Proton Iriz for export markets: UK first to receive cars, Australian and European markets set to follow after

PAULTAN_Proton_Iriz_Exterior_04

Proton has said that it will focus on the domestic market for six months where sales of the new Iriz is concerned. However, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has stated that the United Kingdom will be the first country that the Proton Iriz will be introduced to outside of Malaysia.

Proton is currently in the midst of engineering cars for the European market, where left-hand drive will be required as well as a host of other features necessary for approval. Recently, Proton previewed the Iriz Active concept with the ADAS system – an autonomous braking system.

This feature could be included in versions for the export market as EU road safety legislation will require cars to have autonomous braking systems in the near future in order to qualify for a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating, vehicles will have to include the aforementioned feature when the legislation gets enforced.

As for the Australian market, Proton chief operating officer Kaye Aimes told CarAdvice that the local division would “dearly love” to introduce the Iriz. Proton executives are already headed for Australia in the coming weeks to assess the local market and come to a decision.

Should everything run smoothly, the Iriz would be introduced into the Australian market by the second quarter of 2015.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• David Tan on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:49 pm

I only wish the QC don’t disappoint us. It a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Is good to enter others countries market.
      However, I hope no more high spec and low price cars for foreigner but less spec but high price cars for local!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
      • eims perfume on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Other brand has a lot of qc problem as well. its not that hard u can see at their fb pages, u can join the club website, discussion over the net..

about the spec. the market for different countries are different..

normally market in malaysia, people want cheap but want all the advance features. salary over debt ratio is high. high vehicle ownership/running price. not much specific requirement for safety.

other market people dont have much problem about the money for this small car. most of the time they got specific requirement for their local market.

if u want to blame or get mad about that, u can blame the G. not the car manufacturer. cant u see that other car brand did the same and they are taking advantage of malaysian market a lot to make money selling less equipped car but still competative price. A lot of Malaysian think that imported cars are a lot more superior than local car. why not take that as advantage

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
        • unforgiven on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:30 am

Again, the key is to make money, profit making company. What’s the timeline to achieve that? If after 5 years losing money, what are you going to do? What about more than 10 years losing money, what are you going to do if you are the one that’s working hard to earn the money and support it? How are you going to manage the money?

• driver on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:31 pm

with ADAS for the foreign market, that’s already making it a better spec compared to local.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:34 pm

that include all brand minus high end brand..

• driver on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:49 pm

having said that, I hope they would make the ADAS also available in local spec. perhaps, offer for a bolt-on option if don’t want to make it a standard across variants.

• davinden on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:04 pm

dey…i hope proton yinter India markeyt..

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:50 am

india is never going to be easy for proton to penetrate because

a. india has its own national car to protect, like Maruti, Mahindra and Tata
            b. petrol is expensive, abt rm5 per litre. therefore ppl rather use bikes… or buy cars below 1500cc. or buy diesel
            c. india govt is corrupted, much as ours
            d. even though india has abt 1.4 billion population… about 80% living in poverty. still a big market though as the balance 20% translates to 280 mil ppl

• Proton UK another fail model coming soon !! on Sep 30, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Top Gear UK overall comment on Proton :-

We don’t know what Malaysian motorists did to upset the gods, but it must have been something pretty serious, judging by the punishment they seem to be getting. Still, at least the domestic audience thinks this stuff is the norm – what on earth do they think they’re doing bringing it to the UK? Walk away.

http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Oct 01, 2014 at 9:51 am

Sembang kencang taik kuda……..

Last time told everybody, this is GSC, Global Small Car, we can launch our export model to export market immediately. Development period had been shortened after getting various grants from Gomen.

So now have to wait 6 months……how bout Indon, Thailand and Brunei….specs are the same ASEAN car??? Just retard engine for Indon and tweek Ethanol ready for Thailand……unless u dont homologate to their std maaaa…..thats why have to wait……

Ish ish ish…….

• potongfanzzzomzz on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:52 pm

First

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 41
  • Good news proton..
    wait for topgear review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Boy Racer (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Hopefully Jeremy won’t blow this one up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Jezza on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • A Guy on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Why do you crave Jezza attention? You do know that Top Gear is more entertainment than an honest to goodness journalism? I bet he’ll say this car is rubbish as well. He likes his car to be fast. In this segment nobody takes his opinion very seriously and he knows it.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Sadly, some Malaysians do take Jezza and Topgear seriously.
          I’d stick to reading reviews in this site or mags like Autocar etc. if I want an honest unbiased opinion on a car.

• stranger on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:57 pm

what about james may’s comment for the satria neo fuel cover?

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:26 pm

he loved the proton satria neo s2000 rally car. everyone seems to have forgotten that most recent appearance of proton in an episode of top gear…

• kusochon on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:15 pm

top gear is shit. better watch carbuyer for more “normal” review.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Go Go Go!
    and please do major facelift on Preeve and Suprima to match Iriz’s modern look, perhaps then the sales will be as hot as Iriz too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • latacc (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:10 pm

I am baffled by Proton’s fascination with the UK market. This is probably the toughest car market after US Federal market. The EU homologation requirement, UK requirements (insurance rating, environmental taxes etc), and cost of doing business alone has proved to be a protective wall for foreign automakers trying to break into UK.

Why not the BRIC nations? Or Arab countries flush with oil money? Or even the up and coming Asean market?

No one has every made money in UK by selling cars not manufactured in UK. Unless your name is Ferrari or Porsche.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:32 pm

It’s probably something they do to prove to the world that they can make it there. If you can make it in the UK as an automaker, you can make it (almost) anywhere as an automaker.

We’ll see then…the UK aren’t shy about bashing the car into pieces (metaphorically and literally).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm

i think like that oso..compete tough market first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • iskhalifah (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Yes agree. UK auto journos are no stranger for their blunt sarcasm (clarkson) and high expectation (autocar). If Iris can sell in the UK, I have no doubt that it can sell well in other parts of the world (except US/middle east where size matters unless its a truly chic iconic car like the Beetle).

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Heh, that’s why I added (almost) anywhere. I was thinking of the US market, where they like their cars big and their engines strong. I didn’t know that that’s the case in the Middle East as well. Thanks for that.

• Major car magazines are British publications and they are renown worldwide eg. autocar, autotrader, autoexpress, top gear etc. A good review will do wonders for the brand and sales. Its a double edge sword of course and if the reviews aren’t favourable, it can be disastrous.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:26 pm

It doesn’t matter. For it to be a true global car, Proton cannot and must not shy away from any reviewer. If the reviews aren’t favorable, they have to fix the shortcomings. Only then can they claim themselves to be a global automaker, not merely a pretender.

• Nieko on Sep 29, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Well proton has a very Spiritual attraction towards the UK & Australian markets as these where Proton’s first export market at the first years of setting up an automotive company .Its very natural that an automaker would have a hum , how should I say it um a favourite export market ie Toyota(US), Honda (UK) ,Suzuki (India) and VW also with the UK market as well …so I for one think its rather good that Proton has at least a Plan to enter the European markets ……….

Oh and just slightly out of topic when it comes to Proton’s Fan base it sure has hole lot of Euro fans Especially in countries like Germany(a Dedicated Importer Of All Proton Cars New or Old )also in Poland ,Luxemburg ,Belgium ,Netherlands ,Greece and Some parts of Mother Russia …..So yes Proton can succeeded in the Euro Market if and only if they set up a CKD Operation and the cheapest Euro Nation is non other than Romania ,Chezch . Rep ,and also Cyprus ……..

Ahh and just to add did you guys know that there are Proton Cars Like the Waja CPS and Persona, Gen 2 found in Believe it or not
      NORTH KOREA and its owned by non other then North Korean Premier Kim Jon Ong……..There is an image of the car in the Net …….Just type Proton cars in North Korea and you will get a Shock of your life …….

• Annoynimouse on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:40 pm

The UK market is more diversified then one would imagine. Not everybody go for the big marques or the usual toyotas, hondas and kias. I see lots of Proton cars here driven by locals despite the bad reviews it received. Who knows, if they get it right, they might improve their sales here with the Iriz.

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:58 am

because, in the whole of europe…UK is RHD. others are all LHD.

second, its where english is spoken making it easier to understand. proton officials dont wanna go to countries with difficult slang to understand or worse… not a single word of english (France, Italy)

3rd. France and Italy are fond of their own car makers like Citroen, Peugoet, Renault. and Fiat, Lancia, Alfa Romeo, Maserati, Ferrari
      Germany is more open, even though they have as many manufacturers themselves like VW, Opel, Merc, BMW, Porsche, Audi…. and some that they “own” like Seat, Skoda and Lamborghini.

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:31 pm

All reply above are valid, but my guess is, it has to do with Tun M being the chairman. He is the type of facing the challenges head on now that he thinks P1 has the ammo to move forward. Or else, as per usual, Australia would have been the safer bet. And very rightly, UK is a RHD market.

Reading this means P1 has already got a Euro VI, or at least Euro V compliant engine in hand. Something that Tun probably didn’t really want to disclose (but somebody quoted anonymous P1 engineers saying the engine can comply to Euro VI emissions standard).

It’s a matter of complying to local regulations plus tuning the engine for low quality fuel. The engines can always be turbocharged to get better CO2 emission. The reliability and simplicity of maintenance could be the first and foremost reason for local Iriz specs (lesson learnt from P2 and own experience of CFE problems)

• iloveiriz on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Poor design, look like everything is slapped on. Do proper homework please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 66
  • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:31 pm

depends, perhaps UK and Australia is Malaysia’s preferred trade partners with lower tax, maybe they already have FTA, or simply because Proton already have distributors there. Next is probably China because they have JV with Youngman. As you said, it’s not easy for Proton to go into whichever country they like. So make use whatever they have first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Short Change by Protong Again for Iriz !! on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Proton is currently in the midst of engineering cars for the European market, where left-hand drive will be required as well as a host of other features necessary for approval.

An autonomous braking system feature could be included in versions for the export market as EU road safety legislation will require cars to have autonomous braking systems in the near future in order to qualify for a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating, vehicles will have to include the aforementioned feature when the legislation gets enforced.

So what are we over here, rakyat Malaysia is given lover class safety test by ASEAN NCAP so these features don’t have to be put in for our local cars …so much for focusing on safety but looks like Protong is still doing it again even after 30 years …still short changing rakyat Malaysia with lower quality cars and less safety all because our country does not look at this safety features !!!

Stupid protong at least don’t mention this areas, you make the upcoming owners feel short changed & better still all the talk about safety, our local’s get’s bare minimum but for the white folks they get everything & here is the best of all, the iris sold in UK market will be still cheaper than here with all the full safety features installed …… Bang for your buck …..but looks like protong still screwing with the rakyat !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
    • Akulah on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm

For a while I tot u were talking about Toyota Vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:46 pm

less safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Proton already give you 6 airbags, ABS, ESP, Hill Assist, Isofix, rear cam, GPS and so on even though those are not mandatory in Malaysia. You compare that to what offered by Perodua and Toyota… who’s screwing the rakyat?
      Now the price for full-spec Iriz is just a little more than Myvi, people already complaining that it’s expensive. try add that ADAS and price increase by 2-3k more, what would you say?
      Axia basic vs Advance price differ by RM20K but give nothing more but accessories, you don’t complaint?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
      • Really on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:21 pm

It’s a malaysian thing to complain for complaining’s sake. Proton is already providing class-leading safety for the iriz yet there are still that complain it’s not enough.

Proton can put all the bells and whistles into the iriz, but then they will complain about the high prices. It’s as if to them just because its proton, it got to be sold at dirt cheap price with everything included. And then they gonna complain the cost-cutting done to get the low price. It’s almost never ending.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:10 pm

It’s ok, though, if the criticisms are at least constructive, well-informed and stem from sound judgement.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

An autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system has become quite an essential safety feature in Europe starting 2014. May soon even be mandatory since they’re requiring it now in commercial vehicles.

http://www.popsci.com/cars/article/2012-08/europe-requires-autonomous-braking-technology-all-commercial-vehicles-sold-next-year

EURO NCAP requires it now for a 5-star rating.
      http://www.autoblog.com/2012/06/15/euro-ncap-will-soon-require-auto-braking-for-five-star-safety-ra/

These systems aren’t cheap as they require a detection system (either cameras, radar, LIDAR [radar using light], or a combination of the aforementioned) for distance detection but in order to compete in Europe, these systems are necessary. Otherwise, they can give up on Europe altogether.

If these systems were included in Malaysian cars, I don’t think the public is ready to pay a premium for this kind of system in “just a Proton”. It’ll definitely be more expensive than the MyVi if they included this.

I disagree also that Proton just gave the bare minimum to Malaysians in the Iriz. How can you call their VDC system (which includes Hill Hold Assist as well as ESC) bare minimum? Bare minimum would be the P2 Axia basic spec: 2 airbags, no ABS.

Objectively speaking, you’re out of line. The automotive safety level in Europe is in a whole other world compared to the ASEAN region. From my perspective, they’ve changed their shortchanging ways but this step is necessary since they’ve decided to compete in Europe. I do hope that one day Proton will offer these options locally but costs will definitely be jacked up. Do you expect them to offer this system for free? I think offering it as a cost option is feasible in Malaysia because, honestly, not everyone can afford it or is willing to shell out money for it. Many won’t even trust this system yet so if they include it, it’ll just drive potential buyers away due to the increased price.

Plus, think about it. They’re still developing the European version of the Iriz. I say, let them be the guinea pigs. Test the car first, iron out all the bugs in the system and THEN offer it to countrymen, if not in the Iriz, then perhaps future models.

My RM4.99.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:39 pm

*Let the Europeans be the guinea pigs.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:04 pm

now it’s just a prototype… maybe they will include this in Iriz Active?

• A Guy on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Point is we live in a middle class country. Stop asking for Proton to give this and that. of course one can always ask for better quality, services and all but if you start comparing yourself to say another European country than you really need to get your priority right. forget about cars, our infrastructure, economy and salary won’t match theirs so what do you think is going to happen in our automotive industry?

• Proton is cheaper outside coz different tax structure

• what?..only 5 comments? wheres all the Proton bashers?

• Empire on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Proton basher at school right now….tunggu mereka balik sekolah la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Proton better have more options for add safety features for local IRIZ on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I guess they don’t bother to inform all the safety features and don’t want to include them for the local production as the cost will be too high but at least proton should give it as options for those who really want all the additional safety features, to be able to purchased them separately.

That’s just good and logical thinking and it shows that proton cares for our people.

Truth be told, I would rather spend a bit more money on the Iriz whom has obtained 5 star Euro NCAP as I know the iris is a safe compared to all the conti-cars in this segment whom also get 5 star Euro NCAP.

Proton, better quickly make all your additional features and safety optional for the people to select them, cost wise, play it smart and price it right to make sure its fair for our people to pay them. This is a big oversight which many have voices out over the pass models sold locally versus the same models sold overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Ask Toyota and other auto makers too, at least Proton Iriz with VDC is better than those |Vios without VSC

• kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:57 pm

that just an excuse by you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • krokodailhanter on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:06 pm

my opinion, just sell to whatever country got Kia n Hyundai. If the brands have good sales there meaning that P1 also may have good prospect there with Iriz. Hoping to see vast quantity of sales by Proton..thus we will get better n better car after Iriz..

• krokodailhanter on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Im not saying P1 is less or equal to Kimchi car but since i believe Iriz is better than current Kimchis, they may have better sales over kimchis. thats why…

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:06 am

there are not many countries where hyundais and kias are popular.

in south korea definitely they are. in india, hyundais are quite popular.

they both still make up as the middle range cars for middle group ppl.

so desperate is Kia for ar sales, they are offering 7 years warranty in UK.

Toyota – 5 years warranty, also UK

• jamal on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:07 pm

i think better export to 3rd world country. less competition. europe got money to choose better cars.

• Low Budget on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Agree, not only do the Europeans have more money they are also more fussy, with the slightest hint of safety infringement by the car maker and they will sue the car maker kau-kau.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:24 pm

i went to the showroom yesterday,the salesman did say delieveries for the 1.6 variant will commence after feb bcos they are ramping up production for the export market,the 1.3 can get within two months….so most 1.6 is made for export…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Observer on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:11 pm

What you talking abt bro? Either you are lying or or been lied to…. delivery for IRIZ will start on October even for the 1.6L Variant… read! PROTON gonna focus on domestic market for 6 months before exporting the cars… duh…

• nabill (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 12:00 am

Why da F wd i be lying??
        as i said, i was told by da salesman… Jln ampang proton showroom…
        Look for mr Kani if u have any balls to verify…
        Hard not to say any expletive to ur coment

• Lim Kal Die on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Then, it is still better than Azia coz yesterday the salesman told me I have to wait for 30 months for the basic version but if I order Advan Edition, next week can get already coz most of them cancelled the order…. I dont know why.

• Really on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Is it because there is a new car which is bigger and safer just launched? For the price of the Axia Advance you still got only dual airbags and ABS EBD. You mostly pay for the accessories in the Axia, which can easily be installed aftermarket. Stuffs like stability control and hill hold assist are not available aftermarket.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:39 pm

As i mentioned over in the Asean NCAP thread, Asian life seems to be cheaper than Europeans, because in order to feel at par, we lower the safety test standard so that all cheap cars can get 5 star rating. This is like lowering the standard for education so that more locals can get one but its not recognised overseas. We already see many here arguing on which local car is safer based on this new “degree” standard. Syiok sendiri because in a crash it doesn’t bother if you follow Asean NCAP or Euro NCAP standard. The crash follow Newton’s Law standard. You just need to crash at 5kmh above the test speed to render all ratings useless. So unless you drive at below 60kmh all the time, such ratings are pretty useless for yr health except to make you feel good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:55 pm

1 of most ridiculous comment regarding NCAP crash test that i read..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:06 pm

One question:

Do you brake when you notice that you’re about to crash?

• Observer on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Bro, please go and read on what is NCAP before you comment… and see what are the difference between EuroNCAP, ANCAP and ASEAN NCAP… really make yourself sound stupid there… btw IRIZ is not being sold in euro yet or australia….. EuroNCAP only rates cars that sold in European Market… And ANCAP for cars sold in Australian Market…. On the speed of the crash… all NCAP normall using speed around 64 kmph, this is normally speed when crash happened, considering the driver hit on the brake before the crash. crash at 100kmph….even 5 star EuronCAP car won’t save you…

• slewe on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Asean must start somewhere then go stricter

• Gen X Age Driver on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:40 pm

You are confuse as I can see your age tell’s it all, if I’m driving a current 5 star Euro NCAP and even above 60kmh and I’m going to hit or crash into something, my autonomous braking systems which is already fitted in will brake my car or stop it completely before it crashes….while your Asean NCAP 5 start car will still crash even if your below 60kmp resulting in an accident. The whole purpose of straighten and stronger Euro NCAP standards is to prevent an accident thus avoiding Newton’s Law standard !! Hope you feel younger now after this explanation.

• Yeah…. thats good, thats good. Congrats proton! Congrats DRB! Congrats Tun M!

So can we have the protection removed then? I don’t want anything else, just a import tax free car market. Level playing field

• Albert lee on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Proton can’t even command 1% share of the Aussie car market.You know why?and have you been to Australia?
    In Perth alone,I have seen huge dealerships with big parcels of land where hundreds of new cars are available at your whims and fancies.
    They have Japanese,continentals and Holden and a whole lot range of cars that will mesmerise buyers,at bargain competitive prices.
    They don’t practice ‘perlindungan”.
    Proton,before you venture overseas,kindly improve your QC and suppliers capabilities.
    Just look at the 3 central “knobs” at dashboard of Iriz.IT looks and feels CHEAP.Also the horrible gear stick that in Chinese looks like ‘chi sor kuan”.Cant Proton copy Toyota’s simple gear stick?
    Fight your battle here first at the foothill of Gasing Hill before thinking of assaulting Mt.Everest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • AMG POWAAA on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:52 pm

UK people will not satisfied with this car due Mile per gas (MPg),co2 emission,0-100km/h figure,handling,torque and power. This car will be forgetten by them and bankcrap!! People just wanted 0-100km/h under 10 second!!!!!!! POWAAA!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:06 pm

they already said they will get a different engine for Europe.

• Gen X Age Driver on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:47 pm

So Mofaz you think the different engine applied for Iriz being sold in Europe will account for anything in terms of Mile per gas (MPg),co2 emission,0-100km/h figure, handling, torque and power. The engine is not even proven, unheard technology, considered old engine tech and protong wants to take on all other conti-cars in this segment with a wow different engine !! Your a blind fool and let’s see the results of car sales in the UK next year from proton….let hope TopGear get’s Iriz into their test, haha can already predict what its going to happen final test, the car will be blown up to pieces !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:21 pm

dumbass… read few articles back, few days ago. they will use engine from other manufacturer. rumor has it that they will use Honda’s or might be diesel from China JV… diesel is popular in Europe. wait and see rather than bashing here. what if your prediction is wrong? can we blow you to pieces instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 7:40 am

Proton made the statement that they’ll be sourcing a Euro6-compliant engine from another manufacturer for the Iriz versions bound for regions with emission restrictions above what their “new” engine is capable of. That includes Europe.

A different engine will naturally mean different mpg and co2 emissions as well as possibly different torque and hp values. Shouldn’t affect handling too much, unless they use an aluminium engine which is lighter and will, thus, positively affect handling.

• AMG POWAAA on Sep 30, 2014 at 3:29 pm

I think its very stupid because why not make that engine for all markets and we Malaysian just get shitty engine wth no power? Thank you very much Proton…

• Sourcing for engine? What happen to the “wait-till-the-petronas-engine-enter-production”?

• mim (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Most likely they will source Japanese or European turbodiesel engines for the European Iriz.

Proton have the capability to make newer engines but that takes a lot of time and they can’t afford to lose the chance of biting a little chunk of EU market.

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:14 am

guys.. guys…

mpg stands miles per gallon, not miles per gas. dont you all know abt that? how young can you all be??

do you know that if u drive a car with high CO2, you will be charged a congestion toll?

man!

• The people are more interested on how much cheaper Proton is selling to these countries. Not which country receive the car first.

• axiah on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Why top variant of Axia dun have VSC? At 43k Iriz can have one. Price different is small.

Whhyyyyy?

WWWhhhhyyy?

WWWhhhhhyyyy?

• Yah…proton also got power window…..

that doesnt work half the time. So what is so good about proton’s vsc?

• Proton UK another fail model coming soon !! on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Yea, I totally agree, proton has a bad rap/image for in the UK for years, it has never ever amount to anything, those who bough the cars were using them as scrap metal junks to ferry garbage and worst off some many of these cars has been abandon to be recycling plant !!

These new Iriz car wont amount to anything in the UK as the competition of other car makers in this segment is way ahead in terms of technology, safety equipment and also being able to customize the car in many ways, all proton has is 1 variant which they will end up promoting / selling for new buyers, where you only need 1 pound to put down payment to buy a new proton car in the UK !! They did that promotion for their previous proton models in the UK but still no sales !!

If I were proton, forget UK market, look at you own region in South East Asia, you might have a fighting chance to compete !

• kzm (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 12:07 am

u know those bad image of p1 in UK?..

• Proton UK another fail model coming soon !! on Sep 30, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Top Gear UK review of the Proton Savvy :-

Overall Verdict by Top Gear :-
        “What the hell happened here? It looks like someone cracked the designer over the head half way through the job.”

What is it?

Truly awful, but we are grateful to Proton for reminding us of how good every other small car on sale in the UK is. We suggest you try buying one of those instead.

Driving

Despite low kerbweight and a short wheelbase the Savvy doesn’t drive positively at all. There’s far too much body roll for starters, and it’s all too easy to reach the outer limits of grip.

A claimed top speed of 99mph is moot. You’d need to have nerves of steel or an unlimited supply of Mogodon to get there. And it’d help to be stone deaf.

On the inside

The Savvy is budget even by Proton’s standards, and the terrible mish-mash of design ideas and cheap plastics is flung together without much though. The steering wheel, for instance, is so crudely moulded that it actually hurts to hold for any length of time.

The only thing we can think of that the Savvy has going for it is that it has five doors and enough room in that rear for a couple of kids. And the boot is passable too. But that doesn’t improve its standing against the competition one iota.

Owning

It’s cheap to buy, but won’t seem it when you sell it for absolute peanuts a couple of years later. Insurance group three is impressive, but then who would want to nick this?

http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton/savvy/verdict

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I’m equally perplexed why Proton still insists on getting into the UK and Australian market. Seems like they are spending a lot of money with little returns.

Proton’s reputation there is just as bad as The Koreans were a few years ago. If you are talking about horrid Korean depreciation, Protons in overseas markets fare even worst.

If foreign sales is what Proton needs, there are a host of other countries they can try first.

While I think the Iriz is a vast improvement, I still think Proton still needs a lot of work before they can be more competitive at those “first world markets”. Its be fighting neck and neck with the Polo (and not our locally cheapened one either), Fiesta, Corsa, the PSA twins, the host of other VW group clones and Japanese superminis.

One single good model isn’t going to turn its fortunes in UK and Australia.

• Albert Lee on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:51 pm

DSM,thanks for enlightening the Proton fanboys.
      In UK,Australia…remember” PERLINDUNGAN” is a curseword and never practised.There are virtually no taxes like what we are ‘hantam with” in our boleh land.
      Proton should try Somalia,Sudan,Sierra leone,Nigeria,Republic of Congo and dilapidated countries where critics do not drop cars like Jeremy Clarkson did to the kelisa.
      Bradder,even pirates have money to buy cars,dont you ever belittle them,alto morally their money stinks.And dont worry,Protons are immune to Ebola virus.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Somalia,Sudan,Sierra leone,Nigeria,Republic of Congo and dilapidated countries?

Most of these people can’t even afford to own bikes (except of Nigeria).

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:20 am

i must agree with you 4G63. should proton wants volume

China has abt 1,500 million ppl (or 1.5 billion)
      India has abt 1,400 mil ppl
      Indonesia has about 250 mil ppl
      Thailand has about 70 mil ppl.

except china, the rest are all RHD markets. but also… 70% in poverty.

• Of course they love to going in to these market. Otherwise where got opportunity to “test” the car at uk?

• komen berfakta on Sep 30, 2014 at 1:30 am

proton tengah syok sendiri.
    tengah bermimpi di siang hari…

proton ingat kereta ni boleh jual kat luar? dalam mimpi boleh la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • What engines they will use?

EURO 6 is in place in the EU since 1st of September 2014, meaning EURO 4 Iriz cannot be sold in the UK any more.

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:17 am

euro 6 for petrol is still in the planning, at the moment euro 6 is still the same as euro 5. except for diesel where euro 6 is stricter.

but yeah, if proton cant catch up with euro 5 – that is just pathetic. no one will dare to mention abt this other than Dr.M

• Proton should implement this technology to domestic market for cheaper price and make it standard for highline proton car.

• ss427 on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:23 am

Jeremy, I am so looking forward to your upcoming Top Gear episode when you test this Proton Iriz LOL… Getting ready popcorn and a good laugh..

Proton, try selling in SG market la. You Iriz will prob cost SG$110k in today’s COE climate, yes the price is very close to the new Jazz 1.5RS, that’s becos your Proton is ANYTHING BUY CHEAP when you leave your gov nonsensical protection policy.

If your dear Preve can cost more than the current Kia Forte 1.6SX in SG… you Iriz will prob cost around there too.

FYI, to all Proton supporters here, your Proton sold a grand total of ZERO cars in SG in 2014! Only 1 were sold in 2013.

Seriously we have far more Lambo sold in SG than Proton.

I guess sales will be better when the Iriz arrives here. Maybe Proton will sell 2 cars in 2015…hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Garfield (Member) on Oct 03, 2014 at 11:48 am

Even though P1 sales in Singapore is pathetic, ur attitude in lying is even more shameful. Exaggerate all u want, but don’t lie. A quick check shows P1 sold a paltry 4 cars in 2014 so far:

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M03-Car_Regn_by_make.pdf

Sorry I can’t prove your claim for 2013. Yes, the figure is pathetic. But I was surprised that in the last one month I saw 2 Singapore registered Proton in KL. I was actually thinking which stupid Singaporean drives a Proton; when a car is not cheap they will carefully choose the car they can buy. A partial data told me at least 56 Protons were registered in 2012 (I can’t find for 2013).

Turns out there’s proof there are stupid people in Singapore after all…..

• Too much focus on the 1.6 premium and leaving only bones for the 1.3 variants. Even test cars for 1.3 is manual which give the impression that the auto may be underpowered. Proton must not forget that bread and butter is 1.3. Features like fog lamps, front seat back pockets, driver’s vanity mirror, seat groceries hooks, auto fold side mirrors, front parking sensor and chrome for front grill should be given to the 1.3 executive to attract the mass market.

• shame on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:34 pm

just wait for another humiliation by the foreign car commenter, trust me the cars will be imported back and expose in crap price in Malaysia 2 years later. Best advice, if you really like Iriz, wait another 2 years to buy these call-back Iriz from outstation. They are normally better spec, higher quality and also cheaper!

• Anak Malaysia on Oct 01, 2014 at 12:36 am

nak export?Better tak payahlah rasanya, maaf,simple contoh, kereta proton ni lebih 10 tahun berkarat sana, berkarat sini!Jerawat sana, jerawat sini, banding kereta kancil saya dah 12 tahun parking berjemur hujan panas, cat jea nampak mati. Improve kualiti dulu then dlm negeri pun orang akan beli dan proton tak menang tangan untuk fill up order. Better spec tp kualiti kureng…babai!

• Proton38 on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Proton sucks!

Since years, only planning! Where is proton? Only in UK! In other European countries is no proton for sale, what do they want!
    There are now in turkey for sale but the interest for the brand is zero! Because they could not bring the new models…
    Where is the Preve, Exora or Suprima? Only the old-dated gen2 and gen2 sedan are on sale! Saga was on sale for a short time because of very very low sales.. Arena and waja, too!
    Since years proton tells that they are trying a new diesel engine (since 2004) for EU market but the result: Nothing, lady’s and gentleman!
    If you don’t make your homework, you cant get up your class! Proton is like a lazy student, only talking but no action.
    We get enough of plans and talks and all the same idiot promises but every year broken promises. To hear this sh.t again and again gets bored…

• marcel on Sep 28, 2015 at 11:16 am

It hasnt entered the Australia market yet. By the time it enters it will be stale and no one will want it.