Honda WR-V – official sketch of compact SUV released

honda-wr-v-sketch

Honda has released an official design sketch of the Honda WR-V compact SUV, which will make its world debut at the 2016 Sao Paulo International Motor Show in Brazil next month. The WR-V is based on the Jazz hatchback and will slot in under the HR-V and CR-V in Honda’s crossover line-up.

The Japanese carmaker says that based on the research of its South American customers’ needs, Honda R&D Brazil developed the WR-V as a vehicle that realises both a “tough and urban” SUV design – which is popular among people who enjoy active lifestyles – and excellent utility within a compact body size.

The all-new WR-V will be introduced to Brazil and other countries in South America, where the SUV market is expanding. No mention of the rest of the world, yet.

Honda-WR-V-Brazil

Back in March, spyshots from the land of samba showed a Jazz-based crossover undergoing testing, and the WR-V name was speculated then. Think of the WR-V as a “Cross Jazz” in the vein of the Volkswagen Cross Polo and Hyundai i20 Active. Like that two, the WR-V comes with the usual cues for a more rugged look – roof rails, skid plates and black cladding on the lower body. This time around, Honda has given the “Jazz SUV” a unique face to better differentiate it from the donor car. The side profile is unmistakably Jazz.

It’s not a new concept, even for Honda – the Fit Twist, an SUV version of the previous-gen Jazz, was unveiled for Brazil in 2012. This time around, Honda is using the “R-V” naming convention from its SUV range. By the way, WR-V stands for “Winsome Runabout Vehicle”.

GALLERY: Honda Jazz RS Special Edition at GIIAS 2016

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CH-R vs WR-V

• Toyota CH-R vs honda WR-V. whos win

• I thought HRV is already enough compact. anyway, surely there are always buyers

• manly on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:55 pm

80% hrv owners are girls and aunties…never looks manly enough

• I'm Sexy and I Know It on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:24 am

Nice! Slot under HRV would be around 85k if Honda bring it here.Cool.. Bring it on! I want one.Turbo below 1.5 engine much better

• Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:34 am

Call it WR-V/HR-V/CR-V or whatever you want. They are RV’s in the size of S/M/L. In short, Honda is telling us that they have sizes that can fit most people.

The Mazda have CX-2/3/5/7/9 ie S/M/ML/L/XL. I’m actually interested in the YELLOW Jazz RS Special Edition in the gallery. That is a Real McCoy.

• Mikey, you are lucky John did not see the CX-2 man. He would have tell you to do more research before commenting here.

• Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:41 am

Looks like the RV’s sector is very lucrative & in demand to car manufacturer judging by the many models introducing to the world.

P1/P2, when are you giving us a compact SUV that is affordable especially in EV form ?! The longer you delay, the more P1/P2 will loose.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:43 am

Can our Proton SUV look sexy like this? No way. Cause our engineers at Proton all minum teh, makan kuih lapis 8X a day in the kantin and they got no time to design such attractive designs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • thepolygonal on Oct 18, 2016 at 10:59 am

I was under the impression that HRV is already compact enough, now this new one is even compact~er? But if you are making a CRZ type of SUV with PHEV, by all means please go ahead…

• Proton this is how you make an SUV unlike the Vitara which is ugly as heck.

• donno on Oct 18, 2016 at 11:55 am

Proton, just launch the iriz suv to preempt this

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:58 pm

SUVs are really big market now. Honda will soon have 4 SUVs, from the WR-V all the way to the V-less Pilot three row crossover. BMW has 5 SUVS, with one more coming soon to make it 6. Considering that the HRV has Civic like interior space, I think it makes sense for Honda to do a smaller one.

• Another deceitful sketch from japanese automotive giant honda

let theo render one up, it won’t look like the sketch…

• crash on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:58 pm

You want to fight CH-R with WR-V then Honda have to put in a better instrument cluster. Just put in something like the one in CRZ is good enough. Jazz instrument cluster is dated by the time production units come out. Engine wise, if the 1.0 Turbo that the European Civic is using is sufficient, then it should be okay for this car. Downsized turbo engines suits this country due to cheaper roadtax for small cc cars.