Proton Iriz Active concept unveiled with crossover looks, high-tech additions – production possible

IRIZ-ACTIVE-TUNM-3

Just yesterday, we posted renderings of what an Iriz-based crossover might look like, even christening it the Irox. Well, just moments ago, Proton chairman – Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad has unveiled a concept based on the Iriz at the ‘Alami Protonevent. Dubbed the Proton Iriz Active concept, it previews what could be a production version of a more rugged Iriz and is aimed to invoke a sense of “freedom of mobility”.

Designed to show what the Iriz platform is capable of, Proton intends to parade the car as a new challenger into the mini-SUV segment. Before you rush out to your nearest Proton showroom, let it be known that, at least for now, the car is just a concept as Proton intends to gauge public reaction before making the next step. Should response towards the concept be positive, Proton will proceed on putting it into production.

Proton_Iriz_Active_concept_001

Exterior wise, the Iriz Active concept comes with full body cladding and has an increased ground clearance of 30 mm – considerably more than the normal Iriz hatchback. The eye-catching paintwork consists of a combination of what Proton calls ‘Earth Grey’ and ‘Orange Zest’ scheme.

From the front, the most prominent change at first glance is the new brightly coloured grille, where Orange Zest accents have replaced the chrome finishing. Roof rails are decked out in silver and the blacked-out C-pillars help Proton achieve that ‘floating-roof’ design’.

The wheel design features a new direction as it aims to make the car look “active when stationary”, according to one of the designers. The concept is shod with Toyo Proxes T1R tyres with the rim dimensions measuring at 205/45/R17.

At the rear, the concept comes with fog lamps and the rear turn indicators are now designed to bridge the panel gaps between the rear shoulder line and the boot panel gap. Prominent tow hooks are also found on the back of the car, again adding to the ‘Active’ mantra.

Another feature that stood out at the rear is the repositioning of the rear view camera, which is now just below the Proton badge. The reason for the move is that the new rear view camera actually replaces the rear view mirror with a “live” LCD monitor inside.

Proton has collaborated with Korean technology giant, LG, on the development of the car’s electronics and lighting system. It now features a new lighting system dubbed NEXLIDE. Electroluminescent film strips replace the LED daytime running lights – which have now been incorporated into the headlight assembly. The LED turn signals are also repositioned, this time being integrated into the bumper.

The added benefit of this new system is, according to Head of Design at Proton, Azlan Othman, is that Proton is able to shape new eccentric designs for their lights with less effort. The interior benefits from a host of new changes courtesy of LG.

The centre console features a 13.3-inch Proton infotainment system while the traditional set of gauges have been replaced by a 12.3-inch HD display unit. A wireless charger on the centre tunnel with improved EMI reliability and integrated NFC (re-radiated antennae) and an integrated air purifier complete the added list of features.

Splashes of orange and grey on the leather seats help spruce up the interior atmosphere and tan leather door inserts complete the internal aesthetic upgrades.

The highlight is perhaps the new LG-developed ‘ADAS’ system – an autonomous emergency braking system. It employs stereo cameras mounted where the aforementioned “live” LCD monitor is and scans the road ahead for potential obstacles and pedestrians which may pose a threat. The system is reminiscent of that employed by Volvo.

Unfortunately, details under the hood are scarce as Proton has remain tight-lipped about what they plan to employ to power the Iriz Active concept. From that, we can only speculate that the company may be looking to introduce a new engine altogether – should the car ever make production.

With the new Iriz already making waves across the country, one can only hope that this design exercise gets the green light for production. What do you think of an SUV-style Iriz Crossover? Let us know in the comments below.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz Active Concept

GALLERY: Proton Iriz

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Kiong on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Haha!
    Would it be waterproof? (S4active reference)
    But anyways they should tone down on the design of the dash and the no. plate lights… And for sure, this is really good design by proton! Good job!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 237 Thumb down 5
    • riz (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Nice looks and design In and Out …
      interior infotainment so large like the new Volvo ..
      actually longer than volvo … simple yet elegance ;D
      Go Go Go Proton….
      Even the rear view LCD display ,,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 5
      • AliAhkauRamasamy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Here our big YES for you Proton. You’ve got our approval. Proceed!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 3
        • fanofthisite on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:32 pm

make it so!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
          • Asiah Lawa on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Lawa and quite a sexy design. Asiah Lawa like it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
          • Gargantia on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:34 pm

This look stunning, nice Proton please just release it now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
          • Old Beetle Man on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:02 pm

At the first glance reminds me the Kia Sportage but this is stunningly better. Awesome! My double thumbs up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
          • Tone down on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:05 pm

The orange A pillar is ugly, the stick on orange fender slots are ugly, the two orange hooks on the rear bumper are ugly. Other than that, it looks good.

If they can do a tail light design like that, why the production car doesn’t get it???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
          • riz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:45 am

Nearest competitor – Honda HRV
            hope the Iriz concept more affordable with lots of stuff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:22 am

Ah Beng so proud to be Malaysian. Good job PROTON!!
            Bashers..shuhh..shuhh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
      • Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Yes, at last Proton showing some spark of life! Come out with exciting designs like how the koreans are doing, lousy engine never mind, can improve once you have attracted a larger customer base and have more money for engine development or just collaborate like how Nissan/Renault & MercBenz are doing. Proton needs to show better design first, if desperate can hire top designers like how Kia had done, (we can afford to pay expats instead of locals anyway..perli a bit!).

See how Hyundai and Kia have captured the world market with their design, nobody cares if their engine is crap and thirsty with no power, all they remember is design, price and specs!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
        • Dua Roda Sahaja on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:01 pm

this 65k i will buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:15 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 129
          • Fake Same L0rrr on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:17 pm

KPKB. Good for you. Now shooh shooh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • Why Proton, why do you reveal the news so early. Now, some might think, should I proceed with Iriz or should I cancel the booking and wait for this awesome looking machine…

• Andas on Sep 30, 2014 at 12:31 pm

no la.. dont u think that the new owners of iriz may think, “owh, i can modify my iriz into this!!!”..

• Axia? can lah.. but it’s so bare.. and anti-snatch mechanism is a hook… come one.. P2 think we are stupid is it?

• Subaru Boxer Is The Only Flat Engine on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Looks, idea, everything good.

Just that the braking system was made by Subaru, volvo and lg copied

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
        • riz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:37 am

Subaru braking system – Good braking system
          Volvo – Safety
          No problem if wanna copy …
          The one getting all the benefit – we are
          Its not gonna copy 100% ,
          every car have their own setting depend on the weight / structure..
          BTW bro , where u got that info ? mind sharing the link? need some proof la bro …
          If using subaru 4wd , I definitely buying this car ;D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:28 am

I couldn’t find much information over the web about the exact history of the autonomous braking system but Subaru was definitely not the first.

http://spectrum.ieee.org/transportation/self-driving/autonomous-emergency-braking

It seems like Mercedes-Benz was the first to put these systems on the road in 2005. Volvo had their in 2008. Subaru seems to have developed theirs in 2008 as well.

I don’t think it’s fair to say that Volvo copied Subaru’s system. They seem to operate quite differently.

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Another +1 from me!
        Make it into production, Proton!
        But don’t be too late. I guess by the time Iriz making its way into export market, this Iriz Active should already been sold in Malaysia.
        I do like the new electroluminescent film strips that replaces the LED daytime running lights. It makes the car looks contemporary, as carmakers nowadays already using light-tube kind of lighting instead of LEDs.
        Under the hood: it’s okay to keep it lip-tight, Proton. But I hope it would be an intelligent all-wheel-drive system. Paired with good gearboxes and efficient engine. Then only Proton can move into making bigger SUVs.
        If Proton wants to be a true global player, they should not only making good spec cars, but also being proactive and remain competitive. I guess this would also be good step to face challenging years ahead: diminishing of taxes (AFTA) by 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • silapbeli on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

aduh..cunnya

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:26 pm

anyone remember Citroen DS3 racing, exactly same colour scheme. 4 years ago.

• Motorbuttt on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:54 am

I think TDM really make a jump start of the Proton…

after Iriz..then we get a Iriz based crossover…next year we will get a new SAGA..he made all of the people in proton work in faster pace..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • carlover on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Changed tail lamp to a better design will be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Tail lamps shape and the lower half of the backside too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
      • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Yes, tail lamps need to be changed, transverse in arrangement perhaps (so that the rear glass is of more traditional upper-narrow lower wider trapezoidal shape)?
        Front view: this Proton design is better than Theo’s one. Rear view: Theo’s one is better. The rear bumper needs to be redesigned (to be thicker perhaps?).
        Should not be overdone especially the entry level one. Premium one has all the bells and whistles is okay. Max 2 variants only (base & premium), both with 6 airbags + ESP.
        Don’t put tow hooks at rear bumper, most SUVs don’t have that, ugly.
        Please, raise the ground clearance by 5cm la, 3cm is alang-alang. Increase the treads and use wider rubber on the R17 alloy.
        Base model RM70k(1.6L) and premium RM80k(1.6L + CFE) at the most, don’t be too ambitious in pricing, remembering that there will be a HRV from Honda. So please manage your specs & fittings (cost) efficiently without compromising on durability (crossover should be slightly more heavy duty). And please, as a starter, don’t be too greedy wanting to become another CRV/4WD/big cc/specs>2.5L-CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Do the rear spoilers look too ‘Ah Beng’ for both Iriz and this ‘IRV’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:27 am

This design had silence the bashers..haha..Good job PROTON!! U can make it happen under Tun M!

• this is just concept.
          and of course production version will be toned down.
          that’s the purpose of CONCEPT car.. u wont be getting all the goodies.

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Just my 15cents. The crossover with 30mm elevated height should be more than enough. 50mm will make it less pleasing to the eye. For example, VW Cross Touran is only jacked up 15mm from a std Touran (not sold in Msia).

Livina X-Gear is an example of mistake when tough appearance is not matched by bigger wheels and no raised suspension. P1 R&D would have taken the consideration, even from the pics, it can be seen the wheels sits just nicely in the wheelarch; jack it higher and it will look silly. My 15cents.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Looking gud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • meng meng on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Very good looking——- when show us the concept unit…
      when selling to us, just like kene tipu.
      like our PROTON PREVE.
      some times i feel proton try to fool themself…
      GIVE US!! What you show to us your design.
      dont show cantik, jual lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Give me 1 manufacturer that make concept till production look 100% same inside out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Urzu3 on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:17 am

agreed..

when i saw Proton Tuah, i tot its gonna be my 1st car.. but Preveeeee……………

• P.Kumar on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:45 pm

If Iriz Active is the concept for Iriz, I think they succeed already. Almost every exterior look of the cars (except electronic parts)are the almost the same as the mass production Iriz… For me, it is the way for Proton to move forward. They are on the right track… congratz… :)

• riz (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:43 am

Its not only Proton doing that, almost all carmaker doing that bro..
        Only a few gone into productipn from the concept car
        only 50-80% from the concept not 100% though
        example BMW i8

If u got 100% concept design equal to production car, pls give me the link … ;D
        If u got 1 lahhh ;P

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Right now Mazda seems to be the only not overly expensive automaker that makes cars that come out veeery close to the original concept.

• Ori Motorhead on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Come out very close to their concept? Is their concept that ugly & non-creative?

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Yep. Dashboard looks really great. Can I have that infotainment with current production Iriz?

• Wantt to hear about REEV engine in this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton is a starter in high-ride vehicle. Don’t be too ambitious, why don’t you ask HRV to do that first? Be more practical la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Lolzer on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:23 pm

A bit weird for the colour, but it’s just my opinion.
    Cool concept though, futuristic too. Hope it’ll make it to the production line with a more powerful engine and perhaps water wading capabilities too, to deal with rainy seasons and floods.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Be more practical, if it is 2L CRV-sourced engine, the price won’t be cheap.
      Wading capabilities, are you asking Hilux to do what Ranger is capable of? And are you asking Proton to put a price tag at Hilux-Rush range? RM95K, oh my goodness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • Lolzer on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Lol you’re funny :)
        Are you a comedian? Maybe I’ll consider watching your shows.

• NeedForSpeedUnderground_V2 on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:26 pm

got x-over concept already arr? sweet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • jackson on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

I vote yes. Build it Proton.

Don’t falter halfway on this. Don’t give half-baked product.

You delivered Iriz. And a fine product it is. Don’t lose interest developing Iriz Active into a full product.

First quarter next year? RM70k? Take my money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:49 pm

im thinking bout the pricing..from look this aint below RM60k…Haval M4 B-seg SUV cost below RM60k..tough call if u ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

People who think wisely will choose IRV at RM70K over a Haval at RM50K.
        Proton, please pay attention to durability, as people tend to put more heavy duty on crossover/SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Willieburns on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

The great wall m4 interior is a great disappointment. Sat in an Iriz, and its much better. Looking forward to proton making proper, modern models like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

p1 should produce it n export first..local later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • brazbuz on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Diff set of headlamp n tail light will make it more prominent. But that 13.3inch proton infotainment system is just wow….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Maseratits on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:29 pm

RELEASE THIS PLEASE! IT LOOKS INCREDIBLE.

ALONG WITH THE PREVE REEV (hopefully there’s a Suprima REEV too!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:19 pm

This is concept and I think it cost much more to produce, maybe that’s the reason Tuah was never produced in its original concept look. The Iriz itself is good looking in front and side.
      And, can’t imagine this crossover is much better made than the X-Gear (Nissan didn’t do it well when transforming a baby livina into X-Gear). Proton just did it. Thumbs up.
      Remember ya, 6-airbags + ESP across the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Maseratits on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:53 pm

An Iriz based B-segment crossover SUV paired with a 1.6 turbo VVT engine will definitely be a dream come true for me.

Increased ride height, turbo power, lotus ride and handling, a plethora of safety features, plus the practicality of an SUV.

Unlike the failed Perodua Nautica, this will be an instant win for Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Lawa Giler I’m now really really in 1000% proud to be Malaysia…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
  • Eyo (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

HoLY Farking SHIT . Yeah mannn this is the ShIt i wouldnt mind owning . Price this right proton , and you might just have a winner . Ehem , and make sure never to skip on safety features .

sorry i dont usually get this excited hehe but the design is such a turn on for me . Drive safe guys :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:25 pm

HoLY Farking SHIT? i just don’t know how shit can be holy…?

• jeffery on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:45 pm

It’s basically a phrase ( correct me if i’m wrong) or how do you put it, a word people normally use in conversation to make it sound cool among each other. So hold your horses and don’t try to act too damn smart. :)

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 5:35 pm

And there’s no such thing as farking sh*t too hehe :)

It’s a phrase to express my feelings , to show how suprised i am with proton new concept . I hope i dont offend anyone with my choice of words .

Drive safe everyone:)

• just build the damn thing god damn it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Its a good thing mahathir stepped in and whipped ya’ll to work..

Looking forward to the next saga, perdana and d new 2.0 turbocharged facelifted preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm

I sincerely hope so.
      Think Proton’s factory as your own house/family ya rakan-rakan yang kerja di sana and please pasang / do your work properly. Vendor-vendor/supplier-supplier please appreciate that Proton is your periuk nasi who gives you contracts easily because you are his friends. Saling tolong-menolong la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:48 pm

keep up the good work, Proton…

thumbs up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • YES ! Build it on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I’m not a big fan of the Orange on Grey scheme, maybe a big more subdued, like Black on Grey, or Navy Blue on Grey, or White on Grey.

But the rest is just WOW, if proton can get this done around 65k to 68k, Perfect !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • reDalerT on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:22 pm

I think the scheme is just to highlight key differences and spruce it up for public viewing, seeing its still just a concept model, standard colours would make a dull unveiling.. But i wouldnt mind seeing these colours on the road :)

• kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:32 pm

The color is reverse of EMAS Country color scheme orange with a shade of grey..

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:58 pm

and that was so much more original.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Iriz#mediaviewer/File:Proton_emas_geneva_1.jpg

• Evilone on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Proton Design getting better. Great job! This Mini SUV surely awesome! Proton, not only the design, the fuel efficiency also very important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:29 pm

To me, NVH is even more important as a good NVH level / refinement give you a premium feel.
      To me CRV is lousy (sorry, it is my yardstick) so I cannot comment how much NVH lower income people can tolerate.

• Kreygasm on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

I came buckets!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Matchy on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

The interior is too concept-ish. And for the exterior, is it just a normal Iris with higher ground clearance+rugged body kit? (hope they can put more effort than this)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Cost management is crucial. And the most important thing about crossover is the height/ground clearance.
      You can sacrifice most of the thing but not the ground clearance (and the stability, thus the wider treads needed and larger rims + wider tyres).
      5cm increase in ground clearance please.

• familiman on Sep 30, 2014 at 10:37 pm

The interior is too concept-ish. <<< the article title not clear enough? "ACTIVE CONCEPT" keyword in capital for your easy reference

• the interior looks too Concept-ish.. because it is a concept-ish… have you seen other concept cars.. they all look concept-ish… :P

• elson on Sep 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

i will buy if this shit cost 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • Jimmy on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Are you from Perodua, suggesting something that will kill Proton’s very first crossover?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Why not?

BTW: The Iriz look much better with 17 inch rims.

• LoveProton on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:00 pm

WOW…..
    This is what we want…!!!! The killer porudcts that make others automaker stunning…
    Keep it up PROTON with your new and fresh ideas…
    Love to be Malaysian n Protonian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • semut on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

my first comment at here…wow..wow.and wow… The true colour of proton for the future…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • annonymous on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Great concept by PROTON! Go for it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • muixxium on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Just make it fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Just build this. OmG this is surely a win for proton if they can make it on sale

• Sanfun6 on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

This is so cool! This one get my big YES vote!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Ooooh, unexpected but welcome nonetheless.

The gray and orange scheme looks really darn good but there is just one part where I dislike. The lower air intake orange inserts sort of gives the impression that the car has lips. Other than that, looks pretty darn good. Looks good on the inside as well with the yellow colored leather. Also, people might have probably noticed this but the colored inserts in the headlight cluster gives the car so much character.

I’m not sure who else thinks likewise but I am alarmed by the move towards LCD screens, no matter how high the resolution, instead of traditional gauges with needles. Call me old-fashioned but for me, there’s no replacement for seeing physical needles pointing to higher and higher numbers in the whole accelerating experience. Who’s with me?!

The electroluminescent strips look fantastic. Cool how they can be signal lights as well. I do wonder if they can stand the test of time, though.

As for powertrain, I’m assuming they’re designing an urban crossover SUV. Some might disagree but the 1.6L should be enough for that purpose. The added heft should warrant a stronger engine, though. A 1.8L should do. If Proton insists on using the 1.6L, at least turbocharge that thing. Bring in the CFE! For the gearbox, CVT is fine as long as they can refine it but I know many would prefer a conventional AT or the traditional MT.

Lastly, those rims. Those are mighty fine rims. Good color combination, imo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:39 pm

just like a telephone, i still remember using a phone with rotary dial, then we move to buttons and now we have touchscreen. some people prefer analog watch, even modern phone have option or widgets to use analog clock instead of digital one. For this car, perhaps they will have an option for a “traditional” view of rpm and speedometer on lcd screen.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 6:39 am

That’s what I’m talking about too. Digital needles on LCD screen is kind of weird for me. I prefer the look of physical needles. The needles hanging limp when the engine is sleeping, the needles coming to life when you start the engine. mmmmmm….

But I guess that’s more of a performance car thing now.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:37 pm

I think one advantages of use touch screen is that p1 can reduce physical component eg button, spring, radio. They oso can eliminate time to choose material for those kind of thing. It just like tablet, it can show what we want..Touch screen tech nowaday is more durable n cheaper to produce thanx to mobile industry..the oni concern is OS that they will powered the CPUs of the touch screen eg Android Auto, Windows Embedded , BB QNX or their own in house OS.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:15 am

Sorry for the confusion. I was talking about the instrument cluster. I am fine with touchscreen headunits.

• drCooper on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:36 pm

I m afraid i m not with u on the lcd base speedometer.even today’s so call needles n dial speedometer is actually electronically driven, replacing the truly mechanical speedo back in the old days…so hv it replace with lcd base is the way moving forward…no to mention the accuracy superiority of the lcd compared to physical gauge …that why modern aircraft use it…and fast response too…Lexus LFA rpm gauge is lcd base cause needle type can’t coupe with the rev speed.

• You forgot to mention ‘Automotive Grade Linux’.

‘Automotive Grade Linux’ is supported by LG btw… ;)

https://automotive.linuxfoundation.org/companies-participating-in-automotive-grade-linux

• DS3 iris?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • hakim on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm

the design look perfect imo. the color also match with what it supposed to be, active. never thought grey and orange color could blend well together. those sport rims are damn sexy!

pls make that headlight and rear light as Iriz accessories, i’ll be sure to change to those sexy headlight and rear light if they produced it seperately!

• terbaiklah proton, cuma colour tu mungkin kena pelbagai skitlah. cam over sgt colour orange.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • HaIrI on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Now, it justify the RM500 million R&D cost to develop Iriz platform if it can produce hatchback, sedan, suv and mini mpv. Don’t let Rakyat look down on you Proton since you have the capability to impress Malaysian with the new game changer. Get your product to be right at the first place and i’m sure there will be people who keep on supporting your vision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • jeff lim on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Omg! It’s really super cool! I’ll keep my decision for buying Iriz, I’ll wait for this fantastic mini suv instead!!!!

• yesIMmad on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:45 pm

nt sure what in their mind , really la?

like preve ; “to prove our potential into these industry” and then they slam us suprima s….

and go back to loooong ago , many interesting concept were introduced , lepas tu peram la lame2 katenye nak tg design to jadi relevan… “katenye” .

this syndrom ..sigh. cant wait their gen-3 , curious to see what kind of concept will they shows to us. but again la nanti , sure peram konsep tu lama2. Proton ni langsung tak berani , bila tgk proton emas cukup confident pamerkan LED headlamp blablabla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
  • Baja Lapis Seng on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Oh maiii, Proton is keep getting better and better *thumbs up*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • wan hasmah wan salleh on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Great job Proton…

• boring on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Showcase car. Not for sale. Dream n modify your own iriz car. But you need to buy it first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Great design, i believe proton can attract new buyer if they keep the refreshing style n design of the next production car,,,

As for small SUV in Malaysia such a cliche market and only dominated by old kembara, and overpriced peg2008, and Toyota rush, nothing impossible for this concept,,, as in city, people more prefer high seating position,, and in a.meanwhile, can bring family for a weekend picnic …

And here, I waiting patiently for next news,, hehe

• mr1031 on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:06 pm

seriously proton…release this product and it is high time to return to GWM the ‘congratulation’s’ note..hehehe

• Citreon DS3 Racing Colour Scheme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • nampaknya kena tukar pd proton..service aftersale look good now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Concept will just remain a concept.
    NOthing good will come out of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Souya Tempe on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Very good looking. Impressive with substle color. I’m looking forward to Reev version with grey and electric blue color (i8-ish).

• idealtech on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:46 pm

nice, now we can imagine future facelift that is production-possible for Iriz.

• Sarah on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Hola wala oh my goodness is this really proton. Im already thinking of buying Iriz because it is quite a bargain compared to non malaysian car. But after seeing this, if its a bargain for my money, I will definitely sell my Iriz in the future and buy this one.

• iluvpoton on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Front look look frog. Back look like myvi. Great job ! Way to go proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • RUGAL on Sep 28, 2014 at 6:56 pm

How about Perodua Bezza? Production possible too right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • ex P2 Salesman on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:54 am

Impossible. Coz it’s not Daihatsu’s whereby P2 only rebadging Daihatsu’s production cars. No more than that.

• WOW! Anyone would be wanting this for sure =D just perfect to keep up with the current trend. Are you guys gonna team up with LG for most of the gadgets? Coz you both did a darn good job =D Thumbs up!

Im commenting here to tell you YES,give it the green light,Proton.

• Good luck on using Korean technology, later they claim Malaysia as Korea soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • ehsanni ali on Sep 28, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Just proceed it proton..after that you will know that we all proud to be malaysian to drive this awesome future car. Good job. Love u PROTON.Please proceeeeeeed it.

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:00 pm

I noticed nowdays proton makes good concepts. Don’t want to sell ker? What happened to that Proton Sapphire. Can we buy that :)?

• Yeaaa.. I still remember that concept car. And yes Proton should sell that one too.. that one should be easier exterior changes n maybe a little bit interior. Proton should do like Modulo by Honda.. TRD Toyota.. etc..

For this Iriz Active, please dont delay it like the Sapphire. Hopefully it will be in the showroom by next year. Preferably with stronger engine to counter with the extra weight and taller ride. 1.6 cfe maybe.. good job Proton!

• sellhope on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:08 pm

OK you need funds to continue ambitious project but try not using govt for once

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • zamer on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Dear Proton, this time around, you deserve compliments.
    Good job!

Please go ahead and produce this funky model. Prove to us that Japs and Korean isn’t that far from us.

I have not look the Iriz yet, but i hope it will be as solid as Satria Neo. Neo is the only car that i dare to take hard corners without slowing down. Even german makes i not dare

• Hard to believe this is Malaysian car. Proud!

• lcmbryan on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:19 pm

This is the new beginning of PROTON. If this is going for production. Take my money. You really did a great job with IRIZ and this IRIZ Active.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 8:40 pm

though only concept, but it looks promising !…Make it so Proton and I might change my mind.. buys two of these for my daughter and my mistress over Jazz..

• Halim on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:12 pm

A moon roof optional will be awesome

• great job proton… please proceed to produce this small suv… i like those car with more headroom and highe ground clearance…

Actually the meters no need so fancy… unless the cost is cheaper than those normal meters / similar price…

What we need is just safe, reliable and fuel efficient car… spared parts are wide available with affordable price… Make sure the central entertainment system compatible with both iphones and android will do (many of them just support iphone)… Air cond must be cool enuf for front and back without great noise…

• Michael Chee on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Good Points :
    at last something new with good design from PROTON.

Bad Points:
    The rear view mirror replacement is abit dangerous by using LCD.

• The presenter ought to polish up his English. Curiously, why can’t he present in Bahasa if the felt it would be more comfortable & effective in conveying this break-through design from Proton? Overall nice design from Proton, keep up the good job

• PaAN89 on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:40 pm

A great design… I went on saturday where they didnt reaveal the car… I was looking forward on today (sunday) but because of family matter, i couldnt come… But this is beyond my expectation..

I have interviewed some of the designers of proton and what they say is true… It is easy to design a cars… But the difficult part is how to make it a real car… Everybody can design… But not everybody can turn it to real thing…

Concept and finished product is also not a same thing.. The thing is if they still want to use a concept model 100% to make a real car no matter what it takes, the have to put all the money into the project… The ending result will be a satisfaction, but the price also will be high as so much money invested into a single project… Sample : Land Rover Evoque and BMW X6 is a concept car converts into a real car… See how much it cost..?

What im here to say is proton boleh, Malaysia boleh!!! It is not easy but they are working very hard to make a better car for us..

And about the future Iriz crossover, they say it will be very expensive if the straight away use the concept to make production car… They will tweak and make changes to the car to make sure the price is not to high… So maybe u wont get everything u see in the pic…

• Ali Karim on Sep 28, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Great looking car. Trust it runs well also.

• azmirnordin on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Nice!!! Really cool concept design. Good job Proton!
    If the production make possible hope IRIZ will
    not use that TOYO T1R. I’ve used this tyre before
    and my car skidded off the road while moving from dry to wet condition tarmac. Scary.

• Painter on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Proton Iriz : Go the Distance
    Proton Irox : Go Wild

How about that?

Anyway, with the raised platform, is it possible to fit in flat battery to feed the REEV engine?

Interesting design. I say go for it!

• hmm..for the first time proton doing something bersungguh sungguh LOL.. not bad.

• myRIZ on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Pls produce this ASAP Proton!! And exterior-wise pls do not stray far from concept. 1.6L is good enough, unless you’re planning on putting CFE (**eyes drooling**)

and pls don’t forget R3 version of Iriz as well..

• They should get the tail light into iriz from the start..

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:28 pm

one name – Citroen DS3.

• Observer on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:56 am

First of all… the car looks nuthing like DS3… both have different styling and shapes…. second…just because DS3 has used orange stripes doesnt mean other manufacturers cannot use orange stripes… duh….

• dzulx on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Gear knob need to go.. seriously…fugly

• TheDean on Sep 28, 2014 at 10:50 pm

First, Proton should’ve kept this under wraps. It’s oddly timed (who shows off a spin-off concept a day after launch?). Consequences could be:
    (1) might dampened Iriz’s sales by those who are willing to wait.
    (2) actual launch spoiler when already shown years before production.

That said, they should’ve given us that DRL and Tailights on the Iriz.

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I had that thought too. But the reality would be the price would encroach into a C-segment car price. Those who intend to wait, actually can afford a more expensive car already.

What will most likely happen is those who bought the lower specs cars will be seen to upgrade using aftermarket accessories to mimick the more expensive car. A std ride height will make for better lowered look with bigger wheels anyway. Trust me, I look to bring my own VW Cross Touran to a std ride height coz it just looks better from overseas tuners pictures.

• shawal on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:06 pm

replace the orange bits with metallic red
    lower the car
    paint it white
    with race flag racing livery and red roof

voila…Iriz R3, with 1.6 CFE under the hood fixed to a 6 speed manual box…

to take on the peugeot 208 GTi

• frossonice on Sep 29, 2014 at 10:39 am

I don’t mind the take out that dashboard and put in a normal one, that rear view mirror also can go, put a proper rear view mirror. But don’t you dare remove that delicious 13″ screen!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:09 pm

OMG…so ah beng looking typical of these youngsters. I ‘m not surprise to see Iriz owners “convert” their cars to copy this crossover. I prefer Theo’s rendering design though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • awan nano on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Shut up and take my money!

• proton aisey on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:24 pm

just test drive proton iriz.

handling superb..small and nimble, felt like driving a gokart with steroids.

infotaiment are good..sound systems easily beats of any sound system like bose, sony or jbl..similar to beats by dre headphones speakers but larger.

engine..tiptop 10 thumbs up! eventhou small, its powerful..its exhaust fumes smells like Ferrari Italia V12..magnificent!

on the 3000 rpm and so, the VVT valves open, feel the G force kicked in, feel awesome and accelerate pretty fast from still to 100kmh, faster than B18C vtec with hondata and toda cams.

well..im gonna sell my ferrari then buy this proton iriz…its just a masterpiece.

welldone, proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • BBgun on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:55 am

well, i do not have Ferrari, but I’ll sell my 328i to get this Iris coz it is the best. Yeah..ROFL

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 30, 2014 at 8:31 am

LOL, serious bro? Comparing beats by dr dre to Bose, Sony and JBL? Audiophiles will have serious beef with you…

The VVT here is continuous. There’s no VVT valves “opening”. What you probably felt was the part where the majority of the torque comes in on the rev range.

• Myvimeh... on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:38 pm

just shut up & take my money…

(On the side note, proton did get malaysians attention, but if fail to produce it, it will be a major let down, just like emas, preve sporty concept that never make it to real world)

• roxas on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:39 pm

tat rim, advanti daytona

• danedz on Sep 28, 2014 at 11:48 pm

can’t wait to see it fixed with thule box on the roof..if possible make the rear bumper integrated with sliding slot in and out bicycle carrier..

• GO GO PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!BUILD IT FASTER BECAUSE THE MALAYSIA PEOPLE WANT TO BUY IT!!Go beat Honda,Toyota,Perodua.Go Go Proton!!You are doing a great job

• Aero (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:28 am

Well, what else can I say ? It looks awesome ! That central head unit looks like it came out of a Tesla Model S ! And the rear guide lights and rims are awesome too !

• protonSupport on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:36 am

Build it. Sell it at 65/75k. Take my money. Make Malaysians all happy.

• serious this is Proton???? wow!! simply amazing!! without looking at the new tech involved, let alone the exterior is totally awesome!!

• kenny lim on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:22 am

seems like a renault copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Boy Racer (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:22 am

Got to say the overall design of the car is sick! It reminds me of the Citroen DS3 racing with the orange accents, which is a good thing. The Iriz looks good but this is something else, what a looker. If they were to release it, please don’t change the design, just keep it. This looks cool!

• Steve Kok on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:46 am

Great job Proton. Finally after 30years of protection!\

Vorsprung durch Protektion!

• Im very sad cos didnt manage to go to proton open day and witnessed proton creative work first hand. But managed to go to dealer showroom and sit inside the iriz. Yes indeed a beautiful car. For this x-over if managed to go ibto production, 75k for full spec i think is ok. But must have the big screen la. Rear lights change abit like how mercs did for the gla model.. Good job proton,this one is approve and good to go

• irizman on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:06 am

Already test drive Iriz yesterday at Alami Proton Carnival. Material & finishing better than SAGA & Persona/Gen.2. No more bunyi kosong & keras bila ketuk dengan jari. Handling and steering was nice, a trademark of Proton. But CVT tranny was not smooth as City. Iriz cabin looks smaller than Aziah..

• RnD can make almost anything..but you and malaysian need to change the mind set of Proton’s top management..bunch of losers that keep limiting the creativity and how Proton should progress….remember concept car TUAH? see in reality what happen =(Preve)….personally which one you prefer, TUAH or Preve… thats my point

• cityowner on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:10 am

yes..what they show is not necessary what they produce..kecewa la this kind attitude..

• anybody comment before? this car looks like Hyndai I10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • pls dont forget that usually malaysian have a big family…more than 3 kids…sometimes need to bring perents along…pls consider for 7 seater… actlly im just waiting for nissan new xtrail to replace my old Wira…cant help to wait iriz 7 seater SUV…good job proton.

• cityowner on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:08 am

this iriz active take honda city v sport ream design ka?

• bubbaonsteroids on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:35 am

Geez proton.. Launch this baby already!!.. Awesome job with the design.. Me likey!!

• rosli on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:40 am

But still the rear designed look like savvy new version + Myvi 1st model look. “like mudguard bicycle”… pity to Proton after the long 30 years in this industry. shame on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • woi proton! enuf already lar. just produce it and sell it. but i think better tone down the gadgetry a bit to make it more affordable. ermmmmm no “amg” version in the making ah? just dump neo s2000 engine into iriz should do kot

• Seriously on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:57 am

Looks nice and all, but like many concepts… alot of the design concepts will not make it into production.

• Oh man! I really love it in and out! Great job Proton. Please put this baby into production ASAP. If all the gadgets in this prototype are included into production, I don’t mind to be stuck in traffic jam for hours in this baby.

• Like!

• i would definitely buy this! looks like Polo cross but way way more futuristic!! the color is a little fancy but i like the minimalist design.. is finally Proton living to it’s true potential?? i hope so! and may the dirty politicians/greedy buggers lay their hands off Proton this time! i hope Tun M sack all those useless buggers who are more interested in their own profits!

• The lights and look is cool! But the orange jess is a bit overdoing. But Proton, continue the good work from Iriz.

• Great job, proton, look nice, need improve the centre console, too simple, and get the better colour on the body. Maybe change the the real light design, too close to iris, change to more outdoor look rough design.

• areos on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:14 am

thumbs up…if someone can whisper to Chairman TDM, Proton could speed up the production..

• myself on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:21 am

Nice,but how do u define positive response?
    U see not all of the positive response will translated into actual sales.
    Please provide us with more information like estimated price will u?
    N btw thumbs up proton,my positive respon for u peeps!

• Please sales in Malaysia market, Malaysian also want hightech car. i don’t understand why everytime Proton equiped with hightech accessory the model is not available for Malaysia market only available for oversea market, this is not fair for Malaysia Proton Fans Proton Marketing please reconsider this, you can sales more expensive then standard model but please let Malaysian choose want to buy or not, not always think Malaysia don’t have market to sell highend model.

• AxiaBest on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:38 am

Proton’s only life line is this Iriz I guess this is the last hope they have. The end is coming for Proton sooner or late, face the fact they aren’t good enough for the world market. Ppl get real, one model don’t gonna makes you a success in the motoring world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • IamFactoryProton on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:54 am

we are watching your comments, guys. price rm90k ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • bubbaonsteroids on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:20 pm

..come’on bro, it’s malaysian made.. we need reasonable price.. guess we all can agree,the wow factor is there.. please don;t hurt us with the hefty price tag.. kita makan gaji only maa..
      anyway.. Iriz active + Suprima S spec = :)

• insider on Sep 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

IMHO, proton should re-enter rally + gymkhana with Iriz.. this can gain international interest and used as marketing stunt to enter those markets.. just like Ford with their Fiesta and VW with the Polo, even Mitsu is developing Mirage as rally car.. this raised height concept just the perfect example for that purpose, slam in turbo + 4wd and you got it..

• Joker on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm

if this cross-over went into production n p1 sell it at Haval M4 price, then a huge sales figure could be expected..

• Ismahadi on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Shut up and take my money!!

• eddien4 on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Three Thumbs up. Make it a reality. Please produce it!!

• Car-Fans on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:21 pm

No matter what Proton wanna to put … Just make sure the Price is Reasonable with it specification !!! That’s the most important thing… Dun do like Iriz such small car but need at least RM40K – Never learn from past ar ?

• nabill (Member) on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Apart frm the over the top screens, looks kinda production ready…

• Proton..my sincere comment, if you proceed with this…you cannibalize Iriz…..and how much the price you willing to nego? RM90K…?? for me its a BIG NO….why? because the concept car is small and nobody willing to pay RM90k for small car..even Ford Fiesta with very good engine ‘Ecoboost’ with price like that people still dont want to buy..so what formula did you think people will buy Iriz Active Concept?….so this is my suggestions:
    1) Proceed but you need to make it much more bigger …same size with KIA Sportage/Hyundai Tucson or Mitsu ASX..then its ok or much bigger like CX5 or CRV
    2) Introduce other segment special for SUV with this idea..no Iriz car/Iriz active/or Iriz anything because Iriz is a Iriz
    3)

• KK Chai on Sep 29, 2014 at 1:53 pm

“Mile/h”? For sure, double the price (~RM100K) on sales in Malaysia where oversea like UK get RM50K. In-fact, the most mid-range demanded cars was fuel-efficient, and that’s why Perodua take the lead.

• Diesel P ower!!! on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Plz launch it!! RM7xk for top spec 1.6 cfe turbo!!
    Plz put in conventional 6-speed auto with tiptronic..
    No CVT please…!!

• Observer2 on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Why they plug so many socket AC to that car?
    is this car using AC power?
    for prototyping concept show off.. Proton just used home-modified multi socket 3-pin ? under the car?
    shame la. use la something that industrial grade AC-3pin plug socket.

Tun M don’t now maa.. if he know siap laa..

hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Holy syieeett…they shouldn’t need to ‘test water’ on such straightforwardly obvious appeal. Demit Proton, you’re on the right track by placing utmost emphasis & nailing it on the design front. Now that you have a good constitution, it’s really the best time to spend on rebranding your image, seriously. Kudos to the team, proud to be Malaysian.

• Dissappointed on Sep 29, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Really Dissapointed with the new Iriz and now they thinking of making another model based on it?

The car’s interior is smaller than a Myvi and hardly comparable to the Axia.

I brought money ready to book the Iriz 1.6cvt but pulled back after sitting in the car and can’t get into the rear seat behind the driver’s seat. I’m 179cm tall.

Truly disappointed.

• Leonardo on Oct 01, 2014 at 12:19 pm

I too intended to book the Axia, but checked the Iriz first. After checking the Iriz, the Axia looked cheap and less safer, eventhough the interior space is slightly bigger.
      Truly disappointed with Axia.

• Dissappointed on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Dear Leonardo,

Since you interested in the Iriz, have you booked? I’ve booked for the Axia but the sales girl told me waiting period now about 9 months for the lowest spec model.
        I’m wondering if you have booked the Axia and wish to change booking to Iriz.
        If yes, please let me know so I can take your booking and wait shorter.

Thank you.

• ZiFaH on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:32 pm

My first comment due to high level of excitedness:
    Lets share this to the whole world and make them drool day and night!
    Lets make Proton BIG again!

• Diesel redneck on Sep 29, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Will be avialable in Diesel?Turbo?Turbo Diesel? Petrol N/A? Turbo Petrol? 500mm water wading?350Nm figure? Power? POWAA?

• Proton has no diesel engine development yet, friend. Unless taken from honda i-dtec. But very good if they got it.

• looks like DS3 colour choice..
    http://betterparts.org/citroen/citroen-ds3/citroen-ds3-racing.html

• rebeltech on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:03 am

LG phone included?

• Peter Pan on Sep 30, 2014 at 9:11 am

Proton… Rubbish… Go tah pau lah…. Sau pei lah… No matter… How nice they made their car also cannot compete with other car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • mayonis on Sep 30, 2014 at 12:36 pm

so this iriz crossover will be slight bigger than IRIZ and slight smaller than exora or this IRIZ crosover will replace exora model?

if they keep planning to use 17″ rim. it might be proton will use new 1.8 cc and 2.0 cc engine. :D

• kami (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:29 am

honda bulat also 50cc engine. how come a car will use 1.8cc??

• kami (Member) on Oct 01, 2014 at 6:28 am

the way I see about P1 & P2 existence..

1- P1 is just a scapegoat for Gov to charge crazy tax on imported cars.
    2- P2 just taking advantage of the situation of quality issue on P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • rector on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:36 pm

nothing impressive with current price tag..
    Iriz = i10 + Savvy

• Great design, way better then other compact crossovers. I’d like it to come with 500mm instead of 3mm higher then Iriz, a 1.6 turbo engine with 4WD option, a panoramic roof and a water wading capacity of 600mm, plus a six speed manual transmission, with start stop technology. No CVT please…5 years warranty and it’ll be probably the best mini crossover ever … confirmed.

• Good Job PRoton designer… trully love this new design… launch it already.. what are u waiting for…

• david on Oct 13, 2014 at 11:55 pm

boss kasi satu tambah telur!

• Whynot on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Proton called it a concept. I call it a usual, not so and so advanced mass productions stock car for profiteering!

• neckotynne on Oct 23, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Thumbs-up…!!! Proton… Please proceed to produce this IRIZ Active…! This will be the game changer as the Suprima & Preve… All The Best To You Proton…!!!

• Malik on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:56 am

i’m a believer! Yes please, produce this and i’ll fall in love with ptoton again.

• kenny on Oct 25, 2014 at 6:21 pm

can booking now?

• Build it Proton!Here my support for you

• Wilson on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:49 pm

I’m so regret now why I buy the saga flx so early… Should wait more few months! >.<

• bryan on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:09 pm

what about fuel saving ? personal full tank run about 200km only , terrible……

• mervman on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:16 am

agree with bryan, average Malaysians are more concern on the cost & long term maintenance (such as fuel consumption, car servicing, etc..) rather than having all those fancy gadgets & car spoiler kits. Proton should show the COST portion also.

• mervman on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:11 am

i’m not bothered about the design because these things don’t last because other car manufacturer’s will copy the design & come out with something nicer..

most important aspect they should show here is value vs safety.
    1. Value: how much would it cost for this ACTIVE upgrade? if the features incorporated are just fancy gadgets & car spoiler kits, then its not worth it. Average Malaysian’s will buy this car because its affordable, not for the additional stuff. People can modify it outsource.

2. Safety: Has Proton shown the crash test reports for IRIZ? Are the crash test standards at par with International Standards? (at least with Korean cars?) Correct me if i’m wrong that crash test done by international Standards involve speeding up to >100km/h before impact, while PROTON only practice somewhere around 80km/h. My personal experience of my Hyundai collided with a Proton, my car although had the radiator punched through, but my car frame is still intact with minimal signs of frame collapse. For the poor PROTON, the entire back part frame collapse (imagine when you how it looks after you step on an empty soft drink can)

2nd thing is the door. Saw that when Paul opens the door, sounds loud & filmsy.. doesn’t have that “solid” feel. Yes i might not be there to give a good judgement but what i’m saying is Proton should look into this before they decide to launch this or else it will be a no-no for me.

Hope my critics helps in the improvement.

Thank you.

• I don’t know much about cars, I don’t know anything actually.

I’m in my third year of bachelor degree and looking at this design, I would say that if it’s in the market about 5 years from now, you got my money over Myvi, Vios, or even Swift. You have a bigger target market who don’t know much about automobile when you design a spectacular looking car. You can write about all the specs on the billboard or in TV commercials, but we never really understand the technical side of it, we care about the design. We are talking about female buyers, young non automobile-speakers throughout the country who are graduating in a few years and looking for nice looking cars to commute to work.

All in all, congratulations Proton & Malaysia. We are so proud of this progress. #MalaysiaTowardsADevelopedNation

• JonoLien on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Oooh… liking those rims and the Tesla style dashboard!

• Tan WC on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:03 pm

+1 for me. It looks modern and very well groomed. Everything looks very sophisticated and well polished. Great job for Proton !

And please x 10000000000000000, make one Active with MANUAL TRANSMISSION ! It’s without fun driving such an “active” car with AT. :D

• Aizwan on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Please wait no more. I want to place my booking

• alex da silva santos on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

tolonglah launchlah kereta ini.harap2 ada pilihan warna yang menarik/pls proton launch this car as soon as posible

• peace on Aug 06, 2015 at 3:19 am

For 70k i definitely gonna buy it.
    What??60k?? Take my money please!

• Asalam Alaykom to proton management and workers.The design is nice But if u call it CROSSOVER SUV the car should have little high.and at least ONE FOOT long.Then can see the car just like SUV.The specification is also very good.but if it increase voice control system as in the FORD Fiesta so the specification of this car will become more good.Allah succeed PROTON company in the future to produce more good cars.

• OMG i like this car… bile akan keluar??????

• Am.Sya on Oct 05, 2017 at 5:51 pm

WoW!!!!! Terbaiklah Proton dengan ciri-ciri yang cukup menarik….simple but awesome …and when this Iriz Active will officially launch?

• chiew Loie Yang on Jan 14, 2020 at 4:17 am

Hopefully can launching ASAP this year 2020 with better improvements and pricing not too expensive… looking for a car in mid 2020 . Now comparing and deciding which to get Iriz or myvi .. sincerely hope with this Iriz active make me impulsive to own it