First batch of Tesla Model S on way in to Malaysia – shipment consists of 10 units of the 70 and P90D

tesla-model-s-malaysia-2016-5

An update on the Tesla initiative being carried out by Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia). Its CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris told paultan.org that the first batch of Tesla vehicles will soon be arriving in the country – the shipment is made up of 10 units, and consists primarily of S 70 rear-wheel drive variants, along with a single P90D performance all-wheel drive unit.

The vehicles are all examples of the Model S facelift version that was announced in April this year. The 2016 rework brings about a new, more streamlined fascia and a pair of new adaptive LED headlamps with 14 three-position LED dynamic turning lights. Also new to the mix are a body-coloured front chin spoiler, side skirts and rear valence.

Inside, the updated electric vehicle gets fresh trim choices and new equipment options, including a HEPA air filtration system, but we haven’t been given details of how the S 70 and P90D have been kitted. Standard fit items include a 17-inch capacitive touchscreen that serves as a display for the car’s infotainment system, navigation system, a reverse camera and eight airbags.

The S 70 is powered by a rear axle-mounted electric motor with 315 hp and 440 Nm, and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.8 seconds and a 230 km/h top speed, which isn’t very different than that found on the S 85 (save a lower power output from the motor, torque and performance stats are very much dead ringers on both cars).

Last year, two S 85 examples were brought in, very much test-bed units meant to showcase the car and its tech, which we highlighted through a special preview as well as an exclusive first-drive report. The 85 kW battery version was discontinued earlier this year, its place effectively taken up by the 75, which has similar specs but a marginally lower operating range (401 km to the 426 km on the 85).

As for the P90D, the dual-motor system on the all-wheel drive offering is good for 504 hp (with the battery taken into account, 691 hp being the max output of the motor alone) and 931 Nm. Relevant numbers include a 410 km operating range, a 0-100 km/h time of 3.3 seconds and a 249 km/h top speed.

tesla-model-s-malaysia-2016-4

The 10 cars are part of a special quota of duty-exempt Teslas being brought in via a special programme. Back in February, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that the government had given the green light for the duty-free importation of 100 Tesla Model S vehicles as part of its efforts to promote electric vehicles.

Last year, it was announced that the Teslas will be deployed through a leasing programme, with the cars only available to government-linked companies, a point that was reiterated during the duty-free importation announcement back in February. We were told sometime back that some aspects of the leasing are set to revised; more on this as well as the local-spec cars when the time comes.

Elswhere, GreenTech says it will be announcing developments about its ChargEV programme related to Petronas at this year’s International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition (IGEM 2016). We’ll have more news on it when the show begins, on October 5.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tishaban on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:40 am

I’ve seen a few Tesla grey import cars on the streets in Malaysia, I wonder how the over the air updates work on these.

• potato on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:31 am

Simply don’t update like turning off update on pirated Windows.

Or drive to a country with Tesla Signal for updates.

• Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:21 pm

I had seen a few Tesla on the road too, modded from Saga and Persona, because it emit noisy sounds from the legendary campro engine. Proton drivers have good creativity and imagination.

• hailthepurist on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:50 am

wonder how they recharge them..

• EvLover on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:01 pm

@hailthepurist: Fastest charge is Tesla Superchargers, otherwise, you can get an adapter for your local needs.

• There are no superchargers in SEA. the nearest one is 1.8k KM away

• Kenneth on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:44 am

If Tesla is coming to malaysia, supercharger will as well.

• EvLover on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:57 am

@tishaban: To update, Tesla uses standard wifi if you are not covered with its cell phone providers. Hope that answers your question.

• Calling2 direct tender to servis Tesla cars $500M ^^

• U need engineers to servis this car. Id say $500M is a bargain for the lifetime of the fleet

• Jimmy on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Most senior mechanics and engineers suddenly become freshies in managing these new tech vehicles.

I will pick a Jaguar over Tesla, if I don’t want German/Jepun (if you hate WW2). Volvo is less prestigeous than Jaguar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • $500M/bulan.

• tesla_coil on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:41 am

Promote electric vehicles, after that tax kao kao for CBU units.

• Same L00 on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:49 am

We are paying income tax and gst so that the cronies can enjoy tax free Tesla. WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:42 pm

More like cronies can enjoy more profits from reselling (or leasing) tax free cars.

There is a reason why all these EEV “discounts” are so opaque and hush hushed.

• Ootai on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:33 pm

You know what to do in the next election, if you can wait

• What happens if something were to go wrong? Where are they gonna take it to?

• Rempit on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:36 am

What kind of go wrong? It has very few mechanical system.

Have u read about Tesla warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Ah Kow on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Anything can go wrong. In malaysia the weather hot hot not battery friendly. Battery overheat very likely one.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:42 pm

for example a rempit crashed into a Tesla

• Ah Kow on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Come to Pusat Servis Kereta Ah Kow. if cannot fix no worries, we take the electric motor out and taruh one mitsubishi gasoline engine :) if want turbo got additional charges :)

• musalmahendut on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Now P100D already. Whats the point buying S 70? better buy Leaf or Prius. Effort to promote electric bullshit..

All for kronies.. [sigh]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • you do know the P100D costs $20k more than a CLS63 in the states. The 75 kWh is about half the price at $77k.

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:18 pm

They are making changes to the leasing programme? Does that mean that average Joes like us will be able to lease them?

• azrai on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Haha..subsidise those orang kaya to buy toys again..

• Clean Slate on Sep 27, 2016 at 7:06 am

This MGTC a crony company arr? Should boycott arr?

• Rais Hamid on Oct 04, 2016 at 8:29 am

Good news for TNB but really bad news for Petronas if they still don’t realize it’s coming pretty soon. EV the way forward.