Different colours of fuel compared on social media again – here’s what experts think of fuel dyes

The Facebook post above by Imran Suhaimi, comparing the intensity of the colour of petrol from different brands, was originally posted over a year ago. However, the post has seen an uptick in shares recently, leading people to believe that certain fuels were of a lower quality than others.

We’ve reported on this issue before – around the same time last year, a video comparing the colours of RON 97 fuel from two different stations (and the alleged difference in fuel consumption between the two fuels) went viral, prompting a spokesperson from a major oil company to say that the dye it injected into its fuels does not affect the quality of its products.

The spokesperson told The Star that the natural colour of petrol and diesel is a very light yellow. “As mandated by authorities, fuel dyes are added for visual identification of different grades and types of fuel,” they said. “RON 97 is mandated as red in Malaysia and RON 95 is yellow. The fuel dyes do not have any impact on fuel quality and engine performance.”

RON-95-Petrol

The view was echoed by an industry expert, who said that the difference in hue between different RON 97 fuels could simply come down to differing amounts of dye, which can range between five parts per million (ppm) and 18 ppm.

The method of injecting the dye – be it automated or through bulk mixing – could also account for the difference in shade, he said, adding that the difference in colour could simply be due to the fuels being supplied from differing terminals. At the end of the day, he said, the dye has no impact on fuel quality.

Finally, deputy president of the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) Datuk Zulkifli Mokti said that if anyone feels there is a difference in the performance of fuel, they should send a sample to a chemical lab for it to be checked.

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 018

“Take a sample of it and send it for chemical check and make a report to Sirim, then they will look at it,” he said. “It is very hard to say it is good or no good, whether it is mixed or tampered or not. You got to send it to a lab to check it out if there is any problem,”

So, there you are, the definitive expert’s verdict on the differing colours of fuel in Malaysia. What are your thoughts on the matter? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:09 pm

They think petrol is like buying cordial drink ar? Darker color means more pekat. LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 1
    • Ini mesti salah BN…. For color tak sama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
      • salah aku jugak? haha…colours doesn’t dictate the quality of the fuel you morons… in my everyday use of the fuel, i found that petronas RON 97 have the best knock resistance… it is easy to judge the quality of the fuel when you have knock prone vehicles…i havent tried the RON 100 from Petron yet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
      • IGP mom on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:42 am

A lot of things are BN faults, but not everything. But if you can’t see why, and assume everything is BN fault, and at the same time went on to propagate the false message that the public simply blame the govt, you are disseminating propaganda and lies. You need to do better than trolling at forums if you are hired by govt to counter Opposition online presence and monopoly. Wake up, jangan jadi badut internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Every1canTalk on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Besides the legendary shame loo, john and etc, there are still many keyboard worriors who live in his/her own world and then moo moo here and moo moo there, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • Operation Manager on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Without additive it should similar, after ADDITIVE added with be different. Darker may correlate to more concentration of additive added in result higher additive PPM, may result in better performance.

when u drive a DUAL-CLUTCH transmission car you will feel the different. Someone yold that they feel the jerking (not smooth) when pump Petronas, but anyhow pls experienced yourself to confirm it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 83
      • Additives r colourless. So how can u tell the concentration of additives just by the colour?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
      • UMW TOYOTA on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:15 pm

like u say..then if dark color then my aircon will more cool..if light color then my aircon become not cool? issit like that ah? ahhahahahhahah

• knock knock on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Try it on Proton with Punch CVT, confirm can feel it

• Self proclaim as manager but cannot differentiate between fuel additive and fuel dye?

• He housework operations manager but still kow tow to home and finance minister. need to ask ma’am everytime

• itu lah dia orang melayu kita..kebodohan di tunjuk2kan tanpa segan silu..yang kurang bijak sangat lantang bersuara..yang diam tu lah yang bijak pandai.semua benda nak viral..asal dapat nama.betul salah belakang cerita.sad but true..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • troll hater on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:32 pm

must be some sad person got nowhere else to get attention from..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Kahkah on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:09 pm

The one unlike in this comment must be that sad person bro..haha

• BOYRACER on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:35 pm

No issues for me.My job before used to involve in the oil and gas industry so I know how the system work.Those people who post these thing usually don’t know the system.I don’t blame them.Not everybody knows.For those who knows it doesn’t matter.It’s only the additives that are different.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
  • Steamafication on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Malaysians being stupid on Facebook again, nothing new here, move asking people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Hahaha on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:38 pm

“Take a sample of it and send it for chemical check and make a report to Sirim, then they will look at it,”
    Statement from Genius or…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • Andas on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Ayooo.. look doesnt mean they will stare the sample all day long.. mean they will test and analyze it la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • sepul on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:03 pm

What do you think? Sounds logical instead of asking that person to test the fuel him/herself and decide whether it is good or bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Uncle Lim on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:10 pm

So you want the lab person to taste it kah?

• SASHI KUMAR on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:40 pm

If you’re so great in SG, you won’t be reading this. Rich people won’t bitc# like you. If you’re still WORKING and earning salary, don’t even dream about your greatness lah. CBY, here got millionaires more than SG. BTW, have you got your citizenship or not? If yes, stay there, don’t cross over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • MuchDoge on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Wow, every reply you gave only have one same answer which is “earning Singapore Dollar”. Why do Malaysian news concern you? If you say you are earning the all powerful 3x Singapore Dollar, then why do Singaporeans (and/or perhaps you too) still come to Malaysia and pump petrol? Shouldn’t you help your own country’s GDP? Unless your own petrol rates are so expensive that it leaves your 3x Singapore Dollar useless in your own country too. Why be such a petty person? Usually the ones who have lesser tends to bark more/louder.

You say you earn 3x more than us, yet you can’t own anything. A COE as expensive as a car which has an expiry date which renders your car only driving certain time of day. Over here, we can drive anytime we like =).

Coming over to a Malaysian site commenting and boasting about your so called earning power isn’t going to make you look any smarter. Do you have some sort of superiority complex? You are giving your other fellow Singaporeans a bad name. You may have all the money in the world but one day you are still going to die. Without manners, you are nothing. You don’t get any respect. You are just a joke or topic of gossip to others. Please don’t be your typical KIASI KIASU Singaporean.

Sure, you can say anything you like and I wouldn’t know whether its the truth or lies because ITS THE INTERNET. No one knows your identity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
  • HAHAHA on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Anyone can work in singapore, you don’t get to talk big. You want to get respect? Be humble. Right now you’re just a sore loser who seek for attention over your so called “powerful SGD”. Pathetic. No hate, just feel sorry for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • panjang on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Keyboard warrior..hahaha.really want attention.Then again,that is what Malaysian loves so muh-propa.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:26 pm

if using eyes can see the different then scientist can resign…no need blood test..cucuk jarum and say u got AIDS… go dyno run with all different ron97 and see the result la..

• dyno also cannot show the difference if the vehicle used have stupid engine management unit…those vehicle cannot control the spark timing and amount of fuel injected…i bet the original poster only used a carbureted moped…wakaka

• Same L0rr on Jul 19, 2016 at 9:16 am

Wakaka! Test it with Proton Camporn engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain gear box!

• My logic is they mix 95 with 97 thus the lighter color

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 18, 2016 at 7:24 pm

thats the the thing about social media , one dumb axx shows up,creats a stir out of nothing…its like ppl advertising their dumbness..i can asure u that the different additives used are top secrets and no way to find out what they are..same as pepsi/coke products secrets that no one has ever been able to find out what they are…

• post ni dah lama… bukan pasal kualiti tapi kuantiti minyak rm1/liter kalau x salah….

• Shell and petronas share same tank at kvdt putrajaya, what are the different

• DPCraft on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Can anyone tell me which petrol brand Ron97 is the best? In terms of performance, fuel efficiency and will not clog up the engine. thanks

• Shell Baby on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Damn guys then use crude oil la for maximum colour and viscosity. Baru power!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:32 pm

So what colour is Petron’s Blaze 100?

The last time I had custom mixed fuel it was blue in colour. ;)…and you could run 30psi of boost on it.

Those in aviation will know what blend it is.

• old horse on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:42 pm

when stupid people tend to post some stupid knowledge info, those who believe it without finding the truth is the same species…why bother..

• sub_zero on Jul 24, 2016 at 7:21 pm

this is the exact problem

when it get into larger dumb society, hence this issue

• brandon on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:23 pm

send sample to chemical lab to check? HAAAALLLOOO ? this is a multi bilion dollar corporation…every process & operation they have cost millions and u tell me they have no control on dye content/volume? try buyin purple color orange jus. how u feel if the seller told u the same?
    even imitation china products have better colors la. sounds more like a scam to me + taking advantage on citizen knowing that nobody will take the trouble to send it to lab for checking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • If u open kickstarter to fund for sending a sample to lab test, it wun cost u anything. So why not u call out the so-called scam and tell Rapizi?

• Best petrol on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:03 am

working SG, Msia, US, UK or JPN is not the topic.
    wise on your vote if you are Malaysian.

My sense, Caltex 97 is the best among those fuel I tried.

• beehedge on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:31 pm

I seconded !
      Me no Caltex employee but i found even Caltex’s Ron95 fuel works the best with no knocking at all, comparing with other major names.

• comparing the dye is probably the dummest thing i have seen however for ron 95s, i prefer petron and caltex, others makes my car knock and i have a regular 2.0 4 pot with no turbo..shell provides best km tho

• orang biasa on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:32 pm

What? End user need to send to lab test if suspect petrol quality…. I thought that department “Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM)” need to check the routine insert of end user check or report. So that department only for fishing (zzzz)?