SPYSHOTS: 2016 Toyota Hilux spotted in Malaysia!

Toyota Hilux spyshot 1

Toyota Hilux fans, your wait is almost over, as the new pick-up truck has been spotted in Malaysia. Previously, we were told by president of UMW Toyota Motor Datuk Ismet Suki that the new Hilux will make its launch debut here sometime in Q2, 2016. With this sighting, it looks like we are well on track.

These photos come courtesy of paultan.org reader Meeran Siva, who spotted the pick-up at a car wash in Nilai. Although we couldn’t get an unobstructed view of the new Hilux, we do get to see the new pick-up’s various design cues.

From the rear, we can see the Hilux’s new tail lights, alloy wheel design, its double-cab body style and a questionable-looking sports bar (could be an aftermarket option). A shot of the front fascia reveals what appears to be halogen reflector headlights, along with tape covering the Toyota and Hilux badging.

Toyota Hilux spyshot 5

The generous usage of tape also prevents us from telling if the model seen here carries the 2.4 (150 PS/343 Nm) or 2.8 (177 PS/450 Nm) litre GD family of turbodiesel engines, or if it is the 4×4 or 4×2 model.

The eighth-generation Toyota Hilux uses a stronger FIRM (Frame with Integrated Rigidity Mechanism), along with a significantly updated interior that now projects a more premium approach. The pick-up also gains a bump in its safety suite as well.

Excited? Well, while you wait for the arrival of the new Hilux, why not check out the extreme lengths our Northern neighbours (Thailand) have gone to test out the capability of the pick-up by hauling 170 tonnes of weight, here.

GALLERY: Australian-market Toyota Hilux

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• The all new hailat. Familiar feeling like the old one, becoz it is the old one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Jason Wong on Feb 05, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Why cant Toyota do away with stickers on the car body ?? And please dont tell me they are going to use that sports bar again ?? They used that sports bar in the current Hilux for 10 years aldy and never even bother to change it during the so many facelifts………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Syukurlah kerajaan BN. Saya cinta UMNO. Terima kasih hadiahkan kereta ini kepada rakyat. Harga munasabah dan murah! Syukur

• Gaviny on Feb 05, 2016 at 8:52 pm

rode in my colleague 2.8 model , quite nice

• Ahmad Afiq on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Someone’s gonna get fired

• Proton ftw on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Proton Arena Raptor 2.5STDi(Supercharged+Turbo Diesel Injection) 450HP 670NM ftw

• Sam Loo on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:31 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Kimchi fellas that come to my shop will up up for a surprise

• Ranger still the best to buy

• 2016… and they still put silly sticker on the door…

• Head Hunter on Feb 06, 2016 at 6:37 am

Are they really using the new engine? Because I suspect that they might use the old VNT 2.5. I hope that’s not the case just like what happened to Triton.

• pakcik on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:52 pm

I suspect that too, since our neighbor Indo still use old 2.5 VNT.

• Ur head on Feb 20, 2016 at 9:28 am

This new hilux is using toyota latest GD engine bro. 2.4l and 2.8l intercooler turbodiesel. U need to do alot reading n research bro.

• dekyon on Feb 06, 2016 at 2:25 pm

coz umw thinks nvrmnd we can use current sport bar… malaysian easy to kena hailat lolllll.. haha..

• Gonggok on Feb 06, 2016 at 7:12 pm

The new 2.4 gd engine puts out 400nm actually.

• Gay Guy on Feb 07, 2016 at 7:09 am

I saw at Puncak Perdana 2 test units a few months ago. Took pictures of it and thought of sharing but don’t know where to send. It was undisguised as well. It doesn’t look as great. In fact my reaction was “ehhhh”.

• Superglue on Feb 09, 2016 at 4:21 pm

I look forward seeing Hilux TRD (sticker) version.
    Performance is not important.
    Safety features minimum would suffice.
    Gaya is most important, of all.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 09, 2016 at 10:38 pm

As long as it is a Hilux, it will top the pick up truck sales in Malaysia.

The durability of Hilux is second to none, same for RV.

• camtakpro on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:05 am

So @paultan, if it came in without VSC, TC and 6 airbags for the lowest variant, put the title “The New Disappointingly Unsafe Hilux 2016”.