VIDEO: Volkswagen Malaysia surprises car owners

Volkswagen free car wash screenshot-01

In a little stunt that took place at 1Utama shopping centre recently, Volkswagen Group Malaysia decided to give car owners a little bit of a ‘sparkling’ surprise. Their visit to the shopping complex earned them a free carwash. It’s also an attempt to emphasise on the brand’s current tagline – Always by your side.

UPDATE: The video has since been removed from YouTube.

To much delight, many seemed happy that they were presented with a free carwash. “Volkswagen Malaysia wanted to bring a smile to the faces of customers,” the video noted. Later on, three lucky winners were provided with an extra surprise – a free-of-charge one-year car spa membership.

At the end of it, owners were provided with a hang tag that read, “we love it sparkling as much as you,” followed by hashtags #GoTheExtraMile and #AlwaysByYourSide.

What do you think of this surprise, folks?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• taboogen on Feb 23, 2016 at 9:48 am

after “surprising” customer in Europe, free car wash only for malaysian… totally surprised lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:18 am

more to the fact – malaysian customers were caught by surprise.

1. at the number of times they were stranded by the road side
      2. at the number of times they had to ask for a ride from colleagues, or take public transport
      3. at the number of times they have to make a visit to SC
      4. at the number of hours/days their cars spent in workshop.

Honda – The power of Dreams
      VW – The Power of Surprise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
      • VGM Pls Close Shop on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:52 am

Those days VW owners come here and kutuk all other brands. Look down on every other car. Kutuk gila gila. Say people poor lah and all that and cannot afford their cars.
        Now the truth is out. Not only got so many lies, don’t know what other new lies are going to crop up.

Everything also lie. Even their warranty also lie. Actually only 2 years real maufacturers warranty. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty and so many people say claims are turned down.

So, even warranty also they lie. I would not dare commit so much money on a company that lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:52 pm

They should just use Kia’s slogan instead.

• VGM Pls Close Shop on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:51 am

Better for VGM to close shop. Lie after lie. Dieselgate is just one lie. For years VGM lying about DSG also. Nobody wants this surprise. Surprise us with 10 year warranty on our faulty lemons

Let me remind everybody here, please tell everybody you know about DSG. Let VGM suffer. Even with continuous breakdowns, they increase their prices. That is arrogance.

DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia as DSG is inherently faulty in hot countries. This has been confirmed by VW AG.

This year, VGM better close shop. Everybody is now staying away from a company that lies lies lies lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • When car sales drop, always by your side. When car sales ok, who the F are u?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:00 am

If they really sayang their customers, they should full 5yrs manufacturer warranty and 10yrs warranty for engine and drive train, like they did in China. Anything else is just an insincere gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • DSG Fail on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:18 am

Car wash…indirectly create more swirl * scratch mark and thus, owner will need a new paint job. You see the catch :p

VW should give free dsg gearbox replacement for life if they really do care about giving back to owner.

• VW – Sunset

• waters on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:25 am

This is news? Must be a slow day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • rally_fan (Member) on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:51 am

Zzzzz… please do something tangible for your customers.. a carwash isn’t enuf after all the problems.

• After all the fiasco, all you can give is a free car wash?

Anyway, it is still better than Proton. Still arrogant as ever, scolding the people for not buying their car and blaming all other people for their failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • But at least P1 want to save u & ur famili life. Toyota strive to send ur famili with u to everlasting eternity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Save? You mean saving money by giving you cremation too?

• Nope. Save ur sorry ass, unlike toyota save u money from buying coffin for whole famili

• one of the vw owner caught my attention though, she is so sweet! :p

i can wash for her for free…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • -BigBalls- on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:41 am

someone pls call suicide watch as my neighbour has been stucked with public transport when her VW Golf has been rotting in her house for the last 2 months, the service centre has repeatedly fail in repairing her car :( :(

• Focus on your after sales service, reduce parts waiting period, enhanced your mechanic skill is your priority, do this surprise for what?

• car lover on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Alamak, car wash for what? Every car owners can afford to pay. Just make sure u take care of the gearbox problem customer will be happy. Fix it or replace it.

• domainicus on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:52 pm

I detail my car myself. I would not let them touch my hard-earned possession. They will add swirl and water spot to my pristine paint. Take that VW!

• BlitzAce on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:08 pm

A car wash. Really?

• andrekua on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Hahaha… free car wash…

I didn’t know car wash so special till need to advertise. VW CEO wash for you personally is it?

• applegreen on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Free car wash as 1st marketing strategy. Maybe secondly they will give u free wiper. If customer still unsatisfied maybe VW gives u free tyres

• Leonardo on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Did you say carwash or whitewash?

• ayamxxx on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:48 pm

My area, car wash with vacuum only for rm10. Comeon vw, marketing with rm10 only?

• Das Autar on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:16 pm

VW call that as a “surprise”? Even your customer send their cars to service, and it’s never being wash prior car collection. You call that a surprise? It’s VisitWorkshop indeed. What a joke!?!? Better close shop in Malaysia. Das Autar!

• david on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm

its rather easy to execute.
    the number of vw on the road is small as most of them at workshop. then the number of vw owner shopping at 1U is a even smaller %.

assume the cost of carwash = rm20, then the entire marketing gimmick is rather cheap to execute.

• Ah Pek on Feb 23, 2016 at 9:09 pm

After lion dance now come to cash wash.. a creative way to win back customers loyalty but anyway nasi sudah menjadi bubur..next suprise free 1 box of panadol or minyak cap kapak!!

• Free car wash is like free brain

• Sam Tow Truck on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Free tow truck service better la…..

• CK Dave on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:02 pm

2 faulty gearboxes and now on the 3rd set of engine pistons.