According to the 2016 Interbrand Best Global Brands list, Toyota is the world’s most valuable automotive brand, beating the likes of IBM, Samsung and Amazon.
The Japanese carmaker also managed to become the first Asian company and only carmaker to reach a top-five spot on the list, with Interbrand estimates placing Toyota’s brand value at US$53.58 billion (up 9% from last year). Only Microsoft, Coca Cola, Google and Apple are ahead of the carmaker.
Moving further down the list is Mercedes-Benz, which occupies the ninth spot with a brand value of US$43.49 billion. This is followed by BMW, which took the 11th spot (USD$ 41.535 billion), ahead of McDonald’s, Disney, Intel, Facebook and Nike.
The 21st most valuable automaker brand is Honda, with a brand value of US$22.106 billion, besting the likes of Pepsi, Ikea and Zara, despite a 4% decline from 2015. Ford meanwhile, took the 33rd spot, followed by Hyundai (35), Audi (38), Volkswagen (40), Nissan (43), and Porsche (50).
As for carmakers in the second half of the top-100 list, Kia took the 69th spot, followed by Land Rover (78) and MINI (88). Making its first entry into the Interbrand ranking is Tesla, occupying the last spot with a brand value of US$4.011 billion.
To be included in Interbrand’s Best Global Brands, a company must meet several terms, where at least 30% of its revenue must come from outside of the its home region. Furthermore, the brand must have a significant presence in Asia, Europe, and North America as well as broad geographic coverage in emerging markets.
There must also be adequate publicly available data on the brand’s financial performance, and any economic profit must be expected to be positive over the longer term, delivering a return above the brand’s cost of capital. Lastly, the brand must have a public profile and awareness across the major economies of the world.
Yeah,world’s ‘most valuable car brands except Malaysia’..to be exact.Surprisingly Honda is in the list.Must be a great contribution of Malaysian support.As usual,Malaysian won’t follow others as we value our own appreciation towards honest and generous company,not by popularity on other countries.UMW and TMC Japan,change your attitude on marketing your product as we Malaysian dare and brave enough to be different than the rest of the world to not supporting you.We value our hard earned money more than you know it.
Are you joking? Malaysia is just a small fraction of the revenue. There’s a reason why Toyota is named as No 1 automaker in the world. In Bolehland, people don’t think long term. Just thinking about short term, cheap but more features. No consideration about its quality and reliability in the long terms.
Toyota is not even a brand! The cars are ugly, CHR looks like rhino with thick folded skin
Then what is brand? Please enlighten me
Where is our lovely Proton and Perodoa?
Mostly for local market, kid
Now go study or you only can afford kapchai
ehh… I thought honda is the best brand in the world :(
Why is Toyota number 1 worldwide but not in BOLEHLAND?
wHY HAS hONDA OVERTAKEN tOYOTA here?
Answer: Superduper premium pricing plus TULANG specs,from UMW.
The price is control by government, you idiot. If not, Protong can’t survive to beat with other company & that’s why goverment increase tax to make it more expensive than Protong. Without help from goverment, Protong already gulung tikar long time ago. That’s why goverment give 1.5 Billions to cap ayam company.
Perodua will still survive because under Daihatsu/Toyota plus they still doing better without goverment help.
If Protong not exist long time ago, all the car in Malaysia become cheaper. Try compare with other neighbour country for the price because they also didn’t have own local car.
Wow… hyundai >(35)
Congrats all Toyota owners, World’s Most Valuable!
Vios, Altis, Camry, Hilux confirm plus guarantee got chop Most Valuable Auto!
I don’t agree. Toyota is hardly believable. Honda is the best. With VTEC engines. 6 airbags. Beautiful sports cars. Crx, nsx, crz. Strong resale value for old honda accord and civic.
Some dumb @$$ will probably comment here asking where is Proton and Perodua’s names in the list
Why U worry
Do you see anyone is worry?
There you have it. After all the bashing & complaining, TOYOTA is still the No ONE in terms of most valuable in the world.
Next up, I will not be surprise if the C-HR voted as the best car in the world one way or another due to its Good looks & Toyota reliability.
It’s ugly, why you say it’s good look?
Toyota global, not UMW Malaysia
Toyota 7th most powerful and expensive brand in the world and number 1 automotive brand in the world and some people in Proton/ DRB comment here that their cars are better than Toyota and Toyota close shop!!!!!!! this is the joke of the century. grow up Proton and learn to be humble like Japanese.
Of course p1 better. Better safety with hpf, cheaper parts, better safety gadgets per price better handling.
In b4 honda wave much cheaper
Meanwhile, in bolehland buyers still pay high price for safety
Hermes is No 34.
Many highly desirable luxurious brands are not in the top 100.
Do not think that you are a Buddha/God/Jesus when you drive a Mercedes, No. 9 — top ten.
No fanatic Christians/Buddhists will punish me for using these names. Obama/FBI will not arrest me when I visit USA in North America.
Be open-minded and progress.
jepunis overlord never fail..
Except takata. Oh wait, this must be fake jepunis, rite?
As expected.
With the demise of Samsung Note 7, Korean names are now synonamous with fire and explosions and the bad taste is permeating into Korean cars as well
jepunis overlords oso now synonymous with explosion and dead pipu.
I agree with Ms Check Pick , TOYOTA don’t deserve most valuable brand in Malaysia because Toyota don’t give value to their Malaysian customer, only Brand & RV slave will be keen with their 3rd World Spec & Design. I think RV is no longer the forte of Toyota now, for example my KIA Forte 2010 have the same RV with my friend Toyota VIOS 2012 .
Please read the article properly before commenting. It stated in the world, not Malaysia.
Why do our people have difficulties comprehend a simple article like this?
I agree with Ms Check Pick, Toyota don’t deserve to be the most valuable brand in Malaysia, because Toyota don’t give value for money to their Malaysian customer. Only Brand & RV slave will be keen with their Third World Spec and design. Actually high RV is no longer applicable to TOYOTA , as my 2010 KIA Forte have the same RV with my friend 2012 Toyota VIOS. (Or now KIA get higher RV?)