Mitsubishi Malaysia increases prices by up to RM8.5k

Mitsubishi-Malaysia-2016-prices

As warned in November 2015, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has increased prices for its range of vehicles. MMM says that the move is “due to the depreciation value of the Malaysian ringgit that has impacted the overall cost of vehicles.”

“Despite all adversities, rest assured that MMM will continue to offer attractive on-going deals and promotions for our customers. MMM remains committed to provide all Malaysians with a pleasant ownership and value-for-money cars,” the company’s CEO Yang Won-Chul said.

Sticker prices are up across the board, with some exceptions. No change for the Mirage, which could hint at the impending arrival of the facelifted Mirage that surfaced late last year. The big old Pajero has been dropped from the local line-up, and the Attrage is now available in a single GS spec – no more SE. The 2016 Attrage GS takes on the circa RM75k price of the old SE, and we’re told that spec levels are more or less similar, without LED DRLs.

The locally assembled ASX range sees the smallest increases; bigger jump for CBU Thai imported Triton

So, aside from the spec realignment of the Attrage, prices are up from 0.91% to 7.19%. Prices of the locally assembled ASX range are up by the smallest margins, while the Triton pick-up truck range (imported from Thailand) show the biggest increases. Click on the above before-and-after chart for a better view. Pricelist scans are below.

The ringgit’s dismal performance last year against major trading currencies have led to car companies increasing prices of new stock. The start of the year has brought about new and higher prices for Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen and Audi vehicles. Even national carmaker Proton has increased prices by up to 4.6%.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:45 pm

How can this be so? Najib promised 2 years ago he will reduce car prices. Already our cars are 3X the price of the same car cold globally. This means, Malaysians are paying tiga kali ganda for any car.

If the Government cared, Government will lower the taxes. But Government don’t care. You know why? Every car company is directly or indirectly owned by the Malaysian Government. So, if they reduce car prices, it is less money for the Government to Songlap

Also, they give you 3X global prices for cars, and lessen the spec of the car like taking out airbags, VSC, ABS etc.

So, you pay 3X car prices but you get 10X less safety spec.

The kampung people will say, “Syukurlah, walaupun harga naik sikit, negara masih aman dan damai”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
    • They will say this is due to international fuel price down and which is out of their control, not they ‘mungkir janji’.

And then, still got many Macai believe in this shxt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Not enough money but want better quality? Get a Inspira then.

Proton still best at rebadge, those 100% R&D models are nothing more than Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

• camtakpro on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:45 am

Can’t deny Inspira is the best Proton models. Better than Lancer.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Why is car prices getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. We like to blame on currency lah, oil lah, banjir lah….but it is really Songlapping that is causing problems in Malaysia

Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?
    It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher car prices every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
  • Where is Najib's Promise? on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Where is Najib’s famous election promise? He said he will reduce car prices by 30% if people voted BN in. Malaysians trusted Najib, now we kena tipu besides the RM2.6 billion he sapu.

Most Malaysians hidup susah. Most Malaysians work so hard yet, groceries and cost of living too high in Malaysia. Now, Government hantam even more despite making about RM100 billion just on GST collection alone last year.

Najib spent Rm500 million on a new plane despite having 4 personal and private jumbo jets already in the hangar and yet, he ask us to eat kangkung, tanam jagung and buy RM1 for whole chicken.

I look everywhere also I cannot find RM1 for whole chicken.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • Problem is people never finish listening to his sentence to his promise. He said “You scratch your back and I screw you in the back”!!!

• why the mirage tin milo kosong also must increase price? funny bec picanto which is also an A segment car can be priced lower at rm61888 only. got ESC and 6 airbags summore. cheapskate MMM only give 2 airbags without ESC, lol. just reduce the mirage price to slightly expensive than axia sudah cukup la

• Attrage already no ppl want to buy, Mitsubishi Malaysia still dare to increase price by 7k ++ ?

Mitsubishi and Proton really abang adik.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:07 pm

That attrage is even more dismal than the ringgit… Holy crap mmc…

• camtakpro on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:49 am

Really hope paultan to release a video on car price vs value. For cars price below 150k.

Anyway that Attrage… Drive@Expensive.

• Kimchi Time on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:41 pm

With this type of price i will rather to go for Kimchi instead of eat Sushi and Nasi Lemak. Safety first

• Mau cari makan on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Mitsubishi Malaysia on weed??

Their cars oredi tak laku….so oredi so many old stock at open parking, gathering dust, now increase price samor?

• Professional on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:36 pm

mitsubishi waiting to close shop.
    their triton not more than 1 year old already throwing discount like 10 years old.

• tokmoh. on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:30 am

Padan muka, they all bodoh bertingkek-tingkek.

Wanna kedekut on ESP, yet overprice all their tin milo. Penny wise, pound foolish.