G30 BMW 5 Series official images leaked – it’s a mini 7

g30-bmw-5-series-leaked-02

Here’s the first proper look at the next-generation BMW 5 Series, which will be officially unveiled tomorrow. These official-looking images of the G30 are from Germancarforum via Carscoops.

Looking a lot like a smaller and more athletic version of the current 7 Series, the new 5 Series retains a largely familiar shape with updated elements. The rear end isn’t far from the F10’s, but there are revised tail lamps that – as pointed out by many yesterday – look like those on the Honda City, especially at the wraparound area. Then again, “looks like BMW” was the comment by many when the City first came out.

A straight belt line and a “hockey stick” underlining the doors (as on the 7) are the only features on a clean profile. There’s a bolder, sportier face in front, even if you discount the more aggressive M Sport front/rear bumpers on this car.

Inside, the G30 follows the “mini 7” theme too, although the dashboard appears to have a sportier presentation and orientation – note the sharper angle at which the centre console faces the driver. Many of the elements that are silver in the limo are black in this cabin, which is updated yet familiar. There’s a new steering wheel in place. The top spec audio system is a Bowers & Wilkins unit with glowing speakers and tweeters.

Previous teasers have showed the executive car’s Remote 3D View feature, as well as the semi-autonomous Steering and Lane Control Assist system. More details of the new G30 BMW 5 Series can be found here. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Loo on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:28 am

BMW design not improving. Lexus GS way nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 21
  • Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:31 am

Fret not guys who commented on the 3/4th teasers. You are vindicated by the official images that the 5 indeed looks like a scale down 7 series.

It is handsome & looks more aggressive/powerful than the 7 due to its muscular looking presence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Wow…honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:33 am

Looks better than the current one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • i rather pick the current one than this ugly m-sport bodykit…yuck

• Najib 2.B Razak on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:34 pm

The current one has that 5 series personality. This new one is like hey, im a smaller 7!

• lao yee on Oct 12, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Bravo! for able to spot the different.

• BOYRACER on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:44 am

The 5-series has always been the best looking 4-door/5-door from BMW if you count the station wagon except the E12,E28 and the E60 imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Man Bmw has become lazy in design…I understand this a core product and a volume seller and thus they do not want to risk alienating the target market but others in this segment (i will stop short of naming them) have shown that you can be a bit bold and yet play it ‘safe’..this looks like a facelift of the current model..if you look at all the previous jumps in design for the 5 series..you will see this is the laziest ever!…It will still sell because of that badge but it’s sad to see BMW take this route….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • E60 is still the best looking, this and F10 is too conservative for brand like BMW, more like an uncle car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • David tan on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:08 am

Looks like the e class will dominate the segment without much challenge…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • malaysianofficial on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:31 pm

E class looks exactly like the C. What’s so special about it????

• Simon Ambrose on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:18 pm

It looks similar but not exactly. they have different lines and front facsia. And interior especialy.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:12 am

Oh my, even the hockey stick carries over from the 7 Series. Thought they’d want to put that as a feature for the 7 Series only. Anyways, the G30 is a handsome car. But the exterior design doesn’t stir the senses as the E60 did when it first came out. Maybe cos the G30 looks too much like the 7 Series just as the F10 looked like the 7. But good job on the inside. Way more modern and stylish than the F10. The cockpit looks like a very nice place to spend some time in. And I prefer the organic look of the new 5 Series dash compared to the cold digital (double ipad) look of the new E Class.

• Gaviny on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:18 am

Ok lah , very safe conventional design

• klguy on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:32 am

BOY, Y THEY ALL LOOK ALIKE

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:59 pm

klguy. most car manufacturer use the same corporate design to make them look alike in front & the back to identify their corporate design.

Am sure U notice an Audi 3/4/5/6/7/8 looks almost similar especially at night. The Merc/BMW/VW uses the same theme. I guess its a German philosophy thing & now Mazda is doing the same.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 13, 2016 at 1:45 am

that is why u shall get Toyota

Vios, Altis and Camry do not look the same both interior and exterior

• Najib 2.B Razak on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:38 am

The exterior is way below my expectations and the interior is nice but the fact they replace those chrome linings with black makes it look less premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Sammy on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:44 am

Wow… I am so surprised of the design… never expected this… Is like nothing I have seen before…

• Best view- rear 3 quarter. Low wide and athletic, strangely similar to 4 series behind. Front too conservative- but nothing modded skirting cant solve

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:38 pm

ugly la …volvo is the way to go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Best Man Wheels on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:16 pm

more like big 3 than small 7…

• abc123 on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:24 pm

enlarge the headlights and the taillights, here you go brand new 5-series….

• BMW Fan on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Wanted to place deposit for G30. But changed my mind after saw these photos. Probably I will go with Audi. Better features.

• applegreen on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:50 pm

worth buying if the key fob same like the 7 series

• BMW Fan on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Why can’t BMW come-up with a design like e60. I think e60 still the best design among its class until today.

• Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:07 am

BMW Fan. If you like e60, just buy a underused 2nd hand one la. Just don’t complaint it only have 6 ratios compare to 8 in the new 5 series.

I think the new 5 looks much better & have more power & refinement since its a ‘smaller’ 7 which is actually a compliment just like the new C-class is a smaller S-class.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:11 pm

The rear end should look good especially when it’s night time. Not really a fan of the thick chrome that surrounds the grill.

• 5 series on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:19 pm

I probably will failed to ‘spot the different’ if someone put the current 5 series with this new 5 series

• passion on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:23 pm

nope. lets move on.

• Taking the Porsche and Mini route……Old and the new one look like same……..
    But those are the brands which has or which create the heritage….

• Looks more like a heavily-facelifted F10.

• Don’t say Proton use the same platform for the new Saga. BMW is also use the F10 5 Series platform for this new G30.

• old horse on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:02 pm

wont be surprise the face lift version will be drastic change due to low sales of this G30..
    the lazy ass beat themselves down and hand over to E class for the next 5 years..

• BMW exterior design across its models has been evolutionary and nice- looking for years now…. and it continues with this 5.

• german brands haven adopted the sml concept..looks same only diff sizes.. don’t like d idea. its getting monotonous

• Not a Proton Fan on Oct 13, 2016 at 8:29 am

waa.. have you seen the 2016 perdana? The silhoutte of these two car are the same. take another look.. its almost the same..huhuhuh.. well, our ehem did said proton and bmw are at the same level..right??