VIDEO: BMW G30 5 Series – all you need to know

The BMW G30-generation 5 Series was officially unveiled yesterday, and it is set for a market debut in February next year. As you’ll see in these official walk-around videos, it looks very much like a downsized, more taut version of its G11/G12 7 Series big brother, as it draws plenty of visual cues from that car.

Under the hood, the 5 Series produces 340 hp from a turbocharged, inline-six cylinder petrol engine in 540i guise, propelling it from 0-100 km/h in 5.1 seconds. On the fuel-sipping end of the standard 5 Series scale, the 520d EfficientDynamics Edition has a combined fuel consumption figure of 3.9l/100 km, with a drag coefficient of 0.22 Cd. Motive power for the 520d comes from a 2.0 litre turbodiesel with 190 hp at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,750–2,500 rpm, with a 0-100 km/h time of 7.6 seconds and a top speed of 237 km/h.

Integral Active Steering aims to give the G30 5 Series improved stability, agility and turning radius thanks to a combination of rear wheel steering and a variable ratio steering rack on the front axle. To further increase the 5 Series’ chassis adaptability, the G30 gains a fourth drive mode – Adaptive – on top of the existing three: Comfort, Sport and Eco Pro.

The new drive mode, as the name suggests, automatically adapts to the driver’s input styles by reacting to parameters such as steering wheel movements, velocity and location as observed by the navigation system. This, BMW says, offers the perfect blend of Comfort and Sport modes.

BMW has also added new semi-autonomous driving functions to the G30 5 Series, Steering and Lane Control Assistant. For further active safety, the G30 5 Series also has Crossroads Warning to avert potential collisions with other vehicles at crossroads.

BMW iPerformance is the moniker given to the new range of plug-in hybrid powertrain-endowed BMWs, and so is the case with the G30-generation 530e. The 2.0 litre, inline-four cylinder turbocharged petrol engine pairs with an electric motor for a total system output of 252 hp, driving the 530e from 0-100 km/h in 5.9 seconds.

Fuel efficiency is the key point of interest behind the 530e – Combined fuel consumption is 2.0l/100 km, with a combined CO2 emissions figure of 46 g/km. In the luggage compartment, the 530e holds 410 litres, 120 litres less than non-hybrid models.

Inside, the 530e adds an eDrive mode switch to the regular line-up on Comfort, Sport and Eco Pro drive modes. This controls selection of three different driving modes, Auto eDrive, which combines both electric and petrol-powered driving, with full electric mode available up to 70 km/h.

In Max eDrive mode, propulsion is fully electric and up to 140 km/h, with a maximum battery range of 45 km. In Battery Control mode, the drivetrain minimises battery use in order to save its charge capacity for later use.

Depending on the specifications of the wallbox, a full charge for the 530e will take approximately 2.5 hours, while the cars can also be charged from a conventional household socket. A full charge from a European household power outlet, for example, will take about 3.5 hours.

GALLERY: BMW G30 5 Series

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sam Darby on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:25 pm

inb4 BMW item X laku unless pre-reg 5 Series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Kunta Durian Story on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:57 pm

530e going to take w213 market share om good price point

• John Pencium Buntot Kerajaan on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:35 am

Be very careful at buying the 520i and the 528i when BMW Malaysia launches it. This is because, the 530e will benefit from tax incentive and the car will be sold at around RM280k. Since X5 is RM380k, we can safely assume, the 530e will be priced at RM280k, about RM100k less than the X5

I advice buyers, try your level best not to buy the 520i or 528i when the G30 is launced. Then you will be like the X5 buyers who bought their cars at RM588k and suddenly, BMW Malaysia launced the X5 Plug In Hybrid at RM380k.
        Overnight, the Rm588k X5 lost RM300k is value. Now, these buyers want to sell 1 year old x5 for RM300k also nobody wants to buy

• Big Big Liar Malaysia on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:44 am

When E300 Bluetec Hybrid came out at RM100k cheapr, nobody bought the E250 and E200 at all. ZERO sales.

Wait for the 530e if you are wise. Stay away from 520d, 520i and 528i

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:39 pm

So bland and ordinary…

• Plan to get one 530e, anyone want to take my A6 hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • A6 Hybrid. Used car dealer pon X nak kot.

• Brace yourself because the depreciation of the A6 Hybrid will give you heart attack.

• Yippie on Oct 15, 2016 at 9:37 am

Im planning replace my a6h to that too. But notice the different in headlight. The e use the old design. Not sure why. Checked with dealer they accept a6 h now at rm160k max for 2013 car. Not too bad compared to my 528i. 528i drop further. Bt RV not a big issue. Need to see the real car, the feeling is most important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Daniel Z on Oct 15, 2016 at 2:32 pm

The hybrid version they used in the video uses the standard lights (I think primarily in Europe), but his one uses the new shaped LEDs: http://s2.paultan.org/image/2016/10/G30-BMW-5-Series-140.jpg

I think in most markets the new shaped LEDs will be standard.

• A6 0wner on Oct 15, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Mind to let me know which dealer, mine perfect condition but offer is so much lower.

• Najib 2.B Razak on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:44 pm

they way they are saying it is like it is the first time ever those features are introduced in a car. Like really?. It has been there for years now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • The G30 looks more like a facelift than a completely new car. The exterior is conservative and very similar to the outgoing car. The interior based on the G11’s is already old-looking to begin with. BMW even removed the trademark red instrument dials!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Ya, the 4 wheel steering has been there since the early 90’s in the Honda Prelude.

Lane detection/collision warning, Accord & Volvo already have it.

Auto-park – Tesla is the most recent one.

• Crybaby to see sophisticated gadgets nowadays. on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Trust

• charge on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:30 pm

iphone have wireless charging??!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:31 am

Haha. BMW must think iphone users are stupid. Or perhaps that is the iphone 8, which will remove the charging/lightning port as well.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:56 am

The video shows BMW’s own wireless charging case for iPhones: http://paultan.org/2015/08/27/bmw-introduces-snap-in-wireless-charging-adapter-for-all-models-and-a-wireless-charging-case-for-iphones/

• Jimmy on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Looking at the pictures, it seems like this G30 is one of the worstly designed BMW saloons. The 2-dimensional exterior looks are ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • adma shazlan on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:25 pm

And why not u design it for yourself & see if it’s beauty or ugly

• arowana on Oct 15, 2016 at 10:28 am

looks great to me.. cant wait for the M5 version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Quite nice

• Mikey on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Any car that takes cue from their top(most luxurious vehicle) is a complement. Like I’ve said B4, Is that a bad thing ?!

Take a look at the S-class, now their C/E class wanna look like their bigger brother who happen to be debonair & have that presence which every successful man want to be.

• I wouldn’t call it a new model. Looks more like face-lift to me. However, i find the wireless charging useful. The coolest tech to me is the Remote Control Parking.

I can visualize many will be trading in their older E60 but not the F10 to upgrade to this G30 model. I will be jealous if my neighbor buy this next year & show to me how he can park his car by the touch of a button.

• Joholan on Oct 15, 2016 at 4:25 pm

More technology features meaning more problems…

• CrazyMobilo on Oct 15, 2016 at 6:29 pm

In Malaysia the electric car market & the hybrid car market is the worse.. evryone is being scared of by its after maintanence costs (battery costing) … but deep down, if you think you are just buying a car for the long run, u may go for a Hybrid… but if u r a perso whos into new techs always, go for a petrol engine… & if you wanna drive a new car with price reduction, just wait until those modela hit the used car dealership… nowdays, used car dealers are very generous to offer you a good bargain as long as u purchase a model from them…

• To be honest, the new 5 looks too much like the 3 series GT..The e class has a better design compare to 5 series, both inside and out. At least the G series manage to fight back with some new tech this time around

• Bernard on Oct 16, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I am aiming to buy the new saga. Just sold my bicycle, flower pots, old kancil .

Need to take 9 year loan though. Wish me luck:)