G30 BMW 5 Series teased yet again, shows rear end

g30-5-series-taillights-edited

Teasers of the much-awaited G30 BMW 5 Series have surfaced yet again – this time, the executive sedan has been seen in stills of a promotional video captured by BMWBlog, showing a number of key design details.

The most prominent view we get is of the rear end, which shows L-shaped tail lights and a subtle integrated rear spoiler, giving it a look that’s almost Honda City-like – although we’d say that the City’s rear end was inspired by BMWs in the first place. Another photo shows the M Sport rear bumper, which gets a gloss black rear valence and trapezoidal exhaust exits.

A side profile silhouette photo reveals little, bar from a secondary swage line that follows the C pillar Hofmeister kink, much like the current 7 Series, plus the same balanced proportions as its predecessor. As for the headlights, they look to feature the same “corona ring” LED daytime running light design as on newer BMWs, but in a more angular hexagonal shape.

One more photo shows the interior of the car, which is very much reminiscent of the 7 Series, right down to the Bowers & Wilkins sound system with glowing speakers and tweeters. BMW itself has also released another video, the third in its series of five teasers that it is showing in the days before the launch – although to be honest, there isn’t much in there that hasn’t been revealed so far.

Previous teasers have showed the car’s Remote 3D View feature, as well as the semi-autonomous Steering and Lane Control Assist system. More details of the new G30 BMW 5 Series can be found here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Agree. The tail lights, akin to City’s (too obvious la) already a spoiler alert. I’m in a ride of dissappointment here once they revealed the whole car tomorrow. Sad beemer fan here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 50
    • Najib 2.B Razak on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:42 pm

I dont understand these dislikes. is it a diehard Bmw fanboy keeps refreshing the page and clicking the dislike button?

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Merc fanboi can not accept dislikes, you can talk sh*t and not allow the dislike…jelly.

• Same L0rr on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:35 am

BMW just done a glorified Camry. hihihi

• well, it just got leaked:

http://www.germancarforum.com/threads/bmw-5-series-g30-31-32-spy-pics-info-discussion.49270/page-163

• Simon Ambrose on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Tbh this car is nothing to WOW about. It is literally a downgraded 7 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
  • Simon Ambrose on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:51 pm

I was kind of excited for the new 5 until i realised it is literally a shrunken 7 series. No WoW factor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • please dont disappoint with the same ugly new 7 series face

• maXref (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Come to M’sia, it’ll be so poorly specced. 3/5/7, all their car’s specs are a joke when compared to the Merc. I wonder if they think M’sian will buy anything as long as they slap a BMW badge on it?

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Ha ha ha. On the first 2 teasers, I said it does not tickle me one bit & most BMW fanboy “dislike” me. On this new teasers, more commentators speak their opinions & they received the same “dislike”. Common BMW, this is just an opinion/comments la.

They are only telling their opinion’s & I concur with them. Is calling a spade a spade wrong !? Say what you like, I’m still going to say this 5 is a smaller version of the 7 series. Is that really a bad thing ?!

• I have seen current city mod with this headlight DRL design. According to basher logic, it means BMW copy Honda. so BMW tak tau malu wan.

• Jimmy on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:38 pm

The most stingy semiluxury vehicles to give you sunroofs/panoramic sun/glassroofs come from Lexus in USA.

We wait and see this coming May 2017.

Ottoman function in 7-series.

• Hayata on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:06 am

F10 more handsome.

• Nuujib on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:10 am

Please don’t even mention the peasant Honda City in a BMW 5 series article . It’s painfully insulting .

• Siti Burok binti Airbeg Tajam on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:13 am

City’s side profile is like a longkang line . SMH.

• The Batu on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:07 am

M5 or CTS-V?

• Bimmer on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:13 am

I can’t believe a professional car journalist would make a honda city comparison here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • old horse on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:47 am

the same blog already leak the car inside as well…disappointment..
    E this round definitely beat this 5 hands down…too conservative from BMW….they need another Bangle..

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:59 am

To PT/Jonathan, why is P1 Saga video in this 5 series teaser ??

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:01 am

To PT/Jonathan, why is P1 Saga video in this 5 series teaser ?? I wonder if anyone notice it

• Annoynimouse on Oct 12, 2016 at 11:54 am

I almost thought that the rear end pic was that of the new Saga.