RapidKL launches new train sets for Kelana Jaya LRT

RapidKL has officially launched the new Bombardier Innovia Metro 300 four-coach trainsets, which will ply the Kelana Jaya LRT Line starting from today.

Also called the “Kuala Lumpur Additional Vehicle (KLAV),” Datuk Dr Ir Zohari Sulaiman, CEO of Rapid Rail said 14 units of the Bombardier train sets will be employed. According to a report by Bernama, the trains with their modern and elegant design, is claimed to increase the passenger capacity of the route by up to 30%.

“The new train sets will be deployed in stages in accordance with the delivery schedule by our suppliers, and we expect to receive the full shipment (of train sets) by the middle of 2017,” he said in a press conference. All 14 Innovia Metro 300 trainsets are assembled at Bombardier’s Kingston plant in Canada before being shipped to Malaysia.

The new trains are expected to provide better frequency and lesser waiting time in stations, and come equipped with 16 closed-circuit television cameras (CCTV), a ‘Dynamic Route Map’ that provides information to passengers on destination directions, as well as a “Wheel Lubricating System’ that can reduce the train noise.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 29, 2016 at 4:12 pm

I just hope this trains come from a reputable company. I am worried cause our new RM55 billion ECRL comes from CCCC, a china company that is blacklisted and banned by the World Bank for fraud and low quality materials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • LatukBandar on Dec 29, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Why dont you read the article before commenting? It says ‘Bombardier’ and ‘Made in Canada’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • Once more, he proves my point that bashers dun read b4 bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • butt hurt on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:44 pm

What to do.. a**hole can never read and comprehend properly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • I never knew China is in Canada! Which geographical map u refer to? The ones with sea monsters and warnings not to go over the edge of flat earth?

• Bombardier has been the one which produce ltr-putra coach from day one.. aiyo..

• Idiom on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:13 am

another proof that idiots just dot read before they comment. You can assume all his previous long long posts are equal BS

• Ah Kow on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:33 am

Bruh…. Bombardier has been operating in our Kelana Jaya line LRT since 1998! Don’t know anything then don’t simply bash la.

• More trains r alwiz gud. And bombadiers have reliable track record with the putraline. Shud use it for LRT3 as well but make it locally assembled by MRT assembly team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • No.We need expensive fully CBU not expensive CKD for our rail line.We always pay more,coz we more classy than those in Korea and Barcelona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • always read and verify. Read and Verify EVERYTHING you find on fb especially when it comes from twisted politicians

• Allyizza on Dec 30, 2016 at 2:02 am

I’m hoping that can be takes Long time to use it. .perhaps thanks for doing this train,too easy to go to anywhere in Kuala Lumpur now -yahoo!

• Why cant we for once be happy for such infrastructure improvement in our country? So negative nowadays. even on a car website

• Bro. Its thanks to certain politikus factions that MY pipu now in negative politik mode 24/7/365(+1 leap day)