2016 Toyota Hilux – estimated Peninsular Malaysia and Sarawak pricing, specs released; RM93k-RM135k

It’s no secret that the 2016 Toyota Hilux is on its way to showrooms – earlier in the year, it was announced that the upcoming pick-up truck will be launched by the second quarter; soon after, we saw spyshots of it on local soil. Now, we’ve obtained estimated price lists from a dealer (both for Peninsular Malaysia as well as Sarawak), which show a marked increase in pricing over the old model.

The new Hilux range starts with the single cab 2.4 4×4 manual, slated to cost RM93,000 (Sarawak RM94,720). It’s as basic as it gets, with a black grille, black manual wing mirrors, 16-inch steel wheels, a urethane steering wheel, PVC seats and a basic 2-DIN radio/CD player. But hey, it does have three airbags and – finally on a base Hilux – ABS with EBD as standard.

Moving up, the double cab 2.4 4×2 manual is expected to cost RM95,000 (Sarawak RM96,700), adding power-adjustable wing mirrors with integrated indicators (still black), plastic wheel covers, a standard bedliner, fabric upholstery, power windows and an alarm system to the mix.

HILUX_Exterior_12_DPL-e1442912666143

The 2.4 Standard 4×4 manual is set to be priced around RM105,000 (Sarawak RM106,650) – for that, you gain four-wheel drive but, bizarrely, lose the powered door mirrors, alarm and power windows (!).

Next, the 2.4G 4×4 manual, expected to cost RM115,000 (Sarawak RM116,590) – it tacks on a chrome grille, power-folding chrome door mirrors, front fog lights, 17-inch alloy wheels, a multi-info display, keyless entry and start, a leather multifunction steering wheel, a six-way adjustable driver’s seat, a DVD infotainment system with a 6.1-inch touchscreen and Bluetooth connectivity and reverse camera and sensors.

The 2.4G 4×4 automatic, slated to be priced at RM125,000 (Sarawak RM126,530), adds standard solar and security tint film, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, leather upholstery, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Active Traction Control (A-TRC) and Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC).

Topping the range is the 2.8G 4×4 automatic, expected to be priced at an eye-watering RM135,000 (Sarawak RM136,120), putting it in Ranger 3.2 WildTrak territory. For that money, you’ll get automatic LED projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, 18-inch wheels, an Optitron instrument cluster, a Camry-style 4.2-inch colour LCD multi-info display and yes, seven airbags.

On the whole pricing is set to be increased by between RM10,000 and RM15,000 over equivalent models, while the 2.8 G getting a staggering RM20,000 hike over the previous 3.0 G model – although it does come with a much higher level of kit.

Options include a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation package, a RM1,574 sports bar (surprisingly it’s not standard on any model, not even on the 2.8G), a RM1,049 bedliner for the single cab model, a choice of either a RM2,109 Toyota Premium Safety and Security Film or RM1,066 Toyota Essential Solar Film and a RM207 portable tyre pump.

SPYSHOTS: 2016 Toyota Hilux in Malaysia

GALLERY: Australian-market 2016 Toyota Hilux

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jumbuck on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Good luck Sam Loo!

You really screwed it this time around.

Ford Ranger > All.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • Pay RM125k for VSC? on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:50 pm

So, only those who can afford Rm125k are entitled to VSC? The people who are poor and can only afford basic Hilux are not given VSC?

Toyota aka Ismet Suki, why basic VSC not in any of your cars? In Europe and US, VSC is compulsory no matter how cheap your car is. That is how important VSC is.

In Malaysia, Toyota rips people. They overcharge their cars by 3 fold and yet, they take out the VSc in their cars endangering your life.

The chances of accident is super super super high if a car has no VSC. Go and google paultan’s article on VSC and see for yourself. Once you read it, you will never touch a car without VSC

I have no idea why UMW does this to us Malaysians. Already overcharge us 3x, then double whammy, take out airbas, take out VSC and take out about 20 other safety features available as standard in global Toyotas of the same model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
      • Anything but Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • kington on Feb 15, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Precisely, UMW needs to be thought a lesson. Unprecedented move but it’ll be good if the people can force a removal of UMW from being Toyota’s distributor here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • syukurlah, harga sangat murah. Orang yang bising di sini adalah orang malas dan tak nak kerja kuat.

BN give everyone oppurtunity to make money. If you got no money and are poor, means you are lazy!

Trust BN. Thank you BN and kerajaan Malaysia for giving us cheap cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
      • If a truck can be priced at RM125k, I’m terrified to imagine how much the Fortuner would cost.

• Karam singh on Feb 15, 2016 at 6:25 pm

I have always complaint on safety features bin Toyota cars. Now umw is listening. So I am supporting Toyota now. The best selling pick up truck in Malaysia.

Go buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • Ollie on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:38 pm

if remove Hilux from Toyota sales figures; and remove commercial vehicles….
    Dare to say Toyota passenger cars are 5th behind Prowrong, Pelotua, Nissan, Honda. Possible Mazda oso outselling them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Good… then toyota will force to reduce price…..

• Toyota Moving Coffin on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Toyota is a good car. But only in overseas. In Malaysia, UMW has been cheating Malaysians with poor safety cars. In overseas, all toyotas come with VSC an about 6 to 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything. In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.
        In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM160k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.

Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government. So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government

UMW also don’t care if Toyota lose money. Janji their cashcow Perodua brings in the bulk of the cash, they are happy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • As usual UMW skimming Malaysian Buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Do Not Trust UMW Please on Feb 15, 2016 at 6:09 pm

In overseas, especially Indonesia, and also home country Japan, Toyota is highly respected.

But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM160k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry. our Camry RM160k also no VSC, and only 2 airbags.

Altis in the US only US$12k after discounts. Come with 10 airbags also and VSC. Come Malaysia, although CKD Malaysia shitmade, it is sold for RM139k.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.
      Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k for CBU Japan Made with 10 airbags. Come to Malaysia no tax. Yes, no tax! But sold for RM175k eventhough it is CKD here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • feel sad about UMW on Feb 15, 2016 at 4:48 pm

waa pricey for scab.. 78k become 90k..
    i want back ranger scab with ESC below 90k

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 15, 2016 at 6:04 pm

That was what caught my attention.

I wonder what do they have in the Single cab? Fully equipped inside instead of the usual tin kosong spec?

The rest of the price range is madness.

Whats next UMW? Sell the Hiace at Alphad prices?

• Really on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:42 pm

If even the 105k Standard 4×4 have no power windows, what standard accessories do you expect the single cab to have? Can’t believe at 93k you still have to manually wind your windows, do you? Trust UMW to do the unthinkable. Oh, maybe it is all in the drive like their new tagline suggests. Frills like power windows are not necessar to enjoy the drive!

• mahal scab in malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:08 am

wonder how many speed for scab..navara use 6speed

• Onli 2.8G worth buying. Others are moving coffin

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Talk about pricing yourself out of the market! 125k for the lowest spec 4×4 auto. The Ranger is cheaper and better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • bloodyumw on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Not worth buying as UMW has removed the Auto Air Conditioning and Cruise Control so as the big screen as in the Thailand and Australian version.
    It looks cheap and cut cost

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Wow that’s crap, the 2.4 auto should have extra airbags and LED headlights and the top spec 2.8 auto should have auto aircond and cruise control for that kind of pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • chowhai on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Damn, at least RM93k to get a pickup? I missed the good ol’ days when a pickup cost just RM50k and did what it was supposed to do

• And please share with us when was that? Must be the single cab hilux in 1995 – back at the time when there was no other pick up truck on sale by any other brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Tin Kosong on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Isuzu Invader, Ford Courier to name a few. Come to think of it, Hilux have always been the more expensive pickups even back then.

• expensive on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:27 pm

so pricey..navara itself starting from 80k and highest spec 2.5 with 190ps, more power than 2.8 hilux and cheaper as it is priced at 124k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Ranger n NP300, no Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Syukur lah.

• Stupid Msian Cars on Feb 15, 2016 at 6:32 pm

UMW strikes again…negatively. Killing the world’s best brand and Msians.
    I am a string Toyota supporter but with UMW mishandling the brand and marketing strategy…its living hell! Sayonara. I will go for Isuzu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • And here I thought ETCM screwed up the new Navara’s pricing. Seems UMWT is going to make an even bigger cock up!

• gonggok on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Apa ni UMW? Too pushy on the pricing lah.
    Now even low spec single cab and manual ranger and d-max got stability control, but for hilux need to pay 125k to get it.
    Say bye bye to your market share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • bapok maheinye hahahaha..bai2 jelah kalo nak pakai masuk ladang wei..

• Cun la harga…baru la bonus kami leh dpt 13bulan balik….go go umw toyota..u the man

• Dogymal on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Why fuzz since u guys r not going to buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Really on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:18 pm

And I thought Ford and Nissan were a bit too optimistic (and greedy) with their pricings for the Ranger and Navara. I know Hilux is the most popular pickup in Malaysia, but this is really pushing the boundary of acceptability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Tin Kosong on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Looks like UMW haven’t learn their lessons yet. No matter. Once even the new Hilux sell less than they anticipated like what happened to the Vios, Altis and Camry, they will give big discount.

If you are eyeing the new Hilux, be patient and wait for the same free accessories and rebate like what they are giving to the current Hilux now. Buy early and you only have yourself to blame for contributing to the fat annual bonus of UMW’s greedy board of directors.

• Syoik-syoik Spyshots on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Too cheap this Hilux.
    UMW should have price it at least 180k.

The dunggu that buys this car will super syoik sendiri thinking they bought a hi-class car, but in fact isn’t at all.

Kena screw kaw-kaw…..until their pants fall down. hahahahah

• Gila punya harga. Bye2 hilux.

• As usual, UMW spec listing, lack of safety equipment for low spec buyer. But no reverse sensor for low spec variant or even for truck? Seriously ???!

• Rey FJ on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:41 am

I better save some money to buy FJ Cruiser…

• Why no cruise control and automatic air-con?

• APA la u on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Power window is a feature? What year is this 1980? I thought it was a necessity. Toyota is still targeting the illiterate ah peks that wanna pickup China girls. Anything beyond the premium variant is a joke

• Sad sad specs there with such pricing. No doubt these will be hot selling due to the Toyota badge. Still can’t get myself to love Toyota Hilux. If only the Hilux is just as catchy as Toyota Tacoma in the States… that will only happen in the dream :(

• Chong on Mar 21, 2016 at 9:24 am

The new price tag is absolutely insane. Now, i don’t even regret for bought my latest Hilux 3.0G with 103k.

• tuhan on Mar 29, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Itulah sebab support bn terpaksa beli kereta mahal, ini semua salah kita kerana mau dapat 1guni beras percuma pada hari pilihanraya, hakikatnya kena tanggung sendiri dengan membeli kereta mahal semua wang hilang masuk pocket orang.

• tuhan on Mar 29, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Tuhan

• Why toyota so eager for money 100k above with empty accessories new price increase alot without full accessories, than wait 5yrs later got rebate & discount 20k

• tuhan on Mar 29, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Itu salah kita sokong sama bn kerana mau dapat 1 guni beras pada hari pilihanraya dan ini hakikatnya terpaksa tanggung sendiri dengan membeli kereta mahal.

• tuhan on Mar 29, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Itulah salah kita mengapa kita masih sokong bn dengan hanya mau dapat 1 guni beras pada hari pilihanraya dan hakikatnya terpaksa tanggung sendiri dengan membeli kereta mahal akhirnya wang masuk pocket orang.

• vamptor on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Now only sarawakian buy Toyota. Most sarawakian are still in closed mind set and they are so easy to convince just by giving crazy rebate.

• Tyler on May 14, 2016 at 10:16 pm

why toyota hilux revo in malaysia edition don’t have automatic air conditioning and then the touch screen panel are different? look cheap!!! Thought

• Albert Ki Boon Hou on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:40 pm

ok let me tell you a true story.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoHbn8-ROiQ&t=1s
    Really? I buy revo and my tyre original change to Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme 4×4 tyre.i try do in same video.nothing happend?,dont be fool by this video .all big boss know how to drive without accident because they know how to change better tyre and better drive.

• Colin jay on May 30, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Without cruise control,rear aircon,abs and and should have leather seats what’s hundred g worth?rubbish…!!common umw