Volkswagen owners in M’sia get a free service today

Volkswagen Free Service-01

All Volkswagen owners in Malaysia who have scheduled a service today are treated to free labour and service. The one-day only special applies to all Volkswagen dealers nationwide.

The free service, as part of a surprise gesture, is in line with the brand’s tagline, Always by your side. This was announced at the inaugural Volkswagen Cares Programme which kicked off today. Said programme will be held in each quarter of 2016, as an effort to bolster the Volkswagen ownership experience in the country.

Owners are also given free car clinic sessions, with topics covering safety, fuel saving tips plus passive and active safety features available in Volkswagen models. Child safety and steps to take when faced with emergency situations such as a breakdown or a flat battery are also included.

This latest surprise follows the two recent public stunts, where Volkswagen owners received a free carwash at a shopping complex, and were handed little treats to cope with the traffic jam in the Klang Valley.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• james on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:58 am

Just do free 10 years warranty for your disease car la. That surely can be surprising

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:11 pm

When VGM gave sweets to the public on the roadside, it created massive jams. We all suffered. Did they have licence to do this?

Also, it put the girls to risk running to cars. High chances of getting knocked down.

VGM, already you are irresonponsible selling faulty cars in Malaysia but, did you get licence to make your girls go to each VW car and give sweets.

Many owners were also shocked. But you potray they were happy. Some heart patients also got shocked when your girl’s knocked on their window.

I hope someone lodge a polis report on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Nazee on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:18 pm

dont want to be too sarcastic but is this because of the hot weather last week making some dsgs and turbos go bust again?

• Lim KC on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Yup Nazee..this was proven with my own eyes for the past 2 weeks i saw 2 models waiting for towing at the road side…what i thought only hater comment badly in this column..but this is real case!!

• Edwardo on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Free Labour only ? and make so much advertisement… my Perodua also free la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • VGM Please Close Shop on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:59 am

I don’t know what game they are playing. From free car wash to free sweets at traffic lights.
    People don’t want aall this nonsense. VW owners want 3 things

1) 10 year Warranty on DSG
    2) Fixed Resale Value after 7 year Loan finished
    3) Free Courtesy Car and Tow Truck 8x a year.

VW owners are still facing problems with their DSG in Malaysia despite using mineral oil. Cars are juddering and breaking down. People buy RM200k car but have to stand in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come every other month.

How is VGM going to compensate the 21 anual leave that VW customers completely use to repair and fix problems?

In would be good if VGM also give a fixed trade in value after 7 years cause now, even used car salesman don’t want to touch our cars. Our 2nd hand value has become a joke. Passat 2014 used car dealers are offering RM80k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:01 pm

VW owners are used to surprises, especially when their expensive car suddenly breaks down on the middle of the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • VGM - Lies Lies Lies on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:05 pm

What nonsense is this? from car wash to this? Is VGM insulting people and owners of their lemons?

Better for VGM to close shop. Lie after lie. Dieselgate is just one lie. For years VGM lying about DSG also. Nobody wants this surprise. Surprise us with 10 year warranty on our faulty lemons

Let me remind everybody here, please tell everybody you know about DSG. Let VGM suffer. Even with continuous breakdowns, they increase their prices. That is arrogance.
      DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia as DSG is inherently faulty in hot countries. This has been confirmed by VW AG. German parent already confirmed this.

This year, VGM better close shop. Everybody is now staying away from a company that lies lies lies lies

We are stuck in jams because half your cars stall because of DSG and these cars cause massive jams lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota is the best on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:19 pm

My toyota vios and Innova running for 10 years never break down at road side, that’s why toyota have high rv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 28, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Of course, previous Toyota (10 or even 20 years old ago) was used to be good car (reliable and durable), same like Proton during 1990 era. Lately it become ‘taik’ @ Toyotaik already.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:02 pm

VGM and DRB group are one Crony entity. VGM can sell lemons to Malaysians also and get away with murder. In China, China government told VW China to give 10 year warranty. VW China complied.

In Malaysia, you cannot complain about faulty VW cars to an ombusman or to the Government cause the Government got a big stake in DRB. If DRB lose money through law suits, government lose money

So in Malaysia, if you are given berak to eat, you have to eat it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • The real murderers are Party Hard crony umw toyota for selling moving coffins. At least VW gip 4 airbags in bog std ckd polo sedan. But the best is still P1 for striving to keep u & ur famili safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • Conti on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:06 pm

How the hell you go from dsg to Toyota, one can only wonder.

• Cuz somebody got the bright idea to go from dsg quality to bashing the Gov?

• Anonymous on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:50 pm

How come you know DRB-HICOM owns VW’s stake both for distributorship and manufacturing brother? How about VW Germany? Don’t simply accuse without validated facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • euro cars are just unreliable…gone are the good ol days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2016 at 6:01 pm

That is why they are called sui kwan euro

• saladin on Feb 27, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Free schedule service for today. Good strategy, no need to do advertisements that cost millions, just inform press doing csr, then tomorrow got free article on all news paper. Problem is all people read the news still got same perception, vw is expensive, always rosak and no resale value. Now vw which of the problem did u tackle…….NONE. So back to normal nothing change.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Sorry vw.. The brand is sooo brocken, u give free wedding expenses n honeymoon still wont repair the damage… If proton can admit their wrong doing in their products, why cant u?
    And its not about dsg anymore, thats is so last year, ur service is not much better than protons i can assure u, i hav been to both, dont let the fancy waiting area fool u, talk to the supervisor or technician n same old same old…

• dont buy on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:08 am

then don’t buy.. simple as that. go and get your brand or with those faulty airbags and milo tin cars. i don’t have any problems anymore with the service centre. you should do your homework

• Henry on Feb 28, 2016 at 12:17 am

Why bother? A new Subaru comes with a five year or 100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty plus five years free service (labour & parts) without the customer asking. No dodgy 2+3 warranties.

• Tamau itu macam on Feb 28, 2016 at 9:37 am

After so many bad incidents, complaints, etc…VWM still make donno, and refuse to listen to their customers….

Maybe in a year, their sales will be like Proton. Cheap sales still nobody want their car…

• dont buy on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:11 am

that is why volkswagen sales are slowing down due to people condemning the products which are based on hearing. you guys should stop.

• typical german arrogance, everything that is to know is already known attitude..status concious malaysia high status kononns rush to buy this german proton only to realise that they have conned..tough, cant sell later can use as reban ayam

• less now on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:25 am

dunno whether anyone notice…the posts fr the haters are so much lesser now, but i suspect the reason for this is even they got tired of endlessly bashing VW on forums.

go order an iced tea and enjoy it…cheers!

• Just want to ask all VW owners. Have any of you experienced a scheduled service costing a lot more than what was in the service booklet?

In my case, I was charged more than double. There were no extraordinary or additional items done.

Thank you.