G30 BMW 530e iPerformance – up to 644 km range

BMW has released more details and photos of the new G30 530e iPerformance, the latest addition to the German automaker’s plug-in hybrid portfolio that includes the X5 xDrive40e, 225xe, 330e, 740e, 740Le and the 740Le xDrive.

The hybrid powertrain in the 530e consists of a 2.0 litre turbocharged four cylinder petrol engine providing 184 hp and 320 Nm of torque, along with a 95 hp/250 Nm electric motor that is positioned upstream from the transmission. This allows the torque (including in all-electric mode) to be manipulated by the eight-speed Steptronic gearbox, eliminating the need for a heavy torque converter.

Supplying power to the electric motor is a 9.2 kWh high-voltage battery pack located underneath the rear seats, featuring a highly integrated low-temperature circuit and refrigerant cooling. According to BMW, recharging the batteries fully will take close to five hours using standard domestic power socket and in under three hours if it is plugged into a BMW i Wallbox.

With an overall system output of 252 hp and 420 Nm, the rear-wheel drive 530e will make the century sprint (0-100 km/h) in just 6.2 seconds, and continue on to a top speed of 235 km/h. BMW is claiming a range of nearly 644 km in real-world driving when running as a hybrid, and up to 47 km when running on purely electric power. In the latter, the top speed is reduced to just 140 km/h.

BMW 530e

The 530e also comes with three powertrain modes that are selectable via the eDrive button located just to the left of the gear selector. The first – Auto eDrive – brings both the internal combustion engine (ICE) and electric motor into play like any hybrid, while allowing for all-electric travel at speed of up to 90 km/h.

With Max eDrive, the ICE is removed from the equation altogether, with the car running on electricity only until it runs out of juice or if the accelerator is fully depressed. In this mode, the maximum electric top speed of 140 km/h is also made available to the driver.

Finally, Battery Control allows one to set the charge level (between 30% and 100%) for the battery, with the electric motor acting as a generator to maintain the set figure so it may be used for all-electric driving at a later point.

On the exterior, the 530e is identified by the several distinct cues, including the bue kidney grille slats, blue wheel hub covers, the charging socket on the driver’s side behind the front wheel arch, the “eDrive” emblems on the C-pillars and the “530e” badge at the back.

On the interior, there are illuminated door sill panels with “eDrive” lettering, the aforementioned eDrive button, and special displays for both the instrument cluster and the 10.25-inch central information screen. Said display is also linked to the latest-generation BMW iDrive system and iDrive controller. As a side note, the position of the battery pack allows for up to 410 litres of boot capacity and a flat load compartment floor.

BMW Connected is also available on the 530e, allowing owners to integrate their digital life through various devices. The system also includes Surround View and 3D View, which can be accessed via a smartphone using Remote 3D View. If you need more features, BMW Connected Onboard meanwhile, allows personalised information such as the next navigation destination, estimated arrival time and current weather conditions at the destination to be shown on the car’s display.

Shifting to driver assistance and safety systems, the 530e comes with Evasion Aid and Crossing Traffic Warning, Lane Change Assistant and Lane Keeping Assistant with active side collision protection. Optional features include Active Cruise Control (ACC) and a further improved Lane Keeping Assistant that relays information from the Speed Limit Assist.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Anyone wanna guess how much this will be when it arrives here? The X5 came in at 388k while the 330e retailed at 240k so this will be at the magical 300k border?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • 316i lelong 100K also nobody wants

• getlost on Dec 24, 2016 at 12:14 am

How much? It’ll be much luxurious than your heavily modified saga

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 24, 2016 at 2:00 pm

..Whilst all car manufacturers are moving to either Hybrid or pure EV, we in Malaysia tak tentu arah. Both Perodua and Proton have no clue about EV or Hybrid.

Proton promised the Proton Hybrid 8 years ago. Peole are still waiting. Proton promised the Iriz EV 3 years ago and showcased the car then. Proton also took lots of money from the Government each time to saying it wanted to do research on hybrid and then EV

Proton and Perodua, please wake up. This sounds like in the 90s, when the whole world moved to fuel injection cars, Proton was happily selling carbuearator cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta Kinte on Dec 24, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Dream on. They will never sell the 530e at RM300k. That means the 520i and 520d will have to be sold at RM250k which is the price of 330e

Anyway, let us assume they do sell the 530e at RM300k.

My advice to people is, wait for this car. Don’t buy any 520i or 528i or 520d yet.

See what happened to the X5 buyers. Those who bought at RM588k all crying when BMW Malaysia introduced the X5 Hybrid EV at RM388k.

Overnight, the x5 RM588k value became RM300k

The same with the 330e. Now, the 320i and the 328i also difficult to sell. Until BMW Malaysia selling brand new 2016 320i at RM170k lelong price. New 320i is RM249k.

Becareful I advice all Mercedes and BMW buyers. When they introduce the E class Hybrid EV and 530e at special tax free prices, all the other cars will drop in prices like hell

E200 and E250 Mercedes buyers, becareful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
      • Whyyou concern? on Dec 25, 2016 at 11:36 am

Why you so concern if you are happy with your P1? I have been seeing the post since 3 months ago and every time i see you posting anger story to stir things here? Get a new life and set good example for your kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Goldie on Dec 25, 2016 at 4:29 pm

There are people who do not want a hybrid in spite of the lower buying and running cost. Having a huge battery in the car is a concern and the RV is also affected by the replacement cost of the battery. More people will buy a 5 year old non hybrid than hybrid vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • heybadigol (Member) on Dec 23, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Glad that they’ve found space to locate the battery pack under the rear seats. Hope that means boot space does not get reduced compared to the normal G30.

• Mikey on Dec 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

This 530e can sprint to 100kmh in 6.2 sec. That is Hot Hatch territory.

BMW is claiming a range of nearly 644 km in real-world driving when running as a hybrid. This is Tesla territory.

BMW also claim recharging the batteries fully will take close to 5 hours using standard domestic power socket. This is easily done when U charge it when U go to sleep.

Lastly, this G30 also includes Surround View & 3D View, which can be accessed via a smartphone using Remote 3D View. That’s will take care of those looking for high tech gizmos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Ilham on Dec 23, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Very competitive against the E350e coming to Malaysia shores soon.. hmm

• karam singh on Dec 25, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Sorry, about BMW design language .. People getting bored
      Thumbs up to Merc, just took over Bimmer Worldwide

• I get about 600km on full tank with my Subaru XV 2.0 Liter engine. That’s with Ron 95.

Only when I drive on the highway like a turtle.

No joke.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 24, 2016 at 12:45 am

hope for good pricing

• Clean Slate on Dec 24, 2016 at 10:56 am

Just for the twin tail pipes included even in the base models the G30 is already a worthy upgrade from the F10.

• Isham on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:05 am

Please my car modeal honda

• If this car is priced right below 300K mark then it would be very competitive & attractive to a lot of potential buyers

• 520i already RM329k how do you expect 530e to be 300k. 320i is at RM231k and 330e at 248k. Definitely everybody is hopeful that 530e would be around 300k. Realistically it would be around 350k. Otherwise they have to price 520i around 270k

• MegaWatt on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:35 am

What are the economics between charging the car using an ordinary home socket for 5 hours to travel 47km and just filling it up with Ron 95? Can anyone share the math?