Proton Perdana good for Argentine market, says envoy

2016 Proton Perdana 1

Witnessing the launch of the new Proton Perdana yesterday, Argentine ambassador to Malaysia Manuel Balaguer Salas said that the new flagship D-segment sedan stands a good chance of penetrating the Argentine market, according to a Bernama report.

The envoy said that while the Latin American country previously employed protectionist measures, the new government under president Mauricio Macri is slowly opening up the market after coming into power last December. “The Proton Perdana is a beautiful car, the price is good. It has a good possibility to be imported to Argentina,” Salas told the national news agency.

Salas added that Proton may be entering the Argentine market as part of its efforts to penetrate the South American market. Earlier in the month, the brand was relaunched in Chile with the official opening of a 3S showroom in Santiago and the launch of the Prevé, marking the first time Proton has offered its cars on sale in the country since the Wira was last exported there in 1998.

Proton_Perdana_24_Grey_Ext_22

Additionally, Salas agreed with Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who said that the Perdana could mark a turning point for the national carmaker. “I think it has a strong possibility of doing that. Proton started off as a company which received a lot of protection from the government, but now they are more competitive, and less dependent on government aid,” Salas said.

Salas will have to wait a while for the Proton Perdana to be exported to Argentina, or anywhere even – Proton CEO Ahmad Fuaad Kenali confirmed yesterday that Honda has barred Proton from exporting the Perdana until at least 2018, after the company changes the engine and transmission from the current Honda-sourced 2.0 and 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines and five-speed automatic gearbox to Proton’s own units.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kuriang on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Proton again?? let me rest please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
    • Apa LanJixo Cibai pun ada on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Perdan”a”cock make them so proud. 15 years Honda old tech still make them so happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • I’m so proud of Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
        • tokok on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Because Argentina don’t have old Honda Accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:09 pm

When Proton has tried out all countries on the earth and still can’t export a sustainable amount of cars, they will try the moon market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Met demon on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Dun forget matt damon on mars

• Sam ada proton on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:43 am

Please uncle Sam, you also owned a proton, dont make negative comment to reflect your bad decision.

• Raghu on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:21 pm

How about Bangladesh market? Good also kah?

• Albert on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Bangla spit at Proton here.Export to sendiri market here, that is GOMEN dept.,sure laku.

• Same L0rr on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:09 am

Sergio Aguero & Carlos Tevez will buy this Perdana

• Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Politicians all sweet talk only
    The Argentinians why would they want a fake last gen Accord with CamTakPro engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • john is otak batu on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Just for courtesy only lah…by 2018 Brand new Honda Accord already dominate big chunck of Argentina market.
      Everyone will start running away from Potong showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • potato on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:19 pm

hi, you don’t know Argentine auto industry, they pretty much take all the leftovers nobody else wants in the world.

cars with ABS is considered a luxury.

so Perdana is very high end spec over there.

• Argentinians are not known to be among the smartest people in the world you know.

• noel adam on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:49 pm

2 yearrrrrrshhh… better Argentina peepz bought Honda Accord much more better n cheap too,, outside Malaysia,,,LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Burong on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:06 pm

In Malaysia, Proton Accordana 2.4 selling price RM138K. In Argentina, Proton Accordana 2.4 selling price after conversion RM85K. Exactly same like Australia. We Malaysia are taken for granted. Suck local blood to support oversea sales. If such our goverment’s blood is ok, cause our goverment is filthy rich. If suck those who use 9 years loan to get this Accordana, is …. I don’t know how to describe.

So with superior price, Accordana should sell well oversea. But reality we need to monitor. Will keep you updated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • In b4 Argentina ambassador sudah makan dedak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • pomen on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:52 pm

sure there are more cheaper than malaysia…

• noel adam on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:53 pm

btw.. i own Honda Accord 2.4 that i bought new last year… seriously x pernah menyesal.. i am very happy with my car thou. Assalammuilaikum n peace Out :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • ex accord on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Dude… i just sold off my accord 2.0 vti as it has unresolve funny smell on hard acceleration and squeaking dashboard on uneven road… this is true story.. so regret..im looking forward for w213… hope not dissapointed again

• perdana no ESC on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:27 pm

if u can afford w213 i dunno why u bought accord. of cos a superior car with bigger price tag.

• oh mak lu cina on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Doesnt mean can afford to buy Lamborghini means must buy lambo la. Only bangsat thinking like this. Buy the maximum they can afford!

• ex accord on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Yeah… i just dun get it why people keep bashing this perdana with the same powertrain of current accord 2.0 vti. The reason why i chose accord at that time because i dont want to be so flashy… it still a D segment eventho honda’s brand is below benz and i was looking a decent spacious car and less problem.. turns out its not like i expected … now after 3 years is better wait for CkD w213.. the cbu price doesnt make sense . Still to compare accord n w213 is not fair.. it just that stop praising honda like they are mercedes benz.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Proton has exported to Argentina in the past.

Like Chile, exported models were mostly Wiras, but most of the Argentinian Wiras had the 2.0-litre 4D68 NA diesel… very economical, but underpowered and typical of 90s diesel cars… but surprisingly, it was good enough to win a bid for a local Argentine police fleet. Some 400+ Wiras were exported to Argentina sometime in 1998/1999.

If the Prevé does well in Chile, Proton and Matrade should consider selling it in Argentina too. Brazil is a different story though, because local assembly will be required to escape high taxes. However, Proton has a good… no, VERY GOOD chance in Brazil if they stick with their ‘affordable safety’ USP, because most of the popular affordable Brazilian-assembled cars are milo tins and merely updated 1990s models. Mexico is too competitive for Proton though, I’d suggest they hold off plans there for now. Basically, if Chinese cars are doing well in a certain market, it is fair game for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • So now you lump Proton together as China cars? LoL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • According to bashers, u r lying. Albert says Americas get US quality cars made in USA woh!
      And they r very confident that this is the main reason why P1 will sure fail woh!

• Argentine, later got problem don’t cry ok?
    Don’t cry for us Argentina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • mangkuk on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:06 pm

what to proud of?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Taksukakkeluar on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:41 pm

No proud coz you are not belong to bolehland

• Cuz we can come out with own car and export it, while their best known export is human slave known as messi?

• Petrodollar on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Once the powertrain get changed, will Proton be allowed to tune up the suspension to their standard? If by then Honda still bar it, then it’s pathetic to see such situation, laughable even..

• Mr Fakta on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Sell it 1st, get result, then only talk crap.

• Local market also can’t tackle, wanna talk abroad pulak.
    Stop being delusional and start improving the cars and it’s spec please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • In aussie exora is the most popular family wagon, what say you?

• Basheer on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:12 am

Abroad people buy first then if car not good bash it. Local people like you don’t even test drive but just bash, bash, bash only.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Proton, give one Perdana 2.4 to Messi please . Then only Argentinians have confident to buy.

• alldisc on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Messi can afford to buy range Rover. So why drive a perdana? Unless of course lah… proton endorsed him as ambassador

• Ollie on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:43 pm

The hypocrisy – expect others to open their market for our junk while we have a protectionist market to protect our junk. Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • China korea japan oso have sort of protektion acc to p1 basher

• Nasi Lemak Proton on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:21 pm

hahahah, malaysian are made to pay more for Malaysia product, while Argentinian gets better specs, and cheaper Pondana, even though the cars need to be shipped half way around the world.

1Malaysia untuk Malaysia?…….More like, Malaysia lagi-lagi, hari-hari diperbodohkan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Messi on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Dun cry for me Argentina!! after so many years still rebadging…sob sob sob..better export to Afghanistan, Pakistan, Ubeskistan,Tajikistan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Topkek on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Your jepunis overlord oso rebadge. You dun persoal pulak.

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • OMG!!!! AGAIN?

• What to do on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:52 pm

After launching Rakyat dah complain about the pricing….kira sini kira sana mcm dah xboleh buat $$$$ kat msia…..lepas tu meeting sini meeting sana baik jual kat oversea…..

• El Gaucho Steely Dan on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Good opportunity so long as Proton marketing don’t rename the model to Proton Falklands Top-Gear 2.0, 1982 edition.

• I genuinely feel sad for Proton. Just please die quietly.Please don’t put Malaysians in a shameful position.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Then rakyat argentina say..”This is based on previous generation honda accord, why u so excited to own it…”

• Envoi on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:28 am

An envoy’s job is to say nice things

• Aikon on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:32 am

You guys really don’t READ the article do you? Especially the last paragraph…

• robert mugabe on Jun 16, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Good chance of penetrating Zimbabwe market
    Everyone is a millionaire there

• Welinkar on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:13 am

This new Perdana may turn out to be another white elephant. I suspect it was the ‘brain child’ of Mahathir. ‘The premiers premier !’ To boost the production numbers, I reckon most of these sold will be to govt departments & others. Did Proton think this new Perdana would be viable ? What were they thinking ? Why focus on a D segment car ? Take a note from Perodua, they are uber successful and deserve to be top dog, because they embrace good technology and produce quality cars, at the right price. Time and time again Proton needs to be bailed out ! Stop feeding the egos, Malaysia needs to attract foreign car companies back on an even playing field.