G30 BMW 5 Series unveiled – market debut in Feb 2017

g30-bmw-5-series-3

The new BMW 5 Series, of which the first official images were leaked yesterday, has finally been unveiled. The seventh-generation G30, which will make its market debut in February 11 next year, looks a lot like a smaller and more athletic version of the current G11/G12 7 Series, which is great news for those looking for a more compact form of the latter.

Styling-wise, as we pointed out earlier, the rear end isn’t far from the F10’s, and there’s a bolder, sportier face to be found in front, with a straight belt line and a “hockey stick” underlining the doors (as on the 7er) being highlights on a clean-looking profile.

The G30 measures in at 4,936 mm long, 1,868 mm wide and 1,479 mm tall, with a 2,975 mm-long wheelbase. It’s a lighter proposition than the F10; the automaker says that rigorous application of the BMW EfficientLightweight design concept, with increased use of aluminium and high-strength steels, has reduced the weight of the new 5er by up to 100 kg.

Two diesel and two petrol units will be available from point of launch, working in tandem with either rear-wheel drive or BMW xDrive intelligent all-wheel drive. All the engines in the 5er line-up belong to the newly-developed, modular BMW EfficientDynamics family of power units. In total, 11 variants will be available for the car by March next year.

g30-bmw-5-series-6

February will see the deployment of the 530i, 540i, 520d and 530d and its derivatives. The 530i and 530i xDrive is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0 litre petrol unit, paired with an eight-speed Steptronic transmission.

Output numbers for the unit are 252 hp at 5,200–6,500 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,450–4,800 rpm, and performance figures include a 0–100 km/h time of 6.2 seconds (6.0 seconds for the xDrive), a 250 km/h top speed and a combined fuel consumption of 5.4 litres per 100 km (5.7 litres per 100 km, xDrive).

The 540i and 540i xDrive, meanwhile, gets a six-cylinder petrol engine, again paired with an eight-speed Steptronic unit. The 3.0 litre mill is good for 340 hp at 5,500–6,500 rpm and 450 Nm at 1,380–5,200 rpm. Acceleration times for the 0–100 km/h dash is 4.8 seconds for the xDrive variant, and 5.1 seconds for the regular 540i.

Next, the oil burners, and the 520d and 520d xDrive are equipped with a 2.0 litre diesel, with transmission choices being a six-speed manual gearbox or eight-speed Steptronic for the 520d, and an eight-speed Steptronic for the xDrive version. Output numbers are 190 hp at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,750–2,500 rpm. Performance numbers include a 0–100 km/h sprint time of 7.6 seconds for models equipped with the eight-speed Steptronic, as well as a 237 km/h top speed.

As for the 530d and 530d xDrive, the 3.0 litre six-cylinder unit is good for 265 hp at 4,000 rpm and 620 Nm from 2,000–2,500 rpm. Acceleration times for the century sprint are 5.7 seconds for the 530d (5.4 seconds for the xDrive), on to an electronically governed 250 km/h.

Not long after the launch in February, BMW will be adding another three engine variants to the line-up. The 190 hp four-cylinder diesel engine will be presented in its most efficient form in the BMW 520d EfficientDynamics Edition, and a plug-in hybrid drive model will also appear, in the form of the 530e iPerformance, which has a system output of 252 hp.

The M550i xDrive will also arrive then to top the initial range, making it the second M Performance 5 Series after the tri-turbo diesel-powered M550d. It’ll be powered by a 4.4 litre V8 engine developing 462 hp and 650 Nm, with a 0–100 km/h sprint time of 4.0 seconds being among the performance figures.

As standard, all variants will come equipped with headlights featuring LED technology, and the options list for equipment will include being Adaptive LED Headlights with variable light distribution including adaptive roundabout lights and Selective Beam anti-dazzle high beam with a range of up to 500 metres.

Inside, the new car’s cabin features the latest-generation iDrive system, which in its highest specification offers navigation, telephone and entertainment features, plus vehicle functions and 7er-style gesture control – all on a high-res 10.25-inch screen. There’s also a full-colour head-up display with a projection surface that’s 70% larger than before.

The automaker says that the new car offers extended storage options and greater legroom for rear-seat passengers. New bits include comfort seats with massage function and a four-zone climate control complete with ionisation and discreet air fragrancing.

There’s definitely no shortage of connectivity, at least for European customers – BMW ConnectedDrive features are now joined by new services, which include the new ParkNow technology for digital parking space reservation and payment, the On-Street Parking Information intelligent parking space search function and the optional Parking Assistant, which detects empty spots and parks the vehicle automatically.

No shortage of smartphone integration, with Apple CarPlay (now wireless, an industry first) to inductive phone charging and a WiFi hotspot for up to ten devices to be found. Also on, BMW Connected, with the next development stage of the system, complete with additional services, set to be introduced for the personal digital mobility assistant on the 5er.

The automaker’s Remote Parking system and Display Key (as seen on the 7 Series and i8) are also on the optional equipment list, as is Remote View 3D, which allows the owner to “see” the car’s surroundings remotely through the BMW Connected smartphone app.

As you’d expect, plenty of driving assistance systems to be found in the G30. As standard, the car comes with a stereo camera, which teams up with optional radar and ultrasound sensors to monitor the area around the car.

New features alongside the evasion aid and crossing traffic warning are the lane change assistant and lane keeping assistant with active side collision protection. The latter keeps an eye on the lane markings and the area around the car, and actively helps the driver to avoid looming collisions by applying corrective steering inputs.

The car also takes a step towards automated driving with extended functions for the optional active cruise control (ACC) system and steering/lane keeping assistant. These include adoption of speed restrictions, which the optional Intelligent Speed Assist communicates to the cruise control system. Operable from standstill to 210 km/h, the system can relieve the driver of acceleration, braking and steering duties, as desired.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• WOW! BMW did an Audi!!….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 40
    • karam singh on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Same $. Rakyat buy X5 Hybrid.

• Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:01 pm

zzr, U mean the part where they increased the use of aluminium & high-strength steels !

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Sorry Audi fanboy, face the fact Audi will never be a BMW. Audi is a FWD car just like the Toyota, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • BMW now becoming audi instead. 1 & 2 series is FWD, 3 series very soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:27 pm

LKK, those Audi with the sticker Quattro is for show only ah !? FYI, Audi DO NOT have to be a BMW/MERC to succeed. Have you visited Germany to see how many Audi is on the road ?

VW & Audi sold 722,289 units in Germany in 2015(Q3) while Merc/BMW sold 398,097 in 2015(Q3)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Lee Kum Kee on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:37 am

Are you telling a joke? Comparing VW sales figure with Merc/BMW?

• Lee Kum Kee, VW owns Audi. It is a fact VW & Audi sold more cars in Germany than Merc/BMW & its NOT a Joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • KKLee on Oct 15, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Ha ha ha, Lee Kum Kee. You personally confess that you own a local car & now you are condemning Audi for being a FWD car. You are a Hypocrite of the highest order.

Please remember what you post in PT because it is recorded here. A Four wheel drive Audi Quattro beats all RWD cars. Period.

• passion on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:41 pm

now this is very very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • When you are rich, you say this is very ver good.
      When you are poor, you keep talking about Honda City.

• omegle on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:42 pm

and a plug-in hybrid drive system will also appear in the form of the 530e iPerformance, which has a system output of 252 hp.

so we can expect them bringing in this with EEV.

• Silthice on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:43 pm

When Honda City married 7-Series, new gen 5-Series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • Boring MW on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:27 pm

This car is boring,thats all,just Honda City tail lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Mah See See on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Now Honda City RV going up.Better make a booking now.haha

• zaidizero on Oct 13, 2016 at 11:57 pm

zomg, it does look like honda city from the back! I have to agree bmw is becoming more and more like audi “safe” design, similar looking models across the board, aluminium chasis, etc. What’s next? an AWD BMW?

• Yusri on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Sporty and yet agressive..Sure become a class leader..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Oh no it grew bigger again…and BMW is following Mercedes and Audi in making identical cars for its core models. Expect the G20 to look like the G30 in this case. If it’s arriving in Europe Feb 2017 then I think Bolehland will have the first CBU batch around 3rd quarter and CKD will roll out early 2018.

• Is why people buy 316i and remove their stickers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • This is what happened in Europe when ppl bought a lesser model they will tend to de-badge it too. I didnt know Malaysia has this option until i saw so many 3er Bimmer without the model name. But one cant go wrong with the rim they are wearing. LOL… But its not a good sign and most ppl will just purchase a base model and pretend they are owning a higher tier cars. Sad indeed.

• sohhai on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Same sausage, different length

• Yusri on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Wonder how new 5 GT look like

• venven81 on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:01 pm

as ugly as it’s always been. period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Yusri, its interesting that you ask the question. Unfortunately the GT version is not a top seller. Judging by the GT that is currently in the 3/5 series, this new GT5 will looks like a Big Hatchback/bulky G30. The best looking “hatchback” is the X6 SUV.

• Sammyboy on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Vote la!
    Thumbs up for 5 Series, Thumbs down Volvo S90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:33 pm

I’d vote for Maserati Ghibli as the prettiest sexiest mid sized executive saloon. Volvo S80 comes second for its elegant Scandinavian design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • beemer_lover on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:49 pm

why “korean” look?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 13, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Hit like if you like the design
    Hit unlike if you dislike the design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 36
  • paparadzi (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 1:30 pm

I wonder which of the advanced gadgets will be included in the Malaysian version.

The 530e sure looks interesting.

• applegreen on Oct 13, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Nice, but i like new audi a5 more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:39 pm

A5 is more comparable to 4 series than the new 5 series. A6 or E class are in the same segment with this new 5 series. Anyway, I still prefer the old A5 against the new A5 for looks.

• Heaven and earth on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:03 pm

It is the a6 that you should be comparing with. Don’t embarrass yourself. Learn more first then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • erwinkarim on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:01 pm

german automakers are going back to 90’s when they cut wieners at different length…

• Where is fuel consumption for diesel versions?

• Imatt on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:16 pm

252hp, 350Nm torque, and fuel consumption like a proton saga. Thats pretty impressive.

• passion on Oct 13, 2016 at 2:30 pm

yummy seats

• in my opinion it looks like a bigger 4 series.better looking that current model

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:07 pm

semi value consumer advice….volvo much nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:28 pm

In the e60 5 series, a 530 denotes a 3 liter in-line 6 cylinders. In the F10, a 520/528/530 uses a 2 liter 4 cylinders turbo charged. In the latest G30, a 530 uses a 2 liter 4 cylinders TC.

Why BMW cannot simplify the numbers or use 520 as their base no ?! Same goes with Merc. A new E-class may be called E200/250 but they are both using a 2 liter 4 cylinders but powering on different turbo pressure.

An Audi A6 is easier to tell with the 1.8/2.0/3.0 TFSI clearly displayed at the back.

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:44 pm

With all the techs and gadget, this car is a winner. it’d be the best thing to drive am sure with their new platform. but design…. its an evolution rather than revolution. Merc lets their designer go crazy but Bimmer designers have a gun on their heads :(

• Najib 2.B Razak on Oct 13, 2016 at 5:12 pm

I can already tell u most of the features wont arrive in Malaysia.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 4:24 pm

It’s a handsome car, though nothing special in terms of exterior design. BMW had to resort to small details like additional lines and cut outs to differentiate it from the crowd. I think the Lexus GS and Cadillac CTS still have the best looking exteriors in the class (but not the GS-F which is over the top). Let’s hope the G30 drives well cos the Jag XF, Lexus GS and Caddy CTS are tough competition in the twisties.

• Simon Ambrose on Oct 13, 2016 at 5:20 pm

All of these features u can find in the E. Except that this 5 don have the pre safe system.
    But just like the E when arrive in Malaysia. 90% of features gone.

• Bmw why oh why on Oct 13, 2016 at 8:52 pm

BMW designers Are one really lazy buggers. All they did was take tracing paper and copy the 7 series and finished viola the new 5. I am off to the pub now.
    They arr becoming like porsche designers.

• choha on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:02 pm

glad that broken-nose is gone

• old horse on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:32 pm

so ironic, Merc become aggressive in design and BMW become conservative….

• Ummm no on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:58 am

Has all german makes lost their mojo in the design department??? Too safe looking compared to the timeless E60

• Bring back Bangle on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:47 am

Bring back Bangle, nuff said

• When does the 540i arrive in Malaysia?

• Hankc on Mar 10, 2017 at 12:21 am

The boss told them to make the design looked like 7series, but someone misheard it as honda city. So, there you have it.