VIDEO: Interview with Azlan Othman, Head of Design – “Proton Iriz benchmarked against the Fiesta and Polo”

The newly launched Proton Iriz is probably one of the more dynamic looking models to have come out of Proton in recent memory – a bold front end and a road-hugging rear with a ‘chamfered‘ design ensure that it stands out amongst the competition.

With seven different shades of colour and eight different variants with contrasting body add-ons, potential owners are able to spec their Iriz to closely match their personal tastes and preferences. During the launch event, Head of Design for Proton, Azlan Othman, was on hand to explain details on the car’s design journey from initial concept to final product.

paultan.org was given the exclusive opportunity to interview Azlan himself on several key factors during the time he was penning the Iriz. Wondering about what his intentions were behind the styling of the new car plus whether or not the new design cue would trickle down into future models?

Also included below is Azlan’s full design presentation during yesterday’s launch event. If you want to know about the new Proton Iriz, check out our CarBase.my‘s page and our Youtube channel for more info and videos.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• kittfoxx on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:23 am

That exclusive interview was boring.. why not walk around the car and point stuff out when explaining the design.. the interior etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • DrM says Malay are Lazy on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:30 am

Is he from mix parentage… he looks and speaks more like a Chinese.

If he is, CONGRATS!

Its proves mix marriage produces intelligent off springs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 54
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:42 am

Outlook is never Proton’s problem. Build quality and fuel efficiency are!! Wake up, Proton!

With good build quality, even the car is less attractive (like our Vios dugong), people still line up to buy. Faham, Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
        • toyota got resale value.. lower bank interest.. safety? who care.. what car hit 10ton lorry also dead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
        • Albert Lee on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I was at Giant Proton outlet.Bt Caves yesterday.My God,the sales either too syiok sendiri/khayal or racist.
          Just cos we are minority race,does not mean we have to be treated this way.They just keep attending to one race as if we dont have money to buy.
          Proton,if your dealers’ salespersons are racist,please sack them.Perodua’s and Toyota’s salespeople are very friendly and not bothered at skin colour.Proton,before contemplating to buy,I am already fed up with racist staff wearing uniform bearing Proton logo.
          Same Lorr,I still enjoy my Toyota and forget racists organisations/people who try selling proton to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
        • Albert Lee on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Same Lorr, do you understand what is the meaning of ” a can of worms” ?
          The design,color,feel of the outward can is WORLDCLASS but…but…but inside? Worms.
          My mechanic told me,the hardy Wira with mitsubishi engine is still reliable compared to this Campro ‘tak boleh” engine.
          Well if Proton fanboys thought they have conquered Everest,they are in for a huge shock,not knowing they are just strugglish to climb Melawati or gasing Hill only.

• Sas13 on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:13 am

Cross breed will produce better offspring la brader, basic biology. Aku pun saspek dia ni mixed blood. He has different aura and charisma from the others.

Btw, aku dah tengok iriz. Awesome car. Good job proton. Hopefully this will be turning point for proton, InsyaAllah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • Syazwan007 on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

why is race relevant here? Specifically why emphasized chinese? Everyone of every race is intelligent In their own way.. U don’t necessarily have to be the son/daughter of a mix marriage to truly be intelligent lah.. Just be proud of the fact a malaysian designer could design something as striking as the Iriz..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
      • He indeed from surface has 99% of chinese features….perhaps he’s a convert/adopted. Well, nothing ethno-centric, just a general observation from a curiosity perspective. Well, i must admit this car slightly renew my faith in Proton & lessen my prejudicial resistance. Kudos!

• Albert Lee on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:17 pm

If he is mixed,shall we call him a Chi ma ,Machin or Chi Ma Kan?Anyway,lets not belittle people’s blood mix.He cant chose his natural God given looks.Lets give due respect to God’s creation.
        However,let me put to you a hypothetical question.
        If all the Toyota factories worldwide that produce the engines and gear boxes are
        firebombed by ISIS and out for 6 months and Toyota are bound by contract to source the engines and gear boxes from Proton(Campros and Punch powertrain cvt)only,would you still buy the Vios from UMW at the same price?Or would you go straigth for a City,Almera or jazz?

• wehhh see la the eye bags.cannot sleep for months finalizing Malaysia’s dream car.Support p1!!(well i still go fo picanto.IT’S WEEKEND AT LAST!!!)

• Mars Redx on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:25 am

meh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Go Go Proton!!!!My father already buy one!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • RON97 on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:01 pm

See this guy, asked his father to buy him a 60k car?
      What a joke.
      This entry (p1,p2,vios..etc)doesn’t excite me, but proven that most of you guys are low income keyboard warrior only – in real life only drive stupid Myvi/Preve.
      Come on bro, at least get yourself a City..at least.
      hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
      • Nice Try on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Well done, BMW is much nicer than City, ask your father get 1 for you ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Audi is much nicer than BMW, ask your father get 5 for you :)

• Sawwy on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Real man buy car using own money.

Pinjam duit bapak memang tabiat bapuk.

• Fire this guy. Overpaid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • Pendatang on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:42 am

What happened to the Gen-2 ‘pendatang’ lead designer

• earth on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:42 am

I have no problem with the front look but the rear is a big turn off n the side profile is very so so… The enterior is uninspiring glad the spec is good. Have to wait for the review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Lim pe on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:49 am

Why keep posting this mid standard car. Paul tan website should not be bias.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • qwerty on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:53 am

The next thing Proton must do next is to design a car with a central arm rest for the front occupants. This is something basic yet neccessary.

• Chow 1 on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:55 am

This guy looks and talks like a Malaysian Chinese :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Jinjang Old Boys on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:19 am

He comes from Sekolah Jinjang kaptong. We are so proud he make our jinjang genes being recognised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:17 am

Facts… from the source. .

”This also implies that Proton will not be able to export the Iriz to many developed markets unless it produces an engine that meets Euro-6 emission standard.

The short-term solution would be for Proton to source the engine from other manufacturers.
    “To develop an engine, it usually takes four to five years. We cannot wait so it is better for us to acquire it from other party,” said Tun Dr. Mahathir….”

TADA ENJIN.. KITA BELI ENJIN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Seriously on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:51 am

Haiya Motormouth, still harping on about Proton buying engines from other carmakers? Because no other issues to bring up is it?

Don’t forget the mighty Toyota also bought diesel engines from BMW for its European market models. Toyota have their own engines but still get engines from BMW. Why? To save on developmental costs and time.

You said you are from the corporate world. Surely you will know the benefits of outsourcing. Unless you are just a lowly P2 cyber trooper, like we all suspected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Go Go Proton!!!!!!!!!!To Proton Haters like “AI like”be proud of our National Carmaker,tak yah nak bangga sangat dengan your junk car,Honda City.Your junk car got global rated meh,six airbags,traction control?Don’t have right!!!Nah,compare your junk car and the Proton Iriz.

• Chapalang on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:20 am

He seems to be a Chinese convert. Only name is different from his Chinese features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Isn’t this the same person that design the crappy suprima?

• liana on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:38 am

Shah, how ur feel when ur bby already otr

• rosli on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:13 pm

fiesta & polo far better designed.

Iriz rear designed like upgraded savvy + Myvi 1st model looks. useless dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Klaka Seram on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:23 pm

No climate control for premium variant?

• Painter on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:28 pm

“Proton Iriz benchmarked against the Fiesta and Polo”

…but the Proton CEO missing the bigger picture. Fiesta and Polo has big names behind them, Ford and VW. Specs alone isn’t going to cut it.

It may look like comparing apple to apple, but one is imported from California and wrapped with clear plastic with colorful sticker and placed on Cold Storage racks while the other harvested from Ba’kelalan (that’s in Sarawak interior), and sold in Pasar Borong. Two similar apples, one with a story, and another without.

Keep your hopes up, fellow Malaysians. One day, just maybe, one day, when Proton is up there standing tall among the giants, then we may say

“Proton Iriz benchmarked against the ‘Ford’ Fiesta and ‘Voslskwagen’ Polo”

• Come on guys. Enough with the chinese, mixed, genetic, race issues etc. When good things like this came out, NOW, we are talking about race things like this. Why not give credit to the rest of the team who surely work hard to make the car? What about the engineers, safety engineers for example? Evryone has their contributions.

Aren’t we’re all Malaysian as what we are preaching for all these times?

Congratulate the team for the effort.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:36 pm

volume is too low…have to crank up speakers more than usual

• He’s japanese la

• AVH (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:57 pm

The Overall design presentation(the official launch, not the interview)is not bad. There is a sense that this guy is a big Steve Job fan or has been following Steve Jobs to give a presentation. The way he talks and explains the design.

But in some ways, I kinda wish he stop with the the ’emotion’ and ‘soul’. Not just him but almost all design presentation seems to be like that. Not just Proton, but almost all car companies tend to say that you will ‘connect’ with the car thorugh its emotion and hocus pocus.

Personally, you are able to ‘connect’to any car, from something as beautiful and lively as a Jaguar E-Type Roadster, to a crappy Daihatsu Charade just by spending time and memories with it.

Other than that, he did bring Proton’s design to another language. I prefer id he kept a simpler design for the front as to me, it share the same problem as the Veloseter, the face and features looks to big for a car this small. And I also wished they integreted the LED DRL to where the normal ‘positioning’ lamp is, instead of bringing it down. In some sense the front looks overdone, like its trying too hard, does it excite like a Lexus? no, is it as clean as a Volkswagen? no either.

But thats me, opinions do differ from people to people. To make up for it, the rear does look avantgrade, it looks much more detailed and focus than the Preve/Suprima siblings. The diffuser looks like a well-done job than the half-arse one on the Suprima. The interior, also well-laid out, infotainment well within a drivers Field of Vision, and dials well laid out. They still have the packaging to sort out, rear legroom, ingress/egress and of course bootspace, learn from the Jazz considering both car are of the same dimension but the Proton is way more cramp on the inside and espacially the rear.

• Josh Ling on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:28 pm

couldn’t agree more with you on the front look. too complicated for me. too many details. it should have been as clean and simple as the rear look. that’s why i found the front and rear looks, contrary to what has been said by some people here, are not cohesive.

and yes, in some parts, i do feel proton is trying too hard to impress, and lacks the effortlessness of some other competitors.

and i do wish the meter clusters could be enlarged.

• jtshin on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:15 pm

So much for the design language and safety aspects. We need to know more about the new engine. without a decent and durable engine, it will still basically fail.

• hafizanis on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Saya tidak pasti samaada komen2 yang sebelum ini dah bawa@ naik proton terbaru ni. Keep positive and try driving in first and then commen in positive way. Not just blame. Blame n blame..

• hafizanis on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Saya tidak pasti samaada komen2 yang sebelum ini dah bawa@ naik proton terbaru ni. Keep positive and try driving in first and then commen in positive way. Not just blame. Blame n blame..

• Kangkung on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:27 pm

What a joke!
    Iriz compare to fiesta and polo?

Potong Hebat Boleh!

• killer on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:48 pm

hahaha,fair speaking…protong berjaya MAKE BEST JOKE OF THE YEAR 2014~~

• killer on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:43 pm

boss, this car is not worth this price…proton only can make sales on malaysia….design benchmarked against the Fiesta and Polo?? funny gag ~~ lose very far boss…how bout the handling and the quality?? bye bye protong~~ will this car ending same as savy?? will see…

• Anti Cheapskate on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:44 pm

That is why Malaysia hardly to move forward. We talk about car not race. I got 5 friends whom mixed marriage some are smart some plain stupid. So? Even myself look like Chinese but dont feel any different

• The IRIZ is no where near the original EMAS concept car which is gorgeous. This apek fella needs to go and be replaced by a good design person. otherwise, proton is confirmed dead!

• sipaigong on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Take away the Duties for the Fiesta and Polo and it will be a FAIR fight. Or else don’t compare !

• Agree 100%…
      Dont be miss-perceived that Iriz is cheaper to run..
      The higher hire purchase interest rate (for national cars) and fuel consumption gonna cost a bomb..

Manufacturer publish figures:
      Polo TSI – 18.8km/L
      Fiesta EcoBoost – 18.8km/L
      Proton Iriz 1.6 CVT – 13.5km/L
      Perodua Axia Auto – 20km/L

FC of Polo and Fiesta real life driving actually did better than Iriz claimed figures..

Cabin sound insulation and refinement definitely not up to par..

Verdict – “Often Copied, Never Equalled”

its better to send the engineers to Germany and Japan for apprenticeship and come back to build a better car…

• LAPSAP on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Azlan Othman looks like very chinese…
    he is cina muslim i doubt that ??

• ai like on Sep 26, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Proton Iriz 1.6 only capable of 106ps. Fiesta 1.5 120ps. Polo 1.4 120ps. Peugeot 208 1.6 122ps. I’ve test driven all above cars. Here’s my comment;

1. You cant compare it’s quality with all. Proton Iriz plastic dashboard that designed to be ‘looks like leather wrap’ cannot compare with real leather.

2. engine wise, iriz 1.6 is quite okay but not good ride handling enough. their braking, steering, is far better than iriz.

3. iriz fuel consumption is highest among above.

4. All I can see is that Malaysian like to compare side accessories. 7 cup holders, gps, and all sort of accessories which they claimed to be better than any other car.

5. Ugly steering (peugeot 208 steering is far better exclusive), dashboard is okay, but no digital aircond panel, basic digital meter.

6. but yes, i do like the front design. rear design is just okaylaa.. but they should design it better than just copying Myvi rear design. Why copy small competitor while you can even copy VW golf design (in case if, you want to copy)?. Rear somehow looks weird in some angle.

7. I dont believe of it’s 5-star Asean NCAP, nor even believe Asean NCAP rating. Euro NCAP is the one to go. I believe that Iriz should be around 4-star Asean while Axia somewhere 3-star. But current rating seems to be some sort of politics.

• Polo in msia is only
      1.2TSI – 105bhp,
      1.4GTI – 178bhp
      1.6MPI – 105bhp
      Selling point for Polo is the torque which is pretty amazing..
      I agree with your points above, I dont know y so many give u dislike, I give u 1 like.. hehe

• sayaaku on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:44 pm

azlan othman or azlano are from sarawakian..

so, it mybe nor fully malay..maybe melanau or etc..

• katak on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Boring interview. Should walk around and point here point there since the product is right at the back. The sound so low that max volume already still can’t hear a thing so lazy to watch all. Skip to end after 1 minute.

• mandingo on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:45 pm

The last time I check En. Azlan Othman is melayu from every branch of his family three and every drop blood in his veins. No chinese in there guys.. if you are so curious or concerns about it so much that is.

If you were still insisting he is chinese I don’t think he was adopted or kidnapped from any chinese family either. Thus I feel sorry to all bigots here who were thinking otherwise.. you are just another dumb@ss racist.

For consolation I bet he is a Malaysian who uses a lot of cheap Chinese products.

• stigonboard on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:01 pm

I remember last time he lambasted the Proton management team saying that they don’t understand design or ask him to dumb the design something?

Quite astonishing that he still safely employed there haha

• Seekay on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:48 pm

First as a head of designer he should attend some grooming class.
    Overlength pants, typical fold up long sleeves, untidy hair…..your interviewer has got better flair than you….

at least if you are more tidy more presentable things might be different. first impression is important.