“Soon, all Proton cars will adhere to Euro 5 standard,” says Tun Mahathir, but “prices may go up”

Proton_Pick-up_Concept_ 010

Proton chairman Tun Mahathir has declared that all Proton models will soon adhere to the Euro 5 emissions standard. Sounds like good news, right? But that’s not all that he said.

“We have not reached Euro 5 (standards) yet. Not that we cannot, but the costs involved are high. That’s the problem. People still think that Proton cars are low tech and cheap. Now, that’s no longer true,” he told the press today.

Tun M further explained that, “soon, all Proton cars will be Euro 5, but it will take time. Then, prices will go up, but I’m confident that those who drive Proton cars now will feel just how much the performance has improved. We’ve certainly made progress, on par with other automotive brands.

“At the moment, Malaysia is not quite ready for a slightly more expensive, but higher tech Proton. Our Iriz EV can go up to more than 300 km on a single charge, which is higher than other EVs that are more expensive, and with bigger battery packs. But prices will not be cheap,” he added.

Proton has plans to export the Iriz EV to the European markets, with the assistance of electric vehicle tax breaks in certain countries. “This will also allow us to export our existing cars that don’t yet adhere to Euro 5 standard, with the help of models with zero emissions,” concluded the company founder.

The Proton Iriz that is currently sold meets Euro 4 regulations, said Tun M at the B-segment hatchback’s launch almost exactly a year ago. Back then, he mentioned that “meeting Euro 5 requires a new engine. We may have to source the engine from abroad so as to comply with Euro 5 standards.”

We found out shortly after that the foreign powerplant under consideration is actually a diesel engine. It was mentioned last year that the Iriz would be exported to the UK, Australia and Europe. The company has since gone quiet on this matter, so we’ll have to wait and see if any of it will come to fruition.

Speaking of current Proton prices, Tun Mahathir commented that “now with the (Malaysian) currency down, import and material costs are higher. We will still try to maintain the prices, but I don’t know for how long. I think other companies are also suffering.”

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wish luck for your dream

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 9
    • Perfect Reason on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:07 pm

What kind of excuse to “raise price” ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 25
      • Again Trying To Rip Off Malaysians on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Tun, is this another way to rip off Malaysians? Already Malaysians are paying 3x the global price of cars.

We should not beg Euro 5 Standards. It is our right and it is the DUTY of the Government to give its rakyat clean air. Why must we beg or why must you threaten to raise prices for such a basic right?

Already the Government has failed its people by not prosecuting companies that open burn in Indonesia. We have to suffer with Haze teruk teruk.

Already all the busses and lorries which are crony or GLC owned are emitting thick black smoke. Even polis car follow lorry emitting thick black smoke, he is too scared to tahan because the company is eventually Menteri owned.

So, why do you threaten Malaysians with higher prices? It is the Environment Ministry who should ensure that we Malaysians get clean air. Already for years we have to suffer with Euro 2M poisons from our Petrol. In Europe Euro 2M (which is Euro 1.5) is categorized as POISON.

We had to suffer with Euro 2 because Government refused to tell their Government owned oil companies like PETRONAS to give us Clean Euro 5. Cause the more PETRONAS untung, the better revenue for their personal pockets. Government did not want PETRONAS to pay more and refine the oil to Euro 5 standards because it would involve more costs. But nevermind, janji rakyat suffer, it is alright, so long as PETRONAS untung lebih and PETRONAS is the Private Bank of the Gomen.

Come on Tun, please be reasonable. Amat malu you say this to the rakyat. Amat malu Proton also say this to the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 52
        • George Abdul on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Tell DrM to waive or abolish all AP system taxes and hidden taxes then watch how the “car price will go down”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • Albert on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Protong,please jack up your prices to match Nissan,Honda and Toyota.
        See where the car buyer is heading to.
        Other car distributors are throwing giant discounts and freebees…and yet Protong is jacking up prices.Is this logical during this economy now? Its unofficial,Malaysia is in RECESSION NOW. Like it or not,it is reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
        • Sam junior sales pakcik on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:05 pm

What make you think that other cars will not increase in price? Just wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • What to do? Gov no support so have to raise up prices for Proton buyers lol. I’m sure Proton supporters will help share the burden and pay more as they like to support Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Milly on Oct 12, 2015 at 1:01 pm

fyi, if u read the news around, Proton, aside from BMW and Mercedes are the few car manufacturers who have decided NOT to increase their car prices,..and if you check around Proton, they give discounts as well.

• Bungkus on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:02 am

How to survive with only RM500 profits per unit Saga car??

• thefact on Oct 03, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 163
    • Rosmah on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Please tell me at which department of Najib’s office that you work in…oh while you’re at it, don’t forget to bring Kak Mah some pisang goreng while you troll

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 22
      • thefact on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:11 pm

oh, just because i said a bad thing about him, suddenly im a najib supporter? do u even understand whats he is sayin?

higher quality higher efficiency means more expensive? where is he getting that idea?

do u know how cheap local cars are without taxes? i mean all those CKD foreign brands. n r u hearing them saying..oh Euro 5 means more cost more expensive?

Proton never can compete with our miniscule market. its 30 years. how many have they exported? just recently he said gov not helping them.. so until when help?

his perwaja project died n lost the country in billions.proton is close to his heart, his project, sure he supports it.

do u think i dont know shit bout auto industry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 87
        • Hanafi on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Perwaja went backrup bcoz Mahathir yg Songlap. After all pass few year proton still the same.. sell hight price in msia but cheaper in oversea.. poor msia people only can buy proton. But poor Thai people they can afford to buy import car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 35
        • Farghmee on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Yg aku faham, iriz EV expensive sbb bateri pack tu.
          Utk meet euro5 kena ada enjin baru.

Xyh ckp pasal perwaja taxes ape bagai.
          Cuba kasi faham apa artikel ni ckp dulu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 16
          • thefact on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:14 pm

so beritahu saya kenapa dia support proton? sebab its his project?
            perwaja pun project dia kan?

engine euro 5 tarak,dalam article lepas dia kata kereta malaysia tak boleh masuk eropah sebab eropah block. itu salah eropah? EU pentingkan emissions and pollution…EU salah ke?

kalau EU block, macam mana dulu Saga megavalve boleh dijual disana dengan sucess? sebab masa itu product itu fresh. current. and lepas taraf euro. sekarang taraf euro 6, tapi kereta malaysia euro 4. sebab tak dapat bersaing, sebab market Malaysia terlalu kecik untuk ROI.

apa yang proton hadapi sekarang ialah persepsi dah teruk. walaupun Iriz is a good product, brand nama dah hancur. selagi tak dapat luaskan pasaran keluar negara, tak dapatla proton bersaing.

untuk support project itu banyakla cerita tak masuk akal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
          • ShahDLR on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:42 pm

tak kisahlah bape euro nye minyak ke, apa orang nk bla2 ke, sy tetap nak beli kereta proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
          • Wahai Orang Orang Red Shirt on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Wahai Orang Orang Red Shirt, tengok betapa bodoh anda. Kerajaan nak naik harga lagi dan anda bodoh sangat tak boleh tengok.

Pandai buat bising pasal kaum lain. Kerajaan tipu anda pun you buta tak boleh tengok.

Ketuanan bodoh ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 53
          • Farghmee on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Im just sticking with the topic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Orang Kampung on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Pura2 tak faham

• Let us Subsidise Rich Arabs on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Malaysians kena tipu big time. Every single model in the Proton line is sold for half the price in Saudi countries.

We Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs. When we pay RM60,000 for a Waja for example, the super rich Arab pays RM30,000 for the same car but with higher spec, more airbags and more safety features.

Why is a Malaysian Made car, Made for the people of Malaysia, being sold so high in Malaysia?

The whole purpose Mahathir gave birth to Proton in 1985 was to give an affordable car to fellow Malaysians. Proton cannot hide by the fact that taxes are high.

The spirit Proton was created was to help Malaysians. That is the whole reason of its inception. But it is not helping Malaysians. Because of Proton, all other car brands have artificially been going higher for the past 30 years. They have been strictly told to do so.

And parallel, the Proton car price also have been going higher as well to follow suit the other brands who have been strictly directed to sell at a high price.

So, what is the purpose of Proton’s inception in 1985? It is not helping the rakyat at all because, as we know, globally, car prices are so low and cheap.

It is high time we question, whether Proton needs to close down or not. Proton defeats its purpose of birth. In 1985, Mahathir promised everyone that the car would be cheap and affordable to everyone.

Well, the car is cheap in Saudi, at 50% the price. Why can’t we benefit from this price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 27
          • RoadRage (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:42 pm

None of their cars are taxed silly, if proton raises up the price tag, the price would come close to other reputable bigger makes and that makes no business sense. I dont think you’re a fool, but what’s my opinion compared to that of thousands of others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Jack Daniels on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:20 am

Good one. I’m not sure why people are disliking this. Maybe they are naive proton supporters that couldn’t accept the fact that their cars are overpriced. Naive people whom still rely on a useless brands just because they are more familiar with it, although there are much better brands for them to chose. WAKE UP LAH PEOPLE. HARD EARNED MONEY GOES DOWN THE DRAIN AND I BET BEFORE YOU CAN FINISH PAYING YOUR LOAN, YOUR PROTON CAR GIVES YOU ALL KIND OF TROUBLE . COME ON LAH DISLIKE MY COMMENT BECAUSE PROTON SUCKS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • exsis duty on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:36 pm

it because our government tax all vehicle 70% cukai eksais plus sales tax (10%) or GST (6%) for now. even P1 and P2 been tax this much. different with import car to Malaysia is p1 and p2 don’t have to pay import tax ( 20%-30%).

while arab do not charge this kind of taxs.

proton didn’t subsidies the arab but we the one subsidies the government. no matter what kind of car brand we use.

• Adhere to malaysian standard first la. You think malaysian still can accept spending all annual leaves at service ctr meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Halif on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:14 am

Why some Iriz owners change fuel pump? A common faulty parts for a brand new car?

• RoadRage (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Wasting your time and money on a hooker and getting yourself “serviced” is fine but servicing your car is not? What double standard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • I must say i like the looks of this design and i cant think of any other concept that looks like this.
    But the small rear cabin tells me that this pick up is based on an old car chassis like the old ford ranger…..well done cheapos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
  • Aaron on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:16 pm

way to go. good luck

• ‘Tun Mahathir commented that “now with the (Malaysian) currency down, import and material costs are higher’

Then it’s time for Tun Mahathir to initiate a meeting with Bosch…. ;)

How about setting up a production line for common rail fuel injection systems here? Bosch is in Malaysia since decades already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • alldisc on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Euro 5 is not about performance lah TUN. Is abt exhaust emissions. It is about how motorists polluting the air with unseen particle of carbon dioxide/monoxide.

And I have doubt about campro engines not able to comply with euro 5. It is not about mechanical. It is more about the programming. How much fuel is injected, duration, air flow rate, design of catalytic converter and so on and so forth.

Anyway, good luck with meeting euro 5 emission. Hopefully during that time, there won’t be euro 7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • Farghmee on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Tp kdg2 hardware limitation jugak kn.
      Sbb tu nk donor enjin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Perodua Vios on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:13 pm

That’s why VW and Audi using “defeat device” since 2009

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • winwin on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:30 pm

That is only apply for VW diesels. Petrol engines are not too difficult to comply with Euro 5

• Tun is more clever than u bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Hoonta on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:42 pm

No Tun, no one thinks proton is cheap and nasty. Just that no one thinks of proton at all, especially when theyre car shopping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • spongewai on Oct 03, 2015 at 5:43 pm

if our PM resign, the currency will be balance and fair but you see our situation worse and worse

haih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Matchy on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Finally… a more expensive Proton! They just eliminated a reason why Proton still exist… a nice nail in the coffin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • Now you (Tun M)know why countries that dont have a big population and 3rd world dont simple just start a national car project just for ego feeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:12 pm

wah price must go up? better idea. close shop let toyota take over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • no one on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Lol..toyota fanboy came in..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:43 pm

better than u proton jaguh kampung nothing better to do but donate all his money to proton while coming here everyday to upvote proton posts

• MitchelJohn on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Diam lah samloo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • RoadRage (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Over my dead body, but with takata airbags.. I don’t think that day will come

• Norman on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:37 pm

For a start,Just buy turbo diesel engine from Hyundai Korea(1.7/2.0/2.5)..Price is slightly cheaper than European ones.Diesel car market is huge especially India,UK and other European countries.

• priceTag on Oct 04, 2015 at 7:04 am

Kimunchi…cant last long. Engine detoriate faster then proton engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • bryan lee on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:03 am

Not sure how ya get to the fact Korean car engine worn out faster. I using a 13 yrs old Hyundai Matrix and it works well till date.

• Possibly they won’t sell their engines to competitors?

What car manufacturer besides Hyundai/KIA is allowed to use Hyundai engines?

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Sikit2 close shop, sabar gagal 21 kali bukan bermakna kita gagal terus tapi kita belajar jadi matang.Mungkin Proton sedang lakukan yang maksimum utk capai apa yang ada sekarang ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • Orange on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Aren’t our cars expensive enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Proton mmg patut TUTUP Kedai. Itu saja komen org2 bijak pandai. SABAR….bagi Proton berusaha belajar dari kelemahan2 yg lepas dan jadi matang. Gagal 21 kali bukan gagal TOTAL sampai kena tutup kedai. Sebaiknya anak jati MALAYSIA support Proton bukan pandai komen saja. Proton Usaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
    • Yes, let’s pay more money to Proton or until Proton suck Malaysia dry. If not, how to support? That’s anak jati, right?

• andrekua on Oct 03, 2015 at 6:53 pm

More expensive higher tech? Remove the import duty and we will have high tech affordable cars easily available.

• Ulkamikup on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Please tun…ask proton to make a shopping cart only. Stop doing a car. Please..please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • TalkToMyHand on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Another ‘logical’ reason to cover up his actual aim to increase the car price. After 30 years proton only know how to bring up ugly concept vehicles and still need the gov to keep his ass protected, implementing heavy duties on import vehicles and force the rakyat to buy expensive low quality vehicles. Proton needs to stop dreaming about producing high end vehicles and cheating the rakyat about how good proton is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Rosdi on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:32 pm

I believe this. This is not VW.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:33 pm

to be honest tun, would you really buy a proton if you are looking for a car?. i think 98% of malaysian would prefer to put their money for an audi/merc/bmw/lexus/infiniti.

who would buy a wooden pondok house priced like a big mansion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • MrNyx (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Is this the reason why we still using below Euro 5 petrol?

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:00 pm

No, the main reason is
      1. For petronas to adopt from euro 2 to euro 5 is not as simple as making adjustment at the refinery station or changing the program and press ENTER.
      But petronas need to built an entirely new refinery, which is not cheap. Costly even to the the rich petronas group.

Shell, caltex and the rest think why want to spend money when petronas reluctant to.
      BHP however gets its supplies from Singapore and over there they are already euro4.

Hope this info helps

• MrNyx (Member) on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Thanks for explaining but why don’t they straight go upgrade to the latest euro standard that is using by the Germans?

Like the government which had announced petrol companies to use euro 4 petrol now and euro 5 after 2020. Based on what you’ve said just now, cost seemed to be the primary concern but why don’t they just upgrade the fuel grade to the latest one?

• Proton boliaw on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Stupid statement by Tun M….

If local car oredi expensive, might as well buy other models….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
  • Henry on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Make this pickup truck and I will buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Mekanik on Oct 04, 2015 at 11:05 am

Enjoy wasting your annual leaves for repair than actual driving time.

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:03 pm

A normal double cab 4×4 pick up truck easily weight in at 2500kg.

This project based on exora without ladder frame chassis and 4wd mechanicals we can expect to be somewhere in between 1.7-2 tonnes.

Good luck with that turbocharged 1.6 engine.

• not only 1.6 petrol engine, added with FWD.
        it can move, but not with load.

• ionlaw on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Try to avoid vw Diesel engine for now….

• Aero (Member) on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Wow, Proton plans to export the Iriz EV to Europe ? I knew it ! I mean, why not ? The only problem now is time… if it takes too long to put the Iriz EV into production, then it will already be outdated once it hits the export markets. And yet, Proton cannot afford to compromise on quality testing either. They only have one. last. chance. to try again in Europe or the U.K., they must succeed at all costs, otherwise there won’t be a second chance.

Currently, Proton exports the Iriz to Brunei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Jaguh Global on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Last Aug 2015 only 11 Proton cars sold in Thailand while in Australia only 55 cars.

• Is not all about commerial aspect.they are other things which is need to be protected.proton is now no more under gov basket.sometime to take care of something u need to let go something.we cannot win everything n everytime. Tun is not that stupid as somebody may think so. This mot his project but national project.we all malaysian must be rasional in giving our point of view.if we have any constructive idea or plan for better proton,let share together with all malaysian.talking bad is always easy rather than doing it for better improvement.

• Haze issue how…..even achieve euro 10 cant settle Indonesia haze …..

• MentalKar on Oct 04, 2015 at 8:25 am

Sebab ayat2 yang tak bermoral seperti “Stupid” lah masyarakat Malaysia belum boleh dikatakan bertamaddun. Kita boleh bagi komen tapi dgn jiwa yg bersih bg menimbulkan hasil yang baik. PROTON Usaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • kanazai2001 on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Will ev available locally????
    what is the Cozt of battery pack like???

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Battery is pack is not that expensive. Read TUN’s reasons why proton need to do it – proton cannot find a way of extending distance travel from a single charge using normal amount of batteries (example 50 PC). So they decided why not put more batteries in the car so that iriz ev can travel further?

And voila!! Increase in price.

• I talked to one of their R&D engineers handling IRIZ EV and surprisingly, much of the EV system cost actually comes from the battery.
        They din use ur normal henpon bateri material. Its slightly more exotic and definitely more expensive.

• lavenderguy on Oct 04, 2015 at 12:12 pm

imagine this..
    there was never a Proton project…
    instead we assemble cars only like Thailand…
    more pros or more cons?
    I would say more pros…
    but that is just my two cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • thinker on Oct 04, 2015 at 3:58 pm

to meet euro5 it not come with cheap price..
    i do agree with tun..the price will definitely increase..
    most of the technologies for automotive does not develop in malaysia..they not exist here..engine to meet euro 5, even the VSC system and all the ECUs is brought from outside (germany, japan)..i believe proton just join develop it..the cost and royalty that they need to pay up..
    admit it..malaysian automotive just jaguh kampong, we cant have the economies of scale, to sell abroad, have more revenues, bring in better technologies and lower down the car price..

• sowhat on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Same goes to other makers. VSC from bosch, airbags from Takata etc

• Anak Suka Malaysia on Oct 04, 2015 at 9:46 pm

You have no different from jibby lah, where is your ” rakyat diperdahulukan”? Adding safety features but need to increase proton car price? You think we really want to drive proton? If not because of you, Mr M, our foreign car will not be tax 100% n your baby Proton is well protected n cheap n we hv no choice to buy your baby, you think we want to buy such a lousy overpriced car with the power window forever malfunction?

Enough is enough la old man.

If u want to increase the price, just say so lah. With you always, rakyat diperodohkan lagi. Oh one more thing, don’t always condemn jibby la, u r the one who started all the system wat….

• Nasi Padang on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Hahaha. Who’s care bout proton have euro5 standard ??? The brand itself got no standard lar. Cmon .

• means the people’s car brand is now a past? targeting to rich man’s green earth dream instead? where’s the 1985 people’s car slogan goes?

you can produce the “green” euro5, 10 airbag car for rich kiasu man no problem. but please reproduce back an wira 1.6 for cheaper rm20k price, i’m still willing to buy 1.

• Dun worry. I got a even cheaper option for you.

Let me introduce you to the horse and buggy. Wun breakdown, no electrical failures, no power windows for you, the only whining you hear is from Old Horsey. Very low maintenance (just give it feed and water daily), and very good RV (after horse condemn can still turn into horsemeat burgers).

And all this at a very low prices of RM 18,888. Apamacam?

• camtakpro on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:20 am

You just almost described what Proton are selling now – buggy and old horse.

• normal_user on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:01 am

I am quite disappointed that Paultan.org crew involved did not dig up & expose more about their future engine plans (or perhaps due to confidentiality issues?). I know the Proton and Vendor staff there are instructed to be careful not to leak private information. But these info is not purely sensitive and it can give skeptical Malaysians (take note: blind bashers) some evidence that Proton is actually working hard to progress & improvise their products.

1. New built-from-scratch 1.3 & 1.5 GDI engines (Euro6 compliant) with NA and turbo versions as direct replacements of the campro-based CFE. Debut 2018/2019.
    2. Upgraded 2.0 NEO1 turbo (based on Petronas EO1 4cyl 2.0L) with 120+kW & 250Nm @1800rpm. Debut Perdana 2018/2019 as a single variant engine to replace Honda 2.0L & 2.4L.
    3. Two CVT transmissions from Jatco to match with those two engine families.
    4. Saga and Exora replacements are in the pipeline, using same predecessor platform but with different structural reinforcement and design. The latter (exora) is really in infant design stage.

Some of other discoveries that Tun & management should be seriously looking at:
    1. I bet that the designers have worked very hard, but when they are constrained by costs set by the top management, plus engineering and production-side limitations, they are not able to translate innovation into reality. (See why the concept pickup truck is using Exora platform & interior, and why the upcoming Perdana wheelbase remains the same?)
    2. Speaking of interior buttons tactility and dashboard feel, there are improvements, but sill far behind other car makers. They can automatically press open and close 50,000 to test the durability. But you don’t have to earned engineering degree to rate and compare the feel and touch of the dashboard, dials, buttons and a/c vents.
    3. The European-inspired dynamics and handling is not everything that buyer really wants. Stiffer absorber rebound rate means that comfort is compromised especially for the rear occupants. Test drivers realized this issue, but they said that their ‘Chief’ prefer such ‘sporty’ handling rather than plush comfort ride. It is time for the top management to discover real needs of their buyers, not by bowing to the preference of a few ‘race-spirited’ people. Moreover, this is Malaysia not Belgium or Germany which roads are smooth and well-maintained. Proton absorbers easily wear out with the ill road conditions.
    4. Proton chassis, despite its excellent Hot Press Forming construction and structural reinforcements that mirrors that of established European makes, remains heavy when compared to the Japanese. Despite reason for safety purpose, fuel consumption is seriously compromised. Get this, Honda City weigh significantly less than the Iriz, but has more interior space and 5-star Asean NCAP marks (with no HPF construction utilized). Engineers need to work really hard on lightweight construction, which ironically is the hallmark of its subsidiary, Lotus.

In a nutshell, it is time for the management to reach out to the buying public and directly listen to their needs, rather than buying in to their designers, consultants & engineers. Stop beating around the bush telling that “Malaysians want a 5 star car with 1 star price”, but work around to solve the problems listed above.

• Major difference between Euro 3, 4 and 5 petrol is Sulphur content. For EURO 3 it’s 150 ppm, for EURO 4 it’s 50 ppm and for EURO 5 it’s 10ppm.

• tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:16 am

Lol, want increase price increase la. The market will correct itself anyway.

Iriz pricier than Saga, in the end give discount RM8k. So unless you’re extremely desperate, just wait for offer.

• lighter is better on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:29 am

100% agreed.

• SHAMBA on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Hope Tun’s dream will come true n proton will emerge once again. The problem with proton is of course the quality however the most terrible exp of customer is after sales. The worst attitude n behaviour of the staff espTechinical staffs from proton behave as if like god n customer has to plead them. When we go for service request to schedule the appointment. Put under waiting list. During warranty claim process would become terrible. At the end customer lost the trust with proton n thier staffs cause improper mgmt. No monitoring n governance. Incompetente technical staffs n on top of big mouth staffs. Now the pinch started. Let us wait n see. I m still using my proton for the past 18 years n true loyal customer. Seriously I lost confident with proton. Wishing good luck.