New Toyota Hilux to arrive in Malaysia in Q2, 2016, Alphard and Vellfire MPV to follow in Q3

HILUX_Exterior_12_DPL-e1442912666143

According to Datuk Ismet Suki, president of UMW Toyota Motor, the new Toyota Hilux is expected to arrive in Malaysia by Q2 of 2016. This validates our earlier report that the pick-up will debut here in the aforementioned time period, although no mention was made regarding the Fortuner SUV and Innova MPV.

The latest Hilux made its debut in May 2015 in Australia and Thailand. The pick-up is offered with a choice of two new GD-family turbodiesel engines (2.4 and 2.8 litre capacities) as well as new six-speed manual and auto gearboxes. Underneath, the pick-up rides on a new Frame with Integrated Rigidity Mechanism (FIRM) architecture, while the interior and technology offerings has been bumped up for a more premium outlook.

No additional details pertaining to the truck’s specifications were provided but we expect more info to trail in soon. However, when the new Hilux does make its way to Malaysia, it will face off against the already-introduced competition in the form of the Mitsubishi Triton, Ford Ranger and Nissan NP300 Navara. What features would you want to find in the new Hilux?

Meanwhile, it was also announced that the Toyota Alphard and Vellfire pair will arrive in Malaysia in the third quarter of the year. Having both looks available here is certainly exciting news indeed, don’t you agree?

GALLERY: Australian-market Toyota Hilux

JDM Toyota Alphard
JDM Toyota Vellfire

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:02 pm

When booking is open, I am buying 2 units to replace my 11 year old ones placed in front of my yard to show kimchi owners.

11 year old Hilux with almost 200,000kms still can fetch RM25k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 43
    • karam singh on Jan 30, 2016 at 7:15 am

there also lots of Hilux in the bodyshop coz the Hilux easy to slip & tend to roll over.
      Hilux failed moose test, go google it.

• Toyota - Big Disgrace in Malaysia on Jan 31, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Toyota is a good car. But only in overseas. In Malaysia, UMW has been cheating Malaysians with poor safety cars. In overseas, all toyotas come with VSC an about 6 to 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything. In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.
        In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM160k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.

Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government. So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government

• But hoh, why crony naza can gip picanto with all safety, crony P1 can gip Preve, suprima, iriz, exora with all safety, crony drb-honda can gip city e & above with all safety? But then Party Hard has chosen toyota the official car to travel and die in woh? Meaning umw toyota is crony of Party Hard isit?
          So shudnt u ask ur boss to tell his crony to gip safety at least on par with Najib crony drb-honda?

• paulnut on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:43 am

Your son saga good RV also.

• Sam Looser on Jan 30, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Come to my yard, I will offer you RM1200 for each hilux scrap metal junk if they are not rusty. If already rusted, then RM350.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Low chance to get it’s scrap metal junk (unless it’s an accident car due to loss of control or get rollovered by cheap Myvee), as most of the Hilux here already shipped out from this country once it’s get stolen and then packed in container.

• Sam Looser on Jan 31, 2016 at 2:13 am

So many hilux skid and crash everyday due to poor handling and no safety features. They all end up as scrap metal. Some even as low as 1k mileage. Come to my yard I will offer good price for your junk. I can sambung back the body parts and sell to Sam Loo for RM80k.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Or the lost control and crash cases of Hilux were due to get rollovered by a small car as a form of revenge (while Hilux or other pick-up truck drivers drives like road bully and close tailgating many smaller vehicles and unfortunately met a wrong car which is ‘yellow’ Maiwi)

• Steven see on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Sam bought gis 26 yrs old son saga in sept 2014. Now the car still worth good RV. Good choice pakcik Sam, no wonder you are sales man.

• See…only SA buy. Others don’t bother

• Toyota - Big Disgrace in Malaysia on Jan 31, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Biggest loser is Sam Loo. No sales, spend his time in UMW toilet masturbating cause got ZERO walk ins and sales.

• Lel my 10 year old myvi can fetch 25k..

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Does the new Hilux require Euro 5 Diesel? Because e.g such as new Triton, we still getting old re-tune engine technology due to fuel concern. So finger cross UMW don’t intro so called brand new Hilux but underneath is same old 4 speed gearbox & re-tune old engine. Certainly is a welcome for VellFire in Alphard family. This current model don’t think many customers prefer coz 80% prefer VellFire looks!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Sammy Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Most Hilux buyers do not care what engine in it, as long as it is a Hilux, it will be durable and good RV.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Very good news for Malaysians, the most durable pick up truck and best selling luxury MPVs even with grey importer without factory warranty are coming soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
    • Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Even very best of the best news for Malaysians, the most easiest to get stolen/lost/hijacked pick up truck and best selling luxury MPVs are coming soon!

Still want Hailat (or Fortuner) and Alpfart/Wellfire, better change the whole vehicle security system, install locktech and additional CAPTOR/GPS tracking into your so-called luxury vehicle, as stock standard from UMW Toyotaik are totally useless, but hey, this sucker UMW Toyotaik will void your jamban car warranty.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 30, 2016 at 6:50 pm

This is why these cars are durable and having high RV, else nobody wanted to steal it.

Try to leave the french or kimchi junk without locking the door, it will still there after a week, nobody bother those junks that got no RV.

• Contidriver on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:12 am

Good, i dowan my conti car to be stolen coz it is far more comfortable and luxurious than any jepunis cars

• Gonggok on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Hope umw Toyota offers same high spec hilux with 7 airbags, rear aircond vents, new engine and 6-speed auto as overseas market.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Expect anything Toyota that come through the hands of the goldly UMW to be 1)underspec 2)no ESP 3)Airbag dua biji 4) very expensive 5)If you choose the higgest spec, it has the god like TRD bodykit that can istantly add another 300 horse power to make you fly!

• I expect 4-speed box, 2 airbags, TRD Sportivo kit, ESCless and EBDless feature, of course acceptable price. Only my humble expectation. No offense. Hey, good RV is the selling point btw.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Will the high spec reach rm150k….? I won’t be surprised…

• Gonggok on Jan 31, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Overseas, the top spec sr5 is cheaper than the Ford ranger 3.2 xlt…Which is not even the top spec ranger.

• Bristol on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:59 am

Nobody want already

• Gonggok on Jan 31, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Even old generation hilux sold like hotcakes last year. Toyota so trusted by msians somehow.

• Malaysian rather to proudly die in their toyota/P2 than shamefully survive in a P1.

• pearjai on Jan 30, 2016 at 2:40 am

Toyota should change these hilux facelift with new fortuner lor….these new hilux muka x garang lansung….look like a sedan face….

• Top salesman on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:02 am

Buybuybuy!! When u buy Toyoda all yur frens and enemies jaw open wide and praise u SMART AND SUCCESS amd u have made it..but when u buy Hyundai Kia Ford Chevy Peegot NOBODY BATS AND EYELID…NOBODY..tis if frum REAL LIFE EXPERIENCE…tats why Toyoda so high RV the feeling is priceless…

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:42 pm

In Malaysia, When u buy ToyoTaik all yur frens and enemies jaw open wide and praise u SOHAI AND TAI LAN NGONG…tis if from REAL LIFE EXPERIENCE…tats why ToyoTaik so high RV (aka Regret Value) the feeling ‘regret’ is priceless…

• thomas on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:19 am

Too late. Indonesia and Thailand already have All-New Hilux, All New Alphard & Velfire first

• ToyotaManyaktipu on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:31 am

I bet every toyota reach Malaysia later, the cars will be removed of their gadgets, removed of the safety features, and void of accesories…..
    The price tags will be jacked up surely.

In a few years, Toyota would offer TRD “version” of such cars. Only that the TRD is just stickers.
    Sportivo sticker version follows after TRD, of course.

• t2357s on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Another 2 airbag version? Haven’t learn from the Previa?

• Pleaseeee UMW, don’t stripped out the Hilux’s safety feautures for the Malaysian market. Hopefully high end spec got 6 airbags & VSC.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 30, 2016 at 5:15 pm

somehow i prefer the grey import jdm versions….150k instead of nearly 500k sounds like a risk worth taking

• choha on Jan 30, 2016 at 8:26 pm

7 series eyes

• Toyota owner, do a test on your car. Wind down the window, activate the alarm, manually unlock the door from inside and open the door from outside. I tested on my father’s and mother’s fortuner and innova, there is a huge chance alarm not working properly.

Recently my father’s fortuner got broken into, so we tested the alarm system. If you are having the same problem, spread the message.

Sam Loo, remember to do it on your toyota and you fanthom lexus cars. Good luck on your defective toyota sales

• Sammy Loo on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:57 am

Seems like your parents are supporting Toyota a lot, Fortuner and Innova. These two are very durable cars that will serve you for many years.