MBPJ to bar traffic offenders from renewing road tax

malaysian driving license 001

The Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) has announced that from March next year, those who fail to settle their summonses for traffic offences will find that they won’t be able to renew their vehicle’s road tax.

Details of the defaulters will be submitted to the Road Transport Department (JPJ), which will bar these errant motorists from renewing their road tax, The Star reports.

The approval by JPJ for MBPJ to take this course of action was given last month, Petaling Jaya mayor Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain said. He added that MBPJ is offering an 80% discount to motorists to encourage them to settle their summmonses before the deadline. The discounted rate will be valid until the end of February.

MBPJ says that there is an accumulation of 4.1 million unpaid traffic summonses, which amounts to RM100 million in uncollected fines.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hailthepurist on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:16 am

i thought hafriz shah was a Bike guy..

• Selangor mari on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:22 am

with total 4.1 millions summons will totally bar all selangor & KL driving licence to be on the road.. Good ideal !! therefore only LRT & KTM can be running for service, others like bus,taxi ever uber drivers all can’t run on the road. therefore no more traffic jam in selangor & KL !!!

• nighttrain on Dec 14, 2015 at 10:44 am

If it’s legal(in the RTD act) then it’s OK.

• FireAce on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Finally!! Wake up calls for those errant drivers that parked anywhere & everywhere and treat parking summons as “flyers”. Hopefully the PJ road will be much more smooth to drive.

• Henry on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Offenders should pay up but is there a law for such an action by MBPJ and that JPJ must comply?

• Allen on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Hi guys, I need your help. Where and how do I settle my summon for MBPJ?

• Allen on Dec 14, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Hi guys, can anyone please tell me how and where to settle my MBPJ summon. Thanks!

• FlyerSummon on Dec 14, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Hi guys, what bout those i get from DBKL? have discount too?

• Bolehland on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Is there any law that MBPJ is legal to summon and ppl must pay the summon? I heard MBPJ no rights to summon ppl

• MeToo on Dec 14, 2015 at 2:35 pm

If this goes thru, all Taxi drivers will be driving without Roadtax

• Godzilla God Car on Dec 14, 2015 at 3:42 pm

I am not bother to pay. Sue me mbpj.

• Dont make me laugh.. on Dec 16, 2015 at 1:02 am

Lol… i will only pay when i cant renew my roadtax..

• too many summones on Dec 21, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Is the 80% discount valid at epay@MPBJ? Or the discount is meant for certain summon only?

• old car on Jan 06, 2016 at 11:57 pm

do we need to settle the saman for our old cars as well?(cars that are no longer ours i.e. sold)