Teksi 1Malaysia revamp won’t help cabbies, firm says

Malaysia-Taxi-02

Earlier in the week, it was reported that the Land Public Transport Commission’s (SPAD) proposal to help transform the taxi service and address the implementation of e-hailing services will be decided by the Cabinet soon. One of the 11 initiatives tabled in the proposal is the revamp of Teksi 1Malaysia (TEKS1M).

Under the new model, drivers will be given an opportunity to own individual taxi permits under a liberalisation initiative that will come about by year-end. Individual taxi permits will be issued to cabbies with good and clean track records so as to help them exit the pajak (leasing) model and move towards entrepreneurship, SPAD said.

The proposed revamp is however not being viewed positively by some parties, The Sun reports. Big Blue Taxi founder and advisor Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail said the revamp benefits transportation network companies such as Uber and Grab instead of fulfilling its intended objectives.

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

He said instead of helping the taxi drivers exit the leasing model and move towards entrepreneurship, the proposal will create a bigger opportunity for the TNCs. “The transformation plan is not helping the taxi industry or local taxi drivers, but rather allows these e-hailing apps to further penetrate the market,” he said.

The issuance of individual taxi permits is nothing new, Shamsubahrin explained. He stated that it been done before in 2013, when around 2,000 permits were issued under TEKS1M’s first phase, with a similar view towards entrepeneurship. Not many taxi drivers took up the offer, he said, due to difficulties in obtaining bank loans.

Shamsubahrin, who previously said the proposed revamp of the taxi industry could spell the start of the end for taxi permit holders in the country, urged SPAD to put more focus on enforcement to punish any public transport operators who violated any public transport rules and regulations.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:10 pm

nothing is going to help you if you don’t change the attitude of your gangster taxi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • MeToo on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:32 pm

@Paultan editorial team

If I see that fella’s face on your site again, I’m gonna stop visiting. Everytime I see that face it spoils my mood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Jul 27, 2016 at 5:50 pm

I tak baca artikel, see that sohai’s face, straight rasa mau tumbuk his face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Band cronyism only will help

• Ahmadjr on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Goyang ke bro?

• Malaysian Driver on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Hahaha, periuk nasi botak ni dah nak kantoi, cakap tak masuk akal nak defend sistem pajak yg dah kasi untung berjuta2 kpd botak ni.

He never mention how the liberisation of taxi permit would benifit Uber and Grabcar. Liberisation is a good thing, taxi driver would view themselvea owning their taxi and be resposible for their service rather than working for some big cronies under some mordern slavery scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • klguy on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:21 pm

this crony just worries that his rice bowl will be gone. thats all.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:39 pm

In May 2015, Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail was sentenced to a total of 73 years’ jail for money-laundering and cheating National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp) executive chairman executive chairman Datuk Dr Mohamad Salleh Ismail

I don’t know how he can come here to give a press conference. Should’nt he be in jail? Or does the Prison in Malaysia allow inmates to give press conference?

Or in Malaysia, court can order you to be in Prison but you can go in and out as you like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Malaysia Official 1 on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Please avoid naming anything with synonym 1MALAYSIA as it’s poorly regarded in the eyes of everyone not only in Malaysia but worldwide now

• Vincent on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Wake up man… all the unfair system apply to discriminate trade is only mean to benefit small group of “relative”.
    Do you still it believes G is working toward the benefit of Rakyat?

Ask yourself, why a 50 years old pakcik not getting own taxi permit when he is already driving taxi for more than 15 years?

Why a bus that gotten 60 saman still can on road?

• johorian on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:10 pm

anything none monopolize wont agree by cronies as none of them can compete in real world..

• Mann Bell on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:16 pm

LOL.. that pic is funny

• Can I kencing on this guy’s face ?

Please change your own system to benefit the taxi drivers. Dont blame others (e-hailing) for their advancement and advantage.

The permit itself costs a burden to the driver. Stop taking 90% of the taxi driver’s money. Dont talk cock, you just want money in your pocket.

Next please.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:53 pm

How can having more taxi licencees be a bad thing for the Taxi industry? Independent taxi providers have shown to be far more courteous and well behaved.. (ie. don’t break your own rice bowl)

Of course, if you are already enjoying a near monopoly of the taxi permits, it is quite clear then why you are against this.

• David on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Company like BBT being critical to the changes is just so that they cant earn big bucks through leasing their cars to the cab drivers. More like they still intending on monopolizing the market instead of helping the cabbies (in which they claimed they’re helping but its not)

• ben yap on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:04 pm

teksi 1malaysia is a failure. doesn’t really help the people or the drivers.

• Dear Mr. Anthony,
    Could you please find another picture of the poor fellow? I’m sure a lot of us finds it ‘distracting’.

Regards

• LittleMin on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Woi botak! U cakap salah dah…

Should be “Teksi 1Malaysia revamp won’t help CRONIES” laa bodoh!!

• at 1st i thought this is DR EVIL from Austin Power hahahaha

• SPAD need to take action to liberalize the taxi industry from cronyism which is eating the life hood of the taxi drivers. This way, tax driver will able to make more earnings daily,will able to improve their disposable income and able to provide better service. Bad apples just have to go, no good service, your are out of the equation. Why let the handful of influential people decide the kind of service level public want for their hard earned money.

• crash on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Individual permits will prevent these taxi companies from leasing their vehicles to illegal foreign workers. This is a strong point.

• gjohn on Jul 28, 2016 at 9:43 am

orang tak tolong…u tak puas hati ckp taknak tolong..
    bila org mau tolong..u pun x puas hati dan berlagak lagi ckp tak guna nak tolong..

apa lagi u mau???