Mercedes-Benz GLE 500e 4Matic plug-in hybrid SUV launched in Thailand – priced from RM520k

Mercedes-Benz-GLE-Class-15

Mercedes-Benz has launched the GLE 500e 4Matic in Thailand. The new model adds to the plug-in hybrid SUV selection in the Land of Smiles, which includes the BMW X5 xDrive40e, Porsche Cayenne S-E Hybrid and Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine.

The GLE 500e 4Matic – unveiled in March 2015 along with the refreshed ML range and name change – is powered by a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 engine from the GLE 400, which has 333 PS/480 Nm in the non-hybrid variant. Here, the ICE is paired with a 116 PS electric motor and a lithium-ion battery, resulting in combined outputs of 442 PS and 650 Nm.

The big Merc has an official fuel consumption figure of 3.3 litres per 100 km, and CO2 emissions of just 78 g/km. The GLE 500e also offers up to 30 km of all-electric driving, at speeds of up to 130 km/h. Like in other plug-in Mercs, the GLE can be driven in four modes: Hybrid for normal driving, E for pure electric, E-Save for EV driving at a later stage and Charge for enhanced revitalisation of the batteries.

Mercedes-Benz-GLE-Class-22

The new model is priced at 4.49 million baht (RM521,307) in Exclusive trim and 4.99 million baht (RM580,012) in AMG Dynamic trim as seen here. Like its PHEV peers, pricing is relatively low as the GLE 500e emits less than 100 g/km to qualify for the lowest 10% rate in Thailand’s new passenger car excise tax structure.

The GLE’s aggressive pricing undercuts all – the X5 and XC90 start from 5.39 million baht (RM626,358) while the Porsche is priced from 7.99 million baht (RM929,383) up north.

The BMW X5 xDrive40e and Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine are both available in Malaysia as locally assembled models. The latter, launched in June, is priced at RM403,888, while the PHEV X5 in M Sport trim is yours for RM388,800. Both are significantly cheaper here than in Thailand.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:08 pm

My advice to all Mercedes and BMW owners, please refrain from buying the G30 as well as the W213 E class Mercedes. Don’t become like the BMW X5 owners. They bought their cars for rM580k, the one fine day, BMW introduces the X5 Plug In Hybrid for RM388k.

Now, those people who bought their X5 for RM580k, cannot even get RM300k for their 1 year old car.

Make sure you wait for the Plug ins to come out. Don’t become like the curent 3 series 320i and 328i owners…..alll crying too because the 330e is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • Nizam on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:47 pm

My dad juz bought 318i RM210K in May 2016 is crying too..
      shud wait n loan extra RM30K get spanking 330e @ RM240K.

• Sam muttu samy on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:52 pm

You are not even 0.5% of their category, why you worry so much about those who can afford?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
      • Just to let you know, people who can afford do worry about this price difference. You will know if you planning to buy one.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:47 pm

only a bodoh will talk like that. Lazy and tongkat attitude. Real rich people work hard for their money and are concerned about price.

• Sell it at this price in Malaysia and BMW and Volvo will high five each other

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:11 pm

My advice to all Mercedes and BMW owners, please refrain from buying the G30 as well as the W213 E class Mercedes. Don’t become like the BMW X5 owners. They bought their cars for rM580k, the one fine day, BMW introduces the X5 Plug In Hybrid for RM388k.

Now, those people who bought their X5 for RM580k, cannot even get RM300k for their 1 year old car.

Make sure you wait for the Plug ins to come out. Don’t become like the current 3 series 320i and 328i owners…..alll crying too because the 330e is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Pity the GLE 400 owners in Malaysia. All of them will be crying.

• tokmoh. on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Cukurla harga kereta turun, kereta di Msia sekarang lagi murah dari di Thailand.

Oh, and Volvo XC90 > all

• Dun care, just bash. Tomyamland more expensive, ini mesti semua salah NajibBNGovP1NEPTongkat…

• This design really look old, nobody will consider this unless the Merc fanpakcik.

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Sorry to MBM this time.
      While the 3L V6 + electric motor = impressive output and torque, the model really feels old, true, with the dated interior, unimpressive sunroof, half-cooked exterior and difficulty in ingress/egress(compared to X5).
      Try to test drive both and feel yourself.
      I think MBM is going to priced it some 30-40K cheaper than the X5 PHEV.
      You will trust me, X5 PHEV is still more enticing; don’t save the 30-40K.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Based on Thai pricing of X5 and GLE Hybrids, this car might be sold at RM350k in Malaysia.

Habis lah new car buyers. this will affect pricing for all brands in Malaysia. Cars like Lexus and Infiniti also will have to close shop

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:13 pm

I like your last sentence.

Unless MBM manage to play magic, I don’t see any big threat to X5 PHEV (I don’t like the two black plastics at the front bumper, though).

I think MBM may have hard time to sell the new E-class in the presence of X5 PHEV; the sale figure probably is lower than predicted earlier on.

I agreed with you, I also feel that the price will be around 30k to 40k cheaper than X5 PHEV.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:35 pm

syukur x5 and xc90 di malaysia murah beribu ribu tahniah

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Thank you Najib, for this particular time.

A good father will take good care of his children.

• HooRay on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Special gratitude to our kind gahmen. we get cheaper merc, bmw, volvo & porsche in msia compared to Thailand^^^

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:18 pm

True, the X5 PHEV price is very reasonable. Some people ordered a few biji, one go.