New Proton Perdana limited to 7,000 units annually; exports permitted once new engines on board in 2017

Proton_Perdana_24_Red_Ext_25

The outgoing, government issue-only Proton Perdana was based upon the eighth-generation Honda Accord, and was subject to production and export restrictions. The just-launched Proton Perdana – fourth generation by Proton’s reckoning – is also based upon the Japanese car, hence it is subject to restrictions the same as those imposed upon the preceding model.

Part of the agreement between Honda and Proton is that export of the Perdana is not permitted, and annual production volume is limited to 7,000 units; Proton expects the Perdana to receive powertrain updates at the end of 2017, which then allows it to meet the stipulations of export.

“The powertrain change is expected at the end of 2017. So, by that time, we’ll put in a new engine for the Perdana and with that engine, Honda will allow us to export the the Perdana overseas. But having said that, I believe the local demand will be sufficient for us to meet the requirements,” according to Proton CEO Ahmad Fuaad Kenali. Even so, Fuaad added, it is subject to negotiations with Honda.

Proton_Perdana_24_Red_Ext_04

In terms of the bigger picture, Proton says it is still on track towards its overall annual target of 150,000 units, although that may not take place this year due to the delay in the Perdana’s introduction to market, which consequently will weigh down on overall numbers.

“The Perdana originally was supposed to be launched in January so, by right, the whole year would have given us 6,000 numbers in terms of target. But now, it’s been deferred to today, which is June 14, so that will halve the numbers. Likewise, for the Proton Persona, Saga, as well as Ertiga (a small MPV, under collaboration with Suzuki), there’s some delay to the numbers. That’s why the numbers now cannot be 150,000 but we still hold true if it’s full year’s numbers, once all these models are introduced,” Fuaad added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Fitri on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:21 pm

who cares???????? pls stop Proton news. this is not a major product. it is an outdated Honda rebadge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 35
    • Operation Manager on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Pondana got 7000 unit booked on day1 launched. Then how many unit 2016 Honda Civic booking as of today…? Any can update…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
      • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Marketing trick only, the effect would be better if they say annual limit 70 units only.
        In Raya 2018, you can get 2015 stock for RM30k discount. Mark my words!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
        • Neutral on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Wow…if get 30k discount sure ok meh. It’s essentially a Honda after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • The difference? Perdana is limited edition car. More rare than Honda

• Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Get this “rare” car and your friends around you will laugh on you sohai dai lan ngong.
            Spend RM138k buying outdated junk home.
            Don’t play play with Proton qc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • If not, you run here naked?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo can only afford proton on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:23 pm

your son also using saga lah uncle. Better diam diam

• azrai on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:42 am

Read carefully. It is only 900 bookings. The 7000 figure is their estimate production for one year, while sales is about 3000 units. I’m still thinking why on earth they produced 7000 cars just to sell 3000? Maybe another 4000 units without those engine, waiting for Petronas EO1 then?

• 7000 unit tu syarat Honda letak kat proton. Bukannya proton nak produce 7000 unit anually pun. Dia camni kalaulah tiba2 demand untuk perdana tinggi sgt macam ada 10000 order untuk setahun, proton cuma boleh produce 7000 unit ja. Yg lg 3000 tu xde rezeki la

• Raghu on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Syukurlah nanti boleh export to Bangladesh.

• Sack designer on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:13 am

Sack the designer!!

• OMG…limited 7k annual..ahahah…no worry, the sales will not more than that 7k a year…Joke of the year.

• It’s a decent number for a D segment.

• OMG…What i respected them is they dare to dream…But seem like they are digging their own graves…bye bye.Even Honda sales had beat them this year so far now.

• Then why are you here?? I want to hear about proton. If you don’t like it then just ignore it. No one ask you to read it.

• Sound fishy for the new engine…. RnD not ready perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.
      End of the days nothing achieved. Look at the Proton hybrid then you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Trust me, in 2018 you can get 2016 limited stock with RM88k. Mark my words and watch Proton sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo can only afford proton on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:24 pm

We wish at that time you can change your son saga to this better car

• Loon Chai on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:35 am

Mark my word,2016 & 2017 will be another upset for Toyota to bounce back on top with dead moving altis,underpowered vios,and copycat Camry..while mpv is no longer in trend,avanza & fuel drinker innova will rust in stockyard waiting for 20k discount just to move 1 role of tyre ahead.Mark my word Toyota got no answer with new civic until now.Mark my word by 2018 will be another facelift lookalike altis with just 2 airbags..not answering to all variant 6 airbags civic.. Same l00 continue weeding at the corner waiting dead chicken come to visit showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • With that kind of pricing Proton would be lucky to sell even half of their limit by the end of this year.

• 7000 units annually, ya more than enough as airport limo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • LIMITED EDITION WEH~~~

• Limited to 7000? Don’t worry la. You won’t exceed 7000 unless the government change car again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Ensign on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Neo engine design looks old. Oil filter should be on top.

• bboyahman on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Keep it la PLZZZZZZ!!!!!! now is yrs 2016,u still used the 2008 technology !!! telling ppl, all this is new model…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • 7000 annually,
    5500 gomen fleet (soft loan buy back lmao),
    900 pre-booked,
    400 taxi,
    100 uber/grabcar/whatever other version
    100 proton fanboys.

buy now limited edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • I think Proton is being a bit too optimistic. I doubt they could even move 3000 units annually so dont bother about 7000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • they wont have issues moving cars. they hav their good government behind it supporting sales+jacked up price aftersales. perodua selling so much more without any comercial and fleet government units

• the rear side is like begging me to hate looking at it. What are they thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • dingdong on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Price not attractive, how much 2007 2nd hand accord selling in market now, Proton should sell at that price level. this accordana that makes me feel like buying a recond car with a new launch outlook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Wah…limited addition…fast buy

• Aero (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Not many know this, but Proton actually did export some Eterna-based Perdanas to Brunei and Singapore. Proton even shipped a few Perdanas to Britain, for exclusive use by their top Proton Cars U.K. execs. They were planning to export it to Australia and some European countries like Germany and Belgium, but the effects of the 1997 Asian financial crisis was so severe that Proton had to cancel expansion plans, and later withdrew entirely from Europe (except the U.K.), South America and certain Middle Eastern markets.

I personally can’t tell if exporting the 2018 Perdana Turbo will be a good move or not… historically, Protons tended to sell abroad because of low pricing first and foremost. Well, if the 2018 Perdana still had the same Honda engines and transmissions, then maybe it could work… after all, one of the key reasons why Proton initially succeed in Britain was because they capitalised on the proven Mitsubishi mechanics and technology. In fact, their slogan was “Japanese Technology. Malaysian Style”. With the upcoming 2018 Perdana, they cannot use that same approach for obvious reasons.

It is not possible to predict anything with workable certainty at this point with regards to Perdana exports. Should Proton attempt to export the Perdana, they would end up traversing uncharted territory. It could be a hit or miss, depending on how well Proton plays their cards.

Personally, I feel that Proton should greatly consider launching an Iriz-based crossover much like the Honda WR-V… in other words, to consider putting the Iriz Active into production… minus the orange two-tone and expensive ‘iPad dash’, but retaining the ‘Nexlide’ light bars and upping the muscularity a little. Mark my words, it will sell surprisingly well… at the expense of Iriz sales, hopefully not by much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Frustrated with Proton on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:50 pm

How to save new Perdana:
      1. Redesign the rear. Move plate number above bumper like normal sedan.
      2. Redesign the c-pillar quarter window. Follow Waja or Audi kink quarter window.
      3. Dark grey interiors. Wood panel is okay but with darker wood colour or piano gloss black.
      4. Front grille…my gosh did they slap Saga grille on it? Get rid of it and put mesh grille chrome like Jaguar instead, with only logo floating pretty in the middle.

Seriously Proton, why throwing good money to make such silly bad designs? Non expert like me can give better ideas lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Dude. Imagine you are an overseas buyer. This Proton has an interior that’s the same as the PREVIOUS generation Accord. Also mostly same technology. Whereas the NEW generation Accord already selling for a few years with new technology. And also 2nd hand Accords selling for MUCH cheaper. Which would you buy?

• Ollie on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Tak habis-habis fanboy vomit. Give back the RM 1.5bil then talk la

• PerdanaNoMore on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:46 pm

This proton Pondana is born in the wrong time. Economy is down, inflation up like crazy, unemployment, retrenchment, RM value drop like stone, barang naik and naik lagi, tol naik, and gaji stagnant, etc..
    It is not Golden Era, but actually Gloomy Era.

This “New” Pondana (read copy cat Honda Accord) will destined to be a failure even before launched.

So, I am just going to see if Govt depts in Malaysia are “forced” to use these Pondana, in order to fake-boost the sales of Pondana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • It’s not even copy cat current Accord. It’s copy cat OLD generation Accord. Don’t even have push button start, whereas even the Iriz has that.

• Akmal on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Why no mention of Vauxhall Insignia? This Perdana looks a lot like Insignia on the outside. Proton is trying to claim for their redesign of Accord but instead just another total rebadge.

• WaJib on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Belakang macam preve je..depan macam saga pulak. Main copy n paste pastu guna enjin accord lama

• Nin Heng Yan on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Belilah barangan buatan Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • This article really made me laugh for a good two minutes straight. You paultan guys are really funny lah.

7000unit limit annually huh? DRB clowns smoking weed again? I bet they won’t even reach this number before winding down. There is a better chance that rosmah will slim down to fazura’s waistline than proton being able to move that number of pondanas yearly.

• jambancamry on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:55 am

Your jamban camry can reach that number?

• 7000 unit anually is not the real production amount but the maximum production put by Honda. Read carefully before showing your stupidity. With current sales, of course proton will not produce 7000 anually.

• purotong on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:27 pm

So expensive… Why limited to 7000 units/annum?
    Excluding government bodies, it will have hard time to sell 1000 units.

• frankC on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:15 pm

this perdana is still very much Honda feel.. does this imply it may be a good buy into a ‘honda’… or wait till the new deal..end 2017.. the perdana with proton feeling.. i bet sure a lot of difference!!!
    cheers

• The rear lower one-3rd is so busy . And the body painted exhausts are so H – Jay done

H-Jay = Haram jadah

• kenot on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:27 am

I hope the sales is not exceed 7000 unit per year. otherwise, customer need to wait until next year to get this rare perdana.

• Rudy Johnson on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:03 am

I bet those who are bashing Proton left and right have not used proton cars ever in their entire life. lol

The design is not bad, even if it’s a rebadged Honda, it totally looks slick, modern and different in my own personal opinion. If you guys can be objective, it is not a sore to eyes compared with other models out there.

• Taxer on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

most of us have ridden in loval taxis which comprise mainly of protons and the experience is less than memorable

• How can you take riding taxis and driving car is similar??? What are you??? An 8 year old???

• hukaka on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:09 am

this car front look still pretty good but the back its a disaster,please redesign the back or used the original accord design it looks much more better.
    also the interior somehow looks cheap for the creamy colour.finally the price national car the price should be consider our ppl income level.to own this car family montly income must not lesser then rm 10K per month only can afford to own this car.but base on our majority income research our country per person income around rm 6-8K per family.so we still not affordable.

• Amarjie on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:52 am

The back end is like Jaguar XF 2016…

Plus does that means all of us is to get inferior engine and the export market will get a better engine hence to fulfil various emission requirement and other regulations..?

• What kind of package this perdana have? 5 years maintenance free parts and labour? 5 years manufacture guarantee? Any indication of after sales improvement that differ from existing?

• Blue Red on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:14 am

Waaaa….kesian PROTON. Kene bully dengan HONDA..
    HONDA only gave them old model of Accord, cannot change much and worst cannot export!
    No wonder PROTON is now trying to marry with SUZUKI pulak..
    Look how the Jepunis look down to Malaysian but Malaysian still stupid to buy the overprice Jepunis car and believe they are super cool when they drive one!!!

• Its in your drive on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:12 pm

2.4 engine but 5speed only?even my bike got 6 speed..in term of design,why they put fake exhaust tip?why proton?why??…

• Everytime I look at the rear bumpers, my eyes hurt…………

• front design is acceptable. Rear? ohhh no…

• Accord Is Here on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Proton is still dreaming….
    Proton is still hoping….
    Proton is still wondering….

• Hahahahahaha 7000 units can sell 700 units is lucky already. Next year can offer as taxi 1 malaysia. Taximen sure flocking. Especially iswara buruk. Sales figure up.

• Aloyneeee on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:20 am

The rear looks like the 5 series… Puii

• I think this is the only company that make car for prestige and Not for Profit. this company is loosing money again…. I really don’t understand…. u borrow money from Gov, then make car not for profit?

• go proton go.