Driven Web Series 2015 #1: AMG’s pocket rockets – Mercedes-Benz A 45 vs CLA 45 vs GLA 45 AMG

Alright boys and girls, as promised, Driven Web Series 2015 is here, powered by the new Euro 4M Petronas Primax 97 with improved Advanced Energy Formula!

Let’s get straight to the chase. We’re starting this season with a big bang, as we drive three new Mercedes-Benz AMG models – the A 45, GLA 45 and CLA 45 – to find out which one of AMG’s entry-level trio you should buy. Is it the hatchback, the four-door coupe or the SUV?

All three have the same record-breaking 2.0 litre AMG four-cylinder engine with 355 hp and 450 Nm of torque, enough to get the A 45 and CLA 45 to 100 km/h in just 4.6 seconds. Even the bigger GLA 45 takes just 4.8 seconds. But enough of raw data and numbers – you can compare the three at CarBase.my.

For a more subjective take on all three, watch the video above. Join us again next week as we pit Honda’s latest sales phenomenon, the HR-V, against two unlikely, but perhaps more capable rivals. Stay tuned!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Welcome back, Driven. It’s a cool series. How about a shoot out between a top spec Myvi, a top spec Iriz and the bottom spec Vios and City. That would cover 90% of the new car market in Malaysia.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:49 am

CLA, GLA, SLA, XLA… who cares? Malaysians here can’t even upgrade to Toyota/Honda because of the expensive fuel price and maintenance on the pathetic Proton.
      You think you work hard and clean nowadays and you will be able to afford these expensive toy? dream on…
      Get a used price from me better, don’t waste your hard earned money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Apala on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:11 pm

If you’re doing a test drive video, especially for performance cars, make sure you know how to drive correctly. Or, at the very least, show that you can handle the steering wheel. Definitely not by tying your hands around each other like Gregory. Go back to driving school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Gen y – poor driving skills.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:12 pm

gen Y should learn how to drive from Stefan Roser.

• jwrx (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:11 am

agreed. I cringe everytime i see him turn into elastic man at the corners. It was so annoying, if u cant handle the steering wheel without crossing so badly, dont film in corners.

• Couldn’t agree with you more! Crossing your hand is a big no no! Where is the “Push & Pull” technic u learn in driving school???

• wait , what ? isnt crossing hands the proper racing driver technique ?

and who the hell uses “Push & Pull” technic when driving sports cars , except old farts and 18 year old P drivers fresh out of school ?

• Caleb on Oct 07, 2015 at 2:25 am

I don’t see a major problem with his style of steering. The execution might not have been the best but It’s a lot better than putting a hand under the steering wheel to turn. F1 drivers regularly twist their arms on the tightest of corners, like the hairpin in Monaco. Drifters use push-pull technique in combination with hand over hand steering together with some hand twisting.

• Ross Restoule on Oct 17, 2019 at 9:01 am

He’s Asian dude….

• Lumpis Pato on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Okla. Miss the Harvfs

• neonceejay on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:19 pm

I’ve been a huge fans of driven as it’s easily the most practical and realistic car review in Malaysia.
    However I must said that this very 1st episode does let me down a little bit.

I’m like keep pressing F5 every 10minutes to check for the update…

And what I get is…(sorry to say, boring a bit lah)
    Hope you guys keep the good work up!

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:28 pm

STIFF and BORING…!!!

These AMGs are stiff and boring when we know there are already updates coming soon with more output and adaptive suspensions…

This episode gives the impression that it was shot last year…

• Aero (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:36 pm

LOL whenever you guys film at Cyberjaya, I always miss it ! I go to that same petrol station all the time ! :D One day, I hope to see Driven filming in action… but I’ll probably be too shy to say hi to any of you guys ! xD

• tokmoh. on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Lancer Evo FQ440 had 440hp from 2.0L engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Not bad, the new guy is pretty good?

But still in the end, you know many want to see Harve in a dress…

On second thought, never mind, I think I can do without nightmares for a while…

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:10 pm

So all 3 cars are basically FWD, until the front has gone off the intended line due to understeer, after which only does the AWD system pushes some torque to the rears? Guess Ford’s AWD system in the Focus RS is much more fun then. It pushes more torque to the rears even before it starts to understeer, so you can have some fun wagging its tail about.

Wonder why AMG/Merc didn’t program it to push more torque to the rears more (like Ford’s or permanently to all 4 wheels like the Subaru WRX STi)? The Audi RS3 & VW Golf R also have the same problem. Too much understeer, and not enough torque to the rear.

Anyways, i’d choose the GLA between the 3 too. The CLA is so not practical and the A45 is too hardcore. But the C63 beats all of them anytime. Is that Paul’s personal ride?

• My thoughts on this episode:

The cars – Meh. Basically 3 of the same. Personally not attracted to this Merc family, bloody expensive and less practical than most normal sized competitors. For the same money would look at the C-class or E-class range.

The hosts – Thumbs Up to the newcomers!

As for the next episode most people may choose to compare the Honda HRV to the Ford Ecosport and Peugeot 2008 since these are B-segment crossovers. But since the key words are ‘unlikely’ and ‘capable’, my guesses are the Subaru XV and Mitsubishi ASX. I may be proven wrong though….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • jwrx (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:13 am

you arnt the target market. The target market is for ppl looking for aggressive performance vehicle under 400k, new with warranty.Nothing else comes close in termss of performance, and practicality (4 doors, boot)

• Apologies, I didn’t know I had to be the car’s target market to be allowed to comment on it.

• holofanboi on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Hmm…

I don’t like the first episode of this season. At all.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:28 am

It’s a bit disappointing the only C63 feature was the exhaust sound. Really, if they wanna demo the real V8 is the deal, it’s gotta be more than just better exhaust note.

• Kw Lim on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Is there some problem with your audio? The sound level is very low

• Kw Lim on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Is there some problem with the audio? The sound level is very low.

• Josh Ling on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:21 pm

where’s Hafriz?? really replaced?? NNOOOOOOO…….. :(

• Jarred on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:24 pm

What’s with you guys and Cyberjaya?

• feedback on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:43 pm

crossing your arm?

• brianxyz on Sep 30, 2015 at 11:48 pm

I just don’t get it. Why you need such a powerful car in Malaysia? Just to beat some cars at a Traffic Light junction? To drive at 300 km/h on the highway and kill yourself? So what if your car can go to 100 km/h in 1 second? I thought the non-AMG MB cars are already good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:52 am

To get the disappointed look on the face of the girlfriend of the amg owner. That is priceless whenever I smoke one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Bob_B78 on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:23 am

The gf is sure dissappointed that her bf is racing with a retard like you without thinking the safety for both of them.

• K5owner on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:46 am

My k5 beat AMG all the times.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:23 am

id take the Golf R , might be down abit on power bt its the perfect balance….and so much cheaper….
    oh , and welcome back Driven !

• jwrx (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:18 am

diffrent ppl diffrent tastes/priorities. The Golf R is a great choice, but the 45s are in diffrent league when it comes to interior,looks etc. (had a GTI, didnt want a R when it was time to upgrade, too dull)

• Driven Fan on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:09 am

Disappointing 1 episode & boring, new guy seems okay but all 3 shows lack of enthusiasm in this driven program, playing verbal sound to promote petronas was just bad & reusing the same old background music as previous season made it worst, get some new music from to excite the viewers lar. Paultan in the C63 was like somebody holding a gun to him asking him to drag the car for that beautiful v8 sounds, we’re is the drive ..driven crew, it’s like all force to do the show & was boring as hell … Disappointed indeed, hope to see some changes but I don’t think will happen as you all have films most or all ur upcoming episodes of Driven, do surprise us, am sure you all can do better.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:19 am

Haters gonna hate looking at the senseless comments coming from other people. So what if these are senseless cars? It’s an AMG and that commands respect on the road and no u don’t have to drive it to its limit. People who know their game will respect these cars on the road if it’s being driven by someone of a correct mind and people don’t buy these cars because of practical reasons or whatnot – they know it’s smaller than a C or E but those are just plain Jane cars so just shut up when all you can is just to afford a C or E with no cash to splash on better things in life and let us admire these cars on the road, ok?

Plus I don’t wanna show up at some plush hotel in an Evo or Golf R. If it was an M3 or the R8 then that’s all a different story as those command respect and awe from onlookers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • brianxyz on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:35 pm

@seancorr, get a life pls… You do not need to show-off your car to get respect. If you need to, I’m sorry for you.

• Woota on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:21 am

Woots, this new guys Adian. He’s good!

• Thaya on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:22 am

Welcome back guys, was waiting for the new season to kick start and now it’s here.

• the starting part should be edited…it was like a horrible budget scary movie

• wilson on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:51 pm

always choose amg

oops no money…..

simpan money 1st

XD

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:32 pm

despite the c63 actually sounding much more glorious in real life….it sounded a bit dull in this video…and paul dei u need to watch more rajinikanth to follow his acting skills

• therealmaserati on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:07 am

The reviewers need to improve. Don’t even know how to drive. And the review is so “touch and go”.

Go watch more Topgear or Carbuyer lah

• gghian on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:59 am

bro, this car is superb and beautiful bud your new panel guy in the driven 2015#1 is soooo dammmmm boring and loked stupid coz lot thing they can’t bring to audience in this video , where the last guy? i think batter u find the next person for bring and delegate review and information….sory bro….

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 7:18 am

Looking forward to the new Renault Megane RS, which should get the same engine (in a slightly downtuned state… I suppose it can be unlocked). Looks at least as good as any of these, and costs significantly less.