Proton Preve Ute pick-up by Bufori – new-age Arena?

Proton Preve Ute by Bufori-01

Here’s something interesting that was pointed to us by readers. Yup, it is what it looks like, a pick-up version of the Proton Preve, spotted at Bufori’s Kepong headquarters and driven by Tun Mahathir Mohamed.

The black Preve sedan in the pics has had two of its rear doors chopped off, and in their place is an open bed. There’s a small space behind the two front seats, king-cab style, and a truck style rear window. The dashboard is stock Preve, except for a push button gear selector panel in place of the traditional gear lever and an electronic parking brake. It’s clear by now that Tun doesn’t like gear levers.

Of course, Proton has done this before with the Arena in the early 2000s. Based on the Wira sedan, the Arena was also known as the Jumbuck in Australia, where it sold in relatively decent numbers due to the unique layout. They call pick-up trucks “utes” Down Under, and the tailgate of this Preve pick-up has a “Ute by Bufori” emblem. A new-age Arena in the making?

We’re not counting on that happening. First, Tun Mahathir is no longer in the Proton driving seat having resigned from the national carmaker’s chairman post in March. In his own words, he is “persona non grata” in the eyes of the government, which Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak made rather clear at the launch of the Proton Perdana.

So, the sight of him driving an unknown Proton at Bufori – which can customise anything one desires – probably means less today that what it would have meant if he was still steering Proton. Our speculation is that this isn’t a current official Proton project and could be just an experiment.

After all, Proton has more serious things to worry about – the Perodua Bezza is off to a flying start and its two new bread and butter sedans (Saga and Persona) can’t come soon enough. Still, a “new Proton Arena” is quite an interesting prospect, isn’t it?

GALLERY: 2015 Proton Pick-up Concept

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lkf0512 on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:36 am

Proton needs something marketable !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Extreme designer shortage on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:37 am

The longer I see it …the greater pain for my eyes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:37 am

I also hope Proton did not use the RM1.5 billion to do this experiment. The company is bleeding RM4 million per day and has only 4000 unit sales per month and they have to feed 12,000 workers.

So, I doubt Proton is involved in this unless somebody wants to make money ie they can tell Mustapa they spent RM500 million on UTE research and need another RM1.5 bil loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 13
  • old horse on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:45 am

i be more surprise if he is driving a Preve Suv..

• rezen zs on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:48 am

Look nice. Love to have one….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
  • lol Aston style gear selector.

• I always wonder what happened to Bufori, but I didn’t expect an UTE.
    No more picture of the bed? That’ll be interesting.

• Kudos to the R&D department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • If gov gave proton loan only when Tun M left, this is proof that DRB still working with Tun to let Bufori Chop Shop do this for them. Gov must act against this immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • Dia sudah resign, macam mana pun dia pengasas Proton. Project sikit2 ni orang bagi muka la…..

Mungkin jugak project ni pakai duit dia sendiri. Saya pun ada sebijik kancik buruk ingat nak buat UTE macam ni. Cuma takut JPJ tak lepas jer…

• This nothing to do with DRB working with Tun. Read the article bro. If I chop a Proton myself, after I buy it, still need Gov act against me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • that doesn’t look strong at all. One rear end collision and the whole rear half could become origami

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • really? that is pretty interesting custom made car. but still waiting for preve wagon.

• xbleh buat kat proton. dia buat kat bufori..

• dalam gambar banyak lagi preve…
    Iriz pun ada…

• Encik Azman Adnan on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Tired of seeing that old man still alive in P1. Can someone chase him out, pls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 65
    • ordinary on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Tired of seeing you still alive commenting in this blog. How would you feel if someone wishes you this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • berombon on Jul 22, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Bro, dah makan dedak belom? Klu belom, gi lah makan dulu…Apa lah bodoh sangat engkau ni? Tak malu ke kat orang sini?? Mana ada cerita P1 kat sini. Ke orang putih ko fail? Tu lah, suruh gi skolah, ko lari gi bawah jambatan isap rokok..kan dah bangang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • citizen on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:15 pm

what an ugly car. I am angry as why Proton even allow these to happen? this is ugly and not even properly engineered by this fiber shop people. they cant even sell their own cars and now get Tun to pay them for these ugly contraptions. Government must act as this is a seriously double standard by Proton if they commissioned this but letting tun go and getting Tun still do their work. can see few preve and an Iriz there also. Proton dont have RND???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
  • start a fight on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:35 pm

first bufori is not proton and this company does not request any help from government nor getting any help from government currently
    second bufori is very expensive car that none of you guys could afford
    third bufori order book mainly come from China now
    forth This UTE could be the one requested by Proton Australia due to demand in Oz
    lastly wish this is happen and getting exported down here. Miss the Jumbuck era here in Oz; the last time I was proud to let other people call me Malaysian. Now, i rather people call me Pakistani. hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
  • this thing is a result of stupid people wasting time and money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Let them be. It’s their money. Just because the title have the word Proton, doesn’t mean its all about Proton. If I have a Proton and cut my car and make it more syiok.. maybe people still want to bash Proton even they have nothing to do with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Give Bufori the Honda Accord platform, I think they can do a better job than Proton.

Bufori while you’re at it, consider of creating a four-door coupe ala CLA style with the Preve platform. I mean you guys have better R&D people than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Walter on Jul 22, 2016 at 2:39 pm

actually Perdana was done by Bufori according to insiders. everyone knows is. they are the ones who did the fake rear of the car and did that ugly failed design.

• not true on Jul 23, 2016 at 6:26 am

‘According to insiders’? That is not true at all. Perdana was styled by Proton’s design team though Bufori DID bid for the work but weren’t successful in the bid. I know people in the Proton design team who worked on the Perdana. Interestingly they themselves weren’t happy with the final styling due to internal politics which I won’t get into

• Nissan on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Lots of joke in this country where lots of company are managed by the ppl that call themselves as The Lord of the Land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • john is otak batu on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Another moving scrap metal… :P

• Tkhawk on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Don’t bother, another failure for sure!

• DPCraft on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Sedan design & body just doesn’t go well with pick-up, oddball

• Room for Improvement on Jul 22, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Since the gear selection is by push button, why don’t they relocate somewhere else. The current location with those button make it look weird. They should empty the middle area and give way to Alza’s seat, it will be more attractive as this UTE already lost the back seat. At least small kids can squeeze in the middle. Small family who want to start small business at pasar malam will benefit it..

• Support Tun or support Na..

• What is Bufori? Anyone care enough to explain it to me?

• batumudo on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:42 pm

proton cars are decent car. The only problem is the pricing

• julian lee on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:46 pm

looking at most of the comments I believe a lot of people here are truly clueless and many don’t even know who Bufori are…

• tak sesuai lah body preve buat pick up. lagipun rendah sangat ground clearance. kalau nak buat pickup ute ni kena :
    -clearance tinggi sikit
    -rim R15 tayar tebal 205 at least
    -body slim sikit mcm saga cun
    -guna diesel

body preve ni gedabak besar nampak kelakar.

• wtf….

• PaultanCB on Jul 22, 2016 at 5:19 pm

It look good compare to previous generation

• Pls dont disgrace bufori…dont even try to relate it to bufori..
    Total rubbish.

• Capt. Serious on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Noooooooooooo!!!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 22, 2016 at 9:33 pm

The Arena aka Jumbuck was a total failure in Bolehland and Australia

• Yokohama24 on Jul 23, 2016 at 10:09 am

Enough torque or not?

• KarmaComing 4 Proton on Jul 23, 2016 at 11:49 am

As usual, proton loves to syoik sendiri…..

• hospital on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:27 am

i think this small pickup is for people who using wheelchair and OKU person. easy to put wheelchair if they open the back. gear lever also had been replaced with button.