswagen cars fun to drive.

Without DSG VW is no different with Jap/Korean cars other than the VW badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Medic on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:47 pm

The DSG is the same reason why jetta spends more time in workshop than on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Volkswagen without (dry-clutch) DSG is like a healthy person without cancer. What’s wrong with that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Aug 06, 2015 at 6:30 pm

You obviously have not been around long enough to know VW has been revered for many other things.

1)build quality
      2)reliability
      3)frugality (with its diesels)

Basically, sound german engineering for normal people.

The DSG nightmare undid what VW has been building for decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • LOLOL on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Should have done that from day 1. Finally admittance of the faulty 7 DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Not only that, also admitting that there is no solution to the problem!

• camtakpro on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:52 am

You are wrong. The solution was, and is, to sent x engineers from german.

… can be marketing engineer you know.

• porseh on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:25 pm

First of all, I am not a fan boy of VW nor any.

Recently I went to VW, Mazda, Toyota and Honda to look for replacement of my old ride. And I have test driven the Mazda 3, Altis, Civic, HRV and last the Jetta (which I never expect I’d even thought of considering it due to its DSG issues and dull look, until I passed by the showroom in one morning). After the test drive and driven around by the sales exec, I hate to admit that it’s indeed a fun car to drive and it feels very solid compared to the Altis and Civic. What truly amazed me was the DSG (ps. toyota 4 speed all this while). But I will put on hold first cause of the bad services and limited spare parts availability. Wait the new jetta to reach Msia first and see if the issues really resolved. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:05 pm

I’ve bored with Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mazda. Tried VW Mk6 GTi feels good interior. Then got into Passat… holy shit plastic WTF same like Camry. Wait Camry felt more spacious and more comfortable.

Jetta with 6 speed Aisin – you can try. Should be much less worrying to own.

• Hello!!! Passat is same category/segment wt camry thats why its more or less same built etc…if u want a luxury segment vw product, look at Audi or porsche, its their luxury range…if u want luxury toyota product, look for lexus ler not camry…

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:39 pm

dont you know altis got CVT with 7 speed mode since 2012?

where were you?

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:36 pm

As a current golf owner, i have mixed feelings about this.

Reliability is still the major concern for buyers, no matter where you are, and what kind of market you are in.

Yes DSG switch gears very fast (i mean lightning fast and butter smooth, you can’t even feel the gear change most of the time) and very responsive to the driver’s feedback. From my driving experience, only BMW’s transmission can fare against DSG’s smoothness. Mercedes not even close.

However there are major drawbacks: DSG mecha failure, clutch premature wear n tear and slippage, and VW’s its own lousy aftersale services (previously, now i dunno)

These issues has tarnished overall VW brand reputation in Malaysia as well as other countries.

VW is a mass market car manufacturer. They should stick to the conventional auto gearbox in the beginning for mass market entry level cars. DSG should be reserved for the more expensive models, or even MANUAL across the range (yes they have that in europe but sadly no manual for malaysia market)

I love my golf, but at the same time, wish i had a manual. Don’t get me wrong, DSG is excellent and will be the future, but right now it is not ready yet for the mass market consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • xiper (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:36 pm

@Graham,

The Tiguan 1.4 TSI is using 7 speed wet clutch DSG (DQ500), same as the one in Tiguan 2.0 TSI. It is not using the DQ250.

• Graham Chin (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Hi there, the Tiguan 1.4 TSI is paired to a six-speed wet clutch, as for the Tiguan 2.0 TSI, you are correct, it is paired to a DQ500 seven-speed wet clutch.

• tishaban on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:54 pm

As far as I know from when I lived in the US, VW USA never offered the DSG in the low end VW, only on the Golf GTI ie. wet clutch DSG only.

I did a bit of research, went to VW USA’s website and configured a Jetta, Passat and regular Golf. You cannot get a DSG unless you choose a Golf GTI.

So in short at least from my research the dry clutch 7-speed DSG was never an option in VW US.

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 6:12 pm

being a CBU, VW cars are subjected to super high import tax. should VW plans to bring in the conventional 1.6 with 6 speed automatic and sell it at 130-160K, it will not have the desire to attract sales.

hence the reason why VGM opted to bring in top spec Golf GTI first (since it is iconic) and sell it at 220K (why not when Honda was selling the FD2R civic type R at 200K at that time). the formula worked pretty well and demand shot up sky high for VW cars.

• camtakpro on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:55 am

I think VW trolled more people with Polo 1.2 TSi 7-speed DSG than that GTi.

• camtakpro on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:02 am

It wouldn’t be nice to receive class-action lawsuit.

7-speed DSG works in countries that has poor consumer protection.

• gonggok on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:21 pm

The need for automated manuals like DSG is questionable except in the specialist use like sports cars where hyperfast shift speeds are important. Even the latest generation of conventional autos can shift very fast as witnessed by various applications in fast AMGs and Astons when fitted with paddle shifters.

The latest conventional autos can almost match the efficiency and shift speeds of automated manuals like DSG but without the reliability and some jerkiness in town driving issues.

• 240Nm on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:34 pm

@tishaban is exactly right. Paultan seems to be off his mark and the many VW haters will just jump on the bandwagon to pile up criticism without thinking twice.

VW USA has been using conventional auto all along. I’ve driven a Jetta SE in the USA for 2 months. It’s not a DSG. U can’t find DSG easily in the USA except for high performance VW.

Being a Jetta owner myself for 2 years, I can give speak from my own experience. I never encountered any mechatronics issue. The DSG judder issue is resolved when you change to the latest Rev L part of the clutch pack. The issue of VW breaking down because of gearbox is a thing of the past but unfortunately the bad impression continues to linger on. My Jetta has never failed me so far throughout my ownership.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:39 pm

@tishaban is exactly right. Paultan seems to be off his mark and the many VW haters will just jump on the bandwagon to pile up criticism without thinking twice.

VW USA has been using conventional auto all along. I’ve driven a Jetta SE in the USA for 2 months. It’s not a DSG. U can’t find DSG easily in the USA except for high performance VW.

Being a Jetta owner myself for 2 years, I can give speak from my own experience. I never encountered any mechatronics issue. The DSG judder issue is resolved when you change to the latest Rev L part of the clutch pack. The issue of VW breaking down because of gearbox is a thing of the past but unfortunately the bad impression continues to linger on. My Jetta has never failed me so far throughout my ownership.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:29 pm

same here , jetta never failed me…yess the jerkiness is stil there in low speed situations , bt u get used to it , but its been trouble free ownership , bt the bad impression it has is almost beyond repair i suppose..
      i dont totally agree with the notion that ‘VW has finally admited its DSG failures’…it might be market positioning where DSGs will be employed by Audi and other VW brands…

• Heng Lee on Aug 09, 2015 at 8:05 pm

You forgot to mention “in low speed situations”.

Japanese are simply unbeatable “in low speed situations”, as they produce the slowest cars on earth… ;)

• What the… Sam Loo driving VW? Where’s our usual Totota praising maniac? Tukar kerja is it?

• camtakpro on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:59 am

Sam Loo just trolling you all. So he can have low priced VW 2nd hand to play… and then can sell his 2nd hand VW to you all without losing much.

Beware this guy is tricky. He is not in a worry to have DSG failure and can just leave the car in SC forever since he has his hailat as backup.

• Sam Tar on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Sam is just a sales man, dont believe the word from no integrity sales man lah.

• Golfer on Aug 06, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Many ppl only know how to condemn without doing their homework first. The current Jetta sold in the US never offered DSG in the first place except for the Jetta Hybrid and GLI (2.0T). I think Paultan’s title for this article is misleading and incorrect. Pls check your facts!

• tomikar on Aug 06, 2015 at 9:02 pm

noler i think what he saying is new 1.4L Tsi engine first time being without DSG now with the 6 speed auto gearbox not the DSG. i seeing the us website all is no 1.4L Tsi

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Misleading-ish article aside (the Jetta never had a DSG in the US, except on the Hybrid and the 2.0T GLI variant), it is somewhat correct.

The EA211 1.4TSi replaces the naturally aspirated non turbo, 2.0 engine, also known as the 2.slow engine lol. On the lower variants, the 1.4TSI will also be replacing the 1.8TSi as well, but the 1.8TSi still remains on the higher variant.

The Golf is expected to move to the 1.4TSi as well but not confirmed.

http://blog.caranddriver.com/volkswagen-confirms-1-4t-engine-for-jetta-replaces-too-slow-2-0/

• budleee on Aug 08, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Honestly, I think Americans just prefer a slush box over fancy DSG or CVT.

• bater on Nov 22, 2015 at 4:14 am

Can I install the 1.4 tsi 6 speed DSG instead of 1.4 tsi 7 speed DSG ??