Proton PCC will have eight variants and seven colours

Proton_Compact_Car_PCC_Iriz_004

More on the Proton PCC (Proton Compact Car, previously P2-30A GSC and soon the Proton Iriz) – there will be eight different variants and seven colour options to choose from. The eight is split equally between the two engines available (1.3 or 1.6 VVT), each with a choice of either a five-speed manual or CVT transmission.

There will be three trim lines – Standard, Executive and Premium. The Standard is limited to the 1.3 litre motor only, while Premium can only be had with the larger engine. To spell it out, the eight variants are as follows:

• 1.3 Standard MT and 1.3 Standard CVT
  • 1.3 Executive MT and 1.3 Executive CVT
  • 1.6 Executive MT and 1.6 Executive CVT
  • 1.6 Premium MT and 1.6 Premium CVT

As for the seven colours, they are Citrus Green, Silver Moon Dust (think Merc’s Mountain Grey), Tranquility Black, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Atlantic Blue and Proton White. The first two are brand new and exclusive to the B-segment hatch, and all but the last white option are metallic. So no, no yellow Proton PCC, but seven options is quite a healthy choice, we think.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Nice, lots of colours to play with ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Alamak…the rear!!spoil laaaa!!the front and side nicely done already!!!aduhhhh…:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
    • Nope.. the rear looks cute.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:50 pm

agreed. Even the preve, the front looks good but the back looks like tahi kerbau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
      • ahaha.tahi kerbau?jgn la brader.too harsh la.haha.yes suprima S had the same issue.but i guess different team design the rear.maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • that’s only your perception. Because you always want to find Proton mistake. When everything goes right, then you blame on the rear. but vios rear u don’t want to comment? its suck dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:55 am

For some reason…proton cars backside always failed….Savvy backside totally failed until they make a FL version and get rid of that horrible thing in the ass, Preve and Suprima, bontot all tak boleh pakai…but this PCC not so bad lah…nothing sexy like KIAs, but just very plain but decent.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:31 am

For some reasons, Proton cars always fail… Fast selling models not good…
          Better quality models stays in showroom/warehouse only…

Why ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
          • PreveLover on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:08 pm

errr…not all Proton cars like what you said…

Preve boot space is 508 litres vs Vios 2013 506 litres (please refer to www.carbase.my ..where failed ? Safety aspect, Proton wins over Toyota… Does Toyota even bother to send their cars for crash test ? recently maybe but not in the past like Proton been doing long time ago… May i know what do u mean by “failed” (Proton cars always failed ?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

How many Preve is sold on the road? That’s why I said fast selling models not good, better models are not selling.

Proton had come up so many models in 30 years, however people but it because it is cheap, not because it is good. Isn’t it an epic fail for a 30 years car maker supported by a whole nation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • same lorr just accusing, his reason is also bulshit. fast selling no good, maybe not sell at all is good. goblok

• bontot kia pun buruk ma

• Albert lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:16 pm

The front resembles the Myvi with a Vios lower piranha jaw.The belakang lampu is copied from Hyundai compact.
      OK,this time,lets praise Proton a little for a decent copy and paste job.If not Proton fanboys get insomnia and buy MCs for lake of sleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
      • PreveLover on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:24 am

if so Proton copy and paste, what about Perodua and its Myvi model then ? direct copy from Toyota Passo except for logo change…and before criticizing Proton about their design, better you get yourself a piece of English dictionary and see what you meant by “lake of sleep” (in malay language, it is called Tasik Tidur”… let me correct your language here… it’s not lake, but “lack”…

i think you should submit your “own car design”…maybe it will look like piece of crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:00 am

What nonsense are you talking about Myvi copying Passo??? IT IS A BLARDY PASSO!!!!
          They just rebadge!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • PreveLover on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:38 am

that’s what i meant by “direct copy”only change logo…that’s a lazy peoples job…at least Proton got efforts to design their own car,engine…Perodua only copy and labelled…

• Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:43 am

Rebadge means certain quality is assured, that’s why Wira/Iswara were so popular last time. At least the Mitsubishi engine won’t break down…

If Proton launch its rebadge Accord, i might buy one too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • rogaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Same LOrr how old are you still not confident with local product. You should say that to China product like what we said to Toyota kereta TIn MILO dulu ma.

• SimpleG01 on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Seriously? I know that the 1st gen Myvi looks the same (Except that Perodua added some little touches of their own) as the 1st gen Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon but have anyone look at the how the 2nd gen Myvi look comparing to the 2nd gen Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon? The 2nd gen Myvi’s design is more aggressive with the styling compare to the Boon’s cute design. There’s a variant of the Toyota Passo called the +Hana (which means flower in japanese) is more focused towards female drivers.

• rebagde mean ” ambil orang punya pastu mengaku kita punya”

• rockidz on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Lol. .. later u see it in full u will say it like myvi. .. If myvi nice this is nice coz is look alike hahaha

• You know what is worse? The current honda jazz os really fugly on the back. I think this iriz will look good with a spoiler at the back.

• Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:05 am

Jazz looks way better…you have bad taste…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • ahpeck on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:55 pm

jazz is too typical japanese..the new jazz looks odd to me.

• SimpleG01 on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:00 pm

I kinda think its funny that the new Jazz looks more “muscular” compare to its previous models. I mean the other name for the Jazz is Fit in other countries that uses the name and I guess that you can say that the Jazz had been working out to gain that look.

• new jazz is ugly

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:32 pm

8 variants, sounds like a lot, but I can see the base model should be starting at about 40-ish k, basically to target the potential Saga 1.3 buyers, it is a better car anyway from the looks of it compared to the Saga.

I am pleased that there is a manual 1.6 Premium, now that’s not something we see everyday. Looking forward to the test drive report. Guess the ball’s in Proton’s court now. I’m not a big Proton fan and have criticised them in the past when needed, but this genuinely was impressive. Looks like for all those holding out with their manual Kelisas, well the 1.6 MT Premium seems to be the perfect option to move up. Safe, should drive well, looks decently sized.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Abu Sayur on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:51 pm

top line should be 1.0 turbo like for fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:51 pm

It’s really 4 variants, isn’t it? It’s only 8 variants because a change in transmission demands a new variant entry in the system. They chose to avail the choice of the MT to any who has the fancy for it. All well and good. Now…waiting for that test drive report.

• Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:08 am

Will definitely better than Saga…but it losebout in boot space…boot space is a critical factor for Malaysian buyers…we like to store dead bodies inside the trunk. PCC kennot….so it more targets the Mawi market, people who does not need such a large boot space and prefer hatchback.

• Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:11 am

Manual Premium will a niche market for enthuasist….mark my words…the manual sales will be very low….statistic has already proven it.
      Btw, this car no auto-cruise even for Premium version? Anyone knows?

• Marieta on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:56 pm

No turbo 1.3/1.6 ? Come on proton give us either one or both !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Fahmi on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:11 am

No, it will disturb Preve and Suprima S sales..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • jipangmenjerit on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:12 am

reason why CFE was being build is because tu gain pick-up power when accelerate which is build for exora in first hand due to massive size ans weight.

so why need turbo when it’s already small and light weight? plus not all consumer know how to maintain turbo engine effectively.

• Bataman on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:03 am

Why turbo? Heard of Ecoboost 1.0?
        save fuel, save road tax, engine of the year 3 years in a row…..thats why.

Turbo is the in-thing now…butbof course, you really need to know how to build a good turbo engine…not just a slapped on turbo…

• plus any malaysian seeing a turbocharged 1.0 proton will still think its underpowered compared to myvi.

• SimpleG01 on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Thinking the reason for this is because its a new car and it needs a new engine. The CFE engine is an old Campro with a turbo stuck onto it. Plus its a light car and with a 1.6, it should be really enough to get you from point a to b as fast as possible.

• need turbo buy suprima S or exora bold. nak itu ini but price want low

• Legend (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 7:59 pm

oh my goddd
    Come on Proton why rear back door so plain!
    very ugly u know!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • at least make the rear light like suprima S line LED.why still use spot LEDs like Exora?already have the technology kan?>?

• Eyesore on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:53 pm

think suprima rear light are tube flow instead of LED?

• !@#$%^& on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Legend. That’s only its upper half la ngok! Wait till you see it in full including the rear bumper.

• at least make the rear light like suprima S line LED.why still use spot LEDs like Exora?already have the technology kan?>?

• rogaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:35 pm

There are many more car from EU look ugly than Proton. Who are you a designer or what or manufacture , come show me yours.

• Aiyo…..what happen to the rear. Depan cantik belakang kongkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • Proton White? LOL, amazing name.. I thought it will be named Solid White..

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:23 pm

One of the nicest rear design for hatchback. Bravo Proton. Please price it slightly lower than as expected just to reward Malaysians that have been supporting Proton for almost 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • newmaster on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Hafriz Shah, are you really sure that PREMIUM come with MT??? WOW it’s a shocker..

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:35 pm

I don’t think it’s not true. What’s the problem with Premium variant with MT? So, you wanna say that top-range variant should be AT-only?
      A lot of European marques offers MT for their top range variant. Golf GTi, Golf R, Megane RS, Fiesta ST, Focus ST etc.

• newmaster on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:38 pm

r u high or what?? i’m shocked because it’s what enthusiast want all this while, higher varian with MT, this prove that proton can provide it.. eventhough maybe the CVT varian will sell more, but they give more option to us.. for this thumbs up to proton..

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Nope, I’m sober. “Hafriz Shah, are you really sure that PREMIUM come with MT???” <– This gives us 50-50 possibility of either you're seeing it as negative or positive thing. Sorry to say, from my POV, it's like you're not familiar with high variant equipped with MT.
          But nevertheless, Proton seems to provide it now, let us all thank to Proton and let us hope that other automaker would bring more high-spec manual car to our shore. And glad that you want the same thing too.
          Let's get our left foot busy!

• Kreygasm on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:15 pm

1.6 Premium with manual transmission? Hell yeah I will buy this. (Waiting for loan interest to drop a bit)

• jpoplover on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Hope this time Proton can start with this Car with truly “reliability + affordable + quality” for rakyat Malaysia…

not just only nice interior with lot of accessories but not quality ..^_^

• jipangmenjerit on Sep 09, 2014 at 6:19 am

well, compare with the another so called national car which only offer 2-airbag and not quite sure safety rating, iriz are much more bargain I think

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Good job, Proton! Now faster plan for export markets as well. Don’t be too late. Should be exported to neighboring countries (Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia) in 3-4 months after launching. Then it’s time to export to Australia, UK, Middle East etc.
    Show to us that you can compete internationally and be a proper international market player.

• BNR32 on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:58 am

1.6 MT confirmed, awesome. And it even comes in a pseudo-gunmetal color, which I like. Now we just need to wait for BOT or supercharger kits to be announced in Hypertune.

Well played Proton, well played. Now that we have the car out of the way, time to focus on the aftersales service.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:08 am

What a beauty, this signs off the death certificate for the Korean carmakers in Malaysia

With state of the art engine transmission, better driving experience (Lotus inspired) and very good safety features, there is no reason why any sane person would still consider a Korean car.

Considering the resale value for Proton has improved by leaps and bounds over the past 2 years, I anticipate Proton to challenge Kia in the global arena in the next 3-4 years.

“Say no to Korean cars”

• The back is typical Hyundai i10

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • rogaz on Sep 09, 2014 at 1:29 pm

So Proton and Hyundai have the same or pay the same designer. Bravo Proton.

• Thumb up for Proton as Proton offering MT option for all variants, not like other manufacturers only offer MT for lowest spec, some even not offering MT.

• abdul on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Nice!!! Can order now ah?

• Chyan on Sep 09, 2014 at 3:36 pm

The Moon dust grey is something good to see. Go to hell are those blue colours on the now-discontinued Gen2 and Savvy. They’re horrendous.

• pacfictuna on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:05 pm

yay for manual premium…… now this is a proper line up.

• Queen on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Well, I was aiming for fiesta. But when I read all the specs and probable price for Proton PCC, the skeptical me change its view and maybe, just maybe I’ll just go for the 1.6 and save my pocket. So far, specs are much better. This one is the real value for money as you can see. Unlike Suprima where I think its too overpriced. (But then to think about it, aren’t all Malaysian cars overpriced?)

• A very nicely done interior and gadget option (for premium variant). Excellent job Proton.